Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

McKenzie Aged Care Group

16 businesses total

McKenzie Aged Care Group

(3.8)
  • 1/240 Bay St Brighton VIC 3186
  • Phone - 1300 899 222
  • 53 reviews
3.8 (53 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

rainford

Dec 16, 2018

the carpet needs replacing

Was this review helpful?  

Elfrieda5052

Nov 17, 2018

Very good care, staff attentive and caring

Was this review helpful?  

Athena6767

Nov 7, 2018

Staff at this facility are mostly very good, efficient and friendly. There are parking issues.

Was this review helpful?  

Elizabeth3601

Oct 2, 2018

The building always looks clean and impressive. More however needs to be invested in staff to provide quality care. There are simply not enough staff for the number of residents, which clearly means the quality of care is compromised. There are not enough activities to stimulate residents.

Was this review helpful?  2

Lia5883

Sep 26, 2018

Overall very good, however at times the staff reaction times to a call for assistance has been inadequate, when sufficient staff were on duty. Most staff are very good, with only a few who don't seem suited to aged care, having no respect for privacy or needs and lack compassion. Inattention to detail many times when breakfasts are delivered to room, such as missing cutlery or milk for cereal.

Was this review helpful?  

Maybelle5543

Sep 26, 2018

Facility is not so young but very "comfortable" generally staff is good , week ends a bit scarce but overall quite good. Staff training could be better but seem to use regular staff not agency good for continuity. Food generally varied and seem to be well presented. Medical care is generally good with medication but lacking in specific care such as special medical appointments. Doctor fair at best needs supervision and follow up. Activities seem to be above normal and excursions very common and good quality. Facility is very poor in areas where in house activities take place and improvement is needed. Does not have that "institutional Feel" that is so common in many place especially the newer places has a much more "at home " feel. Visitor car parking is very difficult. Out door space for residence is excellent but very limited enabling very poor "gardening activity" limited. Caring staff is good can speak clearly and understand English important when you are dealing with hearing impaired persons. Overall a good place could do with some improvement but better than some and feel is good .

Was this review helpful?  1

Luigi878

Sep 26, 2018

Great staff, good tucker and some good programs to help residents stay connected.

Was this review helpful?  

Delfina5248

Sep 25, 2018

My concern is that my father who has dementia , can’t express himself and his concerns . He generally spends most of his day alone in his room . He needs daily assurance as he doesn’t understand where he is and why ? Rarely does any one sit with him to have a chat . Although the carers are generally friendly and cheerful . His medical needs are met and I am satisfied his doctor is looking after him well with regular updates from the nurse in charge . However the constant change in nursing staff and carers is always a concern with little continuity . Access to physio and physical activity is minimal on his level and would recommend that daily exercise be introduced in each level would be preferable even for those who have limited movement . Finally the cost for self funded retirees is astronomical. $8000 a month for 6 months of the year is unacceptable especially if his income is just above the cut off . He has no access to health card or pharmaceutical benefits. My parents worked very hard all their lives and never required assistance from the government in any way . My parents lived a simple life but were always planning for a comfortable retirement. It is heartbreaking and unacceptable that some people cheat the system or can gain or benefit more than others . All elderly people should be treated equally and fairly. There are many families struggling to pay the high costs of aged care and creating more unnecessary stress and worry . Accreditation and site visits needs to change and be random and unannounced . And those who are found guilty for any charge of assault , should be jailed and not be under home detention. Unacceptable! Facilities should be fined and government must introduce a star rating and review system . We can do better . And most importantly the emotional needs and wellbeing of our elderly must be a priority. More qualified and well paid staff must also be addressed and recognition of the exceptional people who care for our elderly .

Was this review helpful?  

Ernie8896

Sep 25, 2018

My mother has been a resident here for nearly 3 years and the quality of the accommodation and the service of all the staff is second to none. Would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?  

Rubie93

Sep 25, 2018

Started off well but change of management and huge turnover of staff saw major changes that weren’t always for the better The quality of food served was terrible - residents complaints fell on deaf ears Lots of ESL staff made communication difficult

Was this review helpful?  

Javonte4928

Sep 25, 2018

The Home has since changed hands ,from when my husband was there , looked all lovely , but the food was shocking ,myself and several others complained but was told nothing wrong with food ,I wouldn't feed it to my dog , I took food in and so did my daughter in law , my husband had so many falls broken wrists ,broken cheekbones , bruising all over his face ,eye closed shut from swelling , taken to hospital on several occasions ,last one ambulance officer asked head nurse how far did he fall ,she actually laughed and said however tall he is that's how far he fell ,thought it was a great joke , she was a big fat woman and she was always sitting down ,never saw her on her feet ,I took my husband out of that facility after six months ,he did have dementia , costing top dollar ,the care was disgraceful it was all about show , no one in dementia wing from 3pm for ages during shift changeover ,no one wanted to know about it , everybody was to scared to say anything in case your family member was punished .

Was this review helpful?  

Euna6087

Jul 25, 2018

This facilitys staff works hard to ensure the best quality of lifestyle they can for their residents. Many available activities in a warm friendly open home

Was this review helpful?  

Zackery5350

May 15, 2018

Great folks to deal with at a difficult time

Was this review helpful?  

Ima22

Feb 1, 2018

Inconsistent level of Residential Care and constant muck ups with Medication regimes

Was this review helpful?  4

Marisa48

Aug 1, 2017

The care my mother in law receives is exceptional. She can be a difficult resident at times but the staff are so understanding and caring. They provide a nurturing environment and always ensure the residences are receiving a high level of care. The staff are always very accommodating to our family as well which makes our visits a lot more enjoyable. We are definitely happy with our choice of famility.

Was this review helpful?  

Captain1

Jul 31, 2017

A clean welcoming caring facility. 90% of meals are delicious but repetitive meals cause some disgruntled residents. Caring staff but not enough of them on the floor so I worry things will take longer or short cuts taken. Wouldnt have my dad anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?  

Jade9850

Jul 5, 2017

I would not recommend Charlesbrook McKenzie Aged Care in Templestowe ( formerly Embracia). My mother was there for sixteen months and unfortunately the quality of care deteriorated during that time after McKenzie took over from Embracia. Unfortunately the new management are not interested in the residents. There is a strong commercial focus.Too many staffing issues. So many caring staff members left. Too many agency staff. Thankfully, we moved our mother to another facility as her health was deteriorating rapidly at Charlesbrook because of substandard care.

Was this review helpful?  1

Bernadine3582

Apr 20, 2016

Understaffed and under skilled. They were very good when our Dad was dying

Was this review helpful?  

Cyrus7572

Apr 20, 2016

Some of these questions are hard to score I have nothing against the staff they are understaffed so there for the care is not up to par. They are not around to know if person needs to be taken to the toilet. Unfortunately people need to be put in care but I would never recommend it. Again can not name facility as there has been 3 different story owners since my relative was put in there. So my only conclusion is that there is big money in these places for owners they move in do a whole lot of unnessary alterations at a big cost but no extra staff or better food for the resident. The particulat place my relative is in is only 8 years old.

Was this review helpful?  

Chase3608

Mar 15, 2016

My 92 year old mother has been a resident at the Terraces for 5 years.Its the happiest I have seen her since the death of my Dad in 2001.She delights in showing her family around the premises,meeting her friends

Was this review helpful?  1