Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(350 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Salisbury House
About Us

Menarock Life Salisbury House Aged Care Facility is a 60 bed, high care, aged care facility nestled amongst the peaceful surrounds of beautiful Upper Beaconsfield in the Dandenong Ranges. Salisbury House has a wonderful homely feeling and offers both single and double rooms, all with views over our mature gardens or courtyards which abound with native birds, and views over the distant bay. Each bedroom has built in or free-standing wardrobes, hydronic heating, ceiling fans, telephone and television outlets and emergency call system, and some have fully appointed en-suites. Salisbury House is a high care facility which includes an 18 bed dementia-specific unit and also offers respite care.

Please note: we welcome supported residents.
44 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Rick9384 Oct 22, 2018

My family are currently delighted with the care provisions provided to my Mother in law. All staff members are attentive, caring and warm hearted.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Rick 9384, Thank you for your kind review of our Salisbury House home and staff.
Oct 24, 2018

Edwin6735 May 24, 2018

Having to place my mother in full care I have visited various providers and they all seemed to have the detached hotel feel. Walking into Salisbury House I felt the homely warmth and a sense of belonging. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. I chose this placement on a gut feeling. My mother is now enjoying her stay there and gives her stamp of approval. The staff is friendly and polite. They seem dedicated, are attentive and they genuinely seem to care about the residents. The DON is warm, compassionate and accommodating and will go out of her way to assist. The facility is always clean and well maintained. The residents are allowed to have a bar fridge in their room giving the family the opportunity to bring special treats from home.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Edwin6735 Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments about Menarock Life Salisbury House and the wonderful staff there. I have passed on your comments to the DON and staff. Regards David Miles Group Manager - Sales and Occupancy
Jun 04, 2018

Timmy6063 Dec 07, 2017

I can't thank the staff enough for caring for my 'dementia patient' mum at Salisbury House. They are very respectful and treat her well.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Timmy6063 Thank you for your feedback regarding the great care at Salisbury House. It is appreciated that you took time to write the review. I have passed onto the Director of Nursing and staff. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Nathanael9630 Dec 07, 2017

This is a new experience for our family thus have nothing to compare it with.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Nathanael9630 Thank you for your review. It is great to get feedback so we can take any opportunities for quality improvement. We encourage you to review again in the future. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager
Jan 09, 2018

Daisy2 Aug 31, 2017

Mu husband Bob was admitted on 5/12/16 to the dementia ward in Salisbury House. A very old building needing extensive renovations and extensions. They also are short of staff which makes huge demands on staff, especially in dementia ward, where most patients are equivalent in their age to two and a half years old. But, the care my husband and others received was a credit to them, patient, caring, respectful to their residents and also family members who have to leave their loved ones in someone else's care, which is very emotional time, almost a grieving of sorts. My husband passed away on 17/07/2017- I could not have asked for more love and care for myself and family, and of course, my husband Bob.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jeffry1546 Jul 31, 2017

MY RELATIVE HAS BEEN IN THE DEMENTIA WARD FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS. HE IS ALWAYS CLEAN, SHAVEN, AND TIDY. WHICH IS SO IMPORTANT TO ME. THIS MAKES ME HAPPY WHEN I SEE HIM AS HE CAN NOT COMMUNICATE TO ME AND HAS NO IDEA WHO I AM. HE IS TREATED WITH DIGNITY AND ALL THE STAFF ARE FREINDLY. HE SEEMS TO BE CONTENT.

Was this review helpful?  

Isai2492 Mar 06, 2017

I have been visiting this facility for some months and am very impressed with the care and commitment from staff towards the residents. An absolute pleasure to visit here.

Was this review helpful?  

Karley600 Nov 03, 2016

Overall a pleasing experience caring experience

Was this review helpful?  

whudson Nov 01, 2016

Great Place for care and attention for my lovely wife

Was this review helpful?  

Anthony Troon Oct 13, 2016

I find the staff very help with problems but I think there need to a review of the care with a family member very 3 months to help improve. The overall care requirements..

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Anthony, Thanks you for feedback, I am so pleased to hear the staff are helpful with any problems you may be having. May I suggest you contact Pam Fredricks our DON to discuss any areas of improvement you wish to discuss. Pam has an open door policy and is more than happy to make time for you. Pam may be contacted by email [email protected] or 5944 3443. Kind regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Oct 13, 2016

Brian Wills Oct 12, 2016

Staff are kind and caring and try hard to make the residents life bearable

Was this review helpful?  

Briana3281 Sep 03, 2016

My husband is in care with dementia , and he is treated with respect and kindness . The staff in his unit are very caring and he doesn't get told off for doing the wrong thing or going where he shouldn't like he did in previous homes .

Was this review helpful?  1

Jamzach Jul 11, 2016

My husband required full time care which I was trying very hard with local council home care support to provide in our own home. When the inevitable decision was made to move him to a nursing home, we had great difficulty in finding a placement for him as he was considered to be too 'high care'. What a gem Salisbury House is, the care and support is wonderful. The food is of a high quality and varied. The staff are exceptional and go out of their way to ensure my husband is happy and his needs catered for.

Was this review helpful?  

Richie8620 Jul 04, 2016

very happy with the services provided to my mother

Was this review helpful?  

Aubree5215 Jul 03, 2016

After six month's of having my wife in Salisbury house I can thoroughly recommend to others as it does provide excellent service at all levels, including financial advice. Every person I have spoken to in my local area has agreed with this opinion. This my honest opinion and NOT because I want to win a prize !

Was this review helpful?  3

Kiana8871 Jun 30, 2016

Overall the level of service provided is good. Communication with family members is generally good.

Was this review helpful?  

Marg Desira Jun 29, 2016

My son is really happy in this facility and I like the area and ability to visit anytime.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jodie Jun 29, 2016

It is a beautiful old building set in the 1800s in bushland still has the old charm. Needs some work but still lovely and calming. The staff are amazing and the manager is just beautiful. My mum really likes it there and because its not a big aged care with too many elderly she has been able to make some friends.

Was this review helpful?  1

Demarco4339 Jun 28, 2016

friendly and helpfull staff and his quality of life has improved

Was this review helpful?  

Nola Campbell Jun 10, 2016

The facility manager and all the staff at Salisbury House are so caring and respectful, treating each resident with dignity. I am my husbands full time home carer and recently I needed urgent respite care for him due to my health. I rarely place my husband in care due to several previous bad experiences in other facilities and how difficult they made it for both of us on his return home ie: not allowing him to walk, confining him to a wheelchair and bed chair (diminished strength)and lack of toileting and changing (severe rashes and UTI's) The facility manager and the staff were amazing and understood my husband's needs and my concerns. Without question Salisbury House is the top of my list for any future respite or full time care required. Nola

Was this review helpful?  

Sonny2012 Apr 20, 2016

Staff are of top quality, their care they show to all residents is very high.

Was this review helpful?  2

Tyrese3425 Apr 20, 2016

Salisbury House offers a refreshing semi rural environment with great views from rooms..Friendly staff make visits enjoyable and help is always near to hand. My father continues to comment on his appreciation of meals and exercise program. Gradually dad is exploring the gardens and feeling more and more at home.

Was this review helpful?  3

v.morano Mar 01, 2016

The staff do their best. Due to the community within, it must be difficult to entertain the various levels of capabilities. So many require assistance with simple craft that you would need one on one. Attendance at all times, which is unattainable. Salisbury house is a very old building, but charming.

Was this review helpful?  7

Oliver3 Mar 01, 2016

My farther has been in other facilities prior to Salisbury House. The care or lack of, was poor and heart breaking for family to see. We as the family were at a loss as what to do. Salisbury House was recommended to us. We are fortunate to have my farther there. We have peace of mind knowing the wonderful care he is receiving. The only negative is we feel weekends are under staffed in Waratah section.

Was this review helpful?  6

Jazmyne4278 Feb 22, 2016

I couldn't fault the care and attention provided by Salisbury House. The team includes genuine caring staff and they have been a great assistance to me as mum has settled into being a resident - now for roughly 16 months. When making the decision to find a place for mum, what stood out to me was the atmosphere (it's an old guest house and thus has warmth and character unlike many I visited). But also, and most importantly and from the first time I visited I was greeted by genuine caring people. One of them is a great example - she has been a great help along with several other staff. It may not have the latest modern conditions, but that matters little, as it was the most homely place I found in the eastern suburbs, combined with caring staff. I am more than happy with the decision to have my mum as a resident at Salisbury House.

Was this review helpful?  5

Bobbie22 Feb 16, 2016

My husband has dementia so is in the dementia side of the Nursing Home. I am very satisfied with his treatment as he is a very mobile person and in the past he fiddled with and sometimes destroyed certain articles in the home. But unlike other homes I tried he was not told off or nagged at for doing it. He has been a resident for nearly 4 years so is not so fiddling now. He still wanders around all the time, but is not destructive now. The staff are kind and patient with him. He has to be fed and wears pads. The only minor complaint I have is that his clothes seem to go missing even though they are named.

Was this review helpful?  6

Becsil13 Feb 16, 2016

My dad is in the Waratah (dementia) ward, he has advanced stages of vascular dementia. My main issue is the number of staff allocated. When dad was admitted 30% of residents were high care i.e. needed to be fed, changed, showered, etc, there were 3 staff to do the job. Today, there are still the same staff, but 70% need constant attention. The best part of this facility is that it feels more like a home than a facility, and that the staff are permanent, some being there for over 20 years.

Was this review helpful?  3

Trogan Jan 27, 2016

Staff are very helpful and great for feedback. Secondly, the head nurse are both very good in feedback, also the Manager is very easy to talk to and if you where looking for someone to support your nursing home, you could head hunt her straight away. She is an asset to your company.

Was this review helpful?  2

Jody9455 Dec 10, 2015

I noticed how friendly the staff were. They talked to me and listened when I spoke to them. They were all very helpful and genuine. It was a great pleasure to visit there. I could see by their acts that really cared for the residents and they worked well as a team.

Was this review helpful?  17

Gisselle6949 Jul 23, 2015

I placed dad 5 years ago bad experience in a facility in Qld. I toured 13 nursing homes and couldn't face putting mum in any. Social worker at Casey hospital sent me to see Sharon at salisbury house and she was great. After tears, cuppa tea and 1.5 hrs of her time I left knowing salisbury had that difference I was looking for and lead by a person who actually wanted me to sleep knowing mum was safe and cared for. Can't thank sharon and the wonderful staff enough this place is like no other around that area, c 3 months on mum brighter than had been in year's. Menarock

Was this review helpful?  11

Phoenix Jun 20, 2015

The staff are very considerate, caring and professional. The rooms are homely and visiting times are very flexible, which is exactly what you want when wanting to spend time with your family.

Was this review helpful?  2

BrookeBryer Jun 15, 2015

Staff are great and are genuinely caring. Food can be plan at times.

Was this review helpful?  11

SarahBryer Jun 12, 2015

The staff are great and have looked after my step mum with care and always have looked after her wellbeing.

Was this review helpful?  6

abryer Jun 12, 2015

Caring and professional staff

Was this review helpful?  8

V.Rush Jun 11, 2015

Salisbury House is a old dwelling that has charm. That is why it doesn't get five stars, but is lovely and warm throughout.

Was this review helpful?  5

NBryer Jun 11, 2015

Excellent and caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  5

Sandyharrison May 21, 2015

Extremely happy with our choice for aged care for my mother

Was this review helpful?  7

Jennifer May 18, 2015

I was asked to review honestly, I brought my brother in 5 weeks ago and the Manager was great. She was clear, open and very caring. I was falling apart! Dad to place was really hard, he didn't fit the nice little old man status, he actually quiet nasty normally, but the Manager and Staff have take him in, feed him really well, ignore his antics and he is actually well behaved for them. He is happy more importantly than I have seen him in years, all that anxiousness for nothing, Best decision I made for him and Sharon and Libby Thank you for your heart and passion, two of a kind. Cheers

Was this review helpful?  5

Sammy H May 18, 2015

Thx Sharron and Zenya for your support and care you showed dad when he came. The fact the you Sharron came and met him made it easier for him to come. Great place, old but homely and just what dad needed. He is difficult but Sharron you made it so easy and he likes you so much as you said it how it was and we liked that but you are so kind and smart too. The staffing is good too, nice girls. Jo the man in service dept I think what a true blue Aussie and great guy. Thanks Salisbury - by the way lunch when dad came was really good.

Was this review helpful?  4

Ceasar8679 May 16, 2015

Understanding and caring of staff was a relief when family feeling overwhelmed and upset having their family so unwell. Essential to have the support provided so helpful, professional, reassuring and supportive for their patient and family.

Was this review helpful?  7

LeasaB May 15, 2015

Mum came to this home 5 weeks ago and from first enquiry to date the service is run like a family home. A lovely lady called Sharon came and saw mum in hospital, showed us around and was there for admission with Libby who has been there over 20 years and so nice and sharon followed up by asking mum regularly if she was ok and phoned us to make sure we were happy. Mum has settled better because the interest taken by staff and management and feels safe. The Aged care stories I heard just aren't true as Salisbury has showed as nothing but genuine care and we are so very grateful.. I would highly recommend this company just because of the effort they go to for families and residents coming in and it hasn't stopped. Leasa

Was this review helpful?  4

clair56 May 13, 2015

Out of 7 tours the Acting DON/ think was so open, kind, clear of service and financial options. She showed us such kindness and left the choice to go to Salisbury House to be easy. Old beautiful building, staff were so welcoming and the Acting DON's follow up and communication was beyond what is normal in Aged Care. Communication and care for mum in the last 2 months is better than we expected. Great safe, caring place, run by people who are part of the team and really do care.

Was this review helpful?  2

Fraser Avenue May 12, 2015

Amazing staff and care but building in need of funding for improved resident comfort.

Was this review helpful?  6

bluewren May 12, 2015

The care and attention to the wellbeing of residents via professional staff at Salisbury House is wonderful! Support for facilities would be welcomed to assist the staff to improve the experience for residents.

Was this review helpful?  3

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Salisbury House

Available Rooms

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

11 to 18

Room Description

These rooms include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

11 to 18

Room Description

These rooms include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Standard Twin

Type

Shared room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

10

Room size (sqm)

18

Room Description

These rooms include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Superior Twin - DSU

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

11

Room Description

This room is located within the secure dementia specific unit and includes hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Superior - DSU

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

11 to 14

Room Description

These rooms are located within the secure dementia specific unit and include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Superior Twin

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

4

Room size (sqm)

23

Room Description

These rooms include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Deluxe Twin

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

18

Room Description

This room includes hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Room Name

Deluxe - DSU

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

11

Room Description

These rooms are located within the secure dementia specific unit and include hydronic heating ceiling fans telephone TV emergency call system wardrobes and quality furniture including bed bedside table and day chair.

Common Areas Description

Quality furnished lounges with TVs and dining areas access to courtyards inluding vegetable garden multi purpose room with organ and vending machine shady grassed front yard with outdoor seating and barbecue. Communal areas are air-conditioned and heated.

Aged Care Directory
My Account