Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator Average Quality
(180 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Point Cook Manor

Overview

Homestyle Point Cook Manor provides permanent and respite residential aged care for the western suburbs, in leading edge surrounds.

Point Cook Manor is a luxury, contemporary home for 118 residents, offering state of the art accommodation and all levels of care needs.

Positioned in the heart of Point Cook township, our happy, welcoming community enables people to have the privacy of their own individual rooms while enjoying Homestyle high quality facilities, nursing and personal care.

Our homely, welcoming environment embraces residents with a world of comfort and inspiration.

26 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Arianna7216 Apr 12, 2019

The facility looks awesome but the staff are not trained properly to deal with dementia specific people and the staff ratio is discussing the manager doesn’t want to know about any problems and the csm is too young to know or understand anything I as a div 1 nurse is discussing with her.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Arianna7216, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. In relation to your comments surrounding staff training, staff do receive education relating to dementia care, we have dedicated staffing in our dementia unit for continuity of care and effective behavior management. We also recognise your comments in relation to our management team and would like to invite you to discuss any concerns with the manager, Angela at your convenience. Angela has instituted an open-door policy and welcomes feedback from residents, families and staff at any time. While our CSM is new to this home, she brings many years of experience and is highly qualified as a registered nurse and in clinical services management. I encourage you to contact Angela to discuss your feedback. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Apr 24, 2019

GaStrel Sep 29, 2018

The place that dad was in for respite was 100s of times nicer than where Mum was.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi GaStrel, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 17, 2018

Pattie236 Sep 28, 2018

As a relative of a resident in an Aged care facility which is only 4 years old, I am reasonably happy with the type of care she receives. We do find though that the level of communication between the carers,nursing staff and administration is of a huge concern with messages regarding the resident not being passed on between these groups. We realize that they do have a huge job but it would just make it so much easier on everyone if they passed on information. Other than that, we are at ease with the hardest decision that we have ever had to make.

Was this review helpful?  

Chester2771 Sep 25, 2018

My mother went into Pt Cook Manor in Feb 2015. Brand new facility and care was amazing. Over time many staff have changed and communication to family regarding certain care needs has lowered. Overall the facility is very good, and my mither is happy there. I just think staff need to be a bit more attentive to needs and communicate with residents and families

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Chester2771, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am really pleased to hear that overall you are happy with your experience at Point Cook Manor. We have listened to your feedback and this has been shared with management for review through to solution. This may include upskilling of our staff to ensure they are more attentive ensuring we improve communication with our residents and families. Thank you again for taking the time and wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 30, 2018

Nakia2186 Sep 25, 2018

The facility is awesome and so nice the rooms are gorgeous but the staff don’t have a clue how to deal with dementia patients they don’t give prn medication when it’s needed and they cause confrontation when it’s not appropriate in stead of just letting mum wander as she does no harm we are not racist but the culture of the staff points to explain a lot of the problem as they don’t know how to deal with Australia people sadly

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Nakia2186, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am really pleased to hear that overall you appreciate the home and surroundings. In relation to your feedback on care, we love your honesty and this review has already been shared with our senior management team for review through to solution including possible upskilling of our staff to better assist dementia residents. Thank you again and wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
Oct 30, 2018

Jose3393 Sep 25, 2018

Where l have family is great very clean and well looked after

Was this review helpful?  

Sherman6993 Apr 11, 2018

My daughter found this place because it is so much closer to where she lives. She looked at other places, but in her mind, I know she liked this place much more than the others she had seen. The idea of being closer to her and my grandchildren did appeal to me, but the place I was in was small, but very efficient, with a Manager I found excellent, she did a great deal for me. It was quite a task for me packing and moving here. I was anxious and stressed out. Then I had contact with the speech therapist. It is a pity I cannot tell you the real problems I had then.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Sherman6993, thank you very much for taking the time out to provide feedback to the Aged Care Reviews community. I am really pleased to hear that you have joined us at Point Cook Manor and that it is a great location for your family to visit. I acknowledge your comments about the speech therapist and although we may not be able to resolve your concerns directly (as they are an external provider), we could definitely facilitate a meeting whereby you could raise concerns. Please do contact the manager at Point Cook Manor and we can arrange this for you. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Apr 12, 2018

Griffin5847 Feb 09, 2018

The staff is friendly, caring and dedicated to their job. They gently encourage residents to participate in activities and to connect. The residents feel accepted and welcomed, therefore more likely to engage. I notice that the warm and friendly environment improved my mother's mood, confidence (she was isolated at home) and the English language skills (CALD elder). The facility would benefit from larger outdoor spaces to facilitate a meaningful outdoor activity (vegetable garden, man's shed…).

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Griffin5847, thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am thrilled to hear that overall you are pleased with Point Cook Manor and especially our staff and environment. Your feedback in relation to the outdoor areas is fantastic and I will certainly pass this on to not only our manager but our executive team. Thanks again and wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Feb 12, 2018

gstrachan Dec 07, 2017

Staff are very good. They are in regular conntact with me about my fathers well being. They provide good activities every week, and welcome the family to come and have a meal with dad.

Was this review helpful?  

Ben7 Dec 05, 2017

Beautiful building, clean and modern, but let down by medical care and lack of confidence by staff in dementia care, no control of belongings, no responsibility for lost items. Would recommend only main area maybe.

Was this review helpful?  

Ritz72 Oct 19, 2017

Not enough weekend staff. Not a good impression on weekends when family members visit and not one staff member to be seen with buzzers going off not attended for more than 30 minutes. Food should be with veggies, lentils, hearty food, not water looking like pumpkin or mud. Also need to cater for Europeans - more variety, not party pies as a dinner.

Was this review helpful?  

milo94 Oct 13, 2017

A two year old building is well maintained. Generally staff are good but this facility is always short staffed resulting in a lot of 'temps' being used. This causes quite a bit of angst among the residents and their families as the continuity of care is interrupted. As many residents have dementia, this can be very unsettling. The only big concern we have is the lack of communication between the nursing staff and carers. This has caused problems again with continuity of care. Residents/family meeting are now agended and emailed which is a great idea.

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi milo94, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Aged Care Reviews community. I can see from your feedback that we may have some areas to improve in. Your feedback will be shared with our senior management team and the manager at Point Cook Manor for review and implementation of changes as required. Thanks again for the overall 4 star rating and wishing you all the best for the future.
Oct 13, 2017

Gasstar Sep 21, 2017

Overall it's been a positive move for mum, the building is new, clean and bright. Being a new aged care there was a few teething problems, but most things have settled down. Permanent staff are wonderful on all levels. Weekend casual staff and agency staff let the Manor down. Many show up to get their pay and do little to find out routines, needs to show initiative, and the jobs and tasks are left a lot to the permanent staff that are rostered. Food, menus overall are OK, however when the chef is on a day off, the replacement cheff are not always up to the table. My priority is Mums peace of mind, happiness, being safe and Point Cook Manor does all of that for her with the odd "Hiccup" along the way. Just like being home!

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Gasstar, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am thrilled to hear your feedback and will ensure it is passed onto our team. I can see that we have some room for improvement and will also ensure this is passed to our management team to ensure we are on top of meeting the best possible service. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Sep 27, 2017

Edwardo6386 Aug 21, 2017

"All that glitters is not gold". Residents chastised for ringing the buzzer and wetting the bed. Clearly understaffed. Some staff can be difficult. However, the lifestyle team do an excellent job.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Edwardo6386, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. You raise some very concerning points and we would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Would you please contact me on (03) 9559 0400. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Aug 22, 2017

Family1st Aug 01, 2017

Place looks great and has good outdoor area, but staff never take residents out. Too many times understaffed (esp at night), resulting in neglectful nursing care and chastisement of residents if they keep asking for help. Manager minimizes problems and says will act to make things better, but it's all just rhetoric. Also unnecessary medications over-ordered from pharmacy which sometimes disappear, resulting in excessive pharmacy bill, which no-one willing to hase up.

Was this review helpful?  2

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Family1st, thanks for taking time out to share your experiences at Point Cook Manor. You do raise some very concerning points and this feedback has been passed to our General Manger for immediate investigation and rectification as necessary. Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Aug 07, 2017

Ashly7411 Aug 01, 2017

Has an onsite café for visitors which is a brilliant idea, it is open until 4.00pm daily however food is too expensive, a basic sandwich costs $5.50.. Insufficient car parking for visitors, I struggle to walk and breath but there are only 2 disabled car parks available and they are always gone by the time I get there to visit my sister. I think staff take the bulk of car parking and the nature strip outside the building is muddy therefore can be dangerous.. Some staff turnover since this facility opened which I feel has led to a lessening of personal care but then again maybe now that the facility is full and has a waiting list that makes a difference...Food portions seem to have deteriorated in the past 6 - 9 months they need to loosen the budget purse strings a little . Any one who is a self funded retiree is paying a fortune Weekly ($1,240) for the privilege plus a Bond of $450,000 which Homestyle are getting a nice amount of interest on. Laundry is done well. They need cups for visitors they used to have decent ones then switched to tiny mugs one swallow and it was gone and now they have those horrible foam cups. You have to supply your own shower curtain which is ridiculous and they charge you an electrical testing fee of I think it's $16 per item for radios TV's, Bar fridges etc once or twice a year. Nice that they sing Happy Birthday to Residents on their special day and have a couple of balloons.. On site Hairdresser is a great idea also. All in all though compared to some disgusting aged care residences this is the best we have seen..My sister is very happy there..

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Beverly9002, thank you for sharing your experience at Point Cook Manor with the Aged Care Reviews community. You raise several points that we can improve on and these have been passed to our Executive team and the Manager at Point Cook to review and action as necessary. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Aug 07, 2017

Eusebio39 Jul 22, 2016

Often understaffed

Was this review helpful?  11

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Eusebio39, thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am surprised to hear that Point Cook Manor appears to be understaffed as they have the highest staff ratio between our 10 homes. If you can provide more specific details, I can investigate your concern further and aim to provide a resolution. I can be contacted on 03 9559 0400 or email [email protected] Thanks again, Mark.
Jul 22, 2016

Poca09 Apr 26, 2016

Both of my parents became residents of Pt Cook in Feb 15 after my dad became ill. My mother is thriving with her social activities and has made many friends. My dad is well looked after and the staff are excellent in taking care of him. The facility is clean and well maintained. Staff are always friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?  10

Anna007 Apr 20, 2016

I have found the staff and facility of Homestyle AgeCare Point Cook extremely high quality. Staff are all approachable, friendly, hardworking and very respectful of residence. Great Job!!

Was this review helpful?  5

Rasheed6644 Apr 19, 2016

After looking at other facilities in the area, we feel very lucky to have found the aged care facility we did for our mother. It is new and modern, very clean and doesn't smell of urine like some of the others did. The room are more like hotel rooms rather than hospital style but still maintaining the alarms and adjustable beds required for the elderly. The carers are lovely, the residents are treated with respect and they have organized activities.

Was this review helpful?  12

daughter of stroke victim Mar 17, 2016

My mother had a massive stroke and I'm her daughter. My mum is classed as high care and is wheelchair bound. I've had a very positive experience so far with Point Cook Manor. The staff are friendly and I have been able to speak to nursing staff and directors very easily. My mother has actually come along way since being in the home. The staff include her in all aspects of home life, she mixes with everyone, has dinner with her friends and is well cared for. If I have had any queries it has been attended to quickly. As a family we were very traumatised when our mum had a massive stroke. Mum could not talk much or walk. We had to be her advocates. We didn't know what to do or where to go. The staff have been calm and helpful and mum is happy so we are relaxed and happy. We visit a lot and know many of the people by first name so its quite friendly. Its always clean, smells clean and looks bright . regards Daughter of a stroke victim.

Was this review helpful?  8

Evie\'s Sister Mar 01, 2016

I like the fact that residents are able to bring pictures and other mementos that are put on the wall of their rooms by the maintenance man at the Point Cook facility at no extra cost. The library is terrific as is the cafe where visitors can but something to eat. The cafe is open until 4:00PM. Love the fact that residents get to celebrate Easter etc with raffles and Melbourne Cup and St Patrick's day etc are recognized for the fun of being involved. Bingo and craft are great. On site hairdressing is wonderful and affordable.

Was this review helpful?  9

Friedrich977 Nov 17, 2015

Wonderful facility, my wife just accepted, and we simply not fault the whole experience. Five star accommodation and all services provided are first class, Feel very comfortable and safe. Well done to Joanne and all the staff,

Was this review helpful?  23

Maxwell7579 Oct 03, 2015

My dad had to go into care, and the place we got him into was fabulous, he loved it, and meals were fantastic, his room was brilliant, he just loved it, sadly he did not get a lot of time before he has passed..

Was this review helpful?  14

Robyn69 Jun 26, 2015

This facility where my dad was, was fabulous, he loved it, had a beautiful room, fantastic meals, and place was very spacious.

Was this review helpful?  20

Di Taylor Apr 03, 2015

They have been so good to parents and a great support to me as its such an emotional time for us all.

Was this review helpful?  12

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Point Cook Manor

Homestyle Point Cook Manor provides permanent and respite residential aged care for the western suburbs, in leading edge surrounds.Point Cook Manor is a luxury, contemporary home for 118 residents, offering state of the art accommodation and all levels of care needs. Positioned in the heart of Point Cook township, our happy, welcoming community enables people to have the privacy of their own individual rooms while enjoying Homestyle high quality facilities, nursing and personal care.Our homely, welcoming environment embraces residents with a world of comfort and inspiration.

Aged Care Directory
My Account