Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(351 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Essendon
About Us

Menarock Life Essendon Aged Care is a recently refurbished 55 bed aged, residential high care facility, equally divided into two nursing units. Accommodation is provided in single, 2-bed and 3-bed rooms, some with en-suite bathrooms. Ideally located close to public transport and shopping centres, Essendon Aged Care also offers ample on-site parking for visitors. Essendon Aged Care is a high care facility which also offers respite care.

Please note: we welcome supported residents.
35 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Florencio6426 Apr 12, 2019

All staff are very efficient and friendly and do their best to make residents feel appreciated and happy

Was this review helpful?  

Estefania9267 Nov 11, 2018

Although only a short stay for respite my Dad seemed to be happy, the staff were all caring, food was ok and the overall feel of the facility was clean and had a homey feel as was quite small.

Was this review helpful?  

Carmel Forde Mar 27, 2018

The staff at Menarock, many are caring and thoughtful but there are times when a resident will buzz for a carer and the wait time is between 10 and 20 minutes, There also is not enough staff around on the weekend and residents are left on their own in dining room with just the TV on and no supervision. Nursing staff are very good. Food could vary more and more activities could be arranged. To that the day go quicker

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Carmel, Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff at Menarock Essendon, we will pass this feedback on to them. I will forward your concerns to the Director of Nursing at Menarock Essendon and also encourage you to discuss these issues with her. You are also welcome to participate in our food focus group at the Home.
Mar 29, 2018

Turtle Mar 27, 2018

The staff are very caring and respectful of residents . Go out of their way to make the facility like home to the residents. I would not hesitate to recommend the facility

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Thank you for your kind review. We take a great deal of pride in the high level of care we provide to our residents and the homely feel of our homes.
Mar 29, 2018

Anjali6153 Dec 09, 2017

The facility is constantly evolving with new additions to the presentation and feel of the interior, a stunning outdoor garden retreat for residents and visitors alike to spend time in, and updated and reformed lifestyle/activity programs happening daily

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Anjali6153 Thank you for your positive comments and feedback. It is appreciated that you took time to provide this, I agree the outdoor garden areas is stunning. I have passed onto the Director of Nursing and staff. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager
Jan 09, 2018

Katelyn2910 Oct 10, 2017

Staff are really great. I am given freedom to go outside for a cigarette. I enjoy being massaged by Essendon Aged Care Massage Nurse.

Was this review helpful?  

Gloria4103 Sep 21, 2017

Excellent facility providing free therapeutic massages

Was this review helpful?  

Gladyce7095 Jul 31, 2017

Essendon Aged Care is a very well run organisation with very good people in management

Was this review helpful?  

snowblax Jul 19, 2017

Would recommend this facility.From the first contact through to placing Dad, the service has been superb. The staff are caring and informative. The meals look nourishing. If there are any issues the facility will contact and discuss with the family. It was a big decision for my family and are grateful that we inspected and chose Essendon Aged Care. Keep up the excellent work!!

Was this review helpful?  

Jennie123 Mar 06, 2017

Menu is varied. Food sometimes cold. Staff is caring and friendly. Facility very clean and neat. We had a good feel about the culture here in our first tour. Admin person showed us around warm, emphatic, friendly, and very knowledgeable. Our resident is settling in well. Good choice!

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Jennie, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that Essendon Aged Care has been a good choice for your relative and the transition has been a successful one. We are very proud of the staff at Essendon as they always strive to ensure each resident is supported in a warm and friendly environment. I will investigate your concern regarding the food being cold on occasion, but you are more than welcome to become involved in the food focus group we have at the home with our catering staff. I encourage you to speak with administration regarding any of your concerns or contact me directly either by phone 9898 1000 or email [email protected] Kind regards, Fiona van den berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services.
Mar 07, 2017

Mark Connor Oct 11, 2016

The staff have been very helpful and supportive especially during the time following the passing of my mother earlier this year. They have supported dad through this and tried to keep him interested and motivated which has at times been a challenge. Thanks to all involved for their help and support

Was this review helpful?  

Sonja175 Oct 01, 2016

After months of caring for my father who has dementia, my mother was at the verge of collapse so I had no choice but to put my father in respite with the prospect of permanency. We contacted you and were very caring and helpful. You are a dementia facility so felt assured. Unfortunately, after spending most of the day with my father on his first day my mother finally went home to get some well needed and deserved rest. 2 hrs later at 8pm your staff called my 81yr old mother to come and pick him up as he wandered. This raises a number of questions of serious concern. Firstly why wasn't I contacted as the primary contact and the person who actually made the application. I am still appalled at how your staff made my mother drive at night at her age. Your staff had 2 hours with my father and the fact that he wandered is a common trait of Dementia patients therefore you are not adequately staffed with trained personal. I find it even more appalling after I spoke to you supervisor and the attitude she had towards the situation more than callous. I will be pursuing this further.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Sonya175, Thank you for taking the time in writing your concerns regarding your father’s recent admission. Firstly, I would like to let you know I am currently investigating this matter personally. Essendon Aged Care is a secure facility, however not dementia specific. Our staff are provided with education in providing care and services for residents living with dementia, including those residents who may present with challenging behaviours. I can assure you the action taken by the staff on this occasion is not usual practice and I apologise for this. I would like to discuss this with you further so if you can please contact me on [email protected] or 0419 518 001. Kind Regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Oct 03, 2016

Sebastiana Sep 13, 2016

Excellent

Was this review helpful?  

Mattie2576 Jul 07, 2016

I am very happy with the care my father is receiving. his transition into aged care was made easy by the wonderful staff at the home. The receptionist is wonderful and very helpful at all times. She is always happy to help and with all the changes lately it's nice to see a familiar and friendly face. All if the staff and lifestyle ladies are very caring and dedicated workers.

Was this review helpful?  1

Selmer6938 Jul 07, 2016

My Sister moved in to the Essendon Aged Residential Care on the 7th June 2016, I visit her every day at different times and have always found her to be well kept at all times She suffers from Maniac Bipolar and has mood swings she needs high care as for some unknown reason she cannot walk and needs to be moved by mechanical hoist. The staff are caring and loving and I am happy with the way she is been looked after to date,even though she cannot accept the fact that she is unable get around herself and sometimes I leave there feeling quite upset I know that the staff are compassionate and will look after her.

Was this review helpful?  

Oswaldo5556 Jul 07, 2016

My mother lives here, and is mostly very well cared for. However, the staff are often rushed off their feet and take an inordinately long time to answer calls, especially during the busy early evening period. They do the best they can, but are clearly under-staffed. The food is not good. It lacks variety and is often very unappetising. Mum frequently forgoes her evening meal because what is on offer is not palatable. She has a store bought biscuit instead of dinner more often than what is acceptable. Male residents freely wander the halls and create insecurity for other residents when they invade their personal space in their own rooms. Something needs to be done to better contain wanderers so that elderly ladies do not feel so invaded and threatened.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Oswald5556, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that your mother is well cared for. We have recently added additional care staff to the roster and made several changes to both the lifestyle program and environment to ensure all the residents are well supported & cared for. We have received many positive comments and compliments regarding these changes. I would welcome you to come and discuss your concerns with me directly so that your concerns may be addressed to your satisfaction. My contact details are [email protected] I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Fiona van den Berg CEO
Jul 07, 2016

Darion2153 Jul 02, 2016

Very well run and established facility

Was this review helpful?  1

Jacquelyn1287 Jun 30, 2016

The staff is absolutely great,always have a smile for you.if there is a problem they let you know and try sort it out.But lately I have noticed there is less staff on .Sometimes it's out of control .when residents are being feed ,some are bussing to go to the toilet they have to wait or they are calling out for the toilet.And some residents get there food cold .But the staff are great.the place is small and you get to know every one in here .

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Jacquelyn1287, Thank you for your response, it is very pleasing to hear the staff are great and always greet you with a smile. We have recently placed additional staff on the morning and afternoon shifts to assist with all the care needs of our residents. Our recent resident focus group meeting with the staff and the residents stated the additional staff along with our new lifestyle programs have assisted in improving all the care
Jul 04, 2016

Rosalyn2204 Jun 30, 2016

I have found the quality of the care and the staff to be very good, the facility is very clean and the staff are always happy. The front Reception Staff is to be commended she goes above and beyond what she has to and is always very happy and helpful, the perfect person for the first place of contact.

Was this review helpful?  

Yadira602 Jun 29, 2016

The care given is quite good, but the state of cleanliness in all rooms and facility is terrible. Constantly asking for my mothers floors to be cleaned. It seems that it is only done when I complain. Then it is left until the next time I ask. I have been told the cleaning hours have been increased, but obviously not for cleaning!!

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Yadira602, Thankyou for taking the time to provide us your feedback, I am pleased to hear that your mother is receiving good care. We constantly look at our mix of staff and activities to ensure the best possible service is provided to our residents. I am pleased that your raised concerns were acknowledged. We have recently reviewed the cleaning program at Essendon Aged Care, with additional hours placed into cleaning to ensure our home is always clean and tidy. If you would like to discuss this further with me I would welcome you to contact me directly; [email protected] Once again thank you for your feedback, it assists in our continuous improvement program. Kind Regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO
Jun 29, 2016

Will6295 Jun 28, 2016

Staff have been very helpful and friendly especially during the stressful time when my mother passed away earlier this year.

Was this review helpful?  

Fabian2225 Jun 28, 2016

the staff at MENAROCK are always happy and friendly and treat Dad with respect. he seems happy there which is great as it was a hard decision to hand care over to someone else.

Was this review helpful?  

Nikki1034 Jun 18, 2015

I visit my nan at Essendon Aged Care weekly and she seems very happy with her place of residence. The meals she receives are lovely and all of the staff only to happy to help when needed.

Was this review helpful?  3

Nova33 Jun 16, 2015

My experience at Essendon aged care was excellent, the staff were very welcoming and caring. It was a very nice environment and the manager (Jane) was very supportive and passionate.

Was this review helpful?  

Mrs Sarah Manning Jun 11, 2015

I have been fortunate enough to visit this facility on numerous occasions with a close friend to visit her mother in law. Whilst the building is far from new, I know this as I have lived in Moonee Ponds all my life, it is well kept, the gardens are lovely and the interior of the building is very comfortable and homely. Friendly greetings always from the Administration staff, the home looks very clean and from what I saw of that days meal I was quite impressed, it looked very nice indeed. I haven't in my visits noticed any activities, but that is due to visiting my friends mother in law in her room. If ever I need to look into Aged Care for my family this place would certainly be one of my first considerations

Was this review helpful?  

Audie1029 Jun 10, 2015

Very happy with all aspects of my wife's care. Although I think more staff on the weekends would help. During in the week they have students to help and on the weekends there is not.

Was this review helpful?  3

Dahlia9031 Jun 10, 2015

As a resident here I am very happy overall.

Was this review helpful?  1

Meelyn Jun 03, 2015

The care my Mother receives from all the staff at Essendon Aged Care is wonderful, they have been caring and responsive when needed. They have also been very helpful and understanding to her family

Was this review helpful?  2

Evelyn May 29, 2015

Management of this facility care deeply, as do many of their nursing staff. Food is poor quality, unfortunately.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Thank you for your feedback. Management is always happy to meet with families at any time and we would be more than happy to meet and discuss this. We have a lot of resident and family input into our menu, and our chef is trying new recipes for our residents all of the time. We have a Food Focus meeting quarterly and residents and families are encouraged to come along and bring both issues and suggestions. Please let staff know straight away if there is ever a meal that you believe is unsatisfactory. We will always act on this feedback immediately. Regards, Craig Holland. Director, Menarock Aged Care Services
May 30, 2015

MrsSimpson May 24, 2015

The Lifestyle staff are nothing short of amazing. They are kind, caring, and consistently plan activities and the residents appear to really enjoy. The food is terrible, there is little if any thought put into the diet of residents on special or pureed diets. If you wouldn't eat it yourself- why would you serve it to people who are PAYING for the privilege? It's dry, it's bland, it's hideous.

Was this review helpful?  1

Menarock Life

Thank you for your feedback – it’s great to hear that the hard work of our lifestyle staff doesn’t go unnoticed. Your feedback on the food is appreciated also. Management is always happy to meet with families at any time and we would be more than happy to meet and discuss this. We have a lot of resident and family input into our menu, and our chef is trying new recipes for our residents all of the time. We have a Food Focus meeting quarterly and residents and families are encouraged to come along and bring both issues and suggestions. We would look forward to seeing you there. Please let staff know straight away if there is ever a meal that you believe is unsatisfactory. We will always act on this feedback immediately. Regards, Craig Holland. Director, Menarock Aged Care Services
May 25, 2015

Damaris9031 May 20, 2015

Mum is treated extremely well overall, staff treat residents like family which gives a personal feel. Alot of Italians also makes her feel more at home. We are very happy

Was this review helpful?  2

Grace11 May 20, 2015

staff are lovely

Was this review helpful?  

Jason567 May 20, 2015

very happy with mums care and happy I accepted a bed for her here. All staff are lovely and helpful

Was this review helpful?  2

Raffaela May 19, 2015

The team at Essendon Aged Care are friendly, very helpful, caring and understanding to your particular needs. If the venue had an atrium as such where the residence can get some warmth, sunshine and plant life, this facility would be A . This venue is all on one level, there are no lifts, which makes it easy for everyone, you can see everything that is going on from one end of the corridor to the other. Many residence walk this passageway for their daily exercises.

Was this review helpful?  

Alexandra9670 May 19, 2015

very happy with fathers care

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Essendon

Essendon Aged Care 55-bed residential facility that offers accommodation for high and low care, as well as dementia specific as it is a secure facility. Essendon Aged Care offers both single and shared room, some with en-suite bathrooms. Ideally located close to public transport and shopping centres. Essendon Aged Care also offers ample on-site parking for visitors.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

13

Room Description

Cosy clean and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Room Name

Standard Share

Type

Shared room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

3

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

26

Room Description

Bright airy spacious and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Room Name

Standard Twin

Type

Shared room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

19 to 39

Room Description

Bright airy spacious and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Room Name

Deluxe Twin

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

19 to 32

Room Description

Bright airy spacious and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Room Name

Share with private ensuite

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

19 to 32

Room Description

Bright airy spacious and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan.

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

11

Room Description

Cosy clean and comfortable with quality furnishings and furniture including built in robe bed bedside table and chair TV and ceiling fan

Common Areas Description

Several good size daylounge rooms with comfy lounge suites dining room table and chairs which include ceiling fans and TV. Easy access to large day room with TV area dining facilities exercise and reading area.

Aged Care Directory
My Account