Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(72 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Vasey RSL Care Frankston South

We Welcome You
Vasey RSL Care Frankston South is part of the Vasey RSL Care organisation, which has a history of supporting the ex-service community.
Vasey RSL Care Frankston South is set in extensive grounds, shared with our Frankston South Independent Living Units, and only a few minutes from the beach.

About Vasey RSL Care
Vasey RSL Care has a proud tradition of supporting veterans and war widows, with RSL Care Victoria supporting veterans since World War I and Vasey Housing Victoria helping war widows from World War II.
Around 80% of our residents have a background with the Australian Defence Forces or are the widows of ex-service personnel (sometimes both), while the other 20% are from the general public.

Every Vasey RSL Care Home is Unique
Vasey RSL Care Frankston South has everything you’d expect – home-made food, laundry service, health services and an extensive program of activities, with our own bus for regular outings.
But the thing that makes us unique is our people. Our residents share traditional Australian values – humour, mateship, perseverance, generosity, courage and a larrikin spirit – values bred through a lifetime of living and working in this great country.
Vasey RSL Care is committed to the best possible quality of care, and as a not-for-profit, every dollar is returned to the organisation to help fulfill this commitment. Our staff ratios are substantially higher than the industry average, both in care staff and in qualified clinical staff. We invest in our staff to ensure they have the skills and knowledge to deliver respectful, evidence-based care.
We aim for excellence in aged care with residents at the centre of everything we do.

17 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Lavinia1590 Apr 11, 2019

My 94 year old mother has only been in aged care about 6 weeks, transitioning from her retirement village as her needs required greater individual care. So far the move has been exceptionally positivr. She is much happier, less stressed and has found the friendliness and attention of staff to be amazing, as well as delighted in not having to worry about meals. She has enjoyed all meals so far. Round the clock nursing staff is a real winner. The social activities have been varied and stimulating. Even mum has said she should have moved earlier.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your views on our Frankston South home. We are very pleased to hear that your mother is happy in her new home and that you are happy with the care she is receiving. Your review is appreciated and will help others making this difficult decision.
Apr 24, 2019

Reese5082 Sep 28, 2018

My mother is in a dementia wing/ward and the administration and staff openly embraced a review and suggestions put forward by Dementia Australia ( I think that is their title!) As a result there have been some positive changes.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for writing a review about Vasey RSL Care Frankston South. We are very pleased to hear that you are happy with the progress that is being made at the memory support unit and that you feel there have been positive changes. Thanks for taking the time to provide useful information and assist others looking for the right care for themselves or their loved ones.
Oct 16, 2018

Efren5568 Sep 25, 2018

Excellent staff

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for your review.
Apr 24, 2019

Alisha3209 Sep 25, 2018

Vasey RSL care excellent staff and that’s what counts

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Vasey RSL Care Frankston South - we are very happy to hear that you think so highly of our staff there.
Nov 12, 2018

Stevie4307 Aug 03, 2017

Lovely staff who always show respect. Visiting GPs are amazing. They take a personal interest in each patient and go out of their way to check on patients if they are not well. I feel that residents could be more involved in hands-on activities e.g. cooking, craft activities, excursions etc

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for writing a review about RSL Park Frankston South. It’s great to hear that you are happy with the staff and visiting GPs, and we note your comments regarding the activity program, which I will bring to the attention of the Residential Manager. We appreciate you taking the time to provide information to help others make an informed choice about residential care. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Aug 08, 2017

Litzy5262 Jul 31, 2017

Home away from home just love it

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care’s home at Frankston South. We are glad to hear that you are so happy there and we appreciate you providing your comments to assist others in making an informed decision about residential living. Kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Aug 02, 2017

Donna Jun 08, 2017

It's a good facility over all it's about the people, their lifestyle co-ordinator is lazy, therefore the activities for men is poor. But then, some of the staff are excellent!

Was this review helpful?  1

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Donna Thank you for taking the time to write a review about RSL Park Frankston South for Aged Care Reviews. We were happy to hear that you feel it is good overall and that some staff are excellent. However, we were concerned about your other comments and we would be grateful to you if you would contact us to see how we can improve what we are offering. Please will you contact the Residential Manager on 03 9787 2844 at your convenience. With thanks and kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Jun 14, 2017

Gunner May 29, 2017

Only entered facility six weeks ago, but my early impressions are all favourable. Staff are attentive, polite, helpful.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Vasey RSL Care for Aged Care Reviews. We are very pleased to hear that all is going well so far and we hope that you continue to settle in well, make friends and find some things on the program that interest you. We appreciate you providing this information so that others can make an informed decision about their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 30, 2017

jenweb55 May 29, 2017

As the daughter of a 96 year old resident, the staff have been fully supportive to me, as well as my Mother. It must be difficult to feed a number of people with different tasted and diverse backgrounds. I find the food a bit bland, but I accept spicy food may not agree with all residents. In my mother's section, Park Lodge, all the rooms have a lovely courtyard view. Other relatives who have visited are very impressed with staff, cleanliness and surroundings.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Aged Care Reviews about Vasey RSL Care. We were delighted to hear that the care your mother receives at RSL Park Frankston South is what you want for her and that you too feel supported. We note your comment about the food, and as you say, it can be difficult to cater for all tastes. If you would like to speak with our Residential Manager, she would be very happy to hear from you. Thanks again for your review and for helping others make an informed choice about residential care. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and General Manager – Quality & Risk
May 29, 2017

Painbow May 25, 2017

It was a struggle to convince my dad to go into care. He has settled better than I could have thought. Dad constantly is telling me how wonderful everyone is and the care is just excellent. Thank you RSL Park for your care and everything you do for Dad. I couldn't ask for a better place for his least years in his life.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care’s RSL Park in Frankston South. It is good to know that your dad has settled in well and is enjoying his new home. Thank you for providing information to help others make an informed choice on their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 26, 2017

Watson818 May 25, 2017

I am very satisfied with my husbands aged care placement at Vasey Lodge. He is so well cared for in every respect and I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care. We are very happy to hear that you are so pleased with your husband’s new home. It’s great to know that you have no hesitation in recommending our home to others. Thank you for helping others seeking residential care for their loved ones. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 26, 2017

Scout May 25, 2017

The buildings and grounds are excellent. The staff are wonderful - helpful, kind and patient. The staff are permanent - very rarely agency - so residents are seeing the same people on a daily basis. The GPs are excellent. They see the residents regularly and confer with the family monthly. As a family, we believe that the aged care GP must have an important part in the decision making process when the resident ends up in hospital. Also, no matter the age of the person, they should have access to allied health services - eg: physio, rehabilitation, etc when needed.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Scout Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care’s RSL Park in Frankston South. We are delighted to read your comments and to hear that you are reassured, knowing that your loved one is happy there. Thank you for providing information that helps others make an informed choice about their future home. Kind regards Annette Greenwood, CEO (Acting) and GM Quality and Risk
May 26, 2017

Ona9528 May 23, 2017

I have been living at the above for over 4 years and have nothing but kindness and concern shown to me. I would recommend this lifestyle to anyone having to have their own home and needing a little extra care.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Ona Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your lovely comments about RSL Park and the staff there and are very glad to hear that you would recommend your lifestyle there. Thank you for helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 23, 2017

Mandy Palmer May 15, 2017

My mother has dementia but she is treated with kindness and dignity every day. She is clean, well groomed, warm, safe and well fed. The staff know me and welcome me warmly every time I visit mum. I can rest easily knowing she is well cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Mandy Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care on Aged Care Reviews. We appreciate your lovely comments about RSL Park in Frankston South and the staff there and are very glad to hear that your Mum is receiving the care and support you wish for her. Thank you for providing this review so that others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Annette Greenwood, CEO (acting) and GM Quality & Risk
May 15, 2017

Alysson5559 Oct 08, 2016

my father inlaw bob was there in the low care.The care and staff there were the best I'm glad we where able to have his last living years there. we will never forget how well they treated and cared for him . we all remember how happy he was when he was there

Was this review helpful?  

Gabriella7789 Aug 23, 2016

My mother died in this facility after her 3rd fall out of bed. Staff and management did nothing to prevent her from falling out of bed after the first and second fall. It was only after the third fall that they actually did something. All too little too late. They refused to put fall out mattresses on the floor to help protect her because they were "a trip hazard for staff". RN in charge told me that until she could ascertain WHY my mother was falling, there was nothing she could do. An absolute disgrace and I believe I would still have my mum with me today had something been done to protect her from falling.

Was this review helpful?  1

ceejaycee Sep 24, 2015

My Mother had a stroke and was admitted to the low care facility. As years passed she got steadily worse and finally ended up in the high care facility. The care and respect the staff had for their patients was amazing. Even when Mum was no longer aware of anything she was still well looked after until she passed away.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Vasey RSL Care Frankston South

Single rooms, with private ensuite facilities (a small number of twin rooms are available for couples).Resident focused care with trained staff on duty 24 hours,respite care,dementia-specific care,meals cooked fresh daily on the premises, comprehensive recreation and therapy programs,regular outings, with bus onsite,linen and laundry services,access to specialist health professionals, such as physiotherapy and podiatry.

Available Rooms

Room Name

PARK LODGE - ROOMS 1-33

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

33

Room size (sqm)

18.5

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Room Name

FLANDERS - ROOMS 1-9

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

9

Room size (sqm)

16

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Room Name

KAPYONG - ROOMS 1-18

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

18

Room size (sqm)

14.85

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Room Name

KOKODA - ROOMS 1-30

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

30

Room size (sqm)

16.9

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Room Name

PAXINO - ROOMS 1-30

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

30

Room size (sqm)

14.8

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Aged Care Directory
My Account