Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Scalabrini Chipping Norton

4.39 41 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(211 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Scalabrini Chipping Norton

Welcome to Scalabrini Chipping Norton

Winner of a prestigious Aged Care Industry Better Practice Commendation Award in 2017, this beautifully renovated village offers a refreshingly new experience in aged care. In keeping with the Scalabrini philosophy of personhood, everything we do at Chipping Norton is guided by the needs of our residents. Offering true choice and a fulfilled life is an absolute priority for us.

Our wonderful living and socialising spaces, including spacious single bedrooms, each with private ensuite, light filled living and dining areas, lovingly landscaped outdoor spaces, an onsite café serving amazing coffees, and a serene chapel for prayer and peaceful contemplation are complemented by a rich Mediterranean flavour and community feel that enriches life within this village.

Our warm and friendly Village Manager Regina and her team are always there for you and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, at home, and part of the Scalabrini family.

Your Scalabrini Service Fee Entitlements:

Food:
Customised meal menu
5 meal services per day
5 cafe coffees with biscotti per week
Automatic coffee machines
Choice of wine with lunch and dinner
After hours additional snack

Entertainment and Lifestyle:
individual TV
Basic Foxtel channels
Wi-Fi
Choice of daily newspaper delivered to you
Choice of 1 magazine subscription from the list
Postal service
Dedicated resident computer
Working gardens
2 excursions per week 
Onsite hairdressing salon
Bonsite beauty treatments
Dedicated resident computer
Access to Nonna's kitchen to use for family meals and entertainment 
Function spaces to use for events and parties

Pastoral Care:
24 hour pastoral care
Onsite Chapel
Services/Mass/Rosary

Wellness:
Art therapy
Music therapy
Tai Chi
Reiki
Meditation
In-house counselling
Dance classes
Yoga
Feeling better clinic 
Scheduled entertainment
Specialist fitness and balance centre staffed by qualified physio aides

41 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Robbie8261 Nov 01, 2018

A lot better than other age care facilities but still a sad place

Was this review helpful?  

Felicia2251 Sep 27, 2018

We are very happy with this place as they are in general

Was this review helpful?  

Cathy8406 Sep 26, 2018

Residents are all treated as if they had Dementia instead of individuals!

Was this review helpful?  1

Gloria1627 Sep 26, 2018

All staff hard working. They have thing on every day for the residents My mothers has been there three years and every one has been good to her. Sunday staff are a bit raw as there mostly new.

Was this review helpful?  

Rocio2117 Sep 25, 2018

My mother was placed in an aged care facility, initially under a respite agreement, however upon her arrival management insisted she consider becoming a full time resident. After many discussions with management, it was evident it was all about money, not about an individuals care plan. Eventually my mother exhausted her 63 days of respite, therefore we were pressured to either sign a fulltime residential agreement or she was to leave the facility. During her stay I raised concerns regarding my mother’s financial status, however this was not taken into consideration. A financial hardship application was granted by social services where the facility was informed, however we were seen as a burden and her level of care changed dramatically. A number of issues were raised, I even contacted several external agencies including the ombudsman office where I was informed that they could only communicate with the facility for a resolution..it was also mentioned that the current laws dont regulate the costs for a facilities extra services. Other issues were raised regarding the administering of medication, and level of care provided, however they were ignored, I noted that I would attend to the facility at 5:30pm and most residents were asleep, One would think they where sedated and put to bed early so staff had an easier night shift..I eventually placed my mother elsewhere, I will never recommend this facility to anyone I know..

Was this review helpful?  4

Rick1079 Sep 25, 2018

The Village is renovated, with beautiful gardens and entertainment area. The staff is very friendly and caring. The Village management staff is listening and receptive to new proposals. My grandmother is a resident of Scalabrini and I visit her every day, the residents and carers developed a close relationship. When I step in the village, I feel like being part of a large family.

Was this review helpful?  

Arthur67 Oct 31, 2017

My family member was admitted straight from hospital in a respite situation. Their health deteriorated within weeks, the nursing staff were helpful and friendly enough but seemed more interested in keeping them dosed up on strong pain medication. NEVER enough staff at night for supervision, some nights there wasnt even an RN. Management are arrogant, intimidating and lack compassion, all they cared about was the money! The meals were nasty and unappealing with residents complaining constantly and sending it back uneaten to the kitchen, There were NO Italian speaking staff which seems ridiculous but true. No physio or outings were offered even though they were promised. The building looks pretty, the furnishings in the lounge areas are bright and fresh but not really functional or comfortable for elderly people. We removed our family member and put them into a new facility where their health improved dramatically. Definitely would not recommend leaving a loved one in this facility especially one with dementia.

Was this review helpful?  3

Steve4020 Aug 01, 2017

I think this place is one of the best in building and the human quality of staff

Was this review helpful?  

Magdalena7084 Jul 31, 2017

In February 2017 my mum entered SV, she has early stages of Dementia. It was the most difficult decision we could ever make. We went to a few facilities and found SV CN outstanding. I highly recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful?  1

Angelav Jan 09, 2017

My father recently passed away and we are extremely grateful to the dedicated team who cared for our father on a daily basis during his stay and in his final days. The staff made such a difference to his quality of life and it was so comforting to have Italian speaking staff around him who understood his culture. A huge thank you to all staff members for all the care, love, empathy and professionalism you showed when caring for my father. The continual prayers during his final days were so comforting. We will never forget your kindness. From the family of Francesco Federico.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Angelav, Our sincere condolences to you and your family during this sad time. I am pleased to know our staff looked after him, you and your family during the final days as you describe. I am certain it was their privilege to have had the opportunity to care for him. May Francesco rest in eternal peace. Kind regards, Chris Rigby, CEO Scalabrini Village Ltd
Jan 09, 2017

Gabrielle Fallvette Nov 08, 2016

My thoughts are insufficient staff on duty in the evening and lack of supervision of the residents at night time. Some of the residents require more attention in the evening. The furniture looks beautiful, but not for the comfort of the elderly. My mother is in continent, wears pull-ups day and night and I don't believe she is changed as often as required and often she has a urine infection and bottom infection.

Was this review helpful?  2

ian1327 Oct 24, 2016

Mum was admitted to Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton about 18 months ago, directly from Liverpool Hospital. We were able to bring forward a prior booking. Mum was admitted to a high needs shared ward initially then transferred to the Hostel. Mum's background has no Italian, just Anglo Saxon from the British Isles some 4 generations ago. Mums had was suffering from dementia, exacerbated by the lost of her husband (Dad) of 55 years. The hostel rooms are fantastic, better than a lot of hotels I have stayed in in Sydney. My Mum had around the clock care, at the push of a button and regular checks on her every few hours just to make sure she was okay. The Staff were incredible, caring.

Was this review helpful?  

AFRICA1957 Oct 11, 2016

Staff are always very helpful and obliging.

Was this review helpful?  

Linda6326 Oct 03, 2016

Excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

MariaRid926 Sep 22, 2016

I have always found the staff courteous, helpful and caring. The manager is always there to be contacted if needed.

Was this review helpful?  

Poppy24 Sep 20, 2016

This aged care facility has great leadership and therefore this travels down to staff who show respect and dignity to residents. My mother is happy and well cared for. This makes my time spent with my mother much more enjoyable. Good Work! If life has to be spent this way in my old age I would highly be glad to be a resident, as long as the quality continues.

Was this review helpful?  

rose690 Sep 20, 2016

Staff change frequently, there are times when you seem to have to repeat your concerns. Lack of general information which would have saved time and stress. Most of my information came from other family of residents who are know to me. Each time I was told to not say where this information came from. Staff appear to be caring and friendly when we are there. Only pray its the same when no family member is there. That's for all nursing homes in general. We need to ensure our old loved ones are respected and cared for. Must say management side do take the time to listen to concerns.

Was this review helpful?  

Max Henry Sep 08, 2016

Scalabrini have cared for my mother for 18 months now and they have been fantastic. The manager is considerate of every need of my mother and is always willing to assist me with any issues that arise. Scalabrini have provided the best possible care for my mum, even if sometimes she is not aware of it or able to appreciate it. Having mum cared for by them takes some of the stress away.

Was this review helpful?  

Eleonora6770 Sep 08, 2016

We have had numerous requests for FRESH quality food. My mother is tired of eating frozen vegetables and the same type night after night. The same dinner (pasta) every night. When a new chef was employed we were assured that things would change but they haven't. A disgrace for Italians.

Was this review helpful?  

Sunny2971 Sep 08, 2016

Social outings and events are few and far between. Staff are very friendly and caring but special care requirements are not always seen to. Very expensive facility but building is exceptional.

Was this review helpful?  

Sam43 Aug 30, 2016

My family member is very happy. Everyone are so friendly. So that makes him happy and easier for him to be there.

Was this review helpful?  

TIGERAFF Aug 30, 2016

The building is beautiful and the staff are so caring and helpful. I could not ask for more.

Was this review helpful?  

EH64 Aug 29, 2016

Extremely well organised and friendly.

Was this review helpful?  

Nikki17 Aug 26, 2016

Beautiful and very caring facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Pippa123 Aug 26, 2016

Gardens should be accessible to residents. Friendly and cooperative staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Nala Aug 26, 2016

This facility is the best of its kind in Australia. It's like a five star hotel. Staff, carers are very friendly caring and loving. Food very nice with a lot of variants. I always mention to the managers, that I want to put my name on the list when the time for me comes, and they smile at me. I have both of my parents here and its a pleasure and happiness that I have become, they are very well looked after.

Was this review helpful?  

Lynne7079 Aug 23, 2016

Under-staffed. Some personnel not very caring. As at 10th August they need to pick their game up especially in the high care wing. Residents left to sit in their own waste for more than 1/2 hour because of lack of staff.

Was this review helpful?  1

99990 Aug 15, 2016

The care and love the staff show my mum is fantastic. The nun's are very beautiful and caring people and its not fake you can see how sincere they all are. I have no tree all resident a treated right. Great choice my sister and I chose for my mum. Not cheap but happy to pay for what we get.

Was this review helpful?  5

Hollis1410 Aug 12, 2016

My mother has been a resident at Scalabrini Village now for eight years and my late father joined her there when he found that he needed to be there with her. I have nothing but praise for the staff for looking after my parents. They always called us if there was any issues. I also found that we had a line of communication with the manager or staff and they are generally interested to hear from you. I always receive information on activities and information on what is happening and all the celebration days in the calendar year I would recommend the village to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Frederique5261 Apr 29, 2016

Staff were always friendly and professional. They made an excellent effort to include family members in center events. Staff were caring and genuine with residents. However, sometimes did seem short staffed, maybe staff to resident ratio needs to be reviewed.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Frederique5261, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
May 02, 2016

Vita Denuntiis Apr 27, 2016

My mother 3 yea of Scalabrini Chipping Norton. We are very happy. We recommend to every one, very nice. She has been looked after very well and the facility staff are doing an excellent job.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Vita Denuntiis, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Apr 28, 2016

Sofy Apr 21, 2016

I'm with this facility since 2013 and I did use another one for four months and I tell you Scalabrini is excellent and they help you with everything. Any problem is resolved. The manager is very helpful, nice and sweet person.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Sofy, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am pleasure to hear you are receiving great customer service. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Village manager and her team. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Apr 28, 2016

Maz101 Apr 21, 2016

With the building of the new nursing home facilities and the refurbishment of the hostel building the Village at Chipping Norton for the Scalabrini group has come to a whole new higher level of care. Facility staff, and surroundings are a pleasure to be a part of.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Maz101, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations and are thrilled you are happy with the newly renovated facility. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Apr 28, 2016

Carmen Apr 20, 2016

I have my mother there. Everything is good, the only thing is, I think is they need more nurses. They are overworked and need more nurses.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Carmen, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Apr 28, 2016

Forty Apr 20, 2016

I always found staff very helpful and answered all questions if unable to answer they would direct me to the person that was able. They communicated any changes in my mothers needs or condition of her health. Very happy, "The new building is excellent"

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Forty, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Apr 28, 2016

mari4158 Mar 15, 2016

At Scalabrini I always feel very welcomed, whenever i'm visiting my mother in law, the staff is always cheerful and helpful, no matter if they are busy they always make your concerns a priority. If mum has a problem it is dealt with ASAP and I also get a phone call back within the next day regarding what has been done. The new building is just gorgeous and makes the residents feel like its their own home, not just a place where they get looked after.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear mari4158, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We will be sure to share your feedback with Fiona Kendal, the Chipping Norton Team and the Project Team as I am thrilled you are happy with the newly built wing. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping can continue to meet and exceed, your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Mar 22, 2016

Lewis8 Mar 15, 2016

The new facilities have recently opened and are excellent. All rooms have individual air conditioning, own bathroom, new bedding, larger rooms with great views overlooking a river and a great lounge room area for visiting friends. The staff are wonderful and considerate of patients needs.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Lewis, It is great to receive such positive feedback on the newly built wing at our Chipping Norton Village. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team and the Projects Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 22, 2016

Loredana Duro Feb 04, 2016

I find the staff at the Scalabrini Village in Chipping Norton very friendly and helpful. I was concerned for my mum as she only speaks Italian but it didn't take her long to settle in and make friends. At the moment they are renovating so there's a bit of mess but it's looking great. They keep me up to date on her health and the place is very clean. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Loredana, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. I am so happy to hear your mum has settled in. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 11, 2016

Volpstar Nov 01, 2015

Its been nearly three years since we had to move our mother into the facilities at Scalabrini, excellent service, Mum feels safe and among friends. Being amongst other aged Italian residence makes the whole transition a lot easier. A new building is under construction to expand and give even higher and more personal care to the residence. We could not be happier, we know Mum is in good hands. Thank you Fiona and your team

Was this review helpful?  13

Scalabrini

Dear Carli1130, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping can continue to meet and exceed, your expectations. I will pass on your feedback to Fiona Kendal and the team at Chipping Norton. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

Caterina8154 Oct 30, 2015

My nonna is very happy and settled here, the staff and nuns are fantastic with her showing affection and great care we are happy with the high level of care given to her every day

Was this review helpful?  16

Scalabrini

Dear Maybell9614, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Nov 09, 2015

Charlie7245 Oct 26, 2015

Catering could be improved

Was this review helpful?  16

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Scalabrini Chipping Norton

Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton is located in the heart of Sydney's south western suburbs close to recreation areas and Chipping Norton Lakes. The Village offers aged care accommodation and features a beautiful chapel, fine Italian cuisine, the best of Italian culture and traditions and a caring team of aged care professionals.All meals are prepared daily onsite from fresh ingredients and offer residents a healthy choice of both hot and cold selections.There are a number of areas on each level of this service for residents to enjoy, as well as picturesque grounds with shaded seating areas for relaxing outdoors with families and friends.The activities program is interesting and varied and includes games afternoons, shopping trips, celebratory luncheons, Italian cultural events and more. This village is also very well supported by Italian speaking Religious Sisters and wonderful volunteers.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Bellini

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

42

Room size (sqm)

23

Room Description

These are newly renovated single rooms with a newly renovated private ensuite. Each room is refreshed before a new resident arrives.

Common Areas Description

Our social and leisure time spaces have floor to ceiling windows looking out to a lush natural environment and peaceful surrounds creating abundance of light and a homely ambience.

Room Name

Building D

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

72

Room size (sqm)

24

Room Description

These are brand new single rooms with private ensuite. Most rooms have wonderful district views.

Common Areas Description

Our social and leisure time spaces have floor to ceiling windows looking out to a lush natural environment and peaceful surrounds creating abundance of light and a homely ambience.

Aged Care Directory
My Account