Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Midland Nursing Home

3.75 12 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(12 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Midland Nursing Home
12 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Una2134 Jan 11, 2019

It's old and tired as a facility but the service from the staff is amazing. They use very few if any agency staff which is a bonus. My father has Alzheimers and is difficult to manage but they treat him with respect and he id very happy which is all we can ask. I would recommend it all day long.

Was this review helpful?  

Natalie2158 Oct 08, 2018

Midland Nursing Home is old but the care is great. Some carers have been their over 30 years and they don't use agency carers. Whilst in Transitional Care at Amana Living my father complained of one of the carers being a bully, which explains why they found it difficult to manage Dad. They had alot of agency so i was very nervous about finding a suitable place for Dad. I don't think I could've found a better place, right from the inital meeting and all the information and tour was very informative. Dad has settled in very well under the circumstances and the familiarity of regular carers is very good. I get calls for any issues and I am kept informed all the time. I can say nothing but good things about Midland Nursing Home. They genuinly have Dads happiness at heart.

Was this review helpful?  

Lonny3469 Sep 25, 2018

Midland Aged Care, John St Midland is welcoming, bright and Staff are friendly and helpful. My mother has alzheimer's and is cared for extremely well. I can't fault this facility at this stage.

Was this review helpful?  

Merle6040 Sep 25, 2018

My father is in dementia section with 27 patients and 4 carers, they are divided into two sections, the building and gardens are well maintained, reclining chairs in common area are tatty. Staff do a valiant job, but are understaffed, and although patients are divided into two common areas all day, there are periods that they are unsupervised, mainly when they are toileting or changing to pj's late afternoon; which is unacceptable for dementia. We have had many phone calls saying Dad has slipped out of his chair or fallen, luckily no injuries as yet. He is not walked on a daily basis for exercise,is restricted to a chair as cannot walk without assistance. We also find many times we cannot wake him up during the day, but they insist he is not given sedatives. Atmosphere is not that great, they keep replaying same videos, and no relaxing music during mealtimes etc. Food is mostly good, sometimes very watery, and yes they do get sausage rolls, sandwichs etc and vegetables are often from frozen not fresh, fruit except bananas are not regular on menu. We paid $250,000 bond for shared room plus the standard daily rates, and feel we did not have hardly a choice in preferred location, both in this area were close to full capacity, and we needed to be close by for aged mother to visit on regular basis. Increased staff ratio to patients, full supervision for dementia, improvement on individual needs and more competition with increased beds available in Midland area would be a start to lift standard of care.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maximus3329 Sep 25, 2018

Lovely caring staff very friendly and kept clean.

Was this review helpful?  

Anabel9116 Jul 31, 2017

they do not have enough staff per ratio for the amount of residents, I have been there when no staff members have been in the lounge with residents and had to help a resident who was about to fall, I have taken this up with management. Have had an incident when an occupational therapist went against my documented wishes resulting in my mum having a fall.

Was this review helpful?  

Nelle9871 Jun 25, 2017

Over the last 7 years both my late Mother-in-Law and my late Father have both been residents at Midland Nursing Home, although in different wings. I found the care that they received to be excellent. The staff are compassionate and communication between the Home and our family regarding our loved one's care was outstanding.

Was this review helpful?  1

Monica1774 Apr 19, 2016

Beautiful place so clean and it smells so clean unlike other places that smell like urine etc. staff treat them like they are Family

Was this review helpful?  

Tyrese3173 Mar 16, 2016

Would have been ok if my parents could have afforded private care facility, as the building next door (private facility) was really good but the public facility was a soulless, stark, depressing place to be. My Dad lasted just three days.

Was this review helpful?  2

Enalyag Mar 15, 2016

The staff are very caring for the residents and very friendly to family and friends who visit. It always has a very clean smell and the residents ' are always dressed in freshly laundered clothing. Outside entertainment on a regular basis as well as themed occasions such as Christmas New Year Australia day Valentine's Day Easter Melbourne cup . There is also a meeting every 2 months for residents and family who wish to attend. There is also a comprehensive newsletter 4 times a year. My husband needs more extended care that I'm unable to give him and I'm very happy with the care he's receiving

Was this review helpful?  

Bridget266 Jan 12, 2016

It is very difficult to obtain a place in an agreed care facility especially if you are not rich. In my experience the buildings are old, dark and therefore not a pleasant place to call home. The staff seem very nice and tried their best but we're very busy and didn't have time to just stop and have a chat. It is a big move and I believe that the pleasantries are missed and the dignity of the person involved is stripped. We need to make site that there are some comforts of home and remember that these are people not a comotity to make money from.

Was this review helpful?  2

Jaren9804 Dec 03, 2015

My husband of 56 years h!as a frontal lobe dementia and as he became very weak in the legs the time came for me to get him into a nursing home. This home is divided into three sections, those who. Need hostel care, those who am high care and those who are wanderers and need to be in a secure unit. Each section has access to an enclosed garden which is beautifully maintained. The staff are very cheerful and caring. The rooms are two bed share with shower and toilet between two rooms. There is never a urine smell as you get in some homes . The meals are well balanced, cooked on the premises and the laundry is also taken care of on site. I am very happy with the care my husband is receiving.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Midland Nursing Home

Swan Valley specialists in residential high care for the aged since 1972. 46 standard services, 29 secure dementia and 35 Extra Services beds - we provide the whole range of services on site.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Extra services single 6

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

23

Room size (sqm)

14.76 - 18.65

Room Description

Well-appointed single room with private access to courtyard. Colour-coordinated decor with quality floor coverings and furnishings. Room controlled reverse cycle airconditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Six sitting rooms two dining rooms and a club room. TV Foxtel DVD and stereo facilities in club room. Tea and coffee making facilities in dining rooms.

Room Name

Standard single 1

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

3

Room size (sqm)

12.90 - 14.62

Room Description

Well-appointed single room for secure dementia only. Colour-coordinated decor and furnishings. Reverse cycle air-conditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Separate dining rooms lounges and sitting rooms.

Room Name

Standard shared 3

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

64

Room size (sqm)

18.36 - 26.71

Room Description

Well-appointed shared rooms including for secure dementia only. Colour-coordinated decor and furnishings. Reverse cycle air-conditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Separate dining rooms lounges and sitting rooms.

Room Name

Standard single 4

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

11.84

Room Description

Respite only. Well appointed single room. Colour-coordinated decor and furnishings. Reverse cycle air-conditioning. Free to air TV.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Separate dining rooms lounges and sitting rooms.

Room Name

Super Deluxe ES Single

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

35m2

Room Description

Well appointed and newly refurbished extra large single room. Colour coordinated decor with quality floor coverings and furnishings. Room controlled reversed cycle airconditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities 6 sitting rooms 2 dining rooms and a club room. TV Foxtel DVD and stereo facilities in club room. Tea and coffee making facilities in dining rooms.

Room Name

Standard shared 2

Type

Shared room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

19.08 - 29.70

Room Description

Well-appointed shared rooms including for secure dementia only. Colour-coordinated decor and furnishings. Reverse cycle air-conditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Separate dining rooms lounges and sitting rooms.

Room Name

Extra services shared 5

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

10

Room size (sqm)

21.84 - 26.45

Room Description

Well-appointed shared room with ensuite. Colour-coordinated decor with quality floor coverings and furnishings. Room controlled reverse cycle airconditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Six sitting rooms two dining rooms and a club room. TV Foxtel DVD and stereo facilities in club room. Tea and coffee making facilities in dining rooms.

Room Name

Extra services deluxe single 7

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

21 - 26.5 sqm

Room Description

Well-appointed extra large single room. Colour-coordinated decor with quality floor coverings and furnishings. Room controlled reverse cycle airconditioning.

Common Areas Description

Landscaped gardens and gazebos for leisure activities. Six sitting rooms two dining rooms and a club room. TV Foxtel DVD and stereo facilities in club room. Tea and coffee making facilities in dining rooms.

Aged Care Directory
My Account