Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Embracia in Reservoir

2.82 11 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(21 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Embracia in Reservoir
11 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Antone143 Dec 09, 2019

I have my father at this home and the care, the staff, the food and the communication is amazing. Our family couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful?  

Disappointed very Sep 26, 2018

Management are difficult to deal with and not really concerned about resolving any issues raised and new personal carers are trained by experienced staff in the same way - all are busy and do not provide sufficient or appropriate care!

Was this review helpful?  

Peyton4817 Sep 25, 2018

Management are extremely difficult to deal with and do not resolve issues raised satisfactorily - they don't listen and label you as a trouble maker!

Was this review helpful?  1

Wanda6940 Dec 24, 2017

Management of the facility are unapproachable, do not listen and are border-line bullies (previous director, current director and clinical co-ordinator) and really don't understand issues raised from the resident and family's perspective as they seem to only worry about not admitting to any faults and are only concerned about saving money for the owner; am sure that they would not accept such low standard of care if their own parents were in that nursing home. And if you do raise questions, suggestions or complaints then you are considered difficult and are told that if you don't like it here then go somewhere else. Their booklet is factually incorrect when they claim to have 'first rate facilities' as not all the place has been refurbished as most of the furniture is at least 10-15 years old and that might include the carpet too as it often smells and does not appear to be steam cleaned regularly; do not use the BBQs as they are not properly cleaned and the food lacks variety and is substandard as they use frozen vegetables and tinned fruit when they claim to have a chef cook 'fresh and healthy' food; lack of staff is always an issue unless they take advantage of students; there is very little attention to personalised care especially as resident's needs change, they do not appear to cope with this and do not provide staff with adequate training when this happens nor do they know how to use some of the beds and equipment. Given the recent price hikes for the rooms (that have not changed in the past few years) I would not recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lou7548 Oct 04, 2017

Staffing is an ongoing issue for residents in high-care areas as not enough of them to provide adequate care, in reality the bare minimum is done and to a low standard; furniture and other equipment like commodes and wheelchairs are as old as the building 10-15 years; new management is as bad as the old management, don't really want to hear your concerns nor will they do anything about it even if you make a complaint or suggestion; staff training is inadequate as most get shown from previous staff who have already developed bad habits; am sure they would not like to be treated the way they treat the residents; the food is sub-standard for a place that charges so much money and supposedly offers choice of meals - the alternative is a toasted sandwich; linen, blankets and towels are also very old and with holes in them; the facility does what it wants and does not even try to implement recommendations made by other treating professionals; unless your loved one has their senses and is mobile I would highly suggest you look elsewhere as the level of care you would expect for the prices is just not there.

Was this review helpful?  1

Uriel5005 Jul 31, 2017

Management are very difficult to deal with as they are not customer focused nor eager to hear concerns and do very little about resolving them. Communication is poor between staff as they cannot cope with residents changing needs een when professionals make recommendations, things slip through the cracks so keep an eye on everything and follow up.

Was this review helpful?  1

Amir3453 Oct 21, 2016

Embracia aged care (Reservior) When I made the appointment to be shown around and talk about their facilities and what they do for the aged care at Embracia, I was very impressed with what they do. But in reality from almost day 1 mum was going downhill, they said that they take them out at least once a week on bus trips to shops and other places. ( I don't belive they ever did even though I can't prove it ). Mum,s clothes and personal items always went missing. When they moved her into higher care in the Love area as they call it. It was not higher care and very little staff, the times I went to visit mum I saw at least only 3 to 4 staff at a time. Once I found mum walking around with no slippers or sock ( bare feet ). I have also been there when it is meal time, and I have witnessed the staff trying to feed the elderly even though they are not hungry the staff try and force feed them. And every time I went to visit mum the place and her room was always messy, ie: floors not vacuumed and bathrooms not cleaned. I have a lot more I can go on about I could write a book about it but I won't. I do not blame the staff (nurses) I blame management who do not put more staff on because they do need it as I have even been told by there own staff. The $550.000,00 deposit that you have to pay them, and sits in there bank account so it earns interest for then for the share holders probably it is atrocious. It is very obvious that they are more interested about the money and not the elderly. This is one nursing home I will never recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

J. Whelan Dec 30, 2015

My mother has been in this facility for 10 years next February. She has aged in place and been through all stages of care. Now she is 25 kg and sleeps 95% time. All through they have cared for her lovingly giving her dignity at all times. The facility is beautifully maintained and gets highest accreditation status. It is Embracia in Reservoir. Our family cannot thank them enough..

Was this review helpful?  3

Shelley May 17, 2015

Wonderful staff

Was this review helpful?  

Jesus443 Apr 23, 2015

My mother was placed temporarily in this facility for two weeks respite as l was the primary carer. While the staff were lovely, they were overworked and as a result her medication was not administered correctly. Also her ankles were very swollen when l came to take her to an appointment that she had outside the establishment. I had asked to keep her legs elevated because of this problem but it never happened. The activities they conducted were great, but mum was placed in the dementia ward when she only had bouts of dementia and she hated it as another client annoyed her. Mum was also deaf and one client screamed which was painful because of her hearing aids. We decided, as a family, not to place her in respite again because of the fact that she disliked it so much and l found it stressful. She was always clean and l couldn't fault the friendly nature of the staff. Also the Gardens were lovely and she was in a private room.

Was this review helpful?  

Rob3088 Jan 20, 2014

Whilst inspecting low care facilities located in the north-east of Melbourne for my grandmother, I took a tour of Embracia in Reservoir and my general impression of this facility is that this facility seemed like quite a fitting place for my grandmother although I wasn't provided with a lot of information from the employee giving me the tour. The location of this facility is quite surprising as it is basically hidden amongst residential houses, but then once down the driveway you are incredibly surprised by the size of this facility. Housing around 90 beds it is one of the larger facilities I have inspected so far. The general ambience and décor of this facility was quite nice with light coloured walls and lots of light penetrating indoors. The staff seemed quite friendly (although you can never guarantee this) and there seemed to be a lot of activities and recreation areas for the residents to be able to participate in. The rooms were quite modest and nicely furnished. Overall my impression of this facility is that despite its larger size, my grandmother would be cared for at this facility and it would give me piece of mind settling her in this facility (although I still have more facilities to inspect before I make this decision).

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Embracia in Reservoir

Embracia in Reservoir has a friendly, welcoming and optimistic culture where you, the resident, come first. Our primary goal is to make sure our residents’ quality of life will be maintained, and hopefully improved, when they live at Embracia.Our qualified, experienced and passionate staff provide care that puts you first. You can be assured we offer Registered Nurses and Personal Carers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with specialist staff training in dementia-specific care and palliative care. Our home is warm and homely. We endeavour to ensure Embracia always feels like home for each resident. Discover comfortable and homely single rooms with private ensuites, surrounded by manicured gardens in welcoming households.We assist people to live life with joy, meaning and purpose. Our Lifestyle programs offer a wide variety of individual and group activities, including every-day tasks that support people to make a meaningful contribution to their household.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Happiness Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

3

Room size (sqm)

Minimum room size is 16 m2 but room sizes do vary.

Room Description

In the 3 Happiness rooms without external doors you can still enjoy the comfort of your own room and private en-suite built in wardrobes heating system ceiling fan and phone point as well as a nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The home has a theatre and cafe on-site where you can share stories and quality time with family and friends.

Each household has its own sitting dining and lounge areas. In Happiness you will share the household common areas with only 17 other residents while still having access to all communal areas at the home.

Room Name

Studio Apartment

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

32.2m2 bedroom with a 4m2 ensuite

Room Description

Our brand new Studio Apartment offers you open plan living and has been tastefully decorated by our interior designer with new drapes and elegant furniture. The Studio includes your own kitchenette mealslounge area bed large ensuite and private courtyard. The kitchenette is fitted with a sink cupboards and a bar fridge for your personal use. This larger room allows for a comfortable lounge area to relax host guests or enjoy watching the flat screen television which is provided. The Studio has a built in robe with sliding doors for ease of access and there is ample room for your bedroom suite next to the window with garden views. There is also space for your furniture that you may wish to bring to make the room yours. The room has its own hydronic heating and split system air conditioner for your comfort. The large ensuite is fully tiled and includes vanity toilet and shower which has all been fitted to assist you. Complementing the spacious interior is your own north facing private courtyard with gardens. This also has a tiled portico where you can sit in the sun or move back under the shade to enjoy the outdoors.

Common Areas Description

You will also enjoy the benefit of
- a beautiful garden area
- spacious living and dining areas
- open plan meals and larger living areas
- smaller private meal areas for those preferring a quieter environment
- children and pet friendly environment

Room Name

Reservoir Freedom Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

40

Room size (sqm)

Minimum room size is 16 m2 but room sizes do vary.

Room Description

In Reservoir Freedom rooms you can enjoy the comfort of your own room and private en-suite built in wardrobes heating system ceiling fan and phone point as well as a nurse call system.

And these rooms boast an external door so you can enjoy the fresh air and gardens.

Common Areas Description

The home has a theatre and cafe on-site where you can share stories and quality time with family and friends.

Each household has its own sitting dining and lounge areas. Each household ahs a limited number of residents. To keep things intimate our largest household ahs only 27 residnets dining at 7 tables of 4 people. Meanwhile you will still have access to all communal areas at the home.

Room Name

Reservoir Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

37

Room size (sqm)

Minimum room size is 16 m2 but room sizes do vary.

Room Description

In our Reservoir rooms you will enjoy the comfort of your own room and private en-suite built in wardrobes heating system ceiling fan and phone point as well as a nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The home has a theatre and cafe on-site where you can share stories and quality time with family and friends.

Each household has its own sitting dining and lounge areas. You will share the household common areas with a limited number of other residents while still having access to all communal areas at the home. To keep life intimate our largest household is 27 people dining at 7 tables of 4 people.

Room Name

Happiness Freedom Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

15

Room size (sqm)

Minimum room size is 16 m2 but room sizes do vary.

Room Description

In Happiness Freedom rooms you can enjoy the comfort of your own room and private en-suite built in wardrobes heating system ceiling fan and phone point as well as a nurse call system.

And these rooms boast an external door so you can enjoy the fresh air and gardens.

Common Areas Description

The home has a theatre and cafe on-site where you can share stories and quality time with family and friends.

Each household has its own sitting dining and lounge areas. In Happiness you will share the household common areas with only 17 other residents while still having access to all communal areas at the home.

Aged Care Directory
My Account