Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator Average Quality
(180 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Melville Grange
Overview

Homestyle Melville Grange at Berwick provides permanent and respite residential aged care at the foot of the Dandenong Ranges in the south east.

Melville Grange is a picturesque home for 60 residents set in lush gardens with relaxed, peaceful surrounds.

The sunny courtyards provide a pleasant outlook from all resident’s individual rooms and the outdoor BBQ areas are available for family and friends, or special occasions. 

There is a strong sense of community spirit at Melville Grange with residents supporting for many worthwhile organisations and occasions of respect, including ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day.
15 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Tracey3736 Apr 11, 2019

The home itself is lovely, beautifully furnished and rooms are a nice size. The staff are good although probably sometimes there is a shortage of staff especially with the home growing as it has over the last year. My dad is reasonably happy with the food but feels it isn't as good as when he first arrived 3 years ago.

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Tracey3736, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Aged Care Reviews Community. I am pleased to hear that overall your dad is happy and take on board your feedback in relation to food that will be shared with our management team and chef. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Apr 29, 2019

Shelley10 Nov 12, 2018

Renovations at the moment when finished will be great than a five. Staff go well beyond care. Great. Very homely and friendly. Great Choice for my mother.

Was this review helpful?  1

Wendell9375 Sep 26, 2018

My family and I are very happy with Melville Grange. The new building is beautiful, staff are always helpful. The food sometimes is not to my dad's liking but that could be his palate.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Wendell9375, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am thrilled to hear your feedback about our building and staff as I know how dedicated the team are at Melville Grange. Your feedback has been shared with our team and is greatly appreciated. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 30, 2018

Cleve5103 Sep 26, 2018

My family and I are very happy with Melville Grange. The new building is beautiful, staff are always helpful. The food sometimes is not to my dad's liking but that could be his palate.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Cleve5103, thank for you sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community and wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 17, 2018

Brent5531 Sep 25, 2018

I highly recommend this place. The staff are caring and professional and take great care of the residents st all times

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Brent5531, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am really pleased to hear that the passion of our staff shines through in the care they provide to our residents. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 30, 2018

Rhoda7089 Sep 25, 2018

I am extremely happy with the facility. Mum had received caring and professional care here and I would highly recommend it to anyone facing the dilemma of where to place their loved one.

Was this review helpful?  

Christiana2380 Dec 07, 2017

Staff are very good. They are in regular conntact with me about my fathers well being. They provide good activities every week, and welcome the family to come and have a meal with dad.

Was this review helpful?  

Roster Aug 01, 2017

We are very happy with the service given, however, sometimes the Residents are not given enough information about things. If the resident is quite able mentally, I think things should be explained better. More outings would be nice for them. Mostly the meals are good, but sometimes they are definitely not up to scratch.

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Roster, thank you for your feedback in relation to Melville Grange. I am pleased to hear that overall you are happy with our service. You have raised some concerns and I assure you this has been passed to our General Manager for review, investigation and rectification where necessary. Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Aug 07, 2017

AnnieMac Jul 31, 2017

The staff are extremely nice and really look after the residents. I could not have chosen a better facility for my Mum. I am more than happy with everything about the home and would and have recommended it to others. Mum is happy there and I feel that the security of having someone so close if she needs help has extended her life and I know that she feels very secure there which is directly to do with the staff. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would rate it 15.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi AnnieMac, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of Melville Grange with the Aged Care Reviews community. Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Jul 31, 2017

Shiloh1952 Jul 29, 2017

It is traumatic for anybody who has to make the decision to relocate from their home to an aged care facility. My mother had lived in her home for over 60 years and also cared for her intellectually disabled son who was also relocated to supported residential accommodation. After having visited a number of facilities, my mother selected Melville Grange. The staff were very supportive and helped make the adjustments in lifestyle seamless. 14 years later, my mother's level of care has increased. My brother visits her weekly for lunch and has always been made very welcome which is a great comfort to my mother. NOw as my mother carer, knowing she is safe, healthy and happy is to a great part due to Melville's staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Shiloh1952, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Jul 31, 2017

Pinkie6693 Dec 30, 2015

I am very happy with the overall care, there is not one staff member who is not pleasant and approachable at all times, added to this my mother is very happy in her environment.

Was this review helpful?  2

Jasen670 Oct 02, 2015

Mum has been in care since July this year, and really likes the facility. The staff are friendly, caring and helpful at all times, the meals are excellent, of good quality and quantity, and there are little areas where she can take her visitors to have a coffee and chat. During a recent gastro outbreak when the facility was in lock down I was kept informed at all times. And when xrays etc were needed I was called to help arrange times etc

Was this review helpful?  1

Jaquelin3585 Sep 25, 2015

lovely place when new.care from staff fantastis.these people are not paid enough government should help more it is a job that most of us couldn't do

Was this review helpful?  3

Margaret Jul 09, 2015

My Mum went into this facility last week and is loving it. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. They have plenty of activities and things to do during the day and special mats so that if they get out of bed to use the bathroom during the night and step on the mats a staff member is always there, I cannot recommend this place highly enough and am so glad that this was the place we chose to have her go into

Was this review helpful?  

Anne Crook May 21, 2015

My mum has been in this hostel for approximately 6 years, I try to visit her every week, and in that time I have been extremely happy with the care my mother receives , the staff are very caring and the food is top quality.

Was this review helpful?  3

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Melville Grange

Melville Grange is a 60 bed home situated in the picturesque village of Berwick. The facility is set in well manicured leafy gardens featuring brilliant rose beds with secluded courtyards inviting residents and families to enjoy the outdoor areas.Each individual room has quality fittings and private en-suite facilities. Each room is beautifully appointed with built-in robes and the finest quality fittings, drapes and carpets. Each bedroom has garden or courtyard outlooks. The lounge areas create a comfortable, homely atmosphere with a private dining room situated adjacent to the main dining area. The hostel was designed to ensure that residents have the highest quality of security, privacy and comfort in peaceful homelike environment.There are two large elegant lounge areas (which includes open fireplace, TV, video, music system) and three smaller more intimate lounges or sitting rooms with tea and coffee areas. There are also general activities areas and a games/cards ro

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard Plus Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

22

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Individual heating and Air conditioning Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan and Quality Floor Coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Library Private Dining Room Quiet areas in each wing Outdoor courtyards and large quiet gardens BBQ areas Pool table Theatre

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

22

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Individual heating Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan and Quality Floor Coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Library Private Dining Room Quiet areas in each wing Outdoor courtyards and large quiet gardens BBQ areas Pool table Theatre

Aged Care Directory
My Account