Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

SummitCare St Marys

3.14 7 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(21 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review SummitCare St Marys
7 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Angela B Aug 01, 2017

Staff were great just add more.

Was this review helpful?  

Hope5263 Mar 14, 2016

Patient care could be improved with more staff. Patients need to be treated with more dignity.

Was this review helpful?  

diemurphy Jun 19, 2015

my dad was there for about 6 weeks but passed away there during the night they found him the next morning

Was this review helpful?  

SummitCare (Australia)

Dear diemurphy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for SummitCare St Marys. At SummitCare we truly value all feedback. With your permission I would like to make contact with you and find out a little bit more about your experience. If that's possible please email me on [email protected] Thank you once again, Claire Ward, Group Marketing Manager, SummitCare (Australia)
Jul 01, 2015

jeanette morrison Jun 16, 2015

my husband was in st marys gardens nursing home for 23 months he passed away 8th november 2014most of the staff were very good a few not so good very clean but the food was bad never hot had to go warm it up he asked for soft boiled eggs no we dont serve them the we took him in food every day what he likedthe nursing mananger michelle you could not ask for a better person over all not to bad

Was this review helpful?  

SummitCare (Australia)

Dear jeanette morrison, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for SummitCare St Marys. At SummitCare we truly value all feedback. With your permission I would like to make contact with you and find out a little bit more about your experience. If that's possible please email me on [email protected] Thank you once again, Claire Ward, Group Marketing Manager, SummitCare (Australia)
Jun 30, 2015

Marisol404 Jun 12, 2015

my husband was in st marys gardens nursing home for 23months he died in i november last year.the only bad thing was the food it was never hot an myself an family took him in food every day an most of the staff were very nice

Was this review helpful?  

SummitCare (Australia)

Dear Paul8166 Thank you for taking the time to write this review for SummitCare St Marys. At SummitCare we truly value all feedback. With your permission I would like to make contact with you and find out a little bit more about your experience. If that possible please email me on [email protected] Thank you once again, Claire Ward, Group Marketing Manager, SummitCare (Australia)
Jun 15, 2015

Pauline Taylor Jun 05, 2015

My Grandmother was in our local Nursing home for just less than 2 years before she passed away. We found that there were a lot of wonderful workers there, from Nurses to cleaners. There was also a lot of not very helpful staff. My Grandmother wore hearing aids and twice the aids were lost. The staff saying my bedridden Grandmother had lost them. After spending the thousands of dollars and replacing the aids they reappeared in the nurses locked up medication room weeks later with no explanation. We also took all of her laundry home as the harsh chemicals that were used in the homes laundry were ruining her clothes. It had also left a nasty rash all over my Grandmothers body causing her to scratch her body and drawing blood. We also had 2 hospital trips due to falls. Our Grandmother told us on one occasion that she had had a fall after being left in the bathroom unattended and had hurt her side. When we asked about this we were told there had been no fall. Later that day we noticed dry blood on her cardigan. On having a closer look we found that she had a nasty gash on her arm that needed looking at. So for a NO fall she now had to have stitches in her arm and also had a very bruised hip. The next week was spent in Hospital. Our faith in the centre was dwindling fast. As a Family we always had someone to visit and sit with my Grandmother each day, to help with her feeding and general well being as there were times that she had been missed at meal times. Having said these negative things I would also like to point out that it wasn't all bad. I just think the bad things can sometimes out weigh the good and they always leave a bitter taste in your mouth. I think the staff are run off their feet sometimes with the amount of elderly they have to look after and the care that is required. I wouldn't want their job. I think it takes a special person to look after our aging family members in a way that they too would like to be looked after. There are some Wonderful carers that do there jobs to the best of their ability, and treat the elderly as if they were their own family members and then there are on workers that would be better suited working elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?  1

SummitCare (Australia)

Dear Pauline (and also Carissa9714) Thank you for taking time to write this review, at SummitCare we really value all feedback.I understand from reading your review there have been a few things that you are not happy with. With your permission I would like to gather a little bit more information from you about what has happened and your experience, if that’s possible please email me with your contact details on [email protected] Kind regards, Claire Ward, Group Marketing Manager, SummitCare (Australia)
Jun 10, 2015

Kaycee9670 Jun 05, 2015

My Grandmother was in our local Nursing home for just less than 2 years before she passed away. We found that there was a lot of wonderful workers there, from Nursing staff to the cleaners. There was also a lot of not very helpful staff members. My Grandmother worn hearing aids and twice the aids were lost. The staff saying my bedridden Grandmother had lost them. After spending the thousands of dollars and replacing the aids they reappeared in the nurses locked up medication room weeks later with no explanation. We also took all of her laundry home as the hash chemicals that were used in the homes laundry it was ruined her clothes and left them in a dreadful state. It also left a nasty rash all over my Grandmothers body that had her itching ber body and drawing blood. We also had 2 hospital trips due to falls. My Grandmother told us on one occassion that she had had a fall after being left in the bathroom unattended. When we asked about this we were told there had been no fall. Later that day we noticed dry blood on the arm of her cardigan. Having a closer look there was a nasty gash that needed stitches. So for a NO fall she now had to have stitches in her arm and also had a very bruised hip. She then spent the next week in hospital.Our faith in the centre was swindling fast. As a Family we always had someone to visit and sit with my Grandmother each day to help with her feeding and general wellbeing as there were times that she had been missed at meal times. Having said these negative things I would also like to point out that it wasn't all bad. I just think the bad things can sometimes out weigh the good and they always leave a bitter taste in your mouth. I think the staff are run off their feet sometimes with the amount of elderly they are to look after. I wouldn't want their jobs. I think it takes a special person to look after our aging family members in a way that they too would like to be looked after. Some are VERY good at their job and some would be better suited elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About SummitCare St Marys

The open, welcoming environment at SummitCare St Marys makes it a popular aged care choice for people in the Western Sydney area.An easy-to-access layout features accommodation for 120 residents conveniently located on the ground floor in twin and single configurations. The spacious centre offers modern facilities and is beautifully styled in muted tones and gorgeous furnishings.Indoor lounges and the large courtyard barbecue area are great spots to socialise, and residents can also relax to the sounds of the lovely water feature in the more tranquil garden and gazebo area – or grab a book to enjoy from the library.SummitCare St Marys is located within easy walking distance of the suburb’s CBD and public transport.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Category 2

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

Rooms range from 15m to 21m

Room Description

All rooms are beautifully appointed and all residents are able to enjoy all of the centre facilities.

Common Areas Description

The spacious centre offers modern facilities and is well appointed with modern furnishings. Indoor lounges and the large courtyard barbecue area are great spots to socialise. Residents can also relax to the sounds of the lovely water feature in the more tranquil garden and gazebo area - or grab a book to enjoy from the library.

Room Name

Category 1

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

Rooms range from 9m to 14m

Room Description

All rooms are beautifully appointed and all residents are able to enjoy all of the centre facilities.

Common Areas Description

The spacious centre offers modern facilities and is well appointed with modern furnishings. Indoor lounges and the large courtyard barbecue area are great spots to socialise. Residents can also relax to the sounds of the lovely water feature in the more tranquil garden and gazebo area - or grab a book to enjoy from the library.

Aged Care Directory
My Account