Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(350 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Sherbrooke
About Us

Menarock Life Sherbrooke is a 45-bed high and low care residential facility close to the picturesque drives of the Dandenongs, providing great access for families and guests to take their loved ones on outings.

It is a well-appointed facility with a central, sun-filled courtyard, dining room and two lounge rooms. With guest parking available, visitors can spend time with residents in the courtyard or lounge rooms helping themselves to tea and coffee at any time.

Sherbrooke is staffed by a great team who provide 24-hour nursing care and are committed to making a home for our residents.

Please note: we welcome supported residents.
45 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Gwenneth Apr 11, 2019

I would go in on an irregular time about once a week to visit an elderly friend.( who has since passed away) He was there at Sherbrooke for about 8 years and I always liked the way the staff were friendly and didn't change their attitude or behaviour when friends or family came to visit. This shows they had nothing to hide and the elderly people were well treated and the staff seemed to enjoy looking after them.

Was this review helpful?  

Kirk5673 Sep 26, 2018

Very happy with care given to my dad. My only concern would be perhaps more staff are needed as my dad informs me sometimes he has to wait to be taken to toilet.

Was this review helpful?  

Jess Jan 18, 2018

My husband is learning so much and has had blood on his brain after hospital and he needs care to shower. The staff are wonderful so happy, kind, and caring, he responds so well to them all. The whole atmosphere of the facility is bright, happy and sunny - I go in every day and always greeted. So friendly.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Jess Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding the care of your husband at Menarock Life Sherbrooke. It is very much appreciated that you have taken time to provide this compliment. I will be sure to pass this onto our great team at Sherbrooke. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 19, 2018

Brian8553 Dec 02, 2017

WE are In NSW not able to visit regularly. But contact and information is excellent .

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Brian8553 Thank you for providing feedback on aged care reviews, it is appreciate and will be passed onto staff at the facility. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Garry4 Nov 30, 2017

Other than the normal lack of staff, I cannot find any fault with Sherbrooke

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Garry4 Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on aged care reviews. The positive comments will be shared with staff. Recruitment of competent and adequate staff to ensure we deliver the highest quality of care is a major priority, we have recently employed a Group Manager of People and Performance (Human Resources) that will lead our workforce development. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

ghariton Jul 29, 2017

I don't have a relative, just an old friend in Sherbrooke. I've been seeing him in there for about 3 years. I always feel welcomed by the staff and my observations of the way this aged accommodation centre is run is very favourable. I have been to 3 other aged care residential centres over the past 10 years, and this is the top one. From friendliness of the staff to the older people in their care and to visitors is great. There are plenty of relevant activities on offer. We all want to stay in our own homes until we pass away. This isn't always possible. Sherbrooke is the next best option (I am 63 years old).

Was this review helpful?  

Misty18 Jun 30, 2017

My dad has only recently gone into care at this facility and unfortunately is not mobile so doesn't join in any of the activities that the facility offers. This is the first time I have had anything to do with this type of aged care facility but I am very impressed with the way it is run from day to day and the carers are looking after my dad very well. The only negative that I would say is that more staff would help spread the load on the present carers who are all very caring people.

Was this review helpful?  

Brain4596 Nov 03, 2016

Sherbrooke Aged Care facility has been a wonderful second home for my mother in a small environment in the Dandenongs, the key reason is the staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Evie1929 Nov 03, 2016

Very caring staff for Resident and attentive to keep next of Kin up to date with all circumstances (I am interstate and somewhat distant from my Sister) I am encouraged by the whole operation of Sherbrooke. Rupert Salisbury (POA)

Was this review helpful?  

elle Oct 12, 2016

The staff are fantastic, the food is terrible, I don't think my mums room ever gets cleaned as always full of dust and i end up cleaning, not enough staff on.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Elle, Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased to hear that you think our staff are fantastic because that is important to us. We welcome you to come and join our food focus group where we openly discuss the seasonal dietitian approved menu with the resident's and family. In relation to the cleaning I am currently investigating this. I am happy for you to contact me directly so we can discuss this by either email [email protected] or 0419 518 001. Kind Regards, Fiona van den berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Oct 13, 2016

Stubby Aug 19, 2016

First impressions, a neat, well kept garden. No unpleasant odours when I enter. The staff are always very pleasant, they also treat their clients with respect, they try to keep a very happy atmosphere. I am glad my husband is in their care.

Was this review helpful?  

arkesteyn Aug 15, 2016

The residents are happy, the staff relaxed, the vibration is good, attention to detail.

Was this review helpful?  

jenny e Jun 30, 2016

This nursing home is extremely caring mum is very happy been away from home

Was this review helpful?  

Katelyn1572 Jun 30, 2016

The main strength is the facility is its staff which we often get good co operation to get best care. Building is a bit aged but quite adequate. Very hard to attract top qulity kitchen staff which means food standard is compromised.

Was this review helpful?  

Adam4333 Jun 29, 2016

Great facility made all the better because of the caring and highly trained staff that dedicate themselves to the Sherbrooke Cause. Garry Pearce

Was this review helpful?  

Keith1191 Jun 29, 2016

I have been very happy with the quality of care my mother is receiving. I live in Qld and have the staff reports to me very re assuring.

Was this review helpful?  

gbeekman Jun 29, 2016

Finding this Home for my Mother was a wonderful experience. This home felt like Home and Family when first entered. Two years or so later, it has proven to be just that with the wonderful staff and care given. My Mother does unequivocally share this feeling even though she does not want to be there, the staff make her feel at least important even though she can not get out of bedd.

Was this review helpful?  

Cristobal8718 Jul 07, 2015

Exceptional, friendly place. Highly recommend to visit and see for yourself. Great activities and everyone seems content and in good health. Very quiet area with lively bird life.

Was this review helpful?  6

Rubie8161 Jul 03, 2015

Have particularly found staff and management very obliging and accommodating in settling my parent. We were treated with honesty and warmth and felt immediately at ease.. had a couple of visits to make sure we chose the correct home and we as a family, are very, very happy with Sherbrooke.

Was this review helpful?  5

Name2225 Jun 27, 2015

Very friendly and informative guide through the home. Staff well presented and seemingly happy. Apart from one gent screaming and upsetting others, most people seemed content. Major lack of single room with private ensuite. Could do with a good lick of paint in the room shown to me.

Was this review helpful?  6

Misael5108 Jun 26, 2015

Quite a lovely home, nice and clean, excellent staff. Could be more of choice in menu.

Was this review helpful?  4

Molly D Jun 25, 2015

Social Worker recommended to meet Leslie who helped us and assured us that our father would be well looked after in Sherbrooke. We were shown around, met people and felt very comforted and eventhough we realise that father will not be going back home, we are pleased that we have chosen Sherbrooke for his future place of stay. We have decided not to see any other site as we have decided to move father here. Thank you Leslie.

Was this review helpful?  3

Luciano2541 Jun 16, 2015

Sherbrooke is homely and the staff are wonderful. Can highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?  7

Eve Tyler Jun 15, 2015

Social worker advised me to look at Sherbrooke as there was vacancy. I met Lesley who was very patient and answered a myriad of questions ;she put my mind at ease by going through all aspects of documentation and admission. I felt very comfortable and as soon as I met staff and residents, knew this was the home for my mother. It is quite nerve wracking to place a parent and being the family scout, felt quite overwhelmed until visiting Sherbrooke. My brothers called in uninvited and were made very welcome. They said to " go for it" as this was a great choice for mum.

Was this review helpful?  1

D Nixon Jun 06, 2015

I am from interstate and visited my grandfather today - he is happy here. He says everyone looks after him and the care is exceptional. In fact, all residents seem happy, the atmosphere is happy and warm. Than you for the care to my grandfather I can go home relieved. D Nixon

Was this review helpful?  6

Damien3057 Jun 06, 2015

The staff at Sherbrook are very caring and professional. I would recommend the facility to anyone looking for care for the family member.

Was this review helpful?  3

Brett3423 Jun 06, 2015

the staff are very caring to both resident and family members concerns are always listened too and addressed if able too

Was this review helpful?  1

Paul Giorgio Jun 06, 2015

My brother said he found a place for dad to move into as he will be leaving hospital and not able to go back home. I went to this place and I agree, this is for dad. Dad will have the company of men at his age and from all accounts, he will not be sitting bored in a chair stuck in his room. Dad loves his food and the kitchen was busy with a chef doing the cooking. I felt welcomed and everyone is very friendly. Paul

Was this review helpful?  1

Susan Hines May 30, 2015

An invitation to morning tea has completely widened my eyes to aged care. I am looking for a suitable placement for my mother in the near future and after visiting Sherbrooke Nursing Home, have no need to look further! The warmth and friendliness of staff and other families has put my mind at ease. After chatting to some people there, I was happy to hear that the home offers exceptional care and services and was reassured that my mother would be in the best of homes. This is a relief as I was terrified of placing her into care and after seeing a group of residents and people so happy for myself, I am so relieved. The very friendly office lady ( I have forgotten her name ) explained the course of action that I need to do in regard to filling out forms and to book an appointment for a personalised visit. I cannot explain how relieved and pleased I am to have met those in Sherbrooke. Thank you from Susan Hines.

Was this review helpful?  1

Sidney5735 May 29, 2015

The professional service and wonderful, caring staff make Sherbrooke a warm and exceptional home for my father. Residents are happy and engaged in a friendly and family environment that makes it the most appropriate decision of settling my father into this very lovely home. Outings, walks and activities are enjoyed immensely and we are constantly invited to become involved in meetings and entertainment. A great choice for my father.

Was this review helpful?  2

Marisol4696 May 28, 2015

I live in Sydney and because of age and geographical circumstances visit only infrequently but have found Sherbrooke seemingly very satisfactory. Any urgent matter at all they are quickly in touch with me by phone They respond promptly to email enquiry. Rupert Salisbury. (POA)

Was this review helpful?  2

Lois Knight May 27, 2015

Many years ago my mother was a resident at Sherbrooke and from time to time I re-visit her friends who are residents there. I cannot express my gratitude and respect highly enough to the wonderful staff. I am always comforted in knowing that Sherbrooke was the best home for my mother.

Was this review helpful?  

Ceasar5523 May 26, 2015

My name is Carmel and I am a resident at Sherbrooke and am enjoying myself very much.

Was this review helpful?  

Oscar1911 May 26, 2015

Overall i find the facility and the staff and carers and everybody else working at this nursing home excellent. Everybody is very friendly and easy to get along with and the care they give to my mother is exceptional. I would recommend this nursing home to anybody in need of any special care.

Was this review helpful?  

Maverick1231 May 26, 2015

My mother has been here for many years. All staff care about residents and families and I can highly recommend this home. I often have a meal here with my mother and it is nice to spend time with her. Any questions are answered and followed up so that I am always aware that mum's needs are met.

Was this review helpful?  1

Nathen4274 May 26, 2015

Lovely comfortable and relaxed home. I had lunch today in the sunny courtyard with my husband who is a resident here. Always greeted warmly and feel it a pleasure to visit. Enjoyed sing a long and activities with other families this morning.

Was this review helpful?  1

Marlene6877 May 25, 2015

Very good facility

Was this review helpful?  

Kendrick7592 May 25, 2015

My mother is a resident here and finds it very friendly and secure. Staff are always friendly "if you need anything it is never a bother" and I can attune to that.

Was this review helpful?  

Baden Brown May 14, 2015

I find the quality of the staff and the medical, administration and the cheerfulness of the nurses help, the patience to be able to enjoy themselves as much as I can in this time of life and situation.

Was this review helpful?  

Roland May 14, 2015

main commendation is Sherbrooke do have a good number of staff that try to engage with my mother and give personal care. This I believe is the its most important asset. I would like to see improvements in food quality and sometimes in room cleaning.

Was this review helpful?  

Garry Pearce May 13, 2015

The staff make the quality of Sherbrooke what it is.

Was this review helpful?  1

Raymond May 13, 2015

Excellent staff. It's very close to family home and immediate visitors. Excellent bus trip to Mt Martha was enjoyed by all. Could be more bus trips like that. Activities are good. Staff are very enthusiastic and good fun. Cordless phone service to residents' family members could improve. Environment is very cosy and comfortable and visitors are welcomed and greeted at any time, as there is a sense of acceptance for visitors and family members. Personal approach from all staff is appreciated greatly. Very good security. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?  

rdsal2 Mar 10, 2015

I have a Sister in care at this establishment although I live in Sydney NSW. A recent visit to Victoria convinced me she is in a very caring and high quality establishment. Rupert Salisbury.

Was this review helpful?  1

tracey Jun 09, 2014

Beautiful friendly staff very clean

Was this review helpful?  

Roma969 May 05, 2014

We had my father in law in the nursing home in late 2007. My husband was his primary care giver we had a rocky road to ride with his health the staff were very helpful and supportive of all our needs.he had a bad turn and I found 3 staff members trying to make him comfortable. All diets catered for. If I needed to stay waiting for an ambulance I was offered food and drink. They have entertainers come in regularly. They involve families in events ie Melbourne cup raffle and encourage everyone to dress up etc .When he eventually did die the staff offered to clean him up and we were not rushed to leave. Another thing we liked was that the place always smelled clean and fresh.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Sherbrooke

Available Rooms

Room Name

Superior Twin

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

42

Room size (sqm)

16m2 to 20m2

Room Description

24 hour Registered Nursing Care in
Purpose designed and built
Fully furnished
Supremely maintained
Rooms include beautiful courtyard or garden views personal pin boards for special memories electric highlow beds built in robes comfortable chair overbed table accessible nurse call temperature control which make the offering very home like environment

Common Areas Description

Multiple lounge dining and private rooms are available for private or group use including dining rooms lounge rooms and library. Additionally there are several outdoor recreational zones to enjoy a BBQ or good weather with loved ones.

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

16m2 to 20m2

Room Description

24 hour Registered Nursing Care in
Purpose designed and built
Fully furnished
Supremely maintained
Rooms include beautiful courtyard or garden views personal pin boards for special memories electric highlow beds built in robes comfortable chair overbed table accessible nurse call temperature control which make the offering very home like environment

Common Areas Description

Multiple lounge dining and private rooms are available for private or group use including dining rooms lounge rooms and library. Additionally there are several outdoor recreational zones to enjoy a BBQ or good weather with loved ones.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

16m2 to 20m2

Room Description

24 hour Registered Nursing Care in
Purpose designed and built
Fully furnished
Supremely maintained
Rooms include beautiful courtyard or garden views personal pin boards for special memories electric highlow beds built in robes comfortable chair overbed table accessible nurse call temperature control which make the offering very home like environment

Common Areas Description

Multiple lounge dining and private rooms are available for private or group use including dining rooms lounge rooms and library. Additionally there are several outdoor recreational zones to enjoy a BBQ or good weather with loved ones.

Aged Care Directory
My Account