Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Narracan Gardens

3.33 6 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(128 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Narracan Gardens
6 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Stanley593 Sep 26, 2018

Care staff and nurses are always eager to assist the resident and family. Often putting their 15min break time aside to ensure everything needed for the resident or family member is met.

Was this review helpful?  

Randal3623 Sep 25, 2018

My husband aged 7o has lived there since June 2005. He is confined to bed after a stroke in June 2004 and last year I had a complaint against the management through the usual channels and wasn't successful. As he has no core strength, they refuse to lift him with the standing lifter and insist he is moved in the hoist, he finds it too demeaning and dangerous to be lifted that way so is bed nursed. Is going downhill that is apparent and is regarded as a "difficult"resident.

Was this review helpful?  

Maude7745 Sep 25, 2018

The carers and nursing staff are wonderful, and really care about the residents. My 87-year-old father has been living at Narracan Gardens high-care nursing home in regional Victoria for 6.5 years, and they virtually nursed him back from a bad illness to a happy and relatively healthy lifestyle. I live in Sydney, so their care gives me great peace of mind - when I visit Dad every 5-6 weeks for a weekend, I see continual evidence that they are looking after him wonderfully well. The only area in which improvements could be made is the quality and choice of meals. Whilst breakfasts are fine, lunches and particularly dinners, are below par. My father has taken to avoiding the evening meal, saying it's extremely unappetising to look at, let alone eat - meals consist of party pies/sausage rolls, and powdered egg with commercially-prepared potato nuggets (a vision of 'beige'). He complains that the meals, overall, have little taste.

Was this review helpful?  

Mabelle6169 Mar 17, 2016

my husband has lived there for almost 11 years, had a stroke in June 2004. The quality of food varies from good to very poor. I take over other food twice a week, the evening meal is what he dislikes most often. There is often not enough staff, after meals there seems to be an emphasis on clearing away dishes rather than taking residents to the toilet. He can't walk or get out of bed on his own so has accidents, not good. Some carers are better than others, he has ones he can "trust"in his own words.

Was this review helpful?  1

Savanna1868 Mar 14, 2016

My father went into care, he had to share a room so only had a bedside table and small wardrobe, being a diabetic he took tablets with diet lemonade, the first week I bought him 10 bottles and put them on a shelf I his wardrobe, I went to the desk and and advised 5 staff members all standing around talking to please give him a drink of lemonade with his tablets, he didn't like refrigerated drinks and they all shook their heads and said ok, I came back 3 days later and not one bottle had been opened, I did the same again this time with 4 other staff members all at the desk talking, all denied knowing anything about the drink and said they would make sure he got a drink. I came back 3 days later and again 10 bottles and not one opened. The same happened with a bowl of fruit, it was summer and he loved stone fruit, I brought him some in and advised the staff that I put it in his bedside drawer because there was no other place to put it, again I arrived 3 days later there was fruit fly all over the cabinet but no fruit was touched, this went on for a few weeks and finally I could take no more and left my job and moved into the family home and took my father home, I was already looking after my disabled sister. I would never recommend a nursing home to anybody. The two examples are only the tip of the iceberg.

Was this review helpful?  

raebill Jul 08, 2015

My husband Peter has lived there for 10 years, had a stroke 11 years ago. The food quality is variable, nice roasts maybe weekly but you don't see chops, steaks, chicken drumsticks on the menu. It might be a question of economics? The system for handling complaints could be improved, from the manager downwards.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Narracan Gardens

Information not yet provided by facility

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

12

Room Description

Well maintained light and airy rooms that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. These rooms are situated in the extended section and standard furniture is supplied. Residents are encouraged to bring mementoes from home to individualise their space.

Common Areas Description

NAME

Room Name

Standard

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

12

Room Description

Well maintained light and airy rooms that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Standard furniture is supplied as is a connection point for your telephone. Residents are encouraged to bring mementoes from home to individualise their space.

Common Areas Description

-

Aged Care Directory
My Account