Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(72 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Vasey RSL Care Brighton East

We Welcome You
Vasey RSL Care Brighton East is part of the Vasey RSL Care organisation which has a history of supporting the ex-service community.
Vasey RSL Care Brighton East was purpose-built in 2011 and has beautiful outdoor courtyards, spacious rooms, and a heritage-listed church in the grounds.

About Vasey RSL Care
Vasey RSL Care has a proud tradition of supporting veterans and war widows, with RSL Care Victoria supporting veterans since World War I and Vasey Housing Victoria helping war widows from World War II.
Around 80% of our residents have a background with the Australian Defence Forces or are the widows of ex-service personnel (sometimes both), while the other 20% of our residents are from the general public.

Every Vasey RSL Care Home is Unique
Vasey RSL Care Brighton East has everything you’d expect – home-made food, laundry service, health services and an extensive program of activities, with our own bus for regular outings.
But the thing that makes us unique is our people. Our residents share traditional Australian values – humour, mateship, perseverance, generosity, courage and a larrikin spirit – values bred through a lifetime of living and working in this great country.
Vasey RSL Care is committed to the best possible quality of care, and as a not-for-profit, every dollar is returned to the organisation to help fulfill this commitment. Our staff ratios are substantially higher than the industry average, both in care staff and in qualified clinical staff. We invest in our staff to ensure they have the skills and knowledge to deliver respectful, evidence-based care.
We aim for excellence in aged care with residents at the centre of everything we do.

23 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Queen7572 Apr 15, 2019

Wonderful care facility for my mum where dignity and care is the core focus. The staff are attentive and take time to find the right balance between support for the individual and getting a job done

Was this review helpful?  1

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about our Brighton East home – we are very pleased to hear that you are happy with the way that your mum is being cared for.
Apr 24, 2019

Tiara7796 Apr 15, 2019

Aged Care Review - April, 2019 The Provision of Excellence in Safe, Quality, Aged Care at Vasey RSL Care: At a ‘The Celebration of Life’ following the death of a family friend, a resident at Vasey RSL Care, Brighton East, several family members spoke glowingly at length of the wonderful care their wife and mother had received at Vasey. and of the great support staff provided to the family at this sad time. It was very touching, under what must have been difficult circumstances. It was also pleasing to see Vasey staff in attendance. This is not our first experience with the fantastic service provision at a Vasey facility. My siblings and I were very pleased with the care our mother, Renee Dyson, (deceased May 2015, aged 94), received :at Vasey , Bundoora over a 7 year period, the last of these years suffering with dementia. We were delighted when we were able to have our aunt, Gertrude (Trudy) Nash, provided accommodation at Vasey Brighton East, initially in low care, then high care and now in the dementia ward.. We have been very happy with the service provision by staff at all levels - managers, nursing staff, lifestyle staff and personal carers. We have found staff members help to minimise our aunt Trudy’s losses. They give her choices. They wait, listen, re-explain when necessary. They are mindful of her hearing and visual deficits eg situating her close on music days. They optimise her abilities by involving her in various craft activities, encouraging her to walk, and to socialise through a large range of group activities, including bus outings that she loves, organised by the lifestyle staff. Staff are friendly and respectful, always addressing her by her name. They keep the family well-informed as needed, promptly communicating any issues, including medical, in an empathetic manner, and involving us in any decisions, which is important to Trude. They acknowledge and show interest in what Trude has done in her past, they understand her love of the garden/outdoors and take her outside as much as possible, In routines, meals (time and place) and a broad range of activities they provide a sense of security, safety and stimulation. We found a similar level of quality care and safety afforded our mother when she was at Vasey RSL Care, Bundoora. Our family would have no hesitation in recommending Vasey RSL Care to others looking for care for their elderly loved ones. Yours sincerely Fran Mansergh And endorsed by my sister, Judy Rutherford

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Fran and Judy, We are so pleased to hear about your positive experiences of care received by your relatives at both Vasey RSL Care Brighton East and Bundoora and we are glad to have been able to provide support for them. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and help others who are needing to make a decision about aged care for themselves of their family members.
Apr 24, 2019

Kamron5619 Apr 12, 2019

My sister aged 64 died recently after spending 18 months in the RSL Vasey East Brighton Nursing Home.Being so young it was extremely devastating for family to have to place her in care, but a better place could not have been chosen. The care compassion and empathy to my sister and all who visited her was amazing and in her last days we were treated with so much respect and comfort.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

We appreciate you providing this lovely review of our home at Brighton East, especially at such a difficult time. Thank you for your kind comments and for helping others with their decisions about aged care homes.
Apr 24, 2019

Hope6694 Sep 28, 2018

My sister is a resident at Vasey RSL Brighton East. She is only 63 and has dementia so it is heartbreaking for all her family. The care there is wonderful, supportive, understanding and the empathy shown to us all makes her and our journey much easier

Was this review helpful?  

Deangelo7926 Jun 08, 2017

I am extremely happy living at Vasey Brighton East - excellent facilities and lovely garden areas. My room is pleasant and I have furnished it with a number of treasures from my home. The facilities are kept in spotless condition. My age is 89 years and I have been here 2 years.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for writing a review on Vasey Brighton East for Aged Care Reviews. We are delighted to hear that you have such positive things to say about your life there. We appreciate you assisting others to make an informed choice about their future home. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Jun 14, 2017

Tonkin Jun 08, 2017

The wife and I are happy to be here.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Lovely to hear that - thanks for taking the time to provide your comments.
Oct 17, 2018

Feore Jun 08, 2017

I have gout so am restricted in my diet. Staff are very good but I don't have a great deal of choice so my family bring in food for me sometimes.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for your review of Vasey Brighton East on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate you taking the time to offer information to assist others with their choice of a new home. We note your comments regarding the choice of food and will make sure that this is passed on to the Residential Manager. With thanks and kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager, Quality & Risk
Jun 09, 2017

Wilky May 30, 2017

I think that this is a wonderful place for the purpose which it was built. I find quality lacking in some foods such as toast, fish (tasteless), spaghetti, pizza, pastry and squid. Very pleased with soups, deserts.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for your recent review of Vasey Brighton East on Aged Care Reviews: it’s good to know that you are happy with the home and we note your comments regarding some of the food and will ensure this is passed on to the relevant manager. Thanks again for helping others make an informed choice. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

Towser May 30, 2017

Very comfortable - easy to make friends, always something going on, but allowed to rest if preferred.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for your positive comments in your review on Vasey Brighton East for Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate you assisting others to make an informed decision about their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

Ellie Potter May 29, 2017

My mother has been in the dementia ward for nearly 5 years and I am very happy with the care. The staff appear happy and seem to stay around for a long time which I think is the most important thing.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Ellie Thank you for writing a review about Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your comments on the care provided at Vasey Brighton East to your mother for the past five years. Your review will provide help to others seeking residential care for their loved ones. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

Mary123 May 29, 2017

Major design problem with some ensuites. Water does not drain - slip hazard. I was not warned of this. Facility is open, airy, and courtyards are well used. Well maintained. Activities do not always start on time, and if cancelled, notification not always given - annoying. Language problem with some staff. Food quality is variable with staff changes. Need more fresh fruit on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you find the home airy, open and well maintained. We were concerned to hear about the issues experienced with the en suite and this has been passed on to management to follow up on. Similarly, your other comments have been passed on to the relevant managers. It is always helpful for us to receive constructive criticism as it enables us to improve our performance, and we appreciate your assistance in helping others make an informed choice about their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

Sunderland48 May 29, 2017

Vasey Brighton East is an outstanding facility - excellent staff, caring, go out of their way to assist, compassionate. Always smiling. Good equipment, good care. The facility is easy to move about with lovely court and gardens. Clean, light, and private low care rooms. Coffee shop is a small hub, not always open - only during weekday afternoon. Occasionally staff 'barista' will oblige with coffee situated at reception - always passing traffic. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. It was lovely to read your positive comments about Vasey Brighton East and the staff there. We appreciate you providing your views and helping others to make an informed choice about residential care. Thank you Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 29, 2017

Happy May 25, 2017

Our mother was in Vasey RSL care in Bundoora for 7 years and we were very happy with the care and support she was provided throughout that time as she moved from low to high care. Naturally we looked to Vasey Brighton East when our aunt, who we had moved down from Sydney, was assessed as no longer capable of independent living. The facility manager, Maria, was wonderful in assisting us to secure a permanent place for her at Vasey Brighton East, which she commenced at the end of July 2016. Since then we have also been very happy with the ongoing care, support and understanding provided by the staff, especially as our aunt took some time to adjust to her changed circumstances. In particular, nursing staff/carers have been empathetic when addressing and discussing a couple of our aunt's idiosyncrasies - eg. not wanting to be showered or having her hair washed. Overall; staff keep us informed and involve us in decisions related to her care. Recently, following a fall and hospitalisation for a partial hip replacement, our aunt was assessed as needing to be moved from to high care. This was facilitated with a minimum of fuss. During this time, we were most impressed by the interest in, and concern for, our aunt by managers, nursing staff, carers and a number of residents. The additional level of staffing and support provided in high care is also very comforting. Our family would have no hesitation in recommending Vasey RSL Care to others looking for care for their elderly loved ones.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and lovely review of both Vasey House Bundoora and Vasey Brighton East. We are very pleased to hear that your mum and aunt received/receive the care and support that you would wish for them and that you would recommend our organisation to others. We appreciate you providing information to help others make informed choices about care for their loved ones. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 26, 2017

Mazpati23 May 23, 2017

The family as been pleased with the care that Vasey Brighton East has provided to our mother over the past 3 years. Staff are very responsive to her various needs, whether they be medical or personal, and the premises are always kept clean and tidy. Mum appears to be happy for the majority of the time.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We are very happy to hear that our staff at Vasey Brighton East are providing the care your family wishes for your mother. Thank you for providing information so that others can make an informed decision. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 23, 2017

Marj May 23, 2017

Have no complaints. Made many friends. All staff is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Marj Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your comments about the staff at Vasey Brighton East and are happy to hear that you have made many friends. Thank you for helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 23, 2017

Jay9190 May 04, 2017

The staff show a high degree of compassion and care tailoring their care to meet the personalised needs my mum has. Mum is treated with a high level of dignity and while not mobile I am comforted in the support and care she has surrounding her. Mum transitioned from interstate and what could have been a highly traumatic experience was handled professionally and thoughtfully, I wouldn't hesitate recommending to all

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Jay Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied that your mum is in good hands and receiving the care that you expect for her. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 04, 2017

Susie6609 May 02, 2017

Lifestyle could be improved - it seems to have dropped off recently. Food in high care is not good enough. Attendance by doctors, and communication with the family needs to be improved. However these are the only problems. I am very happy with the facility overall.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Susie Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review of Vasey Brighton East to Aged Care Reviews. We are delighted to hear that you are very happy with the facility overall. We have forwarded your review to the Residential Manager at the home so that she is aware of the points you mention. If you would like to speak directly to us about these matters, please contact either the Residential Manager at Vasey Brighton East on 03 9519 3400, or our GM Aged Care Services on 03 9810 5500. Thank you again for reviewing our home at Brighton East. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 03, 2017

Pauline2657 Dec 22, 2015

Took a long time to find a good place. Very happy now.

Was this review helpful?  1

Emmie7538 Dec 17, 2015

My mother was in a high care facility with vascular dementia and alzheimers for 5 yrs. They cared for her in a way we were unable to however during a routine manual transfer there was an incident which left mum with a fractured skull fractured hip deep cut to her head. The staff involved were unable to state what happened blaming the overhead lifting device. The facility had the device examined and it was not faulty. My mother died from complications 12 days later and the matter is with the coroner. Staff need more training and supervision there are too many non english speaking workers. I am very concerned about the level of care given to this frail community and would like a forum to discuss how incidents like this can be avoided.

Was this review helpful?  3

febeflea Jun 12, 2015

Both my Mum and Dad have lived hear for some years. My Dad passed away last December but my Mum is still there. I cannot fault anything about the care they are given. It is great peace of mind to know that they are so well looked after. Brand new facility when they moved in. Spotlessly clean, wonderful caring staff. Great food also! Congratulations!

Was this review helpful?  

Wendy Paton Apr 09, 2015

Both my parents resided at Vasey Brighton East and I consider it to be a well run organisation. If at any time I raised concerns over the care of my parents, the staff were always respectful and listened to me. The Manager of the facility can be seen and regularily speaks with the residents and their families and I think this helps to set the tone which is warm and welcoming. No facility is perfect but if your concerns are listened to (which mine were) and you feel respected and your family members are cared for it goes a long way to put your mind at rest. Vasey Brighton East, I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a facility for their parents with a nice ambiance, lovely staff and who make an effort to get it right.

Was this review helpful?  

valbletch Apr 02, 2015

Very up front and explain things fully

Was this review helpful?  

valbletch Apr 02, 2015

I tried a few with my poor Mum as she had dementia and could sometimes be a bit aggressive. You have to really make full enquiries and recommendations before making a final decision. We made the mistake of placing her first of all with a retirement village in the main house which was great but although we had been told the kept high care (dementia) when Mum actually got to that stage they transferred her to hospital and then would not acccept her back. They took their 17 1/2% from the cost of the unit. Mum was still assessed as Low Care but aggressive so it took months to find the right place. When Mum passed away we had to pay the 17 1/2% fees again from the bond. Make sure you get the right advice. Vasey RSL were caring and honest. I can highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Vasey RSL Care Brighton East

Conveniently located at the junction of Hawthorn Road and Union Street, Vasey RSL Care's Brighton East facility represents the very highest standards in aged care. Seven years in design and development, it is a state of the art aged care facility with 128 beds offering low care (hostel), high care (nursing home) and dementia care.The facility has been designed with the benefit of Vasey RSL Care's long commitment to ensuring respect is a key component in all our services and facilities. Our range of value added resources helps ensure that all residents enjoy the highest possible levels of dignity, independence, comfort, interaction and support.

Available Rooms

Room Name

ROOMS 1-17, 20-46, 49-81, 84-110, 113-128

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

17

Room size (sqm)

14.7

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair flat screen TV and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Located in leafy Brighton East our facility is close to spacious parklands and Port Phillip Bay beaches. Vasey Brighton East ensures residents are provided with a range of resources that provide comfort independence and familiarity.

Hurlingham Park and Landcox Lake Park are both close by and offer natural green areas with open spaces picnic facilities bird life manicured gardens and wide level paths for easy wheel chair access. A heritage-listed church is located within the facility grounds allowing ease of access for residents and their families. Vasey Brighton East is conveniently located between two neighbourhood shopping precincts with cafes supermarket restaurants and newsagency.

Room Name

ROOMS 47-48, 111-112

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

13.7

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair flat screen TV and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Located in leafy Brighton East our facility is close to spacious parklands and Port Phillip Bay beaches. Vasey Brighton East ensures residents are provided with a range of resources that provide comfort independence and familiarity.

Hurlingham Park and Landcox Lake Park are both close by and offer natural green areas with open spaces picnic facilities bird life manicured gardens and wide level paths for easy wheel chair access. A heritage-listed church is located within the facility grounds allowing ease of access for residents and their families. Vasey Brighton East is conveniently located between two neighbourhood shopping precincts with cafes supermarket restaurants and newsagency.Vasey Brighton East has full government accreditation and offers128 spacious rooms with private ensuite and flat screen TVDouble rooms for couples. Each bedroom fully cabled for personal telephone television and internet. Well-equipped activities areas promoting leisure and social interaction in a relaxed environment Onsite hairdressing salon Spacious dining areas for residents and private dining room for family celebrations. A number of comfortable lounge rooms with large screen TV and Foxtel. Extensive gardens and terracing. BBQ area walking paths and seating.

Room Name

ROOMS 18-19, 82-83

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

17.4

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair flat screen TV and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Located in leafy Brighton East our facility is close to spacious parklands and Port Phillip Bay beaches. Vasey Brighton East ensures residents are provided with a range of resources that provide comfort independence and familiarity.Hurlingham Park and Landcox Lake Park are both close by and offer natural green areas with open spaces picnic facilities bird life manicured gardens and wide level paths for easy wheel chair access. A heritage-listed church is located within the facility grounds allowing ease of access for residents and their families. Vasey Brighton East is conveniently located between two neighbourhood shopping precincts with cafes supermarket restaurants and newsagency.Vasey Brighton East has full government accreditation and offers128 spacious rooms with private ensuite and flat screen TVDouble rooms for couplesEach bedroom fully cabled for personal telephone television and internetWell-equipped activities areas promoting leisure and social interaction in a relaxed environmentOnsite hairdressing salonSpacious dining areas for residents and private dining room for family celebrationsA number of comfortable lounge rooms with large screen TV and FoxtelExtensive gardens and terracingBBQ area walking paths and seating areasHeritage-listed church on the siteOnsite visitor car parkingImmediate access to public transportEnvironmentally friendly buildingCafe.

Aged Care Directory
My Account