Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Goodwin Aged Care Services Ltd

5 businesses total

Goodwin Aged Care Services Ltd

(3.1)
  • 35 Bonney St Ainslie ACT 2602
  • Phone - (02) 6175 5001
  • 12 reviews
3.1 (12 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Whitney9245

Sep 26, 2018

This is a beautiful home with a very reputable provider. I would highly recommend David harper house to prospective residents, families and staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Mathias8851

Sep 25, 2018

Very poor staff care especially around dementia. End of life care was appalling. Management meetings were a waste of time. Would never recommend.

Was this review helpful?  

Miborman

Jun 13, 2017

This place is appalling. My father was here for 4 weeks and we decided to take him home because he was not showered properly, his bin was over flowing with dirty nappies, his bed was left soiled and the sheets pulled up, he only had physio once in that 4 weeks...you pay $160 a day for nothing! The staff were never around and when they were they were rude. All we asked was for you to do your job and you couldn't even do that...the amount of people in there who said they were lonely...horrifying that this place is even in business!

Was this review helpful?  

Helmer1988

Oct 28, 2016

Poorly trained staff, very limited RN's in each area. This leads to poor care and little or no nursing services. What's saddest is that the staff really have no interest in the resident. Dare to ask a question or give feedback and things get worse. Really poor communication between staff so no messages get passed on. I have tried escalating issues, but that falls on deaf ears. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?  2

Cecile273

Jul 26, 2016

Very nicely presented. The residents appeared to be happy and the staff greet you with a smile.

Was this review helpful?  1

Marcel3809

Mar 1, 2016

They, senior management, do not appear at all interested in looking after the mental well being of their residents. Their appears to be no support for their staff or any new initiatives. Extremely disappointed

Was this review helpful?  3

Keon4893

May 26, 2015

I am a nurse and my friend was in this facility,although the care improved it didn't improve until I threatened to go to the authorities. I often found her in a bed of her own Pooh that had dried on to her. They often would forget to bring her meals when I was there. It was a disgrace ..It says a lot about accountability when an organisation puts cloudy contact on the nurses station preventing the residents being seen and preventing relatives and residents getting help when someone has fallen out of their chair etc.... I think it looks like a nice hotel but needs reviewing as there is an obvious problem. It was improving but my concern is that they will slip back into bad ways again as it was a constant problem that had to be constantly addressed . I wouldn't put my loved one in this place,

Was this review helpful?  17

England

May 23, 2015

Three 'AAA's of aged care we should be working on AGED care facilities should not be treated solely as a business and be more homely AGED care workers should be given credit for the job they do and paid accordingly for their qualifications. We then wouldn't have so much turn over in staff, leading to an unsettled environment AGED care should not be treated like the end of life, Aboriginal and Asian communities use the wisdom of their elders to benefit their communities

Was this review helpful?  6

Family of

May 14, 2015

Poor communication from staff; inadequate knowledge from carers/nurses to be delivering medications; lack of orientation for families of residents; medications have been completely missed or given late; messages not passed along.

Was this review helpful?  6

Rachel2337

May 13, 2015

My sister has been a resident in David Harper House since it opened. I visit at least twice a week and am always impressed by the level of care she and other residents receive. Staff treat everyone with great kindness and respect, and this is extended to the more difficult dementia and high care patients. The House is always immaculately clean and the air fresh. Actiivities and exercise classes are appropriate to the level of care needed. I have no criticisms but only praise for the quality of the staff and building.

Was this review helpful?  5

jepaton

May 8, 2015

Organisation: Goodwin Home Care

The majority of staff that come into care for my mother (who can be difficult at times), are worth their weight in gold, I have a few problems with the carers rosters as they are really stupid at times, E.G. sending the carer who is to assist with the lifting of my mother, at 5.30, the carer who is supposed to do Mum's personal care (which includes feeding her dinner, which I will have ready for 6pm ) doesn't get to the house until 6.15pm both girls are correctly at my house according to their rosters, if this was just a one off type thing I wouldn't be concerned, but the instances of their rosters not making sense is often a problem. The majority of the carers now feel more like family or good friends, which helps my mother feel more settled so long as they maintain the routine, she hates it when she has a constant change of new staff and they are rostered at the wrong times. In fairness to the staff they do try to keep us up to date if there are new people coming to give me the chance to let her know.

Was this review helpful?  

Kennith4158

Apr 26, 2014

comfortable building, great staff, very good food

Was this review helpful?  5