Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Helping Hand Northgate

4.2 10 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(34 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Helping Hand Northgate
10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jacinto4450 Sep 25, 2018

My grandma had respite at this facility. She's what you'd call a bit of a complainer, but in the time she was here, not one complaint! We all noticed how lovely and chatty the staff were too.

Was this review helpful?  

Oren8008 Sep 25, 2018

Following all the media regarding the shocking non care of the elderly I am so glad that my mother resides in Helping Hand. The only reason I gave 4 stars to staff care is because they need more staff to continue to provide great service. The staff at Helping Hand Northgate are excellent and working very hard - they will burn out and turn over will occur - this is not good for Helping Hand, existing staff and most of all the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Madilyn9096 Nov 10, 2016

Very happy with staff and facility

Was this review helpful?  

Lavina5359 Apr 19, 2016

Purpose built facility, happy residents.

Was this review helpful?  

George9285 Apr 18, 2016

The staff don't communicate with my loved one who needs their communication written on a board to understand 99 percent of what's being said . The only time their board is written on is when family visit so that's only 20 percent of her life in a week :( that is so sad because 80 percent of her time she's alone in her own world guessing people's words . The building is beautiful and staff friendly but that doesn't help my loved one stuck there in her own world without a basic need fulfilled their communication needs :(

Was this review helpful?  2

Maurice97 Mar 15, 2016

Yes a beautiful place to relax and retire peacefully, with excellent care around the clock.Good quality of food, lifestyle activities and an abundance of compassion between staff and most residents of the facility. Over all a very clean and well maintained place with a lot of empathy. Ive secretly been observing this place for the last two years.My rating 9/10.Well done.Highley recommendable.

Was this review helpful?  1

Serena2952 Mar 14, 2016

Recently facility has changed hands and standards have dropped pity really

Was this review helpful?  1

Hiram4575 Jan 05, 2016

My mother has been a resident in the secure dementia unit at Northgate for about 18 months, and initially I was very happy and would have given 5 stars across all areas but this has diminished over a short period of time. There has been a change of senior management 3 times since my mum entered care and a high staff turnover in the secure unit which is very confusing for my mother and others in care. Most of the staff are caring but they do not have time to dedicate to the residents as they are very understaffed. Sadly I would not recommend this place to others at this stage.

Was this review helpful?  

Kira8989 Oct 27, 2015

This facility is purpose built for aged care. It also caters for demetia patients and respite care. My late Mother was in this facility for 2 years and her care and well being were of the utmost importance to staff and administration alike. I cannot speak highly enough of Northgate and would recommend it to people looking for placement.

Was this review helpful?  

mackin Oct 24, 2015

The facilities were brand new and therefor were excellent. The staff were mostly very good. The services provided were excellent. My only concern was the length of ti,e it took staff to respond to call button. This caused distress for my fathers law particularly when he needed to go to the toilet.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Helping Hand Northgate

Available Rooms

Room Name

Studio Room Extra Services

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

10

Room size (sqm)

23m2

Room Description

These large rooms are beautifully appointed with quality fixtures and furnishings. Each room is appointed with electric bed pressure relieving mattresses bedside table television built in robes lockable storage and display shelving. The room has provisions for telephone personal computers and bar fridge. The finish of the rooms are of a high standard.
All rooms are equipped with Nurse Call points wide doors large windows high quality fabric curtains and carpets. Majority of rooms overlook gardens or have direct access to courtyards and all rooms are equipped with individually controlled heatingcooling systems.
Rooms are designed with a small selection of tastefully selected furniture to encourage residents to furnish rooms with their own personal affects and pieces. This is to encourage a home like environment as much as possible.

Common Areas Description

Built in 2012 this new facility offers 110 modern spacious residential rooms each making the most of the natural light through their northern or southern orientations. Each wing has its own centrally connected dining and lounge areas with accessible courtyards and gardens. The facility also incorporates balconies on the first floor with attractive skylines.

Meals are prepared daily on site and offer a wide selection of choice.

Room Name

Studio Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

29

Room size (sqm)

23m2

Room Description

These large rooms are beautifully appointed with quality fixtures and furnishings. Each room is appointed with electric bed bedside table television built in robes lockable storage and pressure relieving mattresses. The room has provisions for telephone personal computers and bar fridge. The finish of the rooms are of a high standard.
All rooms are equipped with Nurse Call points wide doors large windows high quality fabric curtains and carpets. Majority of rooms overlook gardens or have direct access to courtyards and all rooms are equipped with individually controlled heatingcooling systems.
Rooms are designed with a small selection of tastefully selected furniture to encourage residents to furnish rooms with their own personal affects and pieces. This is to encourage a home like environment as much as possible.

Common Areas Description

Built in 2012 this new facility offers 110 modern spacious residential rooms each making the most of the natural light through their northern or southern orientations. Each wing has its own centrally connected dining and lounge areas with accessible courtyards and gardens. The facility also incorporates balconies on the first floor with attractive skylines.

Meals are prepared daily on site and offer a wide selection of choice.

Room Name

Deluxe Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

70

Room size (sqm)

17.5m2

Room Description

The new rooms are beautifully appointed with quality fixtures and furnishings. Each room is appointed with electric bed bedside table television built in robes lockable storage and pressure relieving mattresses. The room has provisions for telephone personal computers and bar fridge. The finish of the rooms are of a high standard.
All rooms are equipped with Nurse Call points wide doors large windows high quality fabric curtains and carpets. Majority of rooms overlook gardens or have direct access to courtyards and all rooms are equipped with individually controlled heatingcooling systems.
Rooms are designed with a small selection of tastefully selected furniture to encourage residents to furnish rooms with their own personal affects and pieces. This is to encourage a home like environment as much as possible.

Common Areas Description

Built in 2012 this new facility offers 110 modern spacious residential rooms each making the most of the natural light through their northern or southern orientations. Each wing has its own centrally connected dining and lounge areas with accessible courtyards and gardens. The facility also incorporates balconies on the first floor with attractive skylines.

Meals are prepared daily on site and offer a wide selection of choice.

Aged Care Directory
My Account