Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Estia Health Residential Services

58 businesses total

Estia Health Residential Services

(3.6)
  • 357 Camberwell Rd Camberwell VIC 3124
  • Phone - (03) 9811 9777
  • 146 reviews
3.6 (146 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Ursula6018

Oct 1, 2018

The staff at Golden Grove is very supportive and the management team is very approachable. The quality of care and food is up to high standards.

Was this review helpful?  

Deon4274

Oct 1, 2018

Having a mother in the facility for almost three years. Staff have always been found supportive and management team is approachable. The quality of food and care is always up to high standards.

Was this review helpful?  

Franco8466

Sep 29, 2018

Re my Aunt Maud (92yrs old)who has been in nursing home care since February this year having lost her mobility. I speak on behalf of my father (her brother) my brother and my husband. Aunt was extremely frail after a long hospitalisation in Sydney. Since admission to the nursing home has improved in so many ways.Physically her weight and energy levels have increased.Mentally her attitude to life has been enhanced by the wonderful care and detail to attention always delivered in a most positive way.

Was this review helpful?  

Pierce5092

Sep 28, 2018

Nurses and carers need more training and caring for each individual. Carers should not take short cuts especially transferring a resident with not the right equipment and putting them in danger and discomfort. Getting to the resident in time to toilet them not half an hour later and then it's too late, and resident is very upset and.could get aggressive with every right. Making sure they have access to water and reachable for them especially if they are not mobile. Changes in a resident should always be passed on in hand overs which is not being done. When changing shifts carers and nurses should be sitting down around the table going through each and every resident . When resident is pressing the buzzer for help no carer should make comments like .. what do you want again or telling them don't press the buzzer again making them feel like they don't care for them. Listening to the resident s needs and not ignoring them . Not to treat all residents the same they are individuals with different needs. Not near enough staff on puts pressure on the carers and that's how mistakes happen. Food- having no choices but same meal and one type for everyone. More variety is needed. I've tasted their food and it is not to qualify standards. Listen to the resident, let them have a voice!!!!!!! Don't assume everyone in the nursing home is incompetent and can't think for them selves. Lucky for some residents they have family to fight their every day battles. Would you want your loved ones to go through this on their last so many years they have to be alive.??? These are human beings that should treated with respect. Show some love and caring. Carers please care and nurses take control when management is not around. Do the right thing.

Was this review helpful?  

Philip419

Sep 27, 2018

This property is lovely, with modern, stylish decor and beautiful lounge areas. The staff are always pleasant and helpful, but like many Aged Care Facilities, it needs more staff. The food my relative eats is bland and repetitive. We are happy with the care, but there is room for improvement.

Was this review helpful?  

Roy347

Sep 26, 2018

Caring for the elderly has its challenges, staff and management vary enormously just as in other professions. Whilst some things have been missed with my parents, particularly my father because he had some dementia, and it was disappointing, no one can expect 100% all the time. When my father was dying some staff who had been close to him came in to say goodbye, I was astounded by their genuine empathy and fondness for my father when you consider how often someone in an aged care facility would pass away and their concern and care for our family. In an age where abuse in nursing homes is a hot topic I am pleased to be able to say to date our family has not suspected or observed anything but appropriate care for our parents.

Was this review helpful?  

Abigayle1270

Sep 26, 2018

Staff are pleasant, happy, very caring and friendly to residents, family and friends. Very professional.

Was this review helpful?  

Libbie2791

Sep 26, 2018

The staff have been excellent in their caring and understanding. The whole intake process was extremely daunting for the family and there was a constant change of staff and lack of communication which made everything more complicated than it needed to be. The actual care staff have been excellent so far.

Was this review helpful?  

Morgan6984

Sep 26, 2018

My mum was in care for 12 months following a psychotic depression breakdown, after a long hospital stay in a mental health unit. Facility staff were mostly good however not trained appropriately for mental health issues in aged care. They only had one mental health nurse visiting weekly and one RN per floor per 20 residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Zelda2062

Sep 25, 2018

I would recommend Estia health Goldengrove to any one that is needing to place someone into age care , their level of care is excellent couldn’t ask for more.

Was this review helpful?  

Vivien5131

Sep 25, 2018

Inexperienced staff Not enough staff to number of residents Management not interested in family's concerns.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lon4828

Sep 25, 2018

My mother who is 96 has been at Estia Aged Care in Elizabeth St, Oakleigh East. She has been there now for 6 years. I have found the care to be excellent, extremely thoughtful, kind care. They always ring me every month, they act on my concerns. My Mum came in very ill and over the years she has developed mild dementia. She is enjoying the entertainments and activities and yes is bored sometimes but mostly very happy. I am so grateful for the excellent care at this place. I visit every two - three days and I am an active carer for my Mum. My partner is 72 and very ill with lung cancer and other problems and he is now there also receiving different care and different challengers. It has upset me very much to hear of the awful stories of aged care problems, yes it is not a perfect system but it is what it is.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldora6363

Sep 25, 2018

Most disgusting facility ever. I wouldn,t send my worst enemy there. They look after your loved ones when you are watching them and ignore their existence when you leave. They treated my elderly mother like she was a nuisance , didn't clean her properly, made her sleep on the floor in case she fell, turned her monitor off at night so they couldnt hear her and if she didnt eat her breakfast due to being still asleep, took her meal away and made her wait until morning tea. This place is short staffed, very nice on the surface or if you are in respite, and once your loved one is booked in,,,,,,forget to care for them...They are too busy getting another new resident.

Was this review helpful?  

Alvina6382

Sep 25, 2018

Very unhappy with process, service, follow up regarding my Mum and Aunt being residents in low care facility. Also unhappy with knowing where to complain or get assistance from MyAgedCare.

Was this review helpful?  

Mrsmuzza

Sep 25, 2018

I’ve had experience of workin in a facility as well as my Dad recently spending time living in a facility. Both have been fantastic with awesome staff who want to look after the residents to the best of their ability. It is such a pity a few bad people have put all centres into the spotlight.

Was this review helpful?  

Lela2666

Sep 25, 2018

I was recently on four corners my mum was abused at estia health Epping. It was a horrible experience. I am suffering from this and will never recover.

Was this review helpful?  2

berman

Sep 25, 2018

We had a relation living at Estia Manly Vale for about 6 months and in that time we felt secure that she was being well treated (although one of our family had reservations about one staff member) but on the whole we were happy, she became a very different person, was a problem for the home and this from a very intelligent woman - we were more concerned that the home wouldn't be able to manage her so were pleased when they took extra steps to make sure she was secure but not restraint. Moire Berman Manly 25.10.'18

Was this review helpful?  1

Lilly4136

Sep 25, 2018

My mother has been in residential care now for just over 12 months. She is looking so much healthier and happy since being there. I tried to place her in care for a while as dad died 6 years ago and mum was gradually going down hill but she just wasn't going to admit she needed help.

Was this review helpful?  

Xavier8621

Sep 25, 2018

More personal carers to shower and cut nails etc and to help with dressing and makeup would be good. That way the clients are not rushed.

Was this review helpful?  

Ignacio8806

Sep 25, 2018

My mother was in a Nursing Home for 3 years. While the staff were generally caring, the poor staff/patient ratio did not allow them to spend quality time with residents. There were 3 managers in 3 years, the most recent did her best and was very caring and professional. My mother did not have dementia and at times found she was 'talked down to' and treated as if she did. I saw evidence of that as I was a regular visitor. It is also difficult for residents to hear, understand and communicate effectively with nurses/carers whose 1st language is not English. I also found the billing process very confusing whereby I was constantly querying monthly invoices - in 100% of contact with their finance area I was found to be correct. I am pleased that this industry is being investigated as there are a lot of people making a lot of money at the expense of the elderly - and we're all going to get there one day! Our aging loved ones deserve every bit of care and respect as do our children.

Was this review helpful?