Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Menarock Life Willowbrae

4.33 33 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(351 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Willowbrae
About Willowbrae Templestowe

Menarock Life Willowbrae Templestowe is a modern, purpose-built 49 bed low care facility, situated alongside Westerfolds Park, with its natural bush reserves and open areas, bounded by the Yarra River, yet it is also close to shops, medical services, churches, clubs and public transport. Each resident has their own individual bed-sitting room, wired for free to air and cable television, private telephone as well as a private en-suite. Quality curtains, light fittings and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Willowbrae also offers ageing-in-place and respite care.
33 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
K. Adams Sep 27, 2018

Willowbrae in Templestowe offers a very high standard of care for their residents, the staff are caring, the meals are excellent offering a high quality nutritional menus. There is a doctor who is available if required not a locum service but a Dr who knows the patient. There are daily activities and entertainment programs .

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear K Adams, thank you for your thoughtful review, it assists us to keep achieving high standards. The commitment of our staff to our residents is paramount to our philosophy of care across all our services.
Oct 05, 2018

Bridgette3215 Sep 26, 2018

The staff support at this facility has been wonderful. Keeping in contact when there is an issue has been informative, regular and immediate. Cleanliness and pride taken in this facility is of the highest standard. It is like a home away from home with client's dignity and happinessmaintained at all times.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Bridgette3215, Thank you for your review. Our staff across all our services will be pleased to receive this feedback and keep providing excellent care to all our residents.
Oct 05, 2018

Maia3142 Feb 22, 2018

A really excellent facility. Staff are very welcoming and responsive and it feels like an extension of the family. Our mother has settled in very well and she is thrilled with her surroundings. There is also plenty of activities to be involved in so that the day passes quickly. Only very positive feedback about our experience so far.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Maia3142, thank you for your review. Our staff will be pleased to receive this feedback.
Oct 05, 2018

Shanna555 Jan 18, 2018

Our mother was a residence of Willowbrae, Aged Care Facility in Templestowe and we cannot be thankful enough for the wonderful care she received, but also the support they provided to me and my sister. The staff are so approachable and the DON is always available to both residents and family. Willowbrae is a wonderful facility and I would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Shanna555 Thank you for positive feedback regarding the great team at Willowbrae, we appreciate you taking the time to write the review. I will pass the compliment onto the DON and staff. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 22, 2018

Grace Rosella Nov 30, 2017

My sister and I have been very happy with the quality of care my mum has received. Nothing has been too much trouble when requests were made.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Grace Thank you for taking time to provide this feedback on Aged Care Review, I have shared with staff at Willowbrae. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Marian7388 Jun 26, 2017

I recently learned that yet another Director of Nursing has resigned from Willowbrae. I have lost count how many there have been in the last few years, 8-10 ? The most recently appointed Director of Nursing was not even going to be full time at Willowbrae and instead be spread thinly over 2 services, that is irrelevant now since she too has resigned. All workplaces need a leader. Someone who is highly trained and can be in charge of the day to day running of the workplace, be a role model and maintain quality control. How can this happen when there is such a high turn over of Directors ? It is the residents who suffer in these circumstances as they live at Willowbrae full time and there is little stability or continuity. The families suffer as they worry what is happening with staffing and quality. I ask the questions …. What is the common denominator that causes all the Directors of Nursing to resign ? Having the CEO in charge is great short term, but how is she going to manage 2 big important roles effectively at the same time ? This is a very big concern.

Was this review helpful?  2

Menarock Life

Dear Marian7388, Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns regarding the recent resignation of the Director of Nursing at Willowbrae, who had been with Menarock for the past 3 years. Previous to her recent appointment, you may not have realised but I had been personally working as the DON of Willowbrae and the CEO of Menarock from last year. This provided me with a wonderful opportunity to not only review our small unique home at Willowbrae but to continuously improve the care, services and programs provided already to the residents across the home. Such as the new Lotus Club to support those residents living with Dementia and more care staff in the mornings. Our recent resident and staff survey's provided many positive feedback comments regarding this and was discussed at a resident and relative meeting this year. I appreciate that a change of DON maybe difficult, but we have many dedicated and skilled staff who have been with us for over 10 years and all our DONs at Menarock are supported by a senior management team of qualified registered nurses to ensure our quality and clinical care is constantly monitored and reviewed. So with my return to Willowbrae it will ensure the continuity of the care and services will be maintained and I am more than happy to discuss this with further, Please feel free to contact me directly either via email: [email protected] or mobile 0419 518 001. Kind regards Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services
Jun 27, 2017

Marlen1311 Nov 08, 2016

My mother didn't want to be in respite. I needed a holiday. She was a hard person to please and the staff were patient with her and she ended up enjoying herself.

Was this review helpful?  

Lorena5982 Oct 19, 2016

The Aged Care Home we have our Mother in is excellent. We feel very fortunate to have been able to get Mum into this home, she is very well looked after, is as happy as she can be considering her illness and the staff are excellent friendly and go above and beyond. We can not recommend this facility highly enough just fantastic. Thank you .

Was this review helpful?  

Jerry W Oct 19, 2016

The wonderful care shown to my grandmother was great and thanks go to the staff and management, nothing was any bother to them.

Was this review helpful?  

Ericka6962 Oct 18, 2016

My Aunty since being in Willow Brae has a new lease on life it has taken her out of the loneliness of being by herself at home. THe staff are great. Spotless and she can get her hair nails done and loves the attention given to her. I have called in at meal times and I feel like staying for tea it smells and looks so good.No one wants to put love ones in age care but unfortunately with life styles today there is no other choice. THank you Willow Brae for the great care to my aunt.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Adrianna7219, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the care and services provided for your aunt. At Menarock we are always striving towards providing quality care and services and it is great to hear that this is being achieved for your aunt at Willowbrae. Anytime you would like to stay and share in a meal with your aunt please let the staff know because your more than welcome to stay. Kind Regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services.
Oct 18, 2016

4444 Oct 17, 2016

Stayed in respite for 6 weeks and came home with very bad sores on his back and left heal. Continence care was poorly managed.

Was this review helpful?  3

Menarock Life

Dear 4444, Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback, I am currently investigating this matter personally, as this is not the level of care and services provided at Willowbrae. I invite you to contact me by email [email protected] or 9898 1000 to discuss this matter with you. Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services.
Oct 18, 2016

Marian7388 Oct 15, 2016

It was a very difficult time when it was identified that my father needed to go into Residential Aged Care so I did extensive research before choosing the most suitable facility for my father. I finally decided on Willowbrae Templestowe. There have been numerous incidents, 2 extremly serous and life threatening in the time my father has been there and I have had numerous meeings with all levels of management. To complicare matters there have been at least 5 managers. All made promises but were not there long enough to follow through. The reason why I have not relocated my father to another facility is that with his dementia it could actually be more detrimental to him to move him than to keep him there. All the promises made on the tour and all the information in the handbook do not all actually happen in day to day real life. I have to continue to be a strong advocate for my father every day.

Was this review helpful?  3

Menarock Life

Dear Marian7388, I am pleased to hear that our Management team has been meeting with you to discuss your ongoing concerns of your father. I would encourage you to continue these discussions as we have an open door policy and are willing to work with you to achieve a common goal for your fathers wishes in regards to his care and services. I appreciate there has been a change of Managers over the past few years, but the retention of many of the care staff and Senior Management team remain consistent. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss this in more detail, as I would like to personally assist you in ensuring both your needs and that of your fathers are being achieved. You may contact me directly by phone 9898 1000 or [email protected] Fiona van den Berg CEO Menarock Aged Care Services.
Oct 18, 2016

KellyL Oct 11, 2016

The decision to place your beloved parent in permanent care (even respite) is never an easy one. You feel guilty and that you are betraying the person who brought you up and loved you all your life. It's only when you see their best interests being taken care of that this burden lifts off your shoulders and your heart. When you feel, despite your own inner turmoil, that you have taken an important and correct step in their best interest. This stage is made a lot easier when you can see the care and love they are receiving, and the smile on their face.

Was this review helpful?  

Savanna839 Oct 11, 2016

The staff are all exceptional. Willowbrae residents are a genuine family. My mother has never been happier! Her quality of life has improved beyond relief. I am extremely grateful knowing that my mum is cared for, safe and happy in her twilight years. Thank you Willowbrae!

Was this review helpful?  

Stuart Jones Oct 07, 2016

My mother has been a resident at Willowbrae Templestowe for 14 years. There have been three owners, but some of the staff have remained. Overall, there is a very professional level of care and extremely dedicated personnel who do everything they can to support and nurture the residents. There is a good mix of activities and even a sense of community. The building is well maintained and has changed little over the 14 years. I have no hesitation in recommending Willowbrae Templestowe.

Was this review helpful?  

Anne8823 Sep 17, 2016

I was very disappointed today. The facility was short staffed, again. The staff were run off their feet. One resident needed adjusting on their chair, staff member went looking for someone to help, put announcement over for help. No dinner time announcement until after 5pm, only a few at the dinner table. I asked who was in charged as all their uniforms are the same. At 5pm, I mentioned to the person in charge that my mum has a sore bottom and needs looked at, that i had been there since 2pm I was told that it had nothing to do with her as she wasnt on thenjQuery22406508897822781692_1474097318671???? and i mentioned that my mum ankle was very sore, even to move or touch it. She went rushing off and said she would look into it. Didnt ask who my mother was.The staff were going to use the wrong lifting machine for my mother, in the end she was screaming with pain they decided to leave her in her chair to feed her. I dont think it is good to be short staff, we pay the same money and expect the same care for our elderly parents.

Was this review helpful?  4

Menarock Life

Dear Anne8823, Thank you for taking the time in raising your concerns regarding Willowbrae. I would like to reassure you this matter will be investigated immediately. Willowbrae has previously received so many positive comments and compliments from the residents, relatives and their representatives, we are wanting to ensure this level of satisfaction continues. As you have pointed out, our staff do all wear the same uniforms, this is because at Menarock, we believe that every staff member is equal and everyone plays an important role in the care and services they provide, we encourage all our staff to work as a team to ensure the best possible outcomes are always achieved. Our staffing levels are constantly reviewed for the residents care needs and services and we are more than happy to discuss this with you in person. May I please ask you to make contact with the DON of Willowbrae, Michelle Bain on [email protected] to make an appointment or alternatively you may contact our Group Admissions
Sep 19, 2016

Ray2708 Aug 15, 2016

About 9 weeks ago I was in Respite at Willowbrae Aged Care Facility 81 Porter St Templestowe. One day a head supervizer invited me for afternoon tea with three permanent residents. There is a small dining room where you can have a coffee and biscuits any time of the day. After introductions, we were offered hot chocolate or tea with more biscuits which was very nice. The "Supervizer" had the Herald Sun and read the news and headlines. It was a very pleasant hour or so and a very pleasant way to bring the residents together. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and I would go back anytime, especially with such wonderful staff to look after you, and such a lovely room to myself. Many thanks, Nancye Lord.

Was this review helpful?  

Tristin3493 Jul 10, 2016

We have found Willow Brae Templestowe to be the best facility for our family Member. The Facility is always immaculately kept, Staff at all levels are very kind and caring with only the best interest of residents a priority. They are more than helpful with any queries we have had. We are thrilled to have found such a wonderful home for our mother to be safe and happy.

Was this review helpful?  1

Samantha5421 Jul 01, 2016

There has been several facility managers (4) in 2016. This has seen an obvious fall in moral and staff turnover. The saving grace here are the two activity staff members, senior nurse and chef.

Was this review helpful?  1

Menarock Life

Dear Andreane4951, Thank you for your review. While it is true that we have had some staff turnover at the facility over the past year, our overall staff turnover rates are in fact lower than what is seen across the aged care industry. As you pointed out our activity staff, Chef and Clinical Care Co-ordinator are all great assets to Willowbrae and have been with us for at least 8 years, and some even longer. At Menarock we are always working hard to ensure Willowbrae strives to provide a safe environment which respects individuals, choice of care and lifestyle within the home. So I thank you once again for your review and if you wish discuss this further please contact me directly on [email protected] Kind Regards, Fiona van den Berg CEO.
Jul 01, 2016

Leo001 Jun 30, 2016

I could not have choosen a better place for my mother but here at Willowbrae Tenplestowe. Everything is just great, all the staff are very caring, the food is restuarant quality and cooked daily and the building is clean, no odour and the layout is easy for the residents to understand and make their way around. Nothing negative to say about the place.

Was this review helpful?  

Edison1734 Jun 29, 2016

Could have more visitor parking

Was this review helpful?  2

Liana5953 Jun 29, 2016

As an organisation you need to keep the amazing staff you have currently.

Was this review helpful?  

Zackery9133 Jun 29, 2016

Couldn't be happier with the care and consideration given to residents and their families. Food, facilities and recreational activities all of a very high standard.

Was this review helpful?  

Ashley1050 Dec 17, 2015

Willowbrae is a very attractive place - not too large about 48 residents. The staff are friendly and kind to the residents. My mother-in-law has been at Willowbrae for over six years and is now 102 years of age so I have seen a lot of changes in this time mostly good. The garden is kept neat and tidy and there is a nice area out the back with Gazebo and BBQ.

Was this review helpful?  1

Liliana9475 Dec 03, 2015

my mother has been a resident for many years @ Willowbrae in Templestowe. the staff are amazing in the care that they deliver. the communication with family is always friendly and very informative. I always feel that my mother is being treated with respect and dignity.

Was this review helpful?  2

Larraine Waldron Oct 10, 2015

Choosing a facility for a family member is difficult. First impressions are important. The accommodation should be clean, bright and smell fresh, but it is the staff that makes a difference. At Willowbrae the staff are all friendly, helpful, caring and always willing to discuss any concerns with family. Activities are well planned, varied and interesting. Recently there was a “Pleasant Sunday Afternoon.” It was great to see so many happy faces on residents and family alike. Rooms are always clean and tidy with respect for resident’s privacy. Generally there is a good feeling at Willowbrae.

Was this review helpful?  3

lja59 Jun 16, 2015

Choosing the right Aged Care Facility for a loved one is one of the hardest and biggest decisions we have ever had to make. We are thrilled with the choice we made of Willow Brae Templestowe, our mother is extremely well looked after and is cared for as part of the whole Willowbrae Family. It is very reassuring to see her happy and content. If we ask for follow up on care or any other queries they are always dealt with promptly and professionally. All the residents are treated as individuals and with the greatest respect and care. The facility is always clean and well maintained and never smells.(something we were very concerned about at other homes we viewed). The gardens are beautiful and a joy for the residents to spend time in. We are extremely fortunate with all the staff at Willowbrae being very professional, well trained, smiling and very very caring.The Activity Co-ordinators do an amazing job in making sure there is plenty to do that is appropriate for all residents abilities, from Mass services for individual denominations to wonderful outings for those that are able. We can not recommend Willowbrae Templestowe highly enough.

Was this review helpful?  

Grateful Daughter May 29, 2015

My darling father was beautifully looked after for the last 10 months of his life. We are all grateful for that.

Was this review helpful?  

Marcos1782 May 26, 2015

A very positive attitude from staff, warm and friendly, always receptive to a chat whether clinical or social. Has promoted a positive attitude and improved the quality of life of my mother. The loss of my father who was also a resident, was handled with due respect and diligence, my mother was monitored and emotionally cared for in a warm, comforting and understanding manner. I consider it very fortunate that she is there

Was this review helpful?  

123456789 May 25, 2015

Each resident is treated with respect and very genuine care by all staff. Very friendly and warm atmosphere. Not at all like an "institution", has a very homely feel. Manager and staff are very approachable and follow up on requests. Clean and well looked after facility. Family is included.

Was this review helpful?  

blokestuff May 24, 2015

A caring group of people

Was this review helpful?  

plusted1 May 21, 2015

Since the car came thru the wall there has been VERY Slow progress in repairs and painting is STILL outstanding. During this period several personal items were lost.

Was this review helpful?  

irene82 Feb 19, 2014

Me and my partner have been inspecting Aged care homes to find a suitable place for my partner's mum. At first, I was a bit disappointed when I checked this place because at the door entry, there was a sign to ring the doorbell and use the hand sanitiser before entering. The hand sanitiser was empty and I rang a few times only to find out that the door was unlocked. Hmmm, security issue. When I opened the door, I was so pleased with the its classic style and relaxed ambience. This place is great! I was greeted with friendly staff members and the place is just so clean and organised. What makes this home stands out from the rest is its private room with ensuites. I think it will be a good transition for my partner's mum who lives in a family home and still have that privacy if she moves here. Each rooms has their own television, comfortable bed and a nice comfortable couch. This is important especially for older people in order to help prevent from pressure sores. I was also amazed with the fold away shower seat with anti scalding thermo valves taps that is a good safety measure for older people because nursing staffs don't see all of them 24/7. Good preventative measure like this is important. Another factor that makes this facility better than the others is their 2 monthly residents and relatives meeting. I think this is a good way for residents and family members to get involved in their care and have the opportunity to give feedback to make their living arrangements better.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Willowbrae

Willowbrae Templestowe is a modern, purpose-built 49 bed low care facility, situated alongside Westerfolds Park, with its natural bush reserves and open areas, bounded by the Yarra River, yet it is also close to shops, medical services, churches, clubs and public transport. Each resident has their own individual bed-sitting room, wired for free to air and cable television, private telephone as well as a private en-suite. Quality curtains, light fittings and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Willowbrae also offers ageing-in-place and respite care.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

49

Room size (sqm)

12 to 16

Room Description

Quality curtains and light fittings ceiling fans hydronic heating and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Rooms are wired for free to air and cable television private telephone and Foxtel can be connected at residents expense. The private ensuites are equipped with a fold away shower seat anti-scalding thermo-valve taps grab rails and non-slip floors. Residents have the option to furbish their own bedroom if they desire.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

Room size (sqm)

12 to 16

Room Description

Quality curtains and light fittings ceiling fans hydronic heating and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Rooms are wired for free to air and cable television private telephone and Foxtel can be connected at residents expense. The private ensuites are equipped with a fold away shower seat anti-scalding thermo-valve taps grab rails and non-slip floors. Residents have the option to furbish their own bedroom if they desire.

Common Areas Description

Residents may relax in the spacious comfort of the lounge room with its open fireplace watch communal television listen to requested musical or other programs of interest or enjoy reading from a selection of books from our library. In addition there are two smaller lounge rooms one of which is designed as a chapel retreat where residents and their friends may enjoy quiet and private moments. A large multi-purpose room caters for a variety of activities ranging from construction and modelling to bingo cards and other interests. This room also doubles as a meeting room for groups both within the home and the wider community. Regular ecumenical church services are conducted by local clergy. Hydronic heating throughout the building and air conditioning in communal areas as well as individually controlled ceiling fans in all bed-rooms and communal areas ensures a comfortable temperature is maintained in all seasons. Outside the landscaped court-yard and pergola with its central water feature offer an idyllic area to enjoy the outdoors. The built in barbecue caters for special outdoor functions. On occasions residents may wish to cook for themselves their friends and families as a special treat.

Aged Care Directory
My Account