Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(65 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Life Care Glenrose Court
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Ruby88 May 08, 2019

Between 1st and 3rd January 2019 I received a call on my mobile from a nurse (?) at Royal Adelaide Hospital, stating that my mother Ruth Preston (DOB 22/12/1922) had been admitted to RAH with rectal bleeding. This symptom abated, but a low red blood cell count was measured. The nurse emphasised that my Mum and her medical record requested no operative intervention, but I corrected this by stating that clearly her medication and nursing care at NH had been inadequate, resulting in the low Hb/red blood cell count. I stressed the need for her doctor (Dr. Varvovnis from Norwood) to attend NH after her discharge, which his office told me he did on 3rd January. Having already arranged a visit from 7th January, I spoke with a nurse at NH on 9th January about their failure to inform me of my Mum’s hospital admission, for at her age of 96 even a minor accident or illness could soon kill her. Then I confirmed that NH had my landline phone and mobile numbers recorded correctly. The nurse told me that their records noted that I had been informed on the date of Ruth’s admission. I repeated that I had not received a call from NH. No voice contact was made on either number, no verbal message was recorded on landline answering machine, and no SMS was sent to my mobile. Some ridiculous excuse was given that a Telstra fault must have caused this failure, though I stated that both phone lines were then ok with other calls and messages. It is unreasonable for anyone to expect an instant answer to their call, and then abandon their attempt, without later checking that any message they left was actually received. On 15th January, acting CEO of NH Rajani disclosed that she had made the call, heard a female voice and left a message, but there is a male voice on my landline message machine; so did she call another number?

Was this review helpful?  

Adela6798 Sep 26, 2018

the two things I really disliked were: 1) the smell of the place- a very heavy floral disinfectant odour that made me feel ill whenever I visited. 2) I also disliked the way that patients who were immobile due to mental or physical incapacity were all left in their wheelchairs (upright or laid back) together in an area near the elevators rather than in a more appropriate social area. this gave me an uncomfortable feeling and my father in law was distressed daily at seeing this, prompting him to push to be taken out of the facility. He is now at home, but this is too high risk as both he and his wife have dementia so we have no idea what to do to keep them safe. we have arranged in home care, but it is nowhere near enough. he has been ACAT assessed as Level 4, but the wait list for these packages is over 12 months. he may be dead by then.

Was this review helpful?  

Clarissa9592 Apr 11, 2018

I have been here 6 years and a half and initially my younger Son aked abot the alarm system as I had left a good one. He was told it was in the pipeline. The bell system was not very reliable and later I was informed my bell didin't work when I informed the Manager I had set up an Emergency Alarm System with my younger Son. I was given a pendant to wear. I was also informed the bells in the old activity room did not work either. The activity room was modernised but still did not have a call bell as I have used my mobile phone to ring the Office for help during office hours and wattle after hours. Occasionally, I make contact with Banksia at the weekend, but usually it goes to the Care Coordinator's Office which is closed.

Was this review helpful?  

Crystel1529 Aug 26, 2016

Lovely that we can take our pets into visit. Office staff are so helpful, staff make a special effort when there is a problem. It would help carers (i.e. me) if you could insist sometimes - pride is the problem with my husband, I think.

Was this review helpful?  1

Quincy5589 Aug 15, 2016

Party pies, sausage rolls, and pastries are not good for dinner Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. Every week dry sandwiches are not good. Food for dinner at Glenrose Court is disgusting. In April I spent 3 days in Adelaide and had dinner with my mum, of which I paid for, they were terrible to say the least. Why not: lamb or pork cutlets with gravy and veggies or salad for Dinner or Tuna Monday, or scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomato. Tuna patties, salad, and real mashed potatoes. The cook at Glenrose Court is not a cook!

Was this review helpful?  

Life Care

We appreciate the time taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. Our menu is a 4 week rotating menu which provides choices for our residents to select what they would like to eat. In the evening the menu provides for a choice of a light hot meal, or salad or 2 different types of sandwiches. Life Care is committed to ensuring residents have both nutritionally appropriate and appetising meal options which are different every day of the week. We are liaising with the Maggie Beer Foundation to continually improve the quality of our meals and believe we are improving all of the time.
Aug 25, 2016

511223 Feb 17, 2016

Extra care, brought back the I.L.V. in wheelchair after attending church. Care of the little things after admission, teeth, hearing aids, glasses, nails. General activities - great effort is made to meet mental, physical and spiritual needs. Wide variety of activities - seek to get volunteers to spend time with people. Meals - at times cook made a special meal only for my husband. When dementia and wandering became a problem he was not doped to give staff a break, but hassles were coped with. When a lift became necessary for showering, every effort was made to preserve the dignity of a modest gentleman. When he died, grief room, food, drinks and a bed for family if required.

Was this review helpful?  

Cynthia Feb 11, 2016

The permanent care and nursing staff are excellent, however the facility is often understaffed. The residents room cleaning service needs improvement particularly the bathrooms. The meals are substandard, breakfast is often cold and unappetising, it appears much of the food served is processed, while the food cooked onsite is unpalatable. The 2 menus (Summer/Winter) have not changed in at least 5 years with some of the same meals served on both, they are extremely boring. I find the manager's attitude to the wellbeing of residents nonexistent and I would not recommend this Aged Care service while she is employed in this position.

Was this review helpful?  1

Life Care

We appreciate the time taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. With regards to the meals experience Life Care is committed to ensuring residents have both nutritionally appropriate and appetising meal options. We have commenced a relationship with the Maggie Beer Foundation to continually improve the quality of our meals and are excited by this opportunity.
Feb 29, 2016

Ole4663 Feb 10, 2016

My aunt has recently moved into a residential care facility. She is quite young- 80 years old and she is very aware of her environment and the people who are around her. Our family are delighted with the the care, concern and consideration that the staff have made to assist her in settling in, and in making this huge change in her life a positive experience. Particularly it has been great to see her taking some small responsibilities within the organisation. It has been a learning experience for the family as well. We are encouraged by the organisation, focus and planning of this residential home.

Was this review helpful?  2

America966 Jan 22, 2016

Aged Care facilities vary greatly. Some, based on friends' experiences, would not deserve one star, operate only for profit and should be closed.. We were fortunate to choose the one we did.. I am therefore curious as to the usefulness of such blind research.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Life Care Glenrose Court

Our Residential Living at Glenrose Court features a wide range of indoor and outdoor areas for residents and their families to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented café, a hairdressing salon, a multi-purpose activity room, a chapel, several resident lounges, outdoor courtyards and a tropical fish aquarium.All our rooms are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming décor are designed to maximise natural light and offer garden or street views.Residents enjoy meals from an á la carte menu cooked on-site in the various dining areas and socialise in the many communal lounge and activity areas.Residents are encouraged to maintain contact with their existing external communities and clubs wherever possible and Life Care helps to facilitate this. There are also regular social outings and activities on site, including external excursions.Residents' health and well-being is supported by allied health professionals, t

Available Rooms

Room Name

Suite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14 (m2)

Room Description

Our Suite rooms are spacious single occupancy rooms with a shower and toilet ensuite facility. Some rooms have sliding doors out to a private courtyard whilst others have a magnificent view to the sea. All rooms are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming decor and include air conditioning built in wardrobes and windows with a view.

They feature adjustable beds nurse assist and emergency call bells and secure lockable storage.

TV and phone points are available in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Glenrose Court features a range of modern indoor and outdoor areas for residents to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented cafe and hair salon multiple lounge areas numerous dining areas multipurpose activity room family meeting rooms outdoor courtyards an outdoor aviary and a tropical fish aquarium.

Room Name

Executive

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14-15.5 (m2)

Room Description

Our Executive rooms are single occupancy rooms which are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming decor and include air conditioning built in wardrobes and windows with a view.

They feature adjustable beds nurse assist and emergency call bells and secure lockable storage.

TV and phone points are available in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Glenrose Court features a range of modern indoor and outdoor areas for residents to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented cafe and hair salon multiple lounge areas numerous dining areas multipurpose activity room family meeting rooms outdoor courtyards an outdoor aviary and a tropical fish aquarium.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14 (m2)

Room Description

Our Premium Plus rooms are single occupancy rooms in an extra services wing with a shower and toilet ensuite. All rooms are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming decor and include air conditioning built in wardrobes and windows with a view.

They feature adjustable beds nurse assist and emergency call bells and secure lockable storage.

TV and phone points are available in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Glenrose Court features a range of modern indoor and outdoor areas for residents to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented cafe and hair salon multiple lounge areas numerous dining areas multipurpose activity room family meeting rooms outdoor courtyards an outdoor aviary and a tropical fish aquarium.

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

12.5-18 (m2)

Room Description

Our Premium rooms are single occupancy rooms with a shower and toilet ensuite. All rooms are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming decor and include air conditioning built in wardrobes and windows with a view.

They feature adjustable beds nurse assist and emergency call bells and secure lockable storage.

TV and phone points are available in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Glenrose Court features a range of modern indoor and outdoor areas for residents to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented cafe and hair salon multiple lounge areas numerous dining areas multipurpose activity room family meeting rooms outdoor courtyards an outdoor aviary and a tropical fish aquarium.

Room Name

Standard

Type

Shared room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

12.5-12.6 (m2)

Room Description

Our Standard rooms are well appointed with a shower and toilet ensuite. All rooms are well appointed with quality soft furnishings and welcoming decor and include air conditioning built in wardrobes and windows with a view.

They feature adjustable beds nurse assist and emergency call bells and secure lockable storage.

TV and phone points are available in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Glenrose Court features a range of modern indoor and outdoor areas for residents to enjoy. They include a beautifully presented cafe and hair salon multiple lounge areas numerous dining areas multipurpose activity room family meeting rooms outdoor courtyards an outdoor aviary and a tropical fish aquarium.

Aged Care Directory
My Account