Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Ridgehaven Aged Care

2.5 6 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(163 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Ridgehaven Aged Care
6 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Username222 Apr 11, 2019

Our mum was in a Nursing Home for 18 Months and sadly she did not the receive the care that was promised when we were checking out different Nursing Homes. Sadly mum passed away in April 2018. We put in a complaint about the Nursing Home to the Aged Care Commission so that our issues raised could be addressed but their decision was that the Nursing Home was up to standard. The issues we raised were: Issue 1: Lack of adequate staffing levels. Until there are laws stating required levels of staffing, per residents needs in Nursing Homes, this issue will continue to be a problem. Inadequate staffing means carers do not have enough time to provide adequate nursing care. Issue 2 – PAC When my mum became chair bound PAC was rarely attended to by staff, my dad attended to mum’s skin care himself. Occasionally an OT would rub mum’s feet or arms. We were advised by the Nurse Manager that because mum was on a soft foam mattress she did not need PAC, even though mum sat in a chair all day. When mum became chair bound she developed a pressure sore on her sacrum and left heel. Issue 3 – Toileting There appeared to be no Continence Care Plan, actioned, for mum. We were told by management that mum was on a 2 hourly toileting care plan but in the 18 months my mum was in care, we had constant problems with staff not responding to call bells in a timely manner or having enough staff on shift, or lifters available to take mum to the toilet. Dad, myself and even on one occasion, another resident’s family member, would assist with mum’s toileting. Mum would sometimes be sitting in urine soaked clothes, with continence underwear on and 2 hourly toileting this would not happen. Mum was on diuretics and had urine infections she would get the urge to go to the toilet often, many of her falls were because mum wanted to go to the toilet and she would try on her own. Mum would become very restless and agitated because of the discomfort of needing to go to the toilet. She didn’t like wetting or soiling herself, it would distress her. Mum had many falls while in the care of Allity Nursing Home, resulting in trips to Modbury casualty. Her last fall was on Wednesday 27/9/2017. Mum was found, by morning staff, on the floor in her room with an injury to her forehead. She was taken, by ambulance, to Modbury Casualty and had a CT scan to check for internal bleeding. The ?fall occurred overnight. Mum had a sensor mat and beam in place (because she would try and get out of bed by herself, staff were advised of this on admission to the nursing home), but apparently the beam was not activated, ?not turned on. It is not known how long mum was lying on the floor for as there are no records kept of the times when residents are checked overnight. The RN I spoke to said that mum was found on the floor by morning staff and there was a lot of blood. Mum sustained a 4 inch bruise and swelling to her forehead. In regards to issue 6 re quality of food served to residents. Allity responded that their food is prepared by Chef’s and of a high standard. On their website they quote: We’re stirring up the taste buds – a dining experience Our chefs are special people; they do far more than just prepare meals. Collectively they bring together years of experience working in restaurants and kitchens from around the world bringing our residents the flavours of their countries of origin. We have chefs and cooks from Switzerland, England, the Philippines, Greece, Sri Lanka, Italy, South Africa and Malaysia, to name but a few … and that’s not to forget our many home grown Aussie chefs as well. We put a lot of time and effort into designing menus that combine the best use of fresh produce for nutrition and well-being. To assist with this, we regularly come together to review menus, exchange ideas and experiences, refresh knowledge and skills and introduce taste innovations, many of which originate from resident food focus groups within individual homes. While we know our residents like ‘home cooked’ style meals and some of the more traditional menus, we are also aware that many cultures put a major emphasis on food. Our chefs are always up for the challenge of creating menus that help our residents connect to theirs and each other’s cultures. Drop by and join us for an Allity Dining Experience. The photo on Allity’s website depicts food, served to the residents in their nursing homes, looks like restaurant quality food, but residents at mum's nursing homes quite often receieved packet soup, tinned fruit and jelly, not fresh vegetable soups or fresh fruits. Issue 8 – Lack of skilled nursing care When Allity sacked their EN’s they lost skilled nurses trained in Aged Care. Aged care is specialised nursing, especially when it comes to caring for residents with Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia. Continuity of care and a full understanding of the nuances of this disease is required to adequately provide nursing care for residents in nursing homes. My mum was dearly loved by her family. Mum was a Registered Nurse and so was dad. Dad and mum had never been apart, until we had to make the very difficult choice of needing more help in caring for mum and the decision was made to admit mum into a nursing home. In the 18 months that mum was in care dad visited mum, every single day, between 12pm to 6pm (except for a couple of weeks when he was ill himself). Dad was mum’s advocate and voice, to the best of his ability he made sure mum was cared for. Each of us 5 children visited several days a week. Sadly, for some residents in nursing homes, they have no family, and no voice. I would like to see nursing homes checked more frequently, and randomly, by auditors. Audits should include Quality Indicators such as; pressure sores/skin breakdown, medication errors, weight loss (from admission, not adjusted), falls, injuries, ambulance call outs, infection rates (ie UTI’s, wounds, etc), admissions to hospitals, staffing levels for all shifts including ratios to residents who need 2 person lift/PAC on 2 or 3 hourly basis, staff training, incontinence pads usage (how often changed daily per resident), general well-being of residents. Australia needs to improve the quality of care for their Aged. We need to take a look at how countries overseas care for their Aged and improve greatly. We need standards set in place. If it was your loved one, or yourself, in a nursing home, what care would you like to see given?............or to receive.......

Was this review helpful?  2

Lexie4778 Mar 09, 2019

Very short staff,no friendly staff to meet us.Left on our own in room.Food terrible. No Compassion shown from Manager very abrupt . Would not leave my Husband there ,only saw one nurse dashing around. This was a very upsetting experience which was not handled with any care or again anyCompassion .

Was this review helpful?  1

Kevon5049 Apr 20, 2016

About time the Aged Care industry got a good shake up. And thats what it is, an industry! All for money. This facility has got rid of their EN's and cut hrs by 579 per f.n. thats less "feet" on the floor. They have put on PCW's instead, but they are not qualified to do medications. This puts the residents at risk, big risk. They are not getting meds on time!! Not staying to see meds are actually taken!! Or reaction to taking meds. Less staff means less care for residents.....not being showered daily (or on time) , not enough help for toileting, not caring with serving meals etc. The meals are not cooked on site....just reheated and dished up. Meals are hardly edible. An example: reheated sausages are hard and disgusting...old people cannot bite them , let alone chew them. My dog wouldnt eat it!! There is no care being taken here. Why do people think that oldies are not worthwhile? They have every right to being looked after, properly. Lord knows we pay enough for it!

Was this review helpful?  2

Uriah7483 Mar 16, 2016

Dementia ward has pleasant staff mostly but condition of furniture etc rapidly deteriorated in last 12 months - quite depressing .

Was this review helpful?  

Camron7231 Mar 14, 2016

The quality of the food is very poor not cooked on site . Doesnt taste nice. Staff cuts have an impact on care.

Was this review helpful?  

Lincoln7652 Oct 23, 2015

Staff were lovely items of my mother were stolen and the food was discussing

Was this review helpful?  2

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Ridgehaven Aged Care

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

102

Room size (sqm)

16

Room Description

Spacious single room with private ensuite. Built-in wardrobe with drawers shelves and generous hanging space. Easy to operate adjustable electrically operated single bed.

Common Areas Description

Abundance of lounge and dining areas. Access to books table tennis air hockey snooker table and craft areas. Cafe and secure gardens with raised garden beds.

Room Name

Single Shared

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

10

Room size (sqm)

21

Room Description

Large single room with shared bathroom entered from within the room. Built-in wardrobe with drawers shelves and generous hanging space. Easy to operate adjustable electrically operated single bed.

Common Areas Description

Abundance of lounge and dining areas. Access to books table tennis air hockey snooker table and craft areas. Cafe and secure gardens with raised garden beds.

Room Name

Premium Single

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

8

Room size (sqm)

15

Room Description

Premium single room with private ensuite in a secure environment. Easy to operate electric bed built-in wardrobe with generous hanging space provided.

Common Areas Description

Premium single room with private ensuite in a secure environment. Easy to operate electric bed built-in wardrobe with generous hanging space provided.

Room Name

Refurbished Single Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

17

Room Description

Newly refurbished single room with private ensuite in a secure environment. Easy to operate electric bed built-in wardrobe with generous hanging space provided

Common Areas Description

Comfortable home like environment
Delicious cuisine prepared by our Qualified Staff served in the dining areas
Heating air-conditioning
Homely and comfortable sitting rooms and rest areas TV lounges and sun rooms - plenty of room suitable for family gatherings activities etc.
Leisure lifestyle programs
Nursing Care appropriate to your needs
On-site personal laundry service.
Parking available
Permanent respite care
Qualified 24hr Staff including RN Div 1 2 ENs PCAs AINs
Quiet and secure gardens
Single shared couple rooms available

Aged Care Directory
My Account