Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(73 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Vasey RSL Care Bundoora

We Welcome You
Vasey RSL Care Bundoora is part of the Vasey RSL Care organisation which has a history of supporting the ex-service community.
Vasey RSL Care Bundoora was purpose-built, with beautiful private courtyards and a view to the hills north of Melbourne.

About Vasey RSL Care Bundoora
Vasey RSL Care has a proud tradition of supporting veterans and war widows, with RSL Care Victoria supporting veterans since World War I and Vasey Housing Victoria helping war widows from World War II.
Around 80% of our residents have a background with the Australian Defence Forces or are the widows of ex-service personnel (sometimes both), while the other 20% are from the general public.

Every Vasey RSL Care Home is Unique
Vasey RSL Care Bundoora has everything you’d expect – home-made food, laundry service, health services and an extensive program of activities, with our own bus for regular outings.
But the thing that makes us unique is our people. Our residents share traditional Australian values – humour, mateship, perseverance, generosity, courage and a larrikin spirit – values bred through a lifetime of living and working in this great country.
Vasey RSL Care is committed to the best possible quality of care, and as a not-for-profit, every dollar is returned to the organisation to help fulfill this commitment. Our staff ratios are substantially higher than the industry average, both in care staff and in qualified clinical staff. We invest in our staff to ensure they have the skills and knowledge to deliver respectful, evidence-based care.
We aim for excellence in aged care with residents at the centre of everything we do.

18 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Eliane3834 Sep 27, 2018

As the facility is smaller than most (90 beds) I found it, the staff and the care to be more personal. However, at times, I feel the staffing level in the Dementia area could be increased particularly during meal times.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care Bundoora. We are happy to hear that you found the care to be more personal and were happy with staff. We will ensure your comments are passed on to the relevant decision-makers.
Oct 16, 2018

Viola9858 Sep 25, 2018

My mum moved into Vasey House in Bundoora, Victoria. My mum was in palliative care and was cared for by extremely caring and sensitive staff. Mums time at Vasey was 6 weeks. Our family was kept informed and we were listened to by staff. We are very grateful that mum spent her last weeks at Vasey.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience of the care at Vasey RSL Care Bundoora, especially at such a difficult time. It’s good to hear that you were happy with the staff and the care they gave to your mum in her last few weeks. We hope your comments will help others who are seeking the right home for themselves or their loved one. Kind regards, Janna Voloshin, CEO.
Nov 12, 2018

Coral123 Jul 31, 2017

Activities could have been better. More variety

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about Vasey House Bundoora and to give a five star rating. Your comments regarding the activities will be passed on to the Residential Manager there, and if you would like to provide further details or suggestions, we would love to hear from you – please contact the Residential Manager on 03 9466 9615. Thanks again for your feedback and for assisting others to make an informed choice about aged care. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Aug 02, 2017

Elisabeth1840 Jul 31, 2017

Generally the standard of care and the interest shown in the welfare of the residents is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for writing a review about Vasey House Bundoora for Aged Care Reviews. We are very happy to hear that you find the standard of care to be excellent. We appreciate you providing this review to assist others in making an informed decision about care for themselves or their loved ones. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Aug 03, 2017

Kaspa3 Jul 29, 2017

There are some very attentive nurses, but on occasion they have failed dismally eg. ringing me to say Mym only had one bra and it was being washed, so she wasn't able to do anything til the next day. When I arrived I asked the person who was on duty putting clothes away. She suggested looking in her drawers which I did. On top of her lingerie drawer I found another crumpled in some clothing. Now what do you make of that? Laziness? Incompetence? Carelessness? Another thing is moving her to different rooms eg once to be closer to the nurses station, for quick response. However her vacated room became a lounge for a couple, using 2 rooms. They are no longer there. Lastly now in high care seems cleaning has decreased in quality.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey House on Aged Care Reviews. We are pleased to hear that you have had good experiences with our staff, but concerned to hear that there have been problems with your mum’s laundry and with moving rooms, and that you feel that the cleaning is not of a good enough standard. I will take up these issues with the Residential Manager, and if you would like to speak to her further about these matters, please call her on 03 9466 9615. I sincerely hope that we can resolve these issues and ensure that your mum receives the care you expect for her. Thank you again for reviewing our home in Bundoora. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Aug 02, 2017

Gene5275 Jun 30, 2017

My mother has been at Vasey Bundoora for about 2 years now as a result of her high care dementia. The Manager at the time was a God send with her compassion, understanding, and unwavering care which gave us great confidence in Mum,s future there. Thank you for the opportunity to take part in this survey and whilst I have found Vasey House to be extremely good, since the former manager's departure, I have some concerns about the following: 1. Several time on my arrival there were no staff visible in my mother's area. 2. There seems to be less 'official' staff on the floor. 3. Agency staff seem to outnumber Vasey staff. 4. Another family member witnessed a staff member being 'balled out' in front of residents which I find at best, inappropriate and at worst, unprofessional. 5. The residents are elderly Australians and there had been several occasions where the food provided has had too much 'Indian' influence with spices that are unpalatable to my mother and other elderly residents. While there has been an adjustment, it continues. Last Saturday, none of the residents could eat their lunch for this reason. 6. Over time I have got to know some of the other residents and on a couple of occasions, on talking to one of them before seeing Mum, I have recently smelt body odour on her that I haven't detected before. Is this due to staff shortages? My concern is: the level of care appears to have deteriorated since the former manager's departure. Is this a shift in Management 'style' to achieve cost saving measures? Considering the amount my family had to pay for Mums entry to Vasey and the near $2000.00 monthly fee, I am disappointed that the once excellent accommodation, atmosphere and care under former manager's management is slowly becoming average.

Was this review helpful?  1

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey House Bundoora for Aged Care Reviews. We were very happy to hear of your confidence in your mother’s care, but sorry to hear that you are experiencing a drop in confidence due to the concerns you have outlined here. As you mention, our home has had a change of management with our former Residential Manager retiring after many years with us, and it took us a little while to find the right person to replace someone of her calibre. Our new Residential Manager is committed to our organisation’s vision of Excellence in Aged Care, ensuring the best quality of service possible for all our residents, and I would like to reassure you that no cost-saving measures have been introduced as a result of the changeover. I will bring the points you raise to the attention of the General Manager – Aged Care Services, and ask her to look into them as a matter of priority. We are grateful to you for providing your comments so that we have the opportunity to remedy the issues you raised. We would be very happy to hear from you if you would like to discuss your concerns further: please contact our General Manager Aged Care Services on 03 9810 5500. Yours sincerely Janna Voloshin, CEO
Jul 07, 2017

Megane8002 May 31, 2017

From the time of entering I knew this residence would be right for me. And after 12 months here I'm not wrong. I cannot find one complaint as everything is perfect. The staff are most helpful and well trained to help aged all that they can. I can say I am happier that I have been for years. I don't have enough time in a day to keep up with the activities which are excellent. I welcome all new residents and make them feel like home - would have no hesitation recommending the residence, in fact I have already done so. Our new manager is first class, hands on and very friendly. Very popular with the residents.

Was this review helpful?  1

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Vasey House and the staff there. It is wonderful to hear that you are so happy and feel so at home. And thank you for recommending Vasey House and helping others settle in – making new friends is such an important aspect of making the move to a residential home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 31, 2017

Tianna2623 May 30, 2017

I have been in Aged Care for nearly 6 years. It's hard to leave your home and it takes a while to adapt, most people I speak to find breakfast time very hard to get used to. It's nice to sleep in, when your on your own. It's up to you to join or stay in your room. The gardens are nice to have a stroll and the medical care that we get is 1st class.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for writing a review of Vasey House on Aged Care Reviews. Your comments will be very helpful to others making the move to residential aged care, and we appreciate you taking the time to write this. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 31, 2017

Bulldogs2016 May 30, 2017

Dad said he is happy being a resident here.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for your review – very glad to know your dad is happy at Vasey House Bundoora. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

Flavio3619 May 25, 2017

Great Care and attention from outset and throughout residency. Can't complain about anything

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Flavio Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Vasey House for Aged Care Reviews. It is great to hear that you are happy with everything and we appreciate you taking the time to assist others make an informed choice about their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 25, 2017

Shirley1 May 23, 2017

The care at Vasey House is very good. Staff fantastic and caring. Food tasty. Plenty of activities offered.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Shirley Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review to Aged Care Reviews. We very much appreciate it. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 24, 2017

Lawrie Cox May 05, 2017

Both my parents have been at Vasey House and my Mother is still there. I have seen a few facilities with differing levels and confidently say that Vasey House is an outstanding facility. The staff have been fantastic to the residents and go the distance in trying to keep them active with events and activities throughout the year. Like all facilities they struggle to keep numbers up but the management like to ensure that any concerns are addressed ASAP. My comment on the food is purely due to a change in chef which is being worked on by the team. The nursing staff are great and always in touch notifying any issue even though my Mother thinks most is unnecessary i have every confidence that her welfare is first and foremost. My parents both chose to go into Vasey which made it easy for the family. Albeit that Dad was reluctant to give up his 'independence' he acknowledged that his care was fantastic and when he passed the staff were extremely caring toward our family. It is a difficult decision to make but i know of a number of families who are very thankful once the family member has settled in at Vasey.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Lawrie Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your lovely comments about Vasey House and the staff there and are very glad to hear that both your parents are receiving/received the care and support you wish for them. Thank you for helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 11, 2017

Isabel9283 May 01, 2017

Change of management seven months ago has resulted in a downgrading of service, communication and support. However, compared with others I would still recommend it.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Isabel Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review to Aged Care Reviews. We are very happy to hear that you would recommend Vasey House. Our home has had a change of management with our former Residential Manager retiring after many years with us. It took us a few months to find the right person to replace someone of her calibre and our new Residential Manager joined us in January. Our new Residential Manager is committed to our organisation’s vision of Excellence in Aged Care and to ensuring the best quality of service possible for all our residents. We would be very happy to hear from you if you would like to discuss your concerns further: please contact our General Manager Aged Care Services on 03 9810 5500. Thank you again for reviewing our home at Bundoora. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 03, 2017

Tanya1081 May 01, 2017

An excellent facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Tanya Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review to Aged Care Reviews. We very much appreciate it. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 02, 2017

Bev Robinson Nov 24, 2015

The facility and care provide to my mother was exceptional. The management and staff were fantastic to deal with. All request were met with openness and a willingness to assist. The care and kindness shown to my mother in the palliative stages of her care was exceptional. They looked after the family too at this difficult time. Providing refreshments for the family while we were spending many hours at the facility with our dying mother. The dedication of the staff and making my mother as comfortable as was humanly possible. Our family is forever indebted to the staff at this facility.

Was this review helpful?  2

Elissa711 Jul 09, 2015

My mother has been in this facility for about 4 years. quality of care goes up and down. reasonably happy, but not many activities for the blind.

Was this review helpful?  

kayfen2009 Aug 06, 2014

would like to see more activities that the blind can do.

Was this review helpful?  

lornaa May 08, 2014

Vasey house is a warm inviting and caring home. Both my mother and father inlaw have spent many, many years here. They have been treated with the utmost respect and genuine kindness. There years here have been quality for both themselves and we family. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are professional and never less than cheerful. One thing that always strikes me as I enter Vasey House is the warmth, sunshine and incredible cleanliness. It is truly a home away from home.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Vasey RSL Care Bundoora

Vasey RSL Care Bundoora is located close to the Mt Cooper Estate in Bundoora, an iconic and sophisticated area with buildings of authentic charm. Manicured gardens and safe internal courtyards are central to the peaceful atmosphere, making Vasey RSL Care Bundoora the perfect setting for residents and families to enjoy times together. A varied activity program is offered to residents including gardening, pet therapy, mens group and extensive outings schedule. Visiting school children provide companionship and support to enhance the residents day-to-day life. Our dementia unit (memory support centre) provides the latest in care practices and aims to enrich the lives of residents by providing a safe, secure and happy environment.

Available Rooms

Room Name

ROOMS 3, 6, 10, 12, 66, 67

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

15.3

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable. Original artworks by an Australian artist are on display throughout the facility.

Room Name

ROOM 11

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

17.3

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable. Original artworks by an Australian artist are on display throughout the facility.

Room Name

ROOMS 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 13-65, 68-90

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

13.5

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable. Original artworks by an Australian artist are on display throughout the facility.

For Individuals
Menu has no items available
Company
Menu has no items available
Aged Care Directory
Menu has no items available
My Account
For Providers
Menu has no items available
Info Centre