Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Regis Port Macquarie

2.43 7 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(236 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Regis Port Macquarie
7 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Kurt97 Oct 03, 2019

Staff are not trained to defuse a situation and not trained sufficiently to deal with different personalities and needs of each individuals. No notes are being kept, very disappointed with overall treatment of residents. Most staff just cant be bothered with people that need a little more work

Was this review helpful?  

Kiara78 Apr 11, 2019

After a bad experience with another provider who showed little compassion (seemed totally money oriented), my Dad was fortunate enough to secure a space in Regis Port Macquarie. We are really happy with the surroundings and the care provided.

Was this review helpful?  1

Ransom7678 Sep 25, 2018

When I arrived at Regis, Port Macquarie, I was informed by Suzanne, the admissions person, that the hospital social worker had contacted her first thing that morning to enquire if a bed was available, because she (being) mum can stay here (at Wauchope) no longer, incidentally the receptionist present at that time confirmed this. It became clear to me that Regis was not equipped, nor did they understand her terminal condition, or the palliative care required. I, by now became extremely concerned about mum's well being and ongoing care, as I had been told that the melanoma was more than likely spreading to her organs and eventually her body would shut down, therefore I approached Wauchope Hospital management, a female by the name of Wendy. Mum had a particularly bad night on Tuesday 12 November and I assumed that because mum was suffering from acute pain and discomfort that she was not capable of being transferred at that stage, notwithstanding Wendy was adamant that mum be transferred as soon as possible, even though it was clear that Regis did not seem equipped to deal with mum's condition. I could not understand why someone in mum's terminal condition could be transferred from a hospital acute palliative care unit to an aged care facility. On Wednesday 13 November 2013 I again approached Wendy, I reinforced that mum was a private patient and that I believed Regis were not capable of the care required for Mum. Wendy replied that the hospital were not aware that Mum was a private patient, however she would make contact with Port Macquarie Private Hospital as an alternative option to the aged care facilitiy. It is worth noting here that mum was in fact under private health insurance and I have since receieved mail via mum's letter box instructing her to complete the relevant claim forms, from a Dr Campbell, Wauchope, stating that unfortunately Ethel was admitted as a Private Patient which requires claiming through her Private health fund as well as medicare. Wendy's answer was that yes the private hospital would accept mum as a patient, however as mum had been assessed as not in need of acute care, keeping in mind that mum's condition was terminal and she was deteriorating daily, the cost would amount to upwards of $600 per day, she also stated she contacted mum's treating doctor from Wauchope Hospital, Dr Schuetz and they could not justify mum as having acute care needs and therefore an acute care certificate would not be raised. Mum continued to worsen, though she was transferred to Regis Manor that day, Wednesday 13 November 2013. I followed the ambulance transport and began the paperwork process. An RN by the name of Sheridan interviewed myself and mum, I informed her of mum's medicare no. private health care number and the appropriate information that was required, including the fact that mum's GP for the past 12 years was Dr Webster and he had been contacted prior to placement, in fact he was contacted at the time that I placed mum's name on the waiting lists, as instructed by Ms Edwards some weeks ago and Dr Webster stated that he would certainly retain mum as a patient if she was to be transferred to either Regis, Mingaletta, or Emmaus and he was more than willing to visit the aged care home as required. Sheridan stated that a physiotherapist and a dietician would also assess mum to tend to her comfort and dietary requirements. To my knowledge no such assessments were ever conducted. I informed Sheridan that since her hospitalisation mum rarely has eaten, and that I was also concerned about this. That same afternoon the Regis, Port Macquarie Resident GP came into the room to assess mum, he introduced himself as Dr Hark (I do not know the correct spelling). That doctor stated that he was completely unaware of why mum was there, he had no information about her diagnosis or medical condition. I told him that Wauchope Hospital did provide a discharge summary and it was given to the ambulance officers prior to transport, he stated that he did have the discharge summary, however it did not give him much information. He began to question me as to mum's condition, I explained to him mum was suffering from metastatic melonoma and the cancer had spread, and there was a huge internal tumour resting on her stomach, also that he may gain further information from Wauchope Hospital, her GP Dr Webster, who is willing to visit the aged care facility as needed and that mum's specialists in Port Macquarie, Dr Pollitt and Dr Begbie may be able to provide more detailed information and that mum had been to Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and was under the care of Professor Thompson. I immediately contacted Wendy at Wauchope Hospital who stated that they should have all the information as needed. Dr Hark said that as he was the resident doctor of the facility, mum would be suited to remain under his care as GP's may not be available as required. I stressed to him that the aforementioned doctors should be contacted. And he stated that he would contact them. That doctor left the room stating I will see you next week. Not long after this, mum requested to go to the toilet, she pressed her buzzer, 2 carer's entered the room, they did not seem to know how to correctly lift mum out of bed, nor move her to the ensuite toilet which was just a few feet away, one of them said to her, you have a pad on, do it in the bed where you are. I was horrified, as was mum. Mum needed to be reassurred that it was ok to relieve herself where she was and one of them also said, here is your buzzer, just press it if you need anything, anything at all. I informed staff that mum has rarely eaten over the past few months and could no longer tolerate tea, coffee or water, she had taken a liking to lemonade. Lemonade was not provided for at Regis, therefore I purchased lemonade for her and liquid cereal beverages in an effort that she may receive some nutrition. I placed these items in the fridge at Regis, but unless I was there to replenish these drinks, that remained on her bedroom tray, her dietary requirements were ignored, I at no time for the entire stay at Regis saw that mum was offered a meal, she had become bedridden now. That same afternoon I attended Port Macquarie Home Safey and Comfort and organised the delivery of a recliner chair, which I had hired for $70 per week. It was also during this time that others commented that Regis should be providing the appropriate equipment and an air mattress for mum's condition and comfort. That day conclued and I arrived again on Thursday 14 November 2013. I would sit with mum for hours at a time, the staff hardly came into the room, she was not observed or monitored and the staff seemed to regard her as a pest as she was often uncomfortable and in pain, I was not the only witness to this. Of a morning she would like to sit in her recliner, however she soon became uncomfortable, she would ask for assistance but it was a long time before her requests were attended to. Mum had asked to be moved, however after some length of time I approached staff this day who informed that they were soon to feed the other residents in the dining room from their hotboxes, then wash up, then would attend to mum, I said that surely the other residents can wait a few moments for their lunch whilst the carer's transferred mum back to her bed. It's again worth noting here that mum would put up with her pain and discomfort which seemed like ages, until I became fed up and went in search of staff to plea that could some one please come and help my mum. On the morning of Friday 15 November 2013 I found mum in her recliner, however again she was very uncomfortable and in a lot of pain. She said to me her bottom was very sore. I approached staff who recommended that a sheepskin may be of help to place on the seat of the recliner to relieve her discomfort, but they had none available. I again went to Home Safety and Comfort Port Macquarie and purchased a sheepskin. I also contacted the Port Macquarie Community Health Palliatiave Care team that afternoon to question them as to why they had not been in touch with mum since Dr Begbie referred mum to them some months ago. I spoke with a female named Rosemary who stated that Deb had seem mum on 15,16, and 17 October at Wauchope Hospital, I was present at Wauchope on each of those days and do not remember a person from the palliative care team having been present, Rosemary added they will not intervene as mum was receiving 24 hour care. That night, Friday 15 November I received a phone call from the Regis RN, named Linda who stated she had noticed mum's pain and discomfort had increased somewhat and she had made telephone contact with the resident doctor hart who had approved an increase in mum's pain medication. I thanked Linda for her call and expressed that she has been the only staff member to have communicated with me thus far, apart from the fact that I had approached others for more assistance for mum. Linda explained that she was off for a few days now and that she hoped the other RN's would follow up on mum's condition. Linda also recognised that there as an alert that mum was allergic to morphine, because of her adverse reactions to strong pain killer medications, however we both concluded that morphine would eventually have to be administered to fight mum's pain. The weekend of 16 and 17 November came and went. Mum got worse. A carer named Dean voiced his opinion that mum should be placed on an air mattress to help her with the effects of her uncomfortable and painful condition. On the morning of 18 November 2013 in the company of my very good friends Jan Gibbons and her husband , mum stated to us the morning events. Mum said that she was late having her hygiene needs tended to that morning and after that task was completed, a staff member asked her if she would like some breakfast, mum said she requested a slice of toast with a little vegemite and some milo. Mum said the staff member returned with the toast, broke a piece off and placed in it her mouth, and said now swallow it, you asked for it stupid now eat it, you are not the only resident here, I have, mum said either 124 or 224 other residents to take care of. I approached staff that day as I was concerned that mum was not receiving the care she needed, I questioned them as to her need for an air mattress for which I was told there were none available in the Port Macquarie area and I would just have to wait, also I pointed out to her that mum's pain patches were clearly showing they were placed on 15/11/2013 and I had been advised they were to be placed every 2 days, and that it was now 18/11/2013, I was informed by her that they would get around to that later in the day. Later that morning, mum's very good friends, Major Frank Wilson and his wife joined us at mum's beside. It was evident that mum's condition had worsened and that she did not seem to be getting the required care for her needs, therefore Frank and myself had a meeting with the facility manager, Stephen Reilly. Mr Reilly conceded mum's needs were not being met and he would look into it, the air mattress, the appropriate care, her diet etc. Upon returning to mum's room, Frank's wife informed us that an RN and renewed mum's pain patches and said to mum that she needs to alert them if she was in pain as if she did not inform them, how would they know. It was all too late and mum's condition became so bad that by the time Tuesday 19 November 2013 came around, she was thrashing around in her bed, in total pain, discomfort and trauma. I was desperate now and begged that mum receive some help. I told them she could no longer ring her her buzzer to ask for help and it fell on deaf ears. WEDNESDAY 20 NOVEMBER 2013: That morning I came to see mum and saw that she was in a bad way, she continued her agitation and seemed to be in excruiating pain, she could hardly communicate, was incoherent, in extreme pain and extremely uncomfortable. She kept trying to remove her bed clothes and continued to throw her legs over the side of the bed. A carer came into the room to adminster medication, mum declared she wanted to get out of there and wanted to go outside. The carer did take notice and called for staff to place mum in a wheelchair. I took my mum outside (I had no experience with a wheelchair) but took her lovingly around the exterior gardens of the complex, she was not able to communicate effectively, however she seemed to enjoy until it became very hot and she pointed she would like to go back inside. Upon the return to her room I informed staff that we had finished our walk and mum would need to be placed back in her bed. It was more than 40 minutes before someone eventually came. By this time Mum was trying ever so hard to get out of that wheelchair it was so cruel to have me witness her attempts to. I had to again, re request that mum be placed back into her bed. Eventually they came and mum was placed back into bed. Mum continued to thrash around, she was clearly distraught and threw off her bed clothes and threw her legs off the side of the bed. I was amazed that my 89 year old mum with such complex medical problems, frailness and lack of strength was able to. Desperate, I approached the reception are of Regis and requested the facility manager attend mum's room to see for himself her worsening condition. He attended and reported that doctor hark, the resident doctor would be reviewing mum that afternoon, doctor hark did attend but there was no change in her condition, in fact she became even worse. I left the facility that evening at around 6.30pm. That night at about 9.20pm I received a phone call to tell me that there had been an accident and that mum was found on the floor as she had thrown herself out of her bed and that it was unknown what time this may have happened, and there were no visible signs of injury, I could not help thinking how hard the fall would have been and how it would have hurt her. I was furious and went to Regis to again see mum experiencing trauma. They could not tell me when this incident may have happended. And I cannot help wondering how long mum lay there without help, nor how many injuries she may have suffered, they said no visible signs, but were there other injuries that have never been investigated? I pleaded with staff to tell me why this could ever have happened, I was threathened that they would call security and that I should be quiet and not to disturb other residents. THURSDAY: 21 NOVEMBER 2013: THE DAY OF MUM'S DEATH; I attended Regis early that morning, could see mum was even worse, I requested a telephone book and proceeded to make the following phone calls from my mobile phone: Dr Webser: Could you please come to Regis and help mum; Dr Begbie; no he does not do house calls,; the Port Macquarie Community Health Palliatuve Care Team. Eventualy Dr Webster and Pauline from the Palliative Care came, why they have would have not come sooner is beyond my thinking since I had begged and pleaded that mum needed help some time ago. I doubt if Dr Webster was ever contacted. They altered her medication and mum was in a final restful sleep. I received a phone call that night at around 9pm that Mum had passed away, I challenged the RN as to an estimated time of death and she replied, she did not know, as she started her shift at around 9pm and a person was coming out of mum's room and said you better come down here because I think she is dead. My friend Jan and myself attended Regis, the people at the nurses station did not even look up from their work stations to acknowledge my presence. I proceeded to mum's room and immediately bowed and cuddled her, told Linda that I was not up to packing up her belongings at that moment and would be back in the morning. FRIDAY 22 NOVEMBER 2013: Myself and my friends Jan and Mick, attended Regis Port Macquarie and had arranged to have her TV and small unit removed around 8.20am. No person at that establishment acknowledged my attendance, nor offered any kind of support whatsoever. One of the carer's actually glared at me, this was witnessed by Jan. The RN wanted to know how soon the recliner could be removed. THAT IS THE MOST DREADFUL ACCOUNT OF MUM'S DEATH. It was clear mum suffered from neglect which resulted in extreme suffering, pain and discomfort. Mum was at Regis Port Macquarie for 8 days which leads to my question, Why was she discharged from Wauchope Palliative Care Unit to an establishment that was unable to deal with her terminal condition? TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE: On Thursday 28 Novermber 2013 at about 12.30pm Regis Head Office, Melbourne VIC rang me as a courtesy call to enquire as to how mum enjoyed her respite stay at Regis Port Macquarie, they were unaware she was dead. TO SUBMIT THIS REVIEW I WAS FORCED TO RATE. THIS DESPICABLE FACILITY DOES NOT WARRANT A ONE STAR RATING

Was this review helpful?  

Clementine7665 Jul 31, 2017

Regis Manor Port Macquarie is the most despicable so called aged care facility imaginable, if I had more space I would send you the details of my Mum's death. My complaint about this so called care facility went so far as to the aged care commissioner, If I had more space I would send you the commissioner's final report. Your stars rating do not evaluate this correctly, it was more, oh so much more than terrible.. I am hoping Regis Manor Port Macquarie get notified about this

Was this review helpful?  5

Manuel4755 Oct 26, 2015

Not enough staff on duty especially at meal times. With the number of residence and the size of the complex two RN's are required

Was this review helpful?  2

Lesley Dunn Jun 26, 2015

I want it noted that the only reason I submitted a star rating was because I could not submit this without one. Hastings Regis Manor is the most disgusting, non caring establishment, my mum died there, of a terminal metastatic melanoma on 21 November 2013, she was transferred there on 13 November 2013 from Wauchope Palliative Care Unit, I was threatened by Wauchope if I did not find a placement for her in an aged care facility, they would otherwise she could have ended up anywhere in NSW. There was no care or palliative care plan in place, she died the most horrific, painful death imaginable, and they did not care, the neglect was absolutely dreadful. As a matter fact after mum died, Regis head office in Melbourne rang to ask me how mum enjoyed her stay? I could go on and on and on, one morning they called mum stupid because she asked for a piece of toast with a little vege, they broke it off, put it in her mouth and said "you wanted stupid, now eat it". Keep in mind she was dying.

Was this review helpful?  

Julieholt May 08, 2015

This home was exceptional. With limited staff they ensured that all the residents in the dementia ward were cared for with respect and dignity.staff often went the extra mile to do special things for then comfort and enjoyment of residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Regis Port Macquarie

Regis Hastings Manor boasts beautiful gardens, shady verandas and quiet living spaces which encourage companionship and relaxation. A dynamic activity program is offered to suit all with various activity rooms for large facility events, and a billiard room for more informal gatherings.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Private Classic

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

Standard - 14 sqm

Room Description

Our premium single rooms with ensuites are modern and captivating. Defined by their external access to either a balcony or courtyard all have beautiful vistas. Spacious and comfortable ensuring privacy at times of need these rooms feature contemporary furnishings and finishes in a tranquil environment.

Common Areas Description

Regis Port Macquarie boasts beautiful gardens shady verandas and quiet living spaces which encourage companionship and relaxation. Regis Port Macquarie has a dynamic activity program with various activity rooms for large facility events and a billiard room for more informal gatherings.

Room Name

Private Standard

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

Standard - 14 sqm

Room Description

Our premium single rooms with ensuites are modern and captivating. Defined by their external access or views of the beautiful surrounding vistas these rooms are spacious and comfortable ensuring privacy at times of need. Featuring contemporary furnishings and finishes our rooms provide ample space for additional personal items to create a homely environment.

Common Areas Description

Regis Port Macquarie boasts beautiful gardens shady verandas and quiet living spaces which encourage companionship and relaxation. Regis Port Macquarie has a dynamic activity program with various activity rooms for large facility events and a billiard room for more informal gatherings

Aged Care Directory
My Account