Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Royal Freemasons Darvall Lodge

4.46 13 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(78 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Royal Freemasons Darvall Lodge
13 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Aditya8633 Oct 12, 2018

You feel welcomed from the minute you walk through the door. Caring staff who seem to understand the residents building relationships in a meaningful way

Was this review helpful?  

Freeman5333 Jul 31, 2017

Staff were very attentive and caring; all knew my uncle by name. The only negative was the mix of patients with severe dementia on the same floor.

Was this review helpful?  

Dustin4606 Sep 13, 2016

I would like to add to my initial comment about Darvall Telly4408. My husband died on 21st July 2016, he was only there 11 months but ALL THE NURSES learnt how to cope with his "bad days". He loved it when a nurse would come into his room and sit and have a chat with him. When they would come and feed him, he was too proud to ask for help but the nurses would just do it. I was never sorry that he spent the last months of his live in Darvall just wish that my health was better and could have looked after him. I would like to thank ALL THE STAFF, in there kindness to me, on his passing. Jan 27/09/2015: My husband (85) has NEVER wanted to go into an Aged Care Facility. But, his health had a different idea. He had spent 3 months at another place for Respite and never joined in activities. He hated it. So, to have to go permanently to one, I was frightened as to how he and they staff were going to cope. He arrived at this Facility and liked it immediately. The following day he went to their Fathers Day Afternoon tea, and ever since he has been attending activities. He loves the staff and their friendly "hi Ted". It isn't a brand one place, looks lovely from the street, on the inside the whole place has a warm, homely feel to it, from the receptionist to the cleaning staff there are smiles and politeness. The corridors and rooms/bathrooms are tidy and very clean. My husband isn't the easiest man to deal with but everyone seems to be relaxing him more every day he is there. And, this is after only 4 weeks of being there. He tells me that he is happy there and knows that I could not look after him the way the nurses do there. Congrats to all the staff, in seeing the teddy bear under the grisly bear.

Was this review helpful?  

Alfonso7006 Dec 22, 2015

Staff are very polite and thoughtful. My welfare is always first.

Was this review helpful?  

Elmore2508 Oct 13, 2015

More staff needed. Food variety could be improved and quality of food. Facilities could do with a spruce up eg. A general tidy up, like equipment left not in there place. Maybe a few flower arrangements. Bedspreads of residents could be updated. The assistance button in the residents rooms is not being responded to quickly enough and at times staff members are not around at all to assist.

Was this review helpful?  

Margery Haddick Oct 06, 2015

Having had a relative at Darvall Lodge for almost eight years I feel quiet qualified to offer the following in regard to his case: Cultural sensitivity - visiting clergy, all faith are catered for, Church of England, Catholic etc. Individual respect - I have noticed each resident is accorded individual respect by staff and not all grouped together as the residents also like to sit in their own special places that make them comfortable and the staff accommodates them as their wish. Food and diet – specific meal requests are met when possible. Communication – Meetings with relatives, residents giving information by management and receiving feedback by all concerned, minutes are kept and can be reviewed. Activities - Morning exercises as a group or for individuals. These activities take into account of the individual’s capacity and willingness to participate. Excursions are arranged to the Drum Theatre for morning melodies, also the bus outings weekly morning and afternoon trips, lunch at local Chinese restaurants and other venues of interest. Compassion of care – I have noticed that individual staff take the time to tuck residents in when cold, sit down and talk. You may say that’s their job however you can feel the compassion and care in the home. Environment – regular maintenance is carried out. Staff, residents and visitors have the ability to raise matters as they arise and enter the item in the maintenance book. Summary: It is very difficult to transfer the care of family to other people. Some people feel guilty in not being able to continue to provide care etc to their loved one and must make the difficult decision to place them in care. I found that Bill was well looked after, respected as an individual and treated with tenderness and compassion and the staff were willing to inform me of any necessary changes. I was happy that Bill was able to spend the final years in the calming environment of Darvall Lodge. If and when I am unable to look after myself and my family cannot assist me ( after all they have their own lives) I would hope to be where I am safely cared for such as Darvall Lodge.

Was this review helpful?  3

Jevon8904 Oct 02, 2015

My brother Daryl was a resident for 3 years at Darvell Lodge. I highly recommend this establishment. The nursing staff went above and beyond what would have been expected. The meals were very well presented and tasted like home cooked meals. The kitchen staff were always willing to please. A very clean facility . It's a very homely place and I would highly recommend this establishment .

Was this review helpful?  

Willy Gogerly Sep 29, 2015

When I first came in here with Max I felt very much at home and wanted Max to be here immediately. Darvall Lodge feels very much like a home, very clean and the residents are always clean. No screaming or abuse to the residents. Staff are very caring. Max was being looked after really well, had a lovely room and settled down after a few weeks. Thanks to Darvall Lodge that Max passed away peacefully. I am even planning to help out Darvall Lodge as I feel when I come here I feel very much at home.

Was this review helpful?  

Mavis Austin Sep 24, 2015

Mum is very happy, she likes the people. everyone is very nice, she likes her room. she likes that she is able to go to activities and bus trips. the staff always ask if she want's to go, they always try to motivate or encourage her. the food is fantastic. she is very happy overall.

Was this review helpful?  

William W. Sep 23, 2015

If I haven't have come here with the knowledge of Darvall Lodge in the past I possibly wouldn't be alive today. Simply because where I lived was close to the railway line. With my previous knowledge of Freemasons homes in the city and suburbs and it being close to home it was an easy for me to decide that this should be the place.

Was this review helpful?  

Kristoffer8689 Sep 23, 2015

Very happy with services and care my wife receivesw

Was this review helpful?  

Jalon6087 Sep 23, 2015

I am quiet satisfied and I have no complaints at all. I could not possibly give him the care and attention that he receives here.

Was this review helpful?  

Luigi6198 Nov 02, 2014

This facility is infested with pests/insects and is extremely unhygienic and am at a loss as to how the owners/management gain accreditation and the health department turn a blind eye to it and allow it to continue to run in such a state. I could not see and allow my loved one to live in these appalling and unsanitary conditions and changed facilities ASAP.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Royal Freemasons Darvall Lodge

Popular Darvall Lodge offers secure 24-hour residential care including respite accommodation and palliative care. In total there are 60 beds with 14 extra large single rooms, 20 standard size rooms and 14 shared rooms. Many rooms have their own private en suite. Integrated in the care is an extensive range of specialist health services including general practice, podiatry, physiotherapy, pharmacy and dental services along with a dedicated team of highly trained staff on hand that ensures best practice care is given to all residents. Residents will enjoy individual and group activities and the regular calendar of daily outings to events and attractions. Darvall Lodge’s strong lifestyle program has an above average resident participation. Darvall Lodge offers a wide range of social and cultural activities. Residents enjoy delicious home cooked meals served in elegant surroundings. There are spacious communal areas and gardens, and friends and family are encouraged to visit.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Heritage

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

20.2

Room Description

Our Heritage rooms are large shared fully furnished rooms that include a recliner chair hydronic heating split system air-conditioning and an outward opening window for fresh air.
Rooms have space for personal items of furniture as well as a double wardrobe with slide out drawers inside for each resident. Spacious bathrooms have functional fittings and a personal bathroom cupboard for toiletries. Rooms are well located near to the dining room activity rooms and care station. Rooms have a home-like look and feel with most rooms having a sunny aspect and views of the courtyards or garden

Common Areas Description

Darvall Lodge has a warm and welcoming environment with spacious communal areas and gardens.

Darvall Lodge has several large lounge rooms all fitted with quality fittings furnishings with french doors opening onto courtyards and covered verandas.

The two main lounges have large wall mounted flat screen TVs with one also having a piano.

The main dining room accommodates small groups so dining is a pleasant experience with beautiful views of courtyards and gardens that allow for pleasant alfresco dining in the BBQ area

Room Name

Classic

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

12.2

Room Description

Our Classic rooms are fully furnished single rooms that include a recliner chair hydronic heating split system air-conditioning and an outward opening window for fresh air.
Each room has a double wardrobe with slide out drawers inside. Spacious bathrooms have functional fittings and a personal bathroom cupboard for toiletries. Rooms are well located near to the dining room activity rooms and care station. Rooms have a home-like look and feel with most rooms having a sunny aspect and views of the courtyards or garden.

Common Areas Description

Darvall Lodge has a warm and welcoming environment with spacious communal areas and gardens.

Darvall Lodge has several large lounge rooms all fitted with quality fittings furnishings with french doors open onto courtyards and covered verandas.

The two main lounges have large wall mounted flat screen TVs with one also having a piano.

The main dining room accommodates small groups so dining is a pleasant experience with beautiful views of courtyards and gardens that allow for pleasant alfresco dining in the BBQ area

Aged Care Directory
My Account