Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Glendale Aged Care

3.19 16 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(156 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Glendale Aged Care
16 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Madyson1547 Apr 11, 2019

Glendale’s facilities are spacious, clean and very comfortable with suitable environments for visitors of all ages. My mum enjoyed the time she spent at Glendale aged care however tragically cut short. Facilities choice of pharmacy has a lot to be questioned, care co-ordinator was very argumentative and unapproachable.

Was this review helpful?  

Kristy3277 Apr 11, 2019

Glendale Aged Care Heaths Road, Werribee Both of my parents were living at Glendale. The biggest problem was the food. The quality of the food is sub-standard, the taste is terrible. Mostly chicken, never beef or pork. My mother lost so much weight in the couple of years she was there she was basically a skeleton. With only around $6 per day per person being spent on food it is little wonder the food is so bad. My father would travel across the road to the Werribee Plaza to buy food as well as the family taking in food that was edible or taking them home for a meal. Most of the staff were caring, but there were a couple who did not treat my mother well. She was disabled with rheumatoid arthritis and couldn’t get out of bed without assistance. One nurse from night shift refused to take mum to the toilet in the morning and she was left for over an hour waiting for the toilet. Some did not care about the pain the inflicted when dealing with my mum who was unable to move properly because of the RA and her skin was so delicate they caused bruising and bleeding when rushing to dress her. The activities consisted of word games and not much else. The bus then was only a 7 seater which they only took out on a Friday to the Plaza across the road! There are around 200 residents there, which means they hardly get to go out. My mother described the activities as mind numbing. The manager was not pro-active – he merely would agree with whoever to keep them quiet and then not do anything to improve life there. They bought bbq’s but the residents never received a proper bbq meal. The only positive thing I can say is in regard to the location - if the resident is mobile, they can access the plaza across from the facility.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jennings809 Sep 27, 2018

Outwardly very nice and caring. I will say many of the carers are wonderful but the rest really bring the care factor down. A secure Dementia unit is where my Mother was until she passed. Carers where sweet and caring when they knew I was there. Being there much of the time at times it seemed they had forgotten I was in the lounge and that's when the true side of many of them emerged. Rude, mocking, using the residents for their own entertainment and totally disrespectful. YES I did go to management but nothing appeared to change and still hasn't.

Was this review helpful?  3

Jamaal7177 Sep 25, 2018

My mother entered care in 2014 and the facility was well run. By 2016 they had cut back on staff for care, maintenance and cleaning and the result was it became substandard in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?  1

safe nurse and carer to resident ratio Sep 25, 2018

Staff to resident ratio is unsafe. Plus, there are times when staff ring sick, they are not replaced. While lovely staff wants to give optimum care there is not enough time to do everything. Staff needs to be in a hurry, to do as much as possible. There should be a legislation to have safe nurse to resident ratio, and carer to resident ratio. This is very essential to be able to deliver a quality care.

Was this review helpful?  

Reed7819 Jul 25, 2017

Food is terrible. Residents have been told at a recent meeting that $8.00 per person per day is the amount given for food. Poor quality fruit supplied, food is not presented very hot. The only time the food was decent was when accreditation was happening. Lack of meaningful activities, repetitive word games - no real engagement of the mind. Bus trips were advertised. What they didn't say was they take the bus out once per week with only 7 residents - only to the Werribee Plaza across the road. With a couple hundred residents this equates to each resident being lucky to go once or twice a year.

Was this review helpful?  

Jeramy3607 Apr 20, 2016

Glendale Aged Care in Werribee offer great care whether it be for permanent residents or respite care. I have found most staff there to be caring

Was this review helpful?  1

Devan7524 Apr 18, 2016

The majority of the staff were lovely. Very kind, loving and dedicated. Treated my Mum like family and she died with dignity.

Was this review helpful?  

Tamia844 Dec 29, 2015

Initially I found the service and kindness of some of the staff satisfactory. As my Mother's situation declined I felt the care was not as forthcoming, and patience was limited. There was not enough staff to cover all the patients in care. When it was meal time, clients unable to feed themselves had to wait for cold food to be given, and if they refused more than a teaspoon, carers had no time to give more, so that was all they were given. I find things I saw absolutely abhorrent. But at the same time can understand what goes on because of the lack of staff in these facilities. I thought I had chosen one of the better places to care for my Mother, but in the end I knew I could have chosen better.

Was this review helpful?  3

Roscoe2280 Dec 17, 2015

Mum got the best care anyone could ask for .

Was this review helpful?  1

Celia712 Dec 16, 2015

Would be helpful to residents staff and visitors if the residents had badges (not name tags) with their names on it so the forgetful residents could just read each others names

Was this review helpful?  

Fleta740 Oct 07, 2015

Very happy with mums treatment not all the staff are likeable but haven't had a major problem and she has been there 6 years

Was this review helpful?  

Cordell1573 Sep 26, 2015

Doing a lot to assist my disabled sister in care. Hours pass with no attention from staff

Was this review helpful?  

kitchen Jun 11, 2015

I saw many examples of lack of care . Lazy not very well trained staff . Head staff oblivious of care givers work ethics . Management seems not able to understand the needs of residents . Lack of high care places to the size of residents . General lack of trained staff and personal neglect of residents

Was this review helpful?  

Marilyn Apr 27, 2015

Both my Mum and Dad were in low and high care at Glendale Aged Care, Werribee for approximately 6 years before they passed. Mum last year and Dad the year before. The care was excellent and I take my hat off to aged care workers for the amazing job they do.

Was this review helpful?  

Ringo42 Jun 11, 2014

Staff called personal carers. Many don't care and do as little as possible. It's just like a production line . No genuine care. Just do what they can get away with. Not what they really should do. even after complaining many times very little changes. I even have to ask them if they can shower my dad or mum because they look dishevelled . Not enough people checking up on them on a regular basis. There are only a very few that do their job well and proper and they need to get recognition from management but that is not even passed down to them. Government officials really don't see the real picture when they do their accreditation. Paperwork and talk can very easily cover up the real picture unfortunately. I also work in aged care so I know and see it happen year after year.

Was this review helpful?  2

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Glendale Aged Care

Glendale Aged Care is part of the Allity Aged Care group catering for all levels of permanent and respite care as well as specialised Dementia care making this home one of the most comprehensive Aged Care providers in Victoria.Glendale's architectural style expresses a sense of stability, comfort and security while its care team projects skill, competence, commitment and compassion. Spacious public and private accommodation, attentive personal service, good food and grand company underscore Glendale's well-earned reputation. Residents can enjoy the peaceful enclosed courtyards or a variety of quiet sitting areas. Family members and friends are always welcome, and are integral to the warm community feel of Glendale.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Suite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

52

Room size (sqm)

24

Room Description

Quaint single room has its own private ensuite kitchette and lounge for those who prefer studio style living.

Common Areas Description

Enclosed fire place in the community room. Kiosk opened regularly Landscaped Gardens Meals prepared by qualified chefscooks. Our professional hospitality team prepares well-balanced healthy and appetising meals. Special dietary requirements are easily accommodated. Multilingual staff to cater for the needs of English and multicultural residents. Podiatry and Physiotherapy services. Private areas where families and friends can enjoy a private meal. Quality care provided to meet individual needs. Individualised care plans that are developed in consultation with family and medical practitioners. Regular bus outings. State-of-the-art 30 bed Dementia Unit situated on the ground floor featuring a secure outside area with aviary and sensory garden. The unit offers private rooms all with ensuites. Internal areas have been designed for maximum privacy and minimum noise creating a soothing and comfortable atmosphere to reduce confusion and anxiety. Special colour schemes have also been employed. All of which in combination with carpets and soft furnishings will contribute to a nurturing calm and homelike environment. The privacy of spacious apartments private rooms with ensuite bathrooms and provision for private phone and television. Touch pad security on all external doors

Room Name

Refurbished Single

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

17-18

Room Description

Brand new spacious and tastefully appointed single room with its own private ensuite. Large windows provide an abundance of natural light.

Common Areas Description

Enclosed fire place in the community room.Kiosk opened regularlyLandscaped GardensMeals prepared by qualified chefscooks. Our professional hospitality team prepares well-balanced healthy and appetising meals. Special dietary requirements are easily accommodated.Multilingual staff to cater for the needs of English and multicultural residents.Podiatry and Physiotherapy services.Private areas where families and friends can enjoy a private meal.Quality care provided to meet individual needs. Individualised care plans that are developed in consultation with family and medical practitioners.Regular bus outings.State-of-the-art 30 bed Dementia Unit situated on the ground floor featuring a secure outside area with aviary and sensory garden. The unit offers private rooms all with ensuites. Internal areas have been designed for maximum privacy and minimum noise creating a soothing and comfortable atmosphere to reduce confusion and anxiety. Special colour schemes have also been employed. All of which in combination with carpets and soft furnishings will contribute to a nurturing calm and homelike environment.The privacy of spacious apartments private rooms with ensuite bathrooms and provision for private phone and television.Touch pad security on all external doors

Room Name

Single private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

105

Room size (sqm)

16

Room Description

Spacious single room with private ensuite

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Apartment

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

55

Room size (sqm)

30

Room Description

Spacious apartment with kitchenette and lounge. Separate bedroom with private ensuite. Ideal for couples.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Refurbished Double

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

30

Room Description

Refurbished spacious and tastefully appointed double room with its own private ensuite. Large windows provide an abundance of natural light. Ideally suited for couples

Common Areas Description

Enclosed fire place in the community room.
Kiosk opened regularly
Landscaped Gardens
Meals prepared by qualified chefscooks. Our professional hospitality team prepares well-balanced healthy and appetising meals. Special dietary requirements are easily accommodated.
Multilingual staff to cater for the needs of English and multicultural residents.
Podiatry and Physiotherapy services.
Private areas where families and friends can enjoy a private meal.
Quality care provided to meet individual needs. Individualised care plans that are developed in consultation with family and medical practitioners.
Regular bus outings.
State-of-the-art 30 bed Dementia Unit situated on the ground floor featuring a secure outside area with aviary and sensory garden. The unit offers private rooms all with ensuites. Internal areas have been designed for maximum privacy and minimum noise creating a soothing and comfortable atmosphere to reduce confusion and anxiety. Special colour schemes have also been employed. All of which in combination with carpets and soft furnishings will contribute to a nurturing calm and homelike environment.
The privacy of spacious apartments private rooms with ensuite bathrooms and provision for private phone and television.
Touch pad security on all external doors

Room Name

Refurbished Suite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

24

Room Description

Beautifully refurbished spacious single room has its own private ensuite kitchenette and lounge for those who prefer studio style living.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Aged Care Directory
My Account