Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 183 reviews
3.5 (183 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Savannah9773

Dec 11, 2018

Facility: Opal Paynesville

My friend was in "OPAL PAYNESVILLE" and she is high needs. She wasn't allowed to see a single doctor the whole time she was there, and the "Doctor" would NOT send her home with her normal medication. That place is a joke and it is well renown for neglecting the patients, by the carers' and nursing community. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful?  

Helga8896

Nov 12, 2018

Kindness care and efficiency are paramount

Was this review helpful?  

Dawn Fernando

Nov 1, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

Mum was one who always said that she will never go into aged care. It was a big decision for us the family. But now when she comes for home visits she cannot wait to get back to the place she calls home.

Was this review helpful?  

Colombo

Nov 1, 2018

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

Husband has been in Opal Varsity Lakes Qld for 3 years. Very modern facility, kind staff, very clean with lots of recreation programs. Highly recommend this particular facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Shane9782

Nov 1, 2018

Can not speak highly enough of green fern place my mother inlaw was in Boston section and it was a pleasure to visit as the staff were amazing welcoming you each time when mum was in the last stages of her life the amount of staff that kept coming in to not only to check on her but to try and chat to er kept asking if she was in pain when she past away they were all so upset and could not do enough in comforting us thank you green fern place. I even told my daughter I will go there when I have to.

Was this review helpful?  

Esther2794

Oct 9, 2018

Seems to be a lovely clean, modern facility with friendly staff and lots of activities for residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Vito6501

Oct 8, 2018

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

Whilst not being a new building it is divided into wings with fantastic landscaping around each wing.Located in a quiet area makes it a peaceful environment for residents. However it is the quality of staff and care to the individual person at Opal Aged Care Tweed Heads West which makes it so outstanding.Nothing is too much trouble and as all are alzheimer trained in the dedicated dementia wing it is with this knowledge that I leave my husband to their care

Was this review helpful?  

Belle3998

Oct 3, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

My brother in law seems to be more settled here than he was in the first home for Dementia care that he was in and I think that’s because they understand how to care for Dementia residents better, by not pressing any of his trigger points which will send him into anger and swearing which is not normally his nature. I think he is also happier here because he has a large grassed area outside his room where he can go for a walk or feed the large carp with bread in the large fenced off lake. He also has a tree near his outside door and he can feed the kookaburras and ducks like he did at his own home before coming into care.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaci4006

Oct 1, 2018

Building is nice but that's the only thing good at this nursing home.

Was this review helpful?  

Cydney3063

Sep 29, 2018

Facility: Opal Paynesville

most staff are very helpful and caring as I live 9 hours away from Paynesville and am unable to pop in whenever required

Was this review helpful?  

Glennie

Sep 28, 2018

My father has just past away in a nursing home at Browns Plains on the 4/7/2018. My father was able bodied when he went in and was very in dependant . After he had a fall

Was this review helpful?  

Emil1236

Sep 28, 2018

My dad is in an AGED CARE facility in Northern NSW. I cannot fault the facility, or the food. The staff are lovely, but I was very upset as to how my sister and I had to rush, to sell dad's home. Dad has dementia, Parkinson's and numerous other health issues. Luckily my sister found him a room, but with only 61 days respite, it was very difficult, going through dad's house, getting rid of a lot of his personal things, and having the house on the market and sold so quickly. It was heartbreaking, but necessary. The price dad paid for his room was $480,000.00. Which is way too expensive. Now the facility takes most of dad's pension cheque for his care, which is fine. But the measly 15% left of his cheque the government takes$15 a day, Which leaves dad basically nothing, so he uses his savings for clothes, medicine, occasional outings, cream etc. He has under $80,000.00 in the bank which he has to use. Why is his room classed as a bond, not a house of residence. It is his home and shouldn't be means tested. Just his savings should be means tested,then he would have some money left out of his cheque. It is a money grab by the government in my opinion, AGED CARE should never have been PRIVATISED, everyone deserves a nice facility with great care if you are elderly and cannot live at home anymore. But the price is very excessive, the stress of selling dad's home so quick, and watching someone who's done the right thing all his life, is now being ripped off by a law that shouldn't exist. AGED CARE rooms should not be means tested. It is his home.

Was this review helpful?  

Reese7343

Sep 27, 2018

Facility: Opal By The Bay

Under staffed. Not enough training for care staff. Quality of food especially bad for residents on puréed food. Money spent more on appearance home than on quality of care and food. Excuses made when resident found bleeding several times and with black eyes. No time ever for a staff member to just sit and talk to resident

Was this review helpful?  

Maynard4922

Sep 27, 2018

They need more staff ratio to patients. Staff are run off their feet, thus not having the time to give quality care to all our mums

Was this review helpful?  

Easter24

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Hillside

It seems generally ok but we were disappointed by the delay in attention giving when relative contracted scabies. It was allowed to get so bad before she was sent to hospital that sepsis set in.

Was this review helpful?  

Arianna4741

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

Very nice and well run facility my father was in for 5 ish years due to having dementia . Meals in the latter part were ok but dry for some residents. Staffing grossley understaffed due to no fault of their own but government cut backs so sometimes care was a little lagging. All staff were wonderful however. I take my hat off to them for their commitment and care.

Was this review helpful?  

lynettealexander

Sep 26, 2018

My Mum has Alzeimers and when I had to go to hospital for surgery, I had to quickly find a temporary facility for her. As it turned out the people at the facility felt I should make it permament. I couldn't be happier for her because she is happier there than she has been for quite a while!! Opal Greenfern is amazing!!

Was this review helpful?  

Ruben4165

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Bathurst

I hope I never get to the stage in my later years where I have to reside in the nursing home where my father spent his final years before his passing earlier this year. Never in a million years would I recommend this particular facility to anyone planning on going into residential aged care as my father was not happy or satisfied with his quality

Was this review helpful?  

Evelyn9533

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Terrible care, old building,drab environment

Was this review helpful?  

Isom8960

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Ashmore

My Mother has only just moved in to an aged care facility after living with us for 18 months, so I dont have much to say. Hopefully all goes well.

Was this review helpful?