Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Tallwoods Corner Aged Care

1 business total

Tallwoods Corner Aged Care

(3.0)
  • 1 Myra St Wahroonga NSW 2076
  • Phone - (02) 9847 3888
  • 9 reviews
3.0 (9 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Mel of Surry Hills

Jan 7, 2020

I highly recommend Tallwoods Corner and cannot thank the staff enough for the excellent care, kindness and support they provided to my father during his stay there. My Dad was 77 when he had a fall at home and doctors discovered he had well advanced cancer. My brother and I needed to find urgent respite and palliative care for him. We wanted somewhere closer to us in Sydney. Dad was in Tallwoods for about 11 weeks before he passed away. We had many of our extended family visiting during this time - who were all made to feel incredibly welcome. The Tallwoods team were kind enough to arrange a room for me to stay at Tallwoods for the last 7 days of my Dad's life, so I have had a unique intensive experience of the establishment, staff, and meals. It's a lovely building, close to the train and walking distance to Wahroonga Village and Hornsby. The rooms are clean, the garden beautiful, and staff attentive and caring. The meals were tasty, and we were also able to bring our own food and store in the communal fridge. My Dad was very reluctant to be in care. He was comfortable and very happy at Tallwoods. He felt a great deal of gratitude for the care and kindness he received. My family are extremely grateful for the generosity and support we had during Dad's last days. We feel very lucky we found Tallwoods.

Was this review helpful?  

Christian9743

Oct 26, 2018

Small purpose built facility with sheltered outdoor areas. Friendly attentive staff who recognise family when visiting. Good care, lifestyle staff try hard to find an activity to interest each resident. Undercover parking makes outings easy.

Was this review helpful?  1

Dewitt8053

Sep 6, 2017

Wonderful facility with great staff , 24 hour nursing and personal attention. Easy parking and 24hour access, a private dining room to use for functions and it really feels like home. Particularly liked the fact we could inspect with no appointment, and transparent pricing with no nasties. A four week rotating menu with lots of choice, and other selections if nothing appeals. Pleasant garden with a choice of sunny spots or shade to sit in, and regular activities for those who feel like joining in

Was this review helpful?  2

Jazmyne3344

Jul 31, 2017

Very disappointing care particularly on weekends and in relation to personal care and meal requirements, unexplainable injuries etc. Even worse considering the high cost financially.

Was this review helpful?  3

Hillary6606

Nov 22, 2016

Had my mother - in- law in care there for 14 months . We moved her out as the care was not good .She is now getting the care . We had spoken to management sent email no changes . I myself had worked in nursing home and had not seen the things I seen there . Food was not presented nice no gravy on food that was needed late most of the time . My mother-in-law was on level one thicker but did not get it all the time as staff did not understand . Also we had to buy folder cups as they didn't have them . Not good at all . 😟

Was this review helpful?  4

Jameson9852

Sep 10, 2015

worst place ever, GM makes promises to potential customers, with no delivery of care. very poorly managed. food inedible, short staffed, ratio 1 nurse to 10 residents, staff rude to residents, management dismissive of relatives concerns. people beware.

Was this review helpful?  4

Alexandrine2262

Aug 28, 2015

Building looks great but poorly staffed, especially on weekends. 80% of staff don't care - patients are not checked at all or not often enough, staff slow to answer call buttons, late showering of patients - some days not before 10am - morning tea is often late -11.20am or does not arrive. Patients individual requests are dismissed or not attended to. Food is generally ok but breakfast choice is poor - like soggy toast or soggy cornflakes. This is not good value for the high costs!! Hopefully the management can attend to these issues!

Was this review helpful?  

Okey5773

Aug 14, 2015

The building looks great from the outside and also inside. About 20% staff care about the residents. The other 80% see it as just a job. The staff numbers are ridiculously low and the costs are really high. The food is so so. The management needs a rocket up them . They need to employ more staff and actually improve the care they give. No wonder people are moving on.

Was this review helpful?  

Marjory6271

Jun 12, 2015

One beautiful lady looked after my mum and she herself was 69 and needed to pay her mortgage. She was Australian. Some of the young staff of other nationalities did not care, and did not bother to explain what was happening when asked. The quality of care on weekends when I could visit due to work commitments and distance was poor..................not enough staff.

Was this review helpful?  2