Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

UnitingSA

6 businesses total

UnitingSA

(3.8)
  • 70 Dale St Port Adelaide SA 5015
  • Phone - (08) 8440 2200
  • 15 reviews
3.8 (15 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Serena5644

Apr 11, 2019

Beautiful accomodation and facilities. Staff friendly and efficient, but like all aged care facilities, need more staff per client.

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected]

Feb 4, 2019

My mother was placed in this facility only 3 weeks ago after suffering a stroke on Christmas day and 3 weeks in the RAH. It was a rushed decision as my family was not prepared for this event. From the RAH she was discharged to St Margaret's which was just appalling so I wanted to get her out of there asap. The admissions officer was helpful however they play the role of sales for the facility so everything is sugar coated. In the 3 weeks she has been there she has contracted contact dermititus that was treated as an allegy with hayfever medication, conjuctivitis, a vaginal fungal infection, a urinary tract infection and a fractured rib. From a family perspective this is stressful enough, she just wants to leave. The food is very very average and at the time of writing I am awaiting an explanation why she was not even served a meal yesterday!! I arrived at 5.20 pm yesterday and there was no meal in her room where she was lying in bed in her nightie from the night before, her hair unkempt. i waited til 6.00 pm and when no meal arrived I went to the kitchen to investigate and to get her something to eat and the answer to my question of why she did not receive a meal was "I dont know". So I was offered a handful of cold fried rice to be microwaved as a meal!!!! Subsequently I went to the local fish and chip shop and bought her fish and chips and she was hungry!! What if I did not visit her, no meal and no-one would know. In addition she was in a nightie at 5.20 pm. She told me that the nightie was put on her from the night before and that her teeth had not been cleaned since Friday and she was itchy all over because she had not been showered for three days!!! I asked the staff if she had been showered or washed and their reply was it is impossible that she had not been asked if she wanted a shower or a wash and it is impossible that she wasn't showered or washed. So does Wesley House keep records of anything. No records of fluid intake, showering, bowel movements,meals. How did this facility get accredited?? One night last week my mother needed to be toileted and she used the nurse call system. Fifteen minutes later a carer arrived asked mum what she wanted, pressed the call attended button and left the room. I was hiding in the bathroom. 30 minutes later she was attended to!! Thats's 45 minutes my mother had to wait lying in bed in incontinence pants full of faeces. Is this good enough?? I could keep writing another two pages at least of incidents of this nature. Put your loved one in this home at your own risk.

Was this review helpful?  

Ahmad8778

Sep 25, 2018

I wonder whether some carers are really suitable for the job -most are but many are young inexperienced from other countries and different cultures.... Can this have an influence on quality of care While my mother was at a nursing home workers/carers had little or no time to sit /chat with the elderly It's sad and highly emotive to make comments when you have lost a loved one

Was this review helpful?  

Emilie8174

Sep 25, 2018

Could have more activities appropriate for aged care.. even just volunteers sitting with a group of residents to get them all engaged.

Was this review helpful?  

Alexane782

Jul 31, 2017

Residents need more actives and The place was very under staffed especially on the weekends. Family are too scared to speak up because of the repercussions to their loved ones. But when the time can the whole death experience was great for everyone concerned.

Was this review helpful?  

Ryan9314

Nov 11, 2016

Care with Dignity. This is what we experienced with Westminster. When we couldn't care for our Mother at home any more because of her heath, and we were so worried about my having to go into Care. I say now, that we were LUCKY enough to experience ALL the staff care at Westminster. It was like one be family. When people go into care it is very hard for them. I wish my mother went to Westminster so she would have benefited by ALL actives that are available to all the residence. The Staff make this establishment, I consider the best. Not a day goes by that a cheerful smile appears for just have a chat with her. Unfortunately my mother pass away recently, but the respect she was given, plus the help and assistance we were given by ALL the staff, I just have total adoration for and are so Thankful to them. When we (mum and ourselves0 needed them they were there..

Was this review helpful?  

Adolfo8281

Apr 20, 2016

The management was fine but the care comes down to the quality of the individual carers. Some gave over and above the norm and some "it was just a job" and that came through in the thoroughness of the care.

Was this review helpful?  

Leanna3332

Mar 17, 2016

For respite this is a good facility for the end of life experience it is not. There are many others to choose from but not always available

Was this review helpful?  

JanAndo

Nov 11, 2015

This institution has just completed their new building and the resident's rooms are like motel rooms. They are light, airy and spacious. The staff is like family to my mother, and while there have been trials and tribulations along the way, I'm sure my Mum settling in well, is because of the patience and friendliness of the staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Vanessa1582

Oct 22, 2015

I truly believe that there should be some rehabilitation services in this aged care home. The staff to resident care ratio is extremely inadequate. The staff do a fabulous job, but do not have any time to sit and have a chat. Just not enough staff. These are human beings. Some residents watch tv all day long. Couldnt the carers walk with them up and down the corridor for some exercise. Just 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful?  2

Liana8680

Oct 20, 2015

Absolutely delighted with the service and care given to my mother

Was this review helpful?  

Cathy Sims

Oct 20, 2015

The staff went out of their way to make my mothers transition from independent living a positive experience. Though she wasn't there very long before she passed away, she said how happy she was with both the staff and facility. Our family shall be forever grateful. Cathy

Was this review helpful?