Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(61 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Vasey RSL Care Brighton

What is Important to You?
This is something we ask all new residents: your answers help us understand what ‘makes you tick’. This is your new home and we will do all we can to help you feel at home here.
Vasey RSL Care  Brighton is in the beautiful Kamesburgh Gardens, with mature trees all around, including a magnificent Moreton Bay Fig.

About Vasey RSL Care
Vasey RSL Care Brighton has a proud tradition of supporting veterans and war widows, with RSL Care Victoria supporting veterans since World War I and Vasey Housing Victoria helping war widows from World War II.
Around three quarters of our residents have a background with the Australian Defence Forces or are the widows of ex-service personnel (sometimes both), while the other third are from the general public.

Every Vasey RSL Care Home is Unique
Vasey RSL Care Brighton has everything you’d expect – home-made food, laundry service, health services and an extensive program of activities, with our own bus for regular outings.
But the thing that makes us unique is our people. Our residents share traditional Australian values – humour, mateship, perseverance, generosity, courage and a larrikin spirit – values bred through a lifetime of living and working in this great country.
Vasey RSL Care is committed to the best possible quality of care, and as a not-for-profit, every dollar is returned to the organisation to help fulfill this commitment. Our staff ratios are substantially higher than the industry average, both in care staff and in qualified clinical staff. We invest in our staff to ensure they have the skills and knowledge to deliver respectful, evidence-based care.
We aim for excellence in aged care with residents at the centre of everything we do.

9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Nakita16 May 29, 2017

I am writing for my mother - she is very happy here and feels very safe. The staff are reliable and caring - really to have empathy. ANZAC House is very comfortable, warm in winter, and cool in summer. My mother would rather be at home, but she realises that's impossible and that this is a good alternative. As the daughter, I think ANZAC House is wonderful, my mother is fortunate to be here. I have recommended this facility to friends.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for your lovely review of ANZAC Hostel for Aged Care Reviews on behalf of your mum. It is lovely to hear that you feel confident that she is comfortable and well cared for, even though she would rather have been able to stay in her own home. Thank you for your comments on our staff and for recommending our home to others – we appreciate you helping others make an informed choice about the care of their loved ones. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 29, 2017

Deondre7291 May 29, 2017

The staff are very caring and respectful of mum. We are kept informed of anything that happens to mum. The facilities are always maintained and very clean. Beautiful gardens. A great cross section of activities for all residents. And the food is quite good.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. We are glad to know that the care and support your mum receives is what you wish for her and that you are happy with other aspects of the home. We appreciate you providing your views and enabling others to make an informed choice about residential care. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 29, 2017

Nikita2526 May 25, 2017

As a young student at "Star of the Sea" College, I would come across and read to the last of the 1st World War diggers. So I have always felt an affinity with Anzac Hostel, Brighton. Now, in my eighties, and a Brighton resident, for the last four years I have been a "respite" resident several times. Stepping into Anzac immediately one feels the warmth, happiness from constancy of staff, tasteful rooms and furnishings, views of the magnificent gardens. There is a limit of 40 residents, so care and intimate knowledge of each, makes it feel like the home one has just left.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Nikita We were delighted to read your beautiful review of ANZAC Hostel and to hear of your fascinating and long connection with the home. Thank you for taking the time to write this and to share your personal experience of staying there with other potential residents. Thank you very much Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 25, 2017

Antonia2884 May 25, 2017

Mum has been in care for 2 and a half years and we have found this care facility to be clean and nurturing. Any problems have been communicated quickly and steps have been taken to remedy any situations. The activity schedule is especially vibrant.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Antonia Thank you very much for taking the time to send your review about Vasey RSL Care to Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your lovely comments about ANZAC Hostel in Brighton: we are glad to hear that your mum is enjoying her life there and that our staff are responsive to her needs. Thank you for helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 25, 2017

Monty7 May 24, 2017

It's cealn, well maintained, good food, friendly staff, very good activities schedule.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Monty Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your positive comments regarding ANZAC Hostel and are grateful to you for sharing your views and helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 25, 2017

Alexanne9759 May 23, 2017

Being a war widow, I was able to have 6 weeks respite care and got to know the caring staff and residents. I do believe that attitude of mind is important and, at 93 and a half years, I am lucky to be here.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Alexanne Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your comments about ANZAC Hostel in Brighton and we are delighted to hear you had a good stay there. With thanks and kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 24, 2017

Forrest5204 Mar 04, 2016

Rooms are very comfortable and home is set in beautiful garden surrounds. Common areas are bright, pleasantly decorated and overall ANZAC has a homely feel. Always clean and well maintained. Staff are generally excellent, interested in resident's wellbeing and communicate well with family reps. Weekday activities are good and there is a program involving students from a local school however there are no activities at weekends and this is an area which could be looked at - particularly for residents who have few visitors or family unable to visit due to shiftwork etc. Food is prepared on site and there is menu variety but scope for increased use of fresh fruit

Was this review helpful?  

Maryjane6617 Sep 02, 2015

Staff are friendly and supportive of residents and I have found them responsive to requests. There is a wide variety of activities scheduled each weekday and activities staff encourage resident participation although there could me more things for residents to do after dinner and on weekends

Was this review helpful?  1

Michaela6775 Apr 17, 2015

no activites just sit and stare out the window if we did not chase up things they would not get done

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Vasey RSL Care Brighton

ANZAC Hostel, which opened in 1998, is set in the beautiful gardens of the Kamesburgh property on the corner of North Road and Cochrane Street, Brighton. The gardens centrepiece is a stunning Morton Bay fig tree, which is protected by the National Trust. This magnificent tree adds to the peaceful atmosphere of ANZAC and makes a perfect setting for families and residents to enjoy quiet and private moments. Residents are encouraged to participate in committees and to be active in their lifestyle decision-making.

Available Rooms

Room Name

ROOMS 1-40

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

40

Room size (sqm)

14.7

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable. Original artworks by an Australian artist are on display throughout the facility.

Aged Care Directory
My Account