Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Maroba Caring Communities

4.27 48 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(48 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Maroba Caring Communities

A life looked after at Maroba Caring Communities. As daily life gets more difficult, it’s good to know that you may only need to move around the corner to Maroba Caring Communities.

Visitors to Maroba call it ‘amazing’ and ‘exceptional’. We call it home.
Independence, some discreet support, or high care? Whatever you choose, your life will be enriched and meaningful at Maroba.

At Maroba, you'll find a diverse range of highly skilled staff who can offer specialised aged care services such as palliative care, pastoral care, dementia care and general day to day healthcare. Your wellbeing is our priority!

Maroba Terrace – The Maroba Terrace is similar to a village. With 23 units on site, this accommodation is designed for the young at heart who want independent living. With the option from two or three bedroom homes, all Maroba Terrace units have large open-plan living areas and easy-care work spaces.

Maroba Lodge – When it comes time to hang up your gardneing gloves and give the cooking a miss, you’re ready to relax in Maroba Lodge. Built in 1993 the Lodge consisits of three wings – Bluegum Grove, Jacaranda Gardens and Braye Park. There are 55 single rooms available in all, 12 rooms being dedicated to a Dementia secure environment in the Braye Park wing.

Maroba Manor – Inside the Manor you’ll find the main reception area  for all of Maroba Caring Communities, purpose-built theatre for movie sessions complete with chips and lollies, multi-denominational chapel, serene and inspirational garden areas and lounge areas for family and friends to visit.

The building has both single and double rooms with all the rooms designed to optimise light and good airflow. What’s more, each room has its own en suite and air conditioning. We use technology to keep everyone safe and secure and enhance the overall quality of life by respecting individual choices regarding care and living style.

Individual care to suit you and your needs – Each resident is assessed and treated as an indiviual and we believe in getting families to contribute in the care decision-making  process. It’s our way of maintaining a sense of community and ensuring the wellbeing of all our residents.

Maroba offers an extensive range of additional services such as hairdressers, on site beautician, physiotherapy, fine dining and gym access. Our activities staff take our residents out on scenic tours, guided art exhibitions, lunches and to many other events. Give us a call to discuss the other additional paid services we offer at Maroba.

Dining Experience - Maroba has recently introduced a new dining experience for the residents, including new linen, fine china, additional menu options and updated centrepieces. Our aim is to ensure that each meal and experience is of the highest quality. Everyday menu options can be found at Reception.

Beautician - We have a qualified beautician on site every Monday to complete bookings for the residents. The beauty care treatments range from manicures and pedicures to full body treatments and spa baths. Bookings can be made at Reception or by phoning the office on (02) 4935 0300. The list of beauty treatments can be found at Reception and have also been placed on our Facebook Page "Maroba".

Hairdresser - We have two hairdressers on site at Maroba who complete bookings on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays. Bookings can be made via the staff in each wing or at Reception. The hairdressers have had years of experience and ensure the residents have a fun and memborable experience each and every time they visit, whether it is getting dolled up for a special occasion or just a trim - the service delivered is exceptional.

Admission Process – At Maroba, we’re very happy to help. We can explain what the costs are and the steps in gaining admission to our home here at Maroba. If you’d like to talk to someone at Maroba about the finances, making a time to view the accommodation or grounds and experience Maroba first hand before you make the move to aged care, simply call us on (02) 4935 0300 or email us at [email protected]

47 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Tonicap Apr 29, 2019

Maroba is an excellent aged care facility where my mother is cared for . My mother has dementia and is unable to walk due to a fall where she broke her femur. The nursing care at Maroba cannot be faulted. She is treated with respect, love and there is always smiling nurses who clearly love their job and have passion for their work. I would highly recommend this facility to anyone who is concerned for their parents and the elderly. The CEO is personable, approachable and passionate!

Was this review helpful?  

Thelma7738 Apr 11, 2019

The staff are very friendly and treat all residents with the upmost respect. It’s a pleasure to enter this facility and I’m so lucky my mother is there.

Was this review helpful?  

GrantL Oct 08, 2018

Staff were all very friendly and caring towards my father who was resident there. Always had activities for the residents. and always willing to try and help with out of the ordinary requests.

Was this review helpful?  

Mack6149 Sep 26, 2018

The staff at maroba are very friendly and I feel they do care for the clients

Was this review helpful?  

Kennedy15 Sep 25, 2018

I have had my mother in this place for 4 yrs and have never had the need to complain about anything.

Was this review helpful?  

Kolby2090 Sep 25, 2018

Excellent care given. Food as with most could be improved.

Was this review helpful?  

Roxane9380 Sep 25, 2018

Maroba is an amazing nursing home, the service and the care are beyond incredible! I would recommend this facility to everyone that is looking for a clean caring welcoming environment that ensure the elderly and frail feel like they are in their own home and very loved!

Was this review helpful?  

Mckenna2011 Sep 12, 2018

My mother has been a resident at Maroba for six years now and I am extremely satisfied with the level of care she receives. Staff at the home go the extra mile for the residents and on the only occasion there was a problem management responded quickly and appropriately. I cannot speak highly enough of the level of care she receives in all aspects of her needs

Was this review helpful?  

Delfina9676 Aug 01, 2017

I am very happy with the overall experience for my relative. i was pleasantly surprised to see the August Program schedule was on their Facebook page today for the first time which allows us to see what is actually available for the residents to do. If possible more bus trips would be good. Food could be improved. But overall extremely happy and pleased we choose this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Nathaniel5936 Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate the suggestions and will pass these on. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 03, 2017

Elenor6959 Jul 31, 2017

Maroba Nursing Home at Waratah is excellent! Great nurses, wonderful care, good meals, awesome environment for visitors, lots of activities, clean and staff always available for a chat on the condition of my mother.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Antonetta1042 Thank you so much for this very overwhelming positive feedback ! Much appreciated. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 03, 2017

Deontae1054 Sep 27, 2016

On first entering facility very open have large open community area,The Junction, which is utilised well but the furnishings are very dirty,old and tired looking.this area is great when visiting my loved one. am disappointed there isn't enough outdoor green areas as some of the balconies face main road and are very noisey. Staff are friendly but not always approachable, but the residents appear well looked after. A bit disappointed no activities at weekend which makes for long days. Food is pretty good on the whole

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Dean 592 Thank you for your review. I am pleased to inform you that we have engaged an upholster to recover our furnishings throughout Maroba in the near future. There are several out door spaces available that do not face the main road, if you would like some suggestions of areas available for use please ask a staff member or reception. Thank you for your concern regarding activities on the weekends, we are giving this some consideration. We really appreciate your feedback, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Oct 04, 2016

Pomegranate Sep 22, 2016

I find that the staff in general seem irritated when I ask about the wellbeing of my mother. If I make a request (i.e. for her to have her haircut), it often doesn't happen. I get the impression that no one wants to be bothered with relatives. The accounts manager seems incapable of returning my calls, he is always "in a meeting or busy".

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Pomegranate Thank you for your review. That is disappointing to read and I can only apologise on behalf of management. If you would like to provide more details regarding incidents we would be happy to follow them up for you. The Director of Care, Melinda Abell may be contacted to discuss any concerns and to assist you to arrange appointments for your mother. Please don't hesitate to call. If you would like to email the accounts manager directly he can be contacted on [email protected] Thank you, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 22, 2016

Kaitlyn7608 Sep 22, 2016

A well run establishment vet down by the very poor quality at the food. Nothing to look forward to at any meal time, and little chance of going elsewhere for meals.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maroba

Dear Kaitlyn7608 Thank you for your review. We held a resident focus group today to review the food quality and menu suggestions with the area manager. We received great feedback from the majority of residents and some new suggestions for improvement. I would like to personally offer you a meeting with our Chef and tour of the kitchen if you would like to see how the food is prepared fresh at site. If you would like to take up this opportunity please feel free to contact our Hospitality Manager, Anne Power for an appointment. As you can imagine its can be hard to cater for 155 residents personal preferences each day. Residents may order in take away and this is a service we have offered to some residents. Hope this helps. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 22, 2016

Molly5430 Sep 20, 2016

Overall I have found the facility of a Top Standard. The environment and surroundings are of a good modern standard and are always immaculately clean (no smells). The care and attention my mother and other resident that I see regularly in my mother's wing (Dementia) is always of a high standard and the staff are usually always willing to assist with whatever is required. I would recomemend "Maroba" to others.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Molly5430 Thank you for this positive feedback, we really appreciate knowing this is how you feel and your mother's care is being well attended to by our staff. Much appreciated, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 21, 2016

Dingadee Sep 20, 2016

My aunt says she is well fed and looked after by caring staff, but the best thing of all, is that they make her laugh. She is very happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Dingadee Wow that's fantastic !! Thank you for the review. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 21, 2016

Joly Sep 16, 2016

My husband has been a resident in "The Manor" since May 16. I am more than satisfied with the loving care and attention he is being given. the care of the staff is both loving and caring. My husband is a difficult man to handle, but the staff have him participating in the daily activities, and he really looks forward to this daily. The sister in charge of his section has been very, very patient and kind with him. I would recommend this wonderful facility to anyone looking for wonderful care for a family member.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Joly Thank you for this positive feedback. We are glad we are meeting your expectations and are happy to of service. Kind regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 19, 2016

Lachie Sep 16, 2016

Overall my family is very pleased with the care that my mother is receiving at Maroba Lodge. We would like to make a few suggestions: - the provision of a list of staff and their responsibilities for the resident and their family, so that if/when we have a query they know to whom to direct it. For example, "If you have a query about medications, please contact (person's tile and name) on/at (phone number, office location); if you have a query about maintenance please contact (person's name) on/at (phone number/location)" etc. We are not always sure who is the most appropriate person to contact on different issues and they are not always available at the time. - the provision of an outdoor garden on flat ground in which to walk would be nice. At present there is nowhere within the facility or nearby to stroll without having to deal with cars. - the provision of more outings for the residents. They don't seem to have many trips away from the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Lachie Thank you so much for your feedback, your suggestions are great. In response I have a couple of suggestions; • Please refer any care concerns to the Registered Nurse in charge of shift or the Care Team Leader located at the front office at the Lodge. Any staff will be able to assist to call them if they are not available. • Also, if you refer to our website there is a list of staff you may refer questions too such as John for maintenance etc. We have discussed a walking track for behind the building and there are a few nice sitting areas behind the Lodge. You are also welcome to come over The Junction in the Manor as this is a lovely space for relatives and residents to share. In relation to bus trips, we are trying to source more volunteer bus drivers. At the moment we offer outings once a month however as aim is to increase this. Once again thank you so much. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 19, 2016

Loy7664 Sep 15, 2016

Maroba staff, food, the wellbeing of residents is exceptional. The building layout is extremely functional and conducive to feeling like a home environment.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Loy7664 Thank you so much for this great review, we appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 15, 2016

Bess Anajojo Sep 15, 2016

Mum has been at Maroba for 12 months. She says that Maroba is her home. Mum is 93 and have lived alone for 22 years, been in the same house since 1946. A huge move for her. The staff are wonderful, truly compassionate and caring people. Our family has peace of mind Mum is where she is. When I was advised that a vacancy had come up, I felt like I'd won the lottery. Mum is well cared for amongst friends and most importantly, professional, kind and compassionate people.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Bess Thank you so much for this positive review. Its great to read such wonderful heart warming feedback and we are so happy your mum is with us and settling into her new home here at Maroba. Many thanks for your feedback, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 15, 2016

Jillian6755 Sep 08, 2016

This is a lovely, friendly place. I think more should be done to keep resident busy especially on weekends. There appears to be no activity officer on weekends maybe some students doing aged care studies could do work experience. I think teatime meals could be 5.30 not 5 as its a long time before breakfast at 8, Otherwise, the place is great, staff are lovely.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maroba

Dear Jullian6755, Thank you for the feedback. We will give consideration to your suggestion's for improvement. Supper is also offered to all residents and available on request if required between 7-8pm. Thank you so much for your review. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 08, 2016

Downie48 Sep 08, 2016

I am most impressed by the staff involved in Activities. They are very caring and upbeat and always trying to think of new ways to involve the residents. My mother has an interest in art and has always painted, but lost confidence with her increase in dementia - the remedial art Class has brought her a great deal of pleasure.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Downie48, Wow, that's great news, we knew the ART program would be beneficial and the results speak for themselves. Thank you for your lovely words. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 08, 2016

Stella Sep 08, 2016

My mum is very happy and is always doing something and always has someone to talk to.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Stella Thats wonderful to hear, thankyou for your review. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Sep 08, 2016

Stumpit Aug 29, 2016

I have concerns about the staffing levels. The food, while average is not very appetising or varied.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Stumpit I would like to discuss your concerns regarding staffing with you directly if you would like to contact me. Our staffing levels are above the benchmark for aged care. You may have seen some changes in that the hours have been more evenly distributed across the site and the shifts however hours have not been reduced. Your comments regrading the menu have been passed to out Chef. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 29, 2016

Buddy Aug 29, 2016

My mum has been in this facility since Dec 2015. She settled really well, has a lovely room and the staff have been wonderful to her. Has had some health issues since moving in and the staff, nurses, etc have been excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Buddy Thank you do much for your review. Very happy to hear your mother's needs have been met and you are satisfied with the service. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 29, 2016

Ryleuno1 Aug 26, 2016

Dad 94. Mum 90. They are well cared for during the day. My dad has had a few issues with night staff taking a very long time to respond. He is unable to get out of bed unassisted and needs help to bathroom or pan in night. Left on pan for 45 minutes twice in last 4 months. The food seems to taste similar as both parents are used to meat and veggies (old school) don't expect 4 star, but have found the meals the last few months "not very tasty". Overall Maroba is a very good home. Need more staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Ryleuno1, Thank you so much for your review and positive feedback. I will discuss your concern with the night staff Registered Nurse regarding staff response times. I have already informed the kitchen of your comments, it can be very difficult to please 155 residents each and every day in regard to food preferences however we do try out best and all comments are passed to the Chef. Our staffing profile remains above the benchmark is higher than most facilities. Given the changes to aged care funding Maroba has been very conscious to ensure nurses remain employed and jobs are not lost. Hours across the site have been more evenly distributed. If you would like to discuss any of theses matters further please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 29, 2016

Albina4781 Aug 26, 2016

The facilities are modern and spacious and are very well maintained on a daily basis. The staff are caring and attentive to the needs of the individual. I hold the staff in highest regard. I think highly of the facility, its management and the service it provides and never hesitate to convey these thoughts to others.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Albina4781 Thank you for your review, it was very positive and uplifting. Much appreciated, Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 29, 2016

Faint Aug 19, 2016

Our mum is settling nicely into her room with the help of the majority of staff. She is happy with her room and likes the male staff for their very caring attitude, They are better at showering than females, more gentle. Staff aim to please with meals. There is a lot of food mum has never eaten so this has been a little sad for her, but she is adapting too. Mum has faced one lady not so nice to her and the staff have been very supportive of mum and the other lady - excellent result.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Faint, Thank you for leaving Maroba a review. Its great to get some positive feedback about our male nurses. Much appreciated. Here to help if you need anything. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 22, 2016

Gimley1 Aug 19, 2016

They make a big deal on the website about it being the residents' "home" and retaining their independence, but the staff don't like it if a resident isn't ready to be "helped" into their pyjamas. They (the majority - not sure) prefer everyone to do what the staff say when they say it. The food is often tough and hard for residents to cut. Maybe a survey of what residents enjoy each week would help. Overall, there are some absolute jewels in the crown of aged care nursing. They are wonderful and caring. They often go above and beyond their duty.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Gimley1 Thank you for posting your feedback. I will ensure I pass on your feedback to the staff. Residents are regularly consulted regarding meal preferences and we randomly audit the food to check for quality. In saying that it can be hard to please everyone however your feedback will be passed to our Chef. I agree, we do have some amazing staff here. If there is anything that concerns you in future, please feel free to contact me directly at [email protected] or phone me on 49350300. Happy to help in any way we can. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 22, 2016

Jack Aug 09, 2016

My wife Melvie has been in the home about 8 weeks and behalf of her and myself and family, I wish to say how clean it is in the meals area. According to my wife, the staff is very good and very caring to her. Would refer them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Jack Thank you for leaving such a positive Maroba a review. Kind regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Aug 22, 2016

Aiden826 Mar 15, 2016

The staff from the registered nurses to the domestic and cleaning staff were caring, compassionate and went that extra mile. The kitchen staff went over and beyond to make the residents feel at home.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Aiden 826 Thank you for this positive review. It is very pleasing to hear that our residents and families are having such wonderful experiences at Maroba. Our staff our certainly our greatest asset. Thanks again, Angela Carey Director of Clinical Excellence
Mar 16, 2016

Stevie6317 Feb 29, 2016

Staff are always caring and friendly and, despite being so busy, always have time to help.

Was this review helpful?  

Bensee Feb 09, 2016

When this time in your life comes along it is difficult to chose a facility that ticks all the boxes and meets everyone's needs. But Maroba has gone a long way towards this, it was my mothers choice and it was the familys choice. Maroba staff are warm, welcoming and very accommodating. The transition is never smooth but the only area where perhaps there could be an improvement is with mental health support.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Bensee Thank you for your review. I agree its a very difficult time for all involved. Its wonderful to hear the staff have assisted to make it easier. In regards to your suggestion about mental health support, there are several options available. If you would like to speak to the our Clinical Manager Katrina regarding this she would be happy to assist. Please let her know if we can do anything further for you. Kind Regards, Angela Carey Director of Clinical Excellence
Feb 09, 2016

John Marshall Jan 29, 2016

I have been a resident here for 18 months and have been very happy and content since day one. All my needs are addressed and I want for nothing. The care is available at the press of a button 24/7. I read, play Bridge, join in entertainment organised by the dedicated staff, or entertain myself with my computer. My date of birth is 22/07/1923.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear John Thank you so much for leaving us your review. I'm so happy to have read about your experience with us here at Maroba. Kind Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Feb 04, 2016

Megabyte55 Jan 27, 2016

Communication is poor, emails go unanswered for weeks. Only responded to after phone call and re-email prompt. Staffing levels are sometimes inadequate (especially public holiday periods when penalty rates might apply).

Was this review helpful?  1

Maroba

Dear Megabyte55 I'm sorry to hear about the communication issues. Please contact myself directly in future regarding any clinical matters and I can direct your concerns to the appropriate person. Our staffing levels for care staff remain the same on weekends and public holidays except for administration staff and activities staff. Thankyou, Kind Regards Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Feb 09, 2016

Keith Jan 20, 2016

The food lacks variety and freshness - not great nutritionally. I rarely look forward to any of the meals. Otherwise the care/facilities are good.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Keith Thank you for your review and comments regarding the food. I have organised for the Hospitality Manager to meet with you on a regular basis. Our Chef is very flexible and he has offered to cook any meals for you that you would like. Please let our Hospitality Manager know what your preferences are. Our new menu is about to begin and all our menus have been reviewed and approved by a dietician. Once again, thank you. Please feel free to ask for me at anytime and I am happy to discuss your concerns with your personally. Kind Regards, Angela Carey - Director of Clinical Excellence
Jan 21, 2016

Tyshawn6580 Jan 20, 2016

Most of the staff are very caring but we find it difficult to get updates/information on mum's condition. Email messages are sent but we do not get responses, which is extremely frustrating. In some instances mum has been dressed in other resident's clothing - which again is upsetting as we have name labels on all items. If family could be given regular reports or reviews, that would be a great thing and I would recommend this be implemented if at all possible. Lack of communication would be our main concern!

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Tyshawn6580 - Thankyou for providing us with this feedback. I have responded to an email sent regarding these issues. My apologies regarding the delay in response, that email address was unattended during the holiday period. Staff are expected to communicate any changes to the family members and this will be reinforced to them. However, please do not ever hesitate to speak with the Registered Nurse in Charge if ever you have any questions or concerns. If you would like to set up a regular care conference we can also accommodate that. Please contact myself or the Director of Facility Services, Debbie Laver directly regarding any other issues or concerns. Once again, thank you. Kind Regards, Angela Carey - Director of Clinical Excellence
Jan 21, 2016

Bonnie45 Jan 08, 2016

Sometimes it's hard to judge the difference between fact and my mum's perception (as she's inclined to tell me the negatives and often 'takes on board' something someone else has said). From my own dealings with staff, I have always been impressed with the positive and caring attitude everyone has. I was doubly impressed yesterday at the prompt and caring attention mum received after a minor fall.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Bonnie45 Thank you for your review. Maroba staff are very responsive to resident's needs and its great to know this is what you experienced with us. I hope your mother recovers quickly from her fall. Please don't hesitate to speak with the RN if you have any care concerns. Once again thankyou for your feedback much appreciated. King Regards, Angela Carey - Director of Clinical Excellence
Jan 12, 2016

Willard7361 Jan 07, 2016

You need extra staff on weekends and weekdays. Running out of food. My mum is gluten free and they are always running out of food for her.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Willard7361 Sorry to hear of your concerns regarding staffing and food. I can reassure you by saying that at Maroba we have recently added an additional 12 hours per day to the staffing in the Lodge, particularly in the afternoons. The staffing is the same 7 days per week except for the Registered Nurse who is located in the Manor. In regards to gluten free foods, I have confirmed with the Chef that they are always available. Special gluten free bread and muffins etc are made for residents. The Chef is available from 6am to 6pm if you ever have any issues or concerns please ask to speak with the Chef directly or the supervisor on duty who can cater to your needs. Thankyou so much for your valuable feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly in future at [email protected] Kind Regards Angela Carey - Director of Clinical Excellence.
Jan 12, 2016

Winston9 Jan 05, 2016

The level of care provided for Mum at Maroba Manor is first class. Mum is very settled there in the Waratah Wing, and I know Mum is being cared for in the best possible way. They provide individual care for Mum that meets her emotional and physical needs. The staff are excellent, and the organisational spirituality, ethics, integrity, honesty, professional and operational excellence are driven from the very top of the organisation and, are embodied in the organisational actions. This is the big difference between Maroba and other age care providers I have dealt with. You can see staff are supported in a realistic way by management. I have never seen them flustered, and they are always ready to assist the residents, family and their peers.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Winston9 Thank you so much for this amazing review. It has made me very proud to hear that the staff are doing such a great job in all areas. Thankyou so much for choosing Maroba as your aged care provider of choice. Warm Regards, Angela Carey, Acting CEO and Director of Clinical Excellence
Jan 05, 2016

Kameron4643 Oct 17, 2015

The facility always smells clean and fresh. The residents are always clean and well presented. The staff are always approachable and friendly. The food is delicious and varied. There are numerous activities available. The hairdresser and podiatrist services are readily available also.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Kameron4643 Thankyou for you review. Maroba endeavours to provide high quality aged care services. We are very pleased you are happy with the care and services. Thank you again for choosing Maroba. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

Grahame Sep 15, 2015

My mother is very happy, has made friends and the staff are wonderful

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Grahame - Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. We appreciate your positive feedback and are thrilled your mother is happy at Maroba. We are looking forward to continuing to care for your mother. Kind regards, Angela Carey Director of Clinical Excellence.
Sep 15, 2015

Lenore2997 Sep 14, 2015

Maroba provides a caring environment and I am very pleased with the care that my mother is receiving. The facilities are well maintained and a high standard of cleanliness is also maintained. The moving in process was made easy by the all staff members I encountered on the day Mum moved in. Like many others my Mother lived an independent life, with a little assistance, and suddenly became ill and was no longer able to look after herself. It was left to me as Mum was not able to go out of the hospital to inspect facilities. I inspected a number of facilities and Maroba was one of my first preferences. My Mother has few complaints about her new home. Food is always an issue because everyone has different tastes and the catering team are trying to satisfy everyone, my opinion is that they should concentrate more on plainer old fashion type meals but I sure that others would not agree. I have found all the staff to be caring and helpful but as with everything these day costs are a ruling factor and I have noticed staff are in short supply at times. The main improvement I would suggest is more news and information for families as not everyone is able to visit their loved one every couple of days. As most people have email these days a copy the monthly activities sheet and any relevant news could be emailed at minimum cost or even posting this information on the web page would be good.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Lenore2997 Thank you for your positive feedback of you Maroba experience to date. In relation to the last few points you have raised I would like to provide you with some feedback; • Residents are consulted regarding the menu selection and as you suggested we do try to cater to many various tastes. • We are in the process of implementing additional hours in the Lodge due to the increasing care needs of our hostel residents. You should see improved staffing levels here in the next few months. We never work short staffed but occasionally do resort to agency staff to assist. We have a focus on recruitment at the moment and are trying to ensure we recruit the best possible staff for Maroba. • In relation to news and information – we have recently discussed re commencing a resident
Sep 16, 2015

ConcernedRelative Jun 22, 2015

Immaculate from the outside, however poor staff communication especially with handover, high reliance on agency staff, limited social activities and no encouragement to join in, inadequate personal hygiene maintained on residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Concerned Relative Maroba appreciates all feedback and we aim to use this for the process of continuous improvement in all that we do. Since you posted this review in June many systems and processes have changed. Staff do have formal handovers at each shift and we have introduced a team briefing with the RN mid shift. Agency staff use is limited now we have a fuller compliment of staff on board. The Leisure and Lifestyle staff publish a monthly calendar of events based on residents requests and choice of activities. We offer a daily range of activities for residents to participate in. I would like to invite you in to meet with me personally so we may address your concerns and work more closely with you. Do not hesitate to call me on 49350300 or email me on [email protected] to make an appointment. Thankyou again, best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

Patchett Jun 03, 2015

I was very relieved when my parents secured places with MAROBA, it was their facility of choice after visiting a few. After only just existing in their own home, they enjoyed a few years together before my mother passed away. Dad is now bedridden and mostly receives exceptional care, with most of the nursing staff not yet 'jaded', here's hoping this continues at this wonderful facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Patchett many thanks for posting this review for us. Maroba is pleased to be able to offer wonderful services and the staff are very dedicated and to aged care. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

Lisamck Jun 01, 2015

Maroba always does it's best to be as relevant as possible for it's clients

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Lisamck Thankyou very much. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

[email protected] May 31, 2015

I think that most aged car facilities get the food wrong. They should provide meals that old people are used to. Meat and 3 veg not loaded with garlic and too many spices. Meat pie chips and gravy and peas is another winner. My aunt spent her last days in an aged care facility and we struggled to get her to eat because she just didn't like the food. Some people have adventurous appetites while others just struggle with the concept. Overall the quality of care was of a high standard and the facility was new and well appointed. Although my aunt was unable to participate in activities many were available for those so inclined. The staff were kind and caring particularly when it came to the end of her life. I would recommend this facility to those contemplating moving to an aged care facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear [email protected] Thank you for the review. Its always hard to please so many residents with food however we do try our best and have passed on your comments to our catering team. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know how helpful they were at the end of your aunts life. Maroba appreciates your recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

Kerrie Hicks May 29, 2015

My beautiful mum had to go into care and it all happened very quickly and so was not planned in any way. As a Registered Nurse it was one of the most stressful and emotional periods of my life. I felt so much guilt and felt I had so let her down as she had always said she would never go into one if those homes and you will take me out of here in a box. So you can imagine how I felt the day I was told that she could never return home to live by herself. At the time we lived in a 2 story house I still had to work and we had a 16 year old so there was no way I could care for her at home. Anyway the nursing home I selected became her home and the staff her extended family and that is truly how I felt so what started as a very stressful start it was for us a happy ending.

Was this review helpful?  

Maroba

Dear Kerrie, Thank you for sharing your heartfelt story with us and others that read these reviews. The transition into care is a difficult time of adjustment and social change. Maroba attempts to ease this as much as possible and to make new residents feel welcomed, secured and loved as part of our family. Maroba appreciates your feedback and recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 20, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Maroba Caring Communities

Information not yet provided by facility

Available Rooms

Room Name

Manor Suites - Shared Room

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

20

Room size (sqm)

Average size of 25.22 square metres

Room Description

The Manor is a modern two storey building and was constructed in 2008. It is divided into four areas named after familiar Newcastle suburbs - Nobbys The Hill Honeysuckle and Waratah wings.

It was designed to be an energy efficient building with many environmentally friendly features including natural air flow to complement a fully air-conditioned living space high ceilings natural lighting double glazing on windows and internal gardens featuring cascading waterfalls to create peaceful living spaces for residents to enjoy.

There are 18 double shared High Care rooms with a shared ensuite available in the Manor High Care.

All rooms undergo a routine maintenance program including the walls windows doors floors ceilings and fittings and are in excellent condition.

Rooms are located on both the Western side of the building with views overlooking landscaped gardens and Braye Park.

All rooms have electronically controlled tilt beds call bell internet phone and television connections phones on request wall brackets for television installation natural lighting internal central lighting built in wardrobes for clothing and general storage and are fully air conditioned which maintains a comfortable temperature all year round. Residents are welcome to bring their own special items of furniture to increase storage options.

Common Areas Description

Common areas that residents have access to consist of comfortable lounge areas and intimate sitting rooms dining rooms activity area a cinema chapel for prayer and Church services Caf Hairdressing salon library internet facilities BBQ facilities Gym equipment and a piano.

Residents can enjoy the spacious lounge areas 762 m in each wing and 1022 m in the Junction Caf. Dining areas are adjacent to resident rooms making for easy access at meals times. Each wing has its own dining area of approximately 682 m and 1022 m in the Junction Caf. There is large screen TV entertainment facilities in each of the lounges.

Balconies adjoin the Lounge dining areas with views toward the Harbour on the top floor and access to gardens and outside seating on the lower floors.

The condition of the common areas walls doors ceilings windows floors and fittings is excellent and undergoes regular maintenance to keep it looking fresh clean and safe for residents to enjoy.

Room Name

Braye Park Suite - Single Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

12

Room size (sqm)

Average size of 19.92 square metres

Room Description

Braye Park wing is a dementia specific facility with-in The Lodge and was constructed in 2001 to complement the low care facility.

It was designed to be an energy efficient building with many environmentally friendly features including natural air flow to complement air-conditioned common areas high ceilings natural lighting and access to the Braye Park gardens for residents to enjoy from the common areas.

The Braye Park suites all single rooms consists of 12 dementia specific rooms each with a private ensuite.

All rooms undergo a routine maintenance program including the walls windows doors floors ceilings and fittings and are in excellent condition.

All rooms have electronically controlled tilt beds call bell internet ceiling fans vinyl flooring phone and television connections phones on request wall brackets for television installation natural lighting internal central lighting built in wardrobes for clothing and general storage. Residents are welcome to bring their own special items of furniture to increase storage options.

Common Areas Description

Common areas that residents have access to consist of comfortable lounge seating and intimate an intimate sitting sun room a dining room with access to Caf kiosk Hairdressing salon library and activity areas.

Residents can enjoy the spacious lounge dining areas 1052 m. Dining areas are adjacent to resident rooms making for easy access at meals times. There is large screen TV entertainment facilities for the residents to enjoy.

The condition of the common areas walls doors ceilings windows floors and fittings is excellent and undergoes regular maintenance to keep it looking fresh clean and safe for residents to enjoy.

Room Name

Lodge Suite - Single Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

43

Room size (sqm)

Average size of 17 square metres

Room Description

The Lodge is a 55 bed low care single storey building and was constructed in 1993.
It was designed to be an energy efficient building with many environmentally friendly features including natural air flow to complement a fully air-conditioned in the common areas high ceilings natural lighting and beautiful internal gardens featuring cascading waterfalls to create peaceful living spaces for residents to enjoy.

The Lodge suite Single room consists of 42 low care rooms each with a private ensuite in the North and South wings of the building. Most rooms have external access where residents can enjoy the Lodge gardens.

All rooms undergo a routine maintenance program including the walls windows doors floors ceilings and fittings and are in excellent condition.

All rooms have electronically controlled tilt beds call bell internet ceiling fans carpet flooring kitchettes phone and television connections phones on request wall brackets for television installation natural lighting internal central lighting built in wardrobes for clothing and general storage and have their own air conditioning system which maintains a comfortable temperature all year round. Residents are welcome to bring their own special items of furniture to increase storage options.

Common Areas Description

Common areas that residents have access to consist of comfortable lounge areas and intimate sitting sun rooms dining rooms activity areas access to the cinema and chapel for prayer and Church services Caf kiosk Hairdressing salon library internet facilities BBQ facilities access to Gym equipment and a piano.

Residents can enjoy the spacious lounge areas 422 m in each wing. Dining areas are adjacent to resident rooms making for easy access at meals times. Each wing has its own dining area of approximately 962 m. There is large screen TV entertainment facilities in each of the lounges.

The condition of the common areas walls doors ceilings windows floors and fittings is excellent and undergoes regular maintenance to keep it looking fresh clean and safe for residents to enjoy.

Room Name

Manor Suites - Single Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

60

Room size (sqm)

Average size of 16.5 sq m

Room Description

The Manor is a modern two storey building and was constructed in 2008. It is divided into four areas named after familiar Newcastle suburbs - Nobbys The Hill Honeysuckle and Waratah wings.

It was designed to be an energy efficient building with many environmentally friendly features including natural air flow to complement a fully air-conditioned living space high ceilings natural lighting double glazing on windows and internal gardens featuring cascading waterfalls to create peaceful living spaces for residents to enjoy.

There are 61 single High Care rooms with private ensuites available in the Manor High Care.

All rooms undergo a routine maintenance program including the walls windows doors floors ceilings and fittings and are in excellent condition.

Rooms are located on both the Eastern and Western side of the building with views overlooking Waratah suburb facing Newcastle Harbour landscaped gardens and Braye Park.

All rooms have electronically controlled tilt beds call bell internet phone and television connections phones on request wall brackets for television installation natural lighting internal central lighting built in wardrobes for clothing and general storage and are fully air conditioned which maintains a comfortable temperature all year round. Residents are welcome to bring their own special items of furniture to increase storage options.

Common Areas Description

Common areas that residents have access to consist of comfortable lounge areas and intimate sitting rooms dining rooms activity area a cinema chapel for prayer and Church services Caf Hairdressing salon library internet facilities BBQ facilities Gym equipment and a piano.

Residents can enjoy the spacious lounge areas 762 m in each wing and 1022 m in the Junction Caf. Dining areas are adjacent to resident rooms making for easy access at meals times. Each wing has its own dining area of approximately 682 m and 1022 m in the Junction Caf. There is large screen TV entertainment facilities in each of the lounges.

Balconies adjoin the Lounge dining areas with views toward the Harbour on the top floor and access to gardens and outside seating on the lower floors.

The condition of the common areas walls doors ceilings windows floors and fittings is excellent and undergoes regular maintenance to keep it looking fresh clean and safe for residents to enjoy.

Aged Care Directory
My Account