Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(350 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Shepparton
About Us

Menarock Life Shepparton provides permanent and respite care to our 62 residents who are all accommodated in private rooms.


The building has a homely and spacious living environment with several garden spaces including internat courtyards and small garden sitting areas. Internally we have a separate dining room, a large communal lounge and entertainment area along with several smaller sitting areas and alcoves to compliment the social spaces throughout the home. There is also a chapel and a multipurpose room which serves as a cinema. 


Please note: we welcome supported residents.
34 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Felicia7555 Sep 26, 2018

Whilst the staff try their best, low staffing levels makes their jobs difficult, also there is more need for staff with better English language skills and possibly access to translators as required for some residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Chelsie8307 Sep 26, 2018

My Dad spent 16 months in his nursing home. He was a changed man from living by himself. He had failing health but no dementia and so was able to appreciate his care so much more. He felt safe and supported. I am so glad he found such a perfect place for him.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Chelsie8307, Thankyou for your review of our home in Shepparton which will be shared with the staff. They will be very appreciative of your comments. We strive to provide excellent care and support each of our residents to enhance their health and wellbeing.
Oct 15, 2018

German4395 Aug 01, 2017

It appears the facility is understaffed. Most of the staff are conscientious and caring, but often it is difficult to find someone when I need them. The star rating review on this survey does not allow me to rate each service, therefore I will state it here. The building is 4 star, quality of food 2 star, lifestyle and wellbeing 3-4 star,overall quality average. Communication is a difficult one, when we mention a problem to one staff member, and assured it will be recorded and followed up, it often isn't. Once again we feel this is due to short staffed. There is an effort to please and care, which we appreciate.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Derrick4532, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Shepparton Aged Care. We are so pleased that you find our staff conscientious and caring. We appreciate there maybe times when staff are attending to residents in their private rooms, so if you use the call bell system in the bedrooms or communal areas staff will attend to your call, our response times are closely monitored. I have spoken with our Clinical Care Co-ordinator, who is always available for care plan consultations, so please make an appointment with her and this will ensure all lines of communication remain open. I would also like to invite you to our food focus group where the menu choices are discussed, please ensure you attend our next meeting. If you still have anything you wish to discuss please see Wendy Birch (DON) on 5821 0255 or [email protected] Kind Regards Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Aug 03, 2017

Tyrique8090 Jul 31, 2017

My Dad is a tricky case, with no real dementia but chronic ill-health, memory problems and a personality that likes to be left alone, His manners are not always present. I like his facility very much because they cater to him, leaving him be or full-on attention as each day requires. He loves their attention and vows he is alive because of the support he receives. He feels safe which he didn't whilst living alone. The manager and staff have my and Dad's gratitude for everything.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jadon8358 Jul 31, 2017

The facility and staff are fantastic and caring. Can not thank them enough for the work they do.

Was this review helpful?  

Luella2945 May 09, 2017

I liked the way I was called by my first name. This made me feel at home. The staff were friendly, approachable and supportive from the top down. Issues were dealt with immediately with positive outcome. I was included in all the events from being taken outside for a walk along the road to making Easter baskets. I was happy to join the exercises and watching DVD's on the big screen. I especially liked sitting out in the court yard listening to the water feature and the budgies.

Was this review helpful?  

Isaac3927 May 09, 2017

As having worked in aged care, I was very reluctant to surrender my husband to care. However, the staff at Shepparton Aged Care were caring, helpful and supportive during his admission for Emergency Respite, as my husband is on a lot of medication it took a while to sort out. My input was welcomed and staff persisted with the challenge until it was sorted out to everyone's satisfaction. The building was light and airy and very well lit with artworks able to be used as markers to find the way around. The single room was good, but the shared bathroom was an issue at times. The maintenance staff responded immediately to requests. My husband is happy to return there for further respite.

Was this review helpful?  

My Joe Jimmy Apr 03, 2017

Excellent management & staff efficient.

Was this review helpful?  

Jayde4522 Feb 02, 2017

I came for 4 weeks respite and now I want to stay permanently. I was living by myself after losing my wife of 60 years in 2014 and I was not coping. Now I feel safe and well cared for and can live very comfortably with the memories of my wife. All the staff are marvellous and very caring; they make me feel like I get extra special attention.

Was this review helpful?  

Ebony44 Jan 13, 2017

Quality of food - choices for diabetic very poor. Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing: enthusiastic, inconsistent, poor organisation skills. Preparedness for craft - caring, but easily distracted from task.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Ebony44, Thankyou for taking the time for providing us with your feedback. The meals are reviewed by our dietician which cater for all specialised diets. I would invite you to come along to our food focus group where we can discuss the menu and choices available to all our residents. I agree with you, we do have an enthusiastic lifestyle program at Shepparton Aged Care which is diverse in its program. If you would like to come and speak with our lifestyle team or our Director of Nursing, Wendy Birch about any concerns you may be having, they would be pleased to meet with you. Kind Regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Jan 25, 2017

Blackie29 Dec 08, 2016

The staff are what make Shep. Aged Care an excellent facility. They are genuinely caring, extremely cheerful and do their utmost to make everyone feel comfortable. I am very thankful that I had such wonderful people caring for my mother in her last few months.

Was this review helpful?  

Mace3749 Nov 27, 2016

I find Shepp aged care to be very caring to the patient and always helpful to the family.

Was this review helpful?  

Glenda9700 Oct 13, 2016

The care and compassion of the staff towards residents and their family is what makes this place great.

Was this review helpful?  

dentyr Oct 12, 2016

My wife went into permanent care one year ago. As far as I know she has had the best treatment that is available. I have no problems visiting her and the staff are extremely helpful in all ways. When I visit in the mornings she is bright but as the day goes on she gets sleepy and more forgetful. I lay beside her and she is happy. She enjoys me feeding her although she can manage somewhat up to lunchtime. I could wish for no better than the treatment that she is getting now. I am a musician and I play at various retirement homes and I believe that my wife is in the best residential care there is.

Was this review helpful?  

Mary Oct 11, 2016

The staff is very caring, and overall care

Was this review helpful?  

Tamara K Oct 11, 2016

After moving both my grandparents from another local aged care facility, the care, service and communication provided by Shepparton Aged Care is outstanding. The staff are approachable and communicate everything with our family. Both grandparents can be quite difficult, but the way they are treated goes above and beyond what we could have expected. Following previous negative experiences at another facility, Shepparton Aged Care provides exceptional care and support for both residents and families. I can not speak highly enough of the facility and staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Dario3174 Jun 29, 2016

I've found the total experience of having my father at SAC a rewarding one given that I arrive at all differing times and Dad is always clean and presentable. Additionally the staff are friendly and communicative.

Was this review helpful?  

Briana4758 Jun 29, 2016

great place great staff food is ok but could be a lot better

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Jordan5152, I am very pleased to hear you think Shepparton Aged Care is a "great place" and that you felt comfortable in awarding the home with a 5 star rating. We are always trying to ensure we provide good care and services to all our residents. At Shepparton Aged Care we have a food focus group every 2 months, where we welcome both residents and relatives to participate in an open discussion with our catering department. The dates for these meetings are advertised on the residents noticeboard. We would welcome you to attend our next meeting or alternatively meet with Wendy Birch our Director of Nursing to discuss any concerns you may have. Thank you for taking the time to complete this review, as your feedback is important to us and will highlighted in our continuous improvement program. Kind Regards Fiona van den Berg CEO
Jun 29, 2016

Alison8404 Apr 20, 2016

My familys mother is a resident of said facility age, 103 years. We find Shepparton Aged Care very good clean and tidy nothing out of place. Staff very helpful and countries.

Was this review helpful?  

Shirley1938 Feb 12, 2016

My husband has been in here since July and I could not be happier with the service and the staff. George has settled in well. He has dementia and the staff are very good with him and listen to his stories. They always welcome all our family members when we come to visit and make everyone feel welcome. The place is always clean as well.

Was this review helpful?  

Greenie80 Jan 04, 2016

No request is ignored - staff very happy to accommodate anything asked of them. Most staff have a genuine interest/liking for my brother - I love that. I believe that no matter what I wanted for my brother, the home staff would try very hard to provide this for him. The home is clean, well maintained, a nice place to be. For the most part, I only have many, many thanks to the staff and I am very pleased that my brother has a safe, clean environment to live in.

Was this review helpful?  4

Keanu7699 Jan 02, 2016

Great staff, always friendly and helpful. Facility is excellent. Food at times is fairy ordinary.

Was this review helpful?  4

Menarock Life

Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated, we are glad to hear you find our staff friendly and helpful within the facility. We are always trying to continuously improve the services we provide including our catering, so we would welcome you to join our food focus group where we continuously review the menu and catering offered at the facility.
Jan 03, 2016

Tippy70 Dec 30, 2015

I have found that all staff are very helpful and thoughtful and show a high degree of maintaining the dignity of my brother. If I have any queries they are able to help or find out more from other staff. This applies to nursing, meals, maintenance, and all other general staff.

Was this review helpful?  3

Lucienne2141 Dec 29, 2015

I and my siblings are very happy with the high quality of care that my mother receives. Staff are always approachable, pleasant and efficient. Our mother at 102 years looks so well. She had not been managing her health issues at home for a while. She has been a resident here for over two years.

Was this review helpful?  4

Reggie Dec 23, 2015

Our son has been resident in Shepparton Aged Care for some 3 years. Unfortunately he has shown no improvement in condition. But has been kept comfortable and has been looked after in an exceptionally good manner. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for their kindness and care for our son during his stay.

Was this review helpful?  5

Ruffus Dec 23, 2015

On first meeting, the staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. When meeting other homes, it was like a chore to show me around. You can see that the staff is committed to caring for the residents. The home has undergone improvements with the new owners, these being structural and furnishings. The Leisure and Activity team is working hard thinking of new things to do, all the time. The introduction of exercise with the physio are great. I've even observed other 'blank' residents engage in these sessions.

Was this review helpful?  3

Giuseppe5844 Aug 07, 2015

I have been resident here since leaving hospital in may '15 and attribute my complete recovery to the initial treatment there and to the ongoing care at 'my home'. The staff and administration here go way beyond care for our health and comfort involving themselves in our personal interests and general contentment. I have used this 'space' to revive several lapsed interests and generate some new ones (including this amazing little machine) with the aid of the varied expertise of the staff and the encouragement of the administration. My only caveat is that all the workers are chronically overworked and have little time for sociality. Personally I find this a very happy place to live.

Was this review helpful?  3

Randall8171 Jun 23, 2015

The staff were wonderful and caring when my husband was made palliative and dying. They asked would I like food and drink and if there was anything I needed to make myself or my husband comfortable to let them know.

Was this review helpful?  9

Ian Galt Jun 17, 2015

From the first meeting with Wendy Birch I was impressed with the warmth and inclusiveness that was afforded to my father (and I in an ongoing manner). I find the staff always to be friendly and trying their best given the sometimes hectic de ads that are placed upon them. The premise upgrade and envisaged further improvements auger well for both the aged and staff. The food variance may be increased slightly although the many times I lunched with Dad, I've been impressed with the variety, presentation and delivery

Was this review helpful?  6

Jill McCormack Jun 17, 2015

We are very happy with the care provided for our family member. It is the staff that make the most impact on all aspects of the care. The staff do a marvellous job.

Was this review helpful?  6

Ron Shemilt Jun 01, 2015

Very impressed with and very grateful for the genuine care given to my father in law here. The staff are always ready to do that little bit extra which is much appreciated.

Was this review helpful?  8

Bobo123 May 28, 2015

care is appalling. Residents not showered regularly, incontinence aids not regularly checked. Visit family and they are in dirty clothes, never been more appalled in all my life. This is how my mother was treated during the last 12 months of her stay there.

Was this review helpful?  6

Menarock Life

Thank you for the feedback. We take your feedback very seriously and we would welcome the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your concerns. Since we took over Shepparton Aged Care late last year, we have invested heavily in our clinical care program, staff practices and processes and the facility environment. We have received very positive feedback on the changes we have adopted and this is the first time we have received such feedback and therefore we welcome the opportunity to meet and discuss these issues with you. Shepparton has this week passed its accreditation having passed 44 of the 44 accreditation standards of which clinical care is an essential element. If you can please make contact with the facility manager, the directors will personally meet with you to discuss your concerns. Craig Holland. Director, Menarock Aged Care Services
Jun 03, 2015

ClaraBell1 May 27, 2015

Nothing is ever a problem, they have been very helpful not only to make my mum safe

Was this review helpful?  4

Bernita2483 Apr 18, 2015

Under staffed big time. While the staff are good to deal with better care would happen if staffing levels were increased, pressure is noticeable. Manager is obliging.

Was this review helpful?  7

Menarock Life

Dear Jadon9210 - thank you for your comments. We have made roster changes which includes staff now having a handover in which information is able to be shared to improve the care of residents. Care hours have not been decreased only administration hours as a number of the admin functions are delivered through our support centre. More hours have been placed into the activity program and our clinical staff are designated to only care for residents rather than provide education to students, writing policies and other admin tasks. If you have any specific concerns please direct them to our Group Director of Clinical Care. Regards, Craig Holland - Director Menarock Aged Care Services.
Apr 20, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Shepparton

62 single rooms

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

14

Room Description

Quality floor covering and curtains.
Individual heating and cooling.
Built in robes and lockable bed side cabinet.
All rooms have outside views.
TV and pay TV points in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Large dayroom for activities piped music and large screen TV 140 m2
Smaller day room 80 m2
Sunroom 80 m2
Dedicated Dining Room 60m2
Dementia Day Room 40 m2
Chapel and family special events room 40 m2

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

50

Room size (sqm)

14

Room Description

Quality floor covering and curtains.
Individual heating and cooling.
Built in robes and lockable bed side cabinet.
All rooms have outside views.
TV and pay TV points in all rooms.

Common Areas Description

Large dayroom for activities piped music and large screen TV 140 m2
Smaller day room 80 m2
Sunroom 80 m2
Dedicated Dining Room 60m2
Dementia Day Room 40 m2
Chapel and family special events room 40 m2

Aged Care Directory
My Account