Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator Average Quality
(180 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Ferndale Gardens
Overview

Homestyle Ferndale Gardens at Bayswater North provides permanent and respite residential aged care for the eastern suburbs within tranquil bushland.


Tucked away off Bayswater Road, Ferndale Gardens is a modern 121 bed home with traditional homely ambience, where residents needs come first and visitors are made very welcome.

All resident’s individual rooms look out to peaceful courtyards with inspiring gardens and water features. Gazebos and outdoor barbeque facilities enable special family occasions to be celebrated in a safe and secure environment.

With a long-established reputation of staff providing high quality care, Ferndale Gardens continues this respected tradition in our refreshed environment.
10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jon8094 Sep 25, 2018

Ferndale Gardens have been an excellent in regards to service and help they have extremely good staff that really care about the people they are looking after

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Jon8094, thank you very much for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am really pleased to hear about the passion of our staff shining through in the care that we provide and pride ourselves on. All the best to you and family for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Oct 03, 2018

Christa5140 Apr 11, 2018

My mother is in Ferndale for respite at present. The management and staff have ben excellent in making her feel most welcome. She is very happy here and is making friends and joining in the excellent activities here. The food is of a high quality. Mum had been in a larger city hospital for several weeks and is enjoying what she calls "normal homestyle" food. All the staff are very attentive, and most helpful and give a wonderful impression, especially if Mum needs to go here permanently. Nothing negative to say!

Was this review helpful?  2

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Christa5140, thanks so much for taking the time out to provide feedback on Ferndale Gardens. I’m thrilled to hear that you mum is very happy, making friends, enjoying the activities and our ‘cook fresh’ menu. I will ensure that this feedback is passed onto the manager and team at Ferndale Gardens to demonstrate that their dedication is making a difference in peoples lives. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Apr 12, 2018

Chico Mar 27, 2018

The food is terrible. Lunches poor taste. Absolute rubbish on weekends + holidays. Poorly staffed on weekends + holidays. Not enough time spent on rehab. Just keeping them alive. Worst home I have ever seen. Poor communication. Poor management, good at pretending to look cool. instructions hardly even carried out. The place smells + poor cleaning off rooms.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Chico, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am very surprised at the feedback you have provided as this is totally out of character for Ferndale Gardens especially when looking at the solid history of Homestyle, our stable management team and our operation since opening. Ferndale is very well know in the general community and with our local doctors and hospitals for providing not only a homely environment but exceptional care to our residents. In saying that, I would really like the opportunity to talk with you about your experience to ascertain what we could possibly do to improve the service we provide. Please call me on 03 9559 0400. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Mar 28, 2018

Rita121 Dec 05, 2017

The food is very poor to average and on the weekend the service is very poor. Need more staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Waterford2 Oct 19, 2017

When mum was 96 my brother and I encouraged her to consider moving from her independent Apartment. We wanted her to participate in the decision process rather than waiting for a potential crisis when decisions would be made on her behalf. Very reluctant, and strongly resisting to the move, we nevertheless proceeded to arrange accommodation on a hostel-style premises with support facilities and amenities that had been recommended to us. She is about to celebrate her 103rd birthday. From the time she moved to Ferndale Gardens to this date, she has 'sung the praises' of her situation and is very happy. 'The food and choices are wonderful', ' I love my room and outlook onto the courtyard'; ' the staff are so caring and amazing', are some of her constant expressions. It is such a pleasant environment, the staff and management are always available for discussion or assistance and of course, mother being so content and well-looked after is a great blessing for the family. For us it is a huge win-win situation and a fitting close to the life of an amazing lady.

Was this review helpful?  

Priscilla Pope Sep 21, 2017

Ever since my mother-in-law moved into Ferndale Gardens, not only did she adjust so well and easily, she has continued to tell the family "you would never get anywhere better than this!" she moved into Ferndale at 95 and is not coming up to 103 in October. I always love visiting as she is so happy, and the staff are like true family to her. This gives me a feeling of happiness too, knowing she is really well looked after. The staff always make themselves available to answer any questions that the family have. It is remarkable to think that my mother-in-law never wanted to go into a "home" adjusted so well.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Priscilla, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am thrilled to hear your feedback and will ensure it is passed onto our team. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Sep 27, 2017

Karolann3878 Mar 22, 2017

Ambiance and environment is good Nursing staff are sometimes short with residents making them feel vulnerable about voicing a concern. Carers are generally considerate but often rushed.

Was this review helpful?  2

Clotilde2918 Dec 15, 2015

My mum is in Ferndale in Bayswater in the special needs section. I cant speak highly enough about the facility and the staff. It is so reassuring to me to know that mum is being so well looked after.

Was this review helpful?  

Audreanne5453 Dec 09, 2015

The care and compassion was above all I expected. Having both my husband's Mum and my Mum together after knowing each other for 50 years was so nice for them. Now we miss them both but we still visit other residents and know the care is still there. How lucky we have been.

Was this review helpful?  

Linsav Sep 28, 2015

Found the facility to be of a very high standard. Thinking I should put my name on the list now. Staff were very caring and friendly.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Ferndale Gardens

Homestyle Ferndale Gardens at Bayswater North provides permanent and respite residential aged care for the eastern suburbs within tranquil bushland.Tucked away off Bayswater Road, Ferndale Gardens is a modern 121 bed home with traditional homely ambience, where residents needs come first and visitors are made very welcome.All resident’s individual rooms look out to peaceful courtyards with inspiring gardens and water features. Gazebos and outdoor barbeque facilities enable special family occasions to be celebrated in a safe and secure environment.With a long-established reputation of staff providing high quality care, Ferndale Gardens continues this respected tradition in our refreshed environment.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

3

Room size (sqm)

32

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Shared Ensuite bathroom Quality Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Overbed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan individual Heating and Quality flooring.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Chapel Library Kiosk cafe Bar Private Dining Room Fireplace quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas Business Centre

Room Name

Standard Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

22

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Private balcony Individual Air conditioning and heating Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Ceiling Fan bedside table Curtains Lockable door TV shelf and Quality flooring.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Chapel Library Kiosk caf Bar Private Dining Room Fireplace quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas Business Centre

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

20

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf and Quality floor coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Chapel Library Kiosk caf Bar Private Dining Room Fireplace quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas Business Centre

Aged Care Directory
My Account