Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(72 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe

We Welcome You
Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe is part of the Vasey RSL Care organisation, which has a history of supporting the ex-service community.
Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe has mature private gardens, and borders the Austin Repatriation Hospital. Just across the road are our Ivanhoe Independent Living Units.

About Vasey RSL Care
Vasey RSL Care has a proud tradition of supporting veterans and war widows, with RSL Care Victoria supporting veterans since World War I and Vasey Housing Victoria helping war widows from World War II.
Around three quarters of our residents have a background with the Australian Defence Forces or are the widows of ex-service personnel (sometimes both), while the other third are from the general public.

Every Vasey RSL Care Home is Unique
Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe has everything you’d expect – home-made food, laundry service, health services and an extensive program of activities, with our own bus for regular outings.
But the thing that makes us unique is our people. Our residents share traditional Australian values – humour, mateship, perseverance, generosity, courage and a larrikin spirit – values bred through a lifetime of living and working in this great country.
Vasey RSL Care is committed to the best possible quality of care, and as a not-for-profit, every dollar is returned to the organisation to help fulfill this commitment. Our staff ratios are substantially higher than the industry average, both in care staff and in qualified clinical staff. We invest in our staff to ensure they have the skills and knowledge to deliver respectful, evidence-based care.
We aim for excellence in aged care with residents at the centre of everything we do.

5 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Deonte5931 Sep 27, 2018

Mum was 88 when she passed away last December 2017. She was in RSL Vasey in Ivanhoe. She went in and wasn't happy about it but in a short time made friends loved the outings and I couldn't begin to describe the staff. As she was dying they all came into her room popped a kiss on her head and talked to her. I stayed in the room for the last 4 days. I filled it with gardenias I had candles burning. I sang along with Elvis on her cd player. I gave her massages. She was unconscienious all this time but still the staff dropped in and talked to her. The place was a positive energy you could feel as you walked through the doors. Everyone was willing to talk to you and I never saw or heard a nasty word. It was all I could have wished for. I visited her at different times of the day and night and never felt that she was ever given anything but the best of care. I am forever grateful to the staff who would ring me if mum wasn't well and feeling lonely. They gave of themselves selflessly and cried with me in her final breath. If ever a person had a dignified gentle death it was my mum. I am so lucky to have had the experience and I know mum felt the same. RSL Vasey has my everlasting gratitude kindness love hugs. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write about your mum’s experience at Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe. We are very touched to read what you have written about her time there and it’s very good to know that you felt so supported by staff through this time. We appreciate you writing about your experience and enabling others to find out more about our organisation, and help them make their own decisions about aged care. Kind regards, Janna Voloshin, CEO
Oct 16, 2018

Joy Langham Jul 29, 2017

The building is all on one level. The building has lots of big windows so it is light and airy. Winter sunshine pours in the windows. There is seating in lots of little nooks so residents can feel the sun on them while they read. The residence has big bedrooms and the bathroom is a great size. Staff are all top level and they genuinely care for the residents. If any one is feeling a little lonely or upset they get hugs and encouraging words from staff. The physiotherapy is wonderful - Mum has been here 2 years. It is so pleasant to see her so well looked after it has taken the weight out of my shoulders. Drs are rang immediately when a resident is unwell. Family are help apprised. I would highly recommend this facility - it is a little slice of heaven.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Dear Joy Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Vasey RSL Care’s home at Ivanhoe. We appreciate your lovely comments about Sir William Hall Hostel, the staff there and the services provided. We are very happy to hear that your mum is receiving the care you wish for her and that it has helped make life a little easier all round. Thank you for helping others have the information they need to make an informed decision. We appreciate it. Yours sincerely Janna Voloshin, CEO
Jul 31, 2017

Quinten4440 Jun 30, 2017

My father has been at Sir William Hall Hostel for three years. Being a small facility the regular staff know the residents and this improves the quality of care. When approached directly, the current manager is very responsive to concerns (the previous manager was not). It is a good facility if the resident is mobile and able to go on the excursions. The excursions lack variety and often residents only go on them to get out of the facility. The excursions use a minibus which my father fell in when he tried to use it and he has not been on an excursion since. He is now in a wheelchair and only participates in activities once or twice a week (bingo, scrabble, films). He spends most of his time in his room as the activities on offer do not appeal to him. The administration of medications can be erratic (up to 3 hours difference in time) and incorrect.

Was this review helpful?  

Vasey RSL Care

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your father’s experience at Sir William Hall Hostel. We are happy to hear that you are finding the Residential Manager to be responsive to you, but we were concerned to hear of the issues that you mention regarding the excursions and medication administration. I will take up your issues with the manager responsible and ask her to look into them as a matter of priority. We appreciate you taking the time to provide these comments so that we have the opportunity to remedy the issues you raised. If you would like to speak to me about your concerns, please call 03 9810 5500. With thanks and kind regards Janna Voloshin, CEO
Jun 30, 2017

Greyson5719 Nov 08, 2016

Great place staff are very caring and compassionate to each individual resident

Was this review helpful?  

Dennis3651 Sep 25, 2015

My mum was in Sir William Hall Hostel in Heidelberg for 2 years 3 months before she passed away. The staff were just beautiful caring people, they treated the residents with love and dignity. I can not fault the care my mum was given. The meals were good. The facility clean. Only once was there reason to make a complaint and it was dealt with the same day.

Was this review helpful?  2

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe

Vasey RSL Care Ivanhoe, a purpose-built 50-bed low care facility, opened in 1997. Native gum trees, which surround the front of the building, give it an appealing facade.The home comprises five 'houses', which are linked together by walkways. They are secure and provide a more intimate environment. Staff fully support the notion that the facility is the residents' home, with flexible routines and respect for individual choices.A special feature of this facility is its proximity to Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital, with direct access to the Hospital campus.There is an on-site bus and outings take place each week. An active lifestyle program provides social and cultural outlets for residents, based on their personal choices.

Available Rooms

Room Name

ROOMS 1-50

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

50

Room size (sqm)

13.6

Room Description

Rooms are modern clean and well maintained. Each room includes an electric single bed bedside cabinet wardrobe armchair and private ensuite bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Common areas including sitting lounge with large screen TV dining rooms and kitchenettes are warm inviting and comfortable.

Aged Care Directory
My Account