Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Scalabrini Griffith

4.35 26 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(209 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Scalabrini Griffith

Welcome to Scalabrini Griffith

Scalabrini Griffith provides superb accommodation set within seven acres of planted gardens in the NSW town of Griffith. A local leader in aged care, the Village offers outstanding dementia and palliative care facilities.

It is also a place with a distinctly Italian feel, where the Italian language is spoken and understood and where families and children are made welcome. The large courtyards, the outdoor pizza oven and olive trees all contribute to creating a uniquely Italian Village.

Services

Italian speaking Religious Sisters, staff and volunteers
Mass and church services
Italian television
Regular outings
Hair salon
Physiotherapy
Dietician
Podiatry
A broad range of activities and therapies including cooking, pet, musical an doll therapy

26 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Moschi Oct 17, 2016

Our experience was very good. Staff are helpful and caring maybe under staffed. The sisters are a great asset to the home.

Was this review helpful?  1

RaySharks Oct 11, 2016

My mum entered Scalabrini as a frail 41kg person who fr the first time in her life was dependent on others for her care. Today she is in robust health, contented with her life, and joining in regular activities. My mum ate little and didn't socialise except with family so we her children are delighted with her care. She is positive about her future which is the opposite to her view before entering Scalabrini. Two areas I would suggest - Individual care for dietary needs would suit mum as she doesn't eat much and there is not monitoring of individual nutrition intake. My mum is very quiet and sometimes doesn't speak up about health needs. More care needed in monitoring her when issues arise.

Was this review helpful?  

magdelena5541 Sep 23, 2016

It is difficult to put all staff under one category. As some are very good, some good, some average, on the whole most are good. The same applies with food because of the different utilities, but it is quite good.

Was this review helpful?  

Leo3364 Sep 23, 2016

Appropriate areas should be made for residents that suffer aggressive dementia outbursts.

Was this review helpful?  

Giuseppe2225 Sep 22, 2016

Food is to much could be cut down to halve. More chicken soups for lunch tea.

Was this review helpful?  

Ray2313 Sep 22, 2016

Both my parents are at Scalabrini Village in Yoogali. My father is 102 on the 23 Sept 2016. My mother is 93 and they are both very happy there. Cheers Ray

Was this review helpful?  

Robert4384 Sep 13, 2016

My experience so far (9 weeks) is the layout of the village is very appealing, open, welcoming and a very homely feeling. Staff are extremely friendly and caring. The activities provided by the staff and volunteers are really great. My biggest concern with my mum on entering aged care was the food, as she has had acute pancreatitis so her dies is extremely critical. Mum requires gluten free, dairy free and various other requirements , my fears were out to rest on the very first meeting and her needs have been attended to ever since. The kitchen staff have sourced food especially for my mother which has been much appreciated I give Scalabrini Village Griffith a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful?  

Roja Sep 13, 2016

I have been aged care facility for a period 7 yrs with my dad and three years with mum and now 4 yrs with aunt. Most of my experience has been positive but you need to be around as there is never enough staff and help is always needed. May times things are needed them to be replaced and are often donated by family to the facility much more could be done for residents but the staff is never enough to cover everything and they are not paid enough so do not attract enough people who would possibly join as money is very low for what they are expected to do.

Was this review helpful?  

Possie Sep 08, 2016

My husband has been a resident of Scalabrini for more then 12 months. He has been very difficult at times and I have found the staff very helpful and caring. I love all the outdoor areas and that the residents can move around freely. Very pleased that he is in there.

Was this review helpful?  

wombat1 Sep 08, 2016

My mother has recently moved into this facility, everyone involved have been excellent. The transition and settling into the facility, the staff have gone above their duties, to make my mother welcome. The nuns are excellent especially with the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

nicholas6564 Aug 23, 2016

The staff have enabled my mum to make as easy as possible a transition into aged care. Her dementia has not hindered them in encouraging involvement and its very satisfying to see she has 24 hour quality care.

Was this review helpful?  

Gennaro4880 Feb 09, 2016

I find the staff are not always quick to respond to the clients bell. The food is tasteless. Some small things go missing. Overall the staff are kind and thoughtful and do address any problems we have.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Gennaro4880,Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Mar 03, 2016

Loren20 Feb 02, 2016

My dad is often very wet and soiled. Mum when visiting 83 years old takes dad who wheelchair bound to toilet. Also he usually looks unkept. Clothes are dirty from the food he drops when eating usually unshaven and ears very dirty. Now dad has removed a particle growth toe nail his diabetic and now he has a massive infection to have. Spoken to staff regarding anti-biotics and nothing was done, this was prior to Christmas and to have been there and spoken to all the staff. Now to have finally got him into hospital. He has constant pain and often found crying. Needs pain relief no reviewed and 2V anti-biotics. Looks like his going to loose his leg. Very very poor. We are all very upset. We were never asked about dad having his nail removed. We weren't asked.

Was this review helpful?  9

Scalabrini

Dear Loren20, On behalf of the team at Scalabrini I apologise for our unsatisfactory care of your father. I have been given a complete briefing by the Village Manager and I know that we are able to be much better than this. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any concerns or issues. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 03, 2016

Ningi Feb 02, 2016

My mother has been in care since June. Is always found her to be quite happy at least clean and very well fed. Staff respectful, accommodating to our/her needs. But we rated 4 for top two as there is not "enough" staff to go around the amount of residents. So a lot of waiting, through no fault of their own. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Ningi, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 10, 2016

Aileen5501 Feb 01, 2016

Most times staff are good, some can be very uncaring how they dress my aunty. Have had clothes missing, never to be found. Nursing staff need to take more care of clothing and cupboards in rooms. Nursing staff need to take responsibility for their actions.

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Aileen5501, Thank you for your comments. My apologies about the missing clothes and I have drawn the attention of our VIlage Manager to your comments. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 07, 2016

Jordan1500 Feb 01, 2016

The staff are very kind and caring toward the residents. They have always been very helpful with any requests.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Jordan1500, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 10, 2016

Name765 Jan 29, 2016

My mother has been a resident since September 2015. Her room is excellent most of all mum has settled. There have been a few "hiccups" these have all been resolved. The staff are very kind and caring to my mother which makes a huge difference to me to know she is safe and as happy as a person can be at 94. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Name765, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback. I am pleased to hear your positive feedback on the atmostphere at our Griffith Village. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the Scalabrini Village Griffith team. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 10, 2016

Rusty Jan 27, 2016

Being an Ethnic facility, Scalabrini Village integrates the different cultures quite well. Having used other facilities, there are always some issues due to the difficulty in pleasing individuals at a time in their life when they are the most vulnerable. The majority of carers are very approachable, but there are always some whose attitude is casual.

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Rusty, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Delfina6983 Jan 21, 2016

Relatively new to this. My wife has only been in for 4 months. Still learning. So far all expectations being met.

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Delfina6983, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased to hear your expectations are being met. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

CatClaws6 Jan 07, 2016

My mother has been here for four and a half years. At first she did not want to leave her home, but as she settled in and let go of the responsibilities life brings that her children have taken over now, she is relaxed and partakes in activities that interest her, reads, does crosswords and other mind challenges as they interest her. I take her out at least once a week for a drive just to get out somewhere different. My mother has made Scalabrini her home and calls it thus. This to me and seeing how contented she is, as I see her regularly, takes the worry from the family about her happiness and wellbeing.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear CatClaws6, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am so pleased to hear that your mother is happy at Griffith village. I will pass your comments onto our team at Griffith. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 07, 2016

Renzo Manente Oct 26, 2015

Caring friendly and competent staff, combined with a clean and well maintained facility. Which makes happy residents.

Was this review helpful?  11

Scalabrini

Dear Renzo manente, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Griffith Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Griffith can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

Lewis7568 Oct 13, 2015

Went to day. My brother just got into care. The workers seemed very caring and professional.they had the place spotless, no smell and a light atmosphere. Beautiful gardens and well managed sections of patient care.

Was this review helpful?  18

Scalabrini

Dear Ellsworth7334, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Griffith can continue to meet, and exceed, your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 19, 2015

Manuela2732 Jul 31, 2015

Scalabrini is the perfect place for your loved ones to go. The staff there are extremely helpful and have your loved ones best interests at heart - couldn't recommend a better aged care facility. Very happy

Was this review helpful?  10

Scalabrini

Dear Heidi6335, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Griffith Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Griffith can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Aug 07, 2015

Alan Yenda Jul 05, 2015

our uncle has been in the village some 2 years and has been looked after like family we appreciate the great care and attention he receives by all the staff ,he is happy and that helps us not having to worry about his care.nowing he is in good hands.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Alan Yenda, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We value all forms of feedback, both positive and negative. It is great to hear that our team at Griffith is providing a high level of care. We will be sure to share your feedback with them. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jul 13, 2015

Dana2179 Jun 28, 2015

Lovely atmosphere for the elderly

Was this review helpful?  7

Scalabrini

Dear Andrew6129, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback. I am pleased to hear your positive feedback on the atmostphere at our Griffith Village. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the Scalabrini Village Griffith team. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jul 13, 2015

widgelli Jun 24, 2015

problem with patients in a shared room. coupling patients which are not compatable together. for example dementia patient in a shared room. other patient does not have dementia. patient is not co operative and located next to the door. patient in room all day with loud television whist dementia patient not wanting to go into his room to settle as other patient has tv loud and is sitting next to the door. dementia patient stating that this is not his room and not wanting to go inside ,

Was this review helpful?  6

Scalabrini

Dear widgelli, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback. As you will know, Scalabrini Village puts great emphasis in learning from resident and family feedback. In regards to your situation, we acknowledge the challenges faced when residents choose to come into our care in a shared room situation. Families and prospective residents are provided with accommodation options available at the time and unfortunately sometimes the options are very limited and needs are significant. We are however committed to meeting the individual needs of all residents where possible. Our Village Managers and senior management are always available to take whatever steps we can to make our residents more comfortable in their chosen environment. I would encourage you to contact us at [email protected] to follow up on specific concerns, to see if we can address your particular situation. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jun 30, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Scalabrini Griffith

Scalabrini Village Griffith provides superb accommodation within seven acres of planted gardens in the NSW town of Griffith. A local leader in aged care, the Village offers outstanding dementia and palliative care facilities. With a distinctly Italian feel where the Italian language is spoken, this Village is a place to feel at home.All meals are prepared daily onsite from fresh ingredients and offer residents a healthy choice of both hot and cold selections. We have a very active entertainment and social program which includes happy hours, Tai Chi, exercise groups and regular bus outings. There is a hairdresser and physiotherapist on-site four days a week.The extensive grounds are ideal for family gatherings and include a large courtyard with an outdoor pizza oven for families and friends who wish to share a meal or a special celebration.A beautiful chapel is available for personal reflection and religious services.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Elsa Dal Nevo and DSU

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

27

Room size (sqm)

20.5

Room Description

Generously proportion recently refurbished rooms with good lighting and nice aspects.

Common Areas Description

Modern large communal spaces which offer lovely dining and social opportunities in a secure environment. All within a short walk from resident rooms. Dal Nevo Common AreasVillage Chapel138m2Lounge Room21m2Dining Room30m2Courtyard Room32m2

Room Name

Villa Sant'Anna

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

30

Room size (sqm)

19

Room Description

Generously proportioned recently refurbished rooms with good lighting and nice aspects.

Common Areas Description

Modern large communal spaces which offer lovely dining and social opportunities in a secure environment. All within a short walk from resident rooms.

Dal Nevo Common Areas

Village Chapel138m2
Lounge Room21m2
Dining Room30m2
Courtyard Room32m2

Room Name

Nico Torresan Shared

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

11

Room size (sqm)

35

Room Description

Generously proportion recently refurbished rooms with good lighting and nice aspects.

Common Areas Description

Modern large communal spaces which offer lovely dining and social opportunities in a secure environment. All within a short walk from resident rooms.

Dal Nevo Common Areas

Village Chapel138m2
Lounge Room 21m2
Dining Room30m2
Courtyard Room32m2

Room Name

Nico Torresan Single

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

11

Room size (sqm)

23

Room Description

Generously proportioned recently refurbished rooms with good lighting and nice aspects.

Common Areas Description

Modern large communal spaces which offer lovely dining and social opportunities in a secure environment. All within a short walk from resident rooms.

Dal Nevo Common Areas

Village Chapel138m2
Lounge Room21m2
Dining Room30m2
Courtyard Room32m2

Aged Care Directory
My Account