Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 137 reviews
3.5 (137 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Stefan8

Aug 6, 2018

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

The quality of care and kindness of the nursing staff towards my husband who has dementia is outstanding. It is difficult to judge the food as he can only eat pureed food which does not look very appetising but they try to please his wishes

Was this review helpful?  

Joanne4325

Jul 7, 2018

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

Not a new building and divided into wings surrounded by beautifully maintained gardens and lawn areas in which to walk or sit. Rooms lounges and recently refurbished Full calendar of activities. Friendly, caring and professional staff with good communication between them and visitors and residents alike.

Was this review helpful?  

Timothy6943

Jun 5, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

My mother who suffered from dementia was at Opal Glenmere for approx 3 months. When she was admitted to hospital suffering from an infection we discovered that she was dehydrated and had old food dried stuck to the insides of her cheeks which had been there for some time! They called me prior to her being admitted to hospital to let us know that she was loosing weight and could they call a dietitian. The facts were that she had stopped eating

Was this review helpful?  1

Kerry Watkinson

Apr 13, 2018

Facility: Opal Norah Head

I cannot praise Opal Norah Head highly enough. My Dad was there for 5 weeks between hospital and permanent care. He would still be there if it was closer to family. All the staff are happy, caring and professional. Its like a big happy family. Dad especially blossomed mentally in this environment, interacting with staff, residents, visitors and the many activities. I highly recommend Opal Norah Head.

Was this review helpful?  

Amanda3282

Jan 10, 2018

Facility: Opal Lakeview

I cannot speak highly enough of opal lakeview from the who clean to those on charge, they are all truly wonderful caring people. The building itself is beautiful with lovely gardens and walkways. Food is excellent with consideration to your likes and dislikes. There is always some sort of activity happening for all types of interests. Wonderful place and people. Pat East

Was this review helpful?  

Muhammad1094

Dec 16, 2017

We are very happy with the care our mum receives here. She hasn't been here very long but she is happy and is well looked after. This is such a relief to our family. I highly recommend this nursing home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Vernice5156

Aug 1, 2017

Facility: Opal Narrogin

appalling place, not enough staff and poor care

Was this review helpful?  2

Margarita7259

Aug 1, 2017

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

Rooms not kept clean. Relative is not checked enough as a 'high falls risk'. Too long to answer buzzers.

Was this review helpful?  

Kamren8441

Jul 31, 2017

My mum had to put my nan in a nursing home as she could no longer look after her due to her own health issues but my mum still has to go to th nursing home to look after nan as so so many times nan has not been given her dinner and sometimes even her medication has been missed.

Was this review helpful?  2

Irma80

Jul 31, 2017

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

Very difficult to recommend due to impersonal vibe of business operation

Was this review helpful?  

Patience1451

Jul 31, 2017

Facility: Opal Salford Park

Very close to excellent service. Just food need improvement.

Was this review helpful?  

Adrain7030

Jul 31, 2017

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

I am impressed with the level of care that my mum receives at Opal Aged Care in Meadow Heights and would definately recommend that you look at it for a loved one

Was this review helpful?  

Malvina2594

Jul 31, 2017

Facility: Opal Gracedale

My mother went to an aged care facility and had 4 falls in 7 weeks and broke her pelvis, she never walked again. She developed a pressure sore on her heel which turned gangrenous and she died of blood poisoning and pain. The smell in her room was so obnoxious that they kept the windows open and left her in summer nightwear in the middle of winter.

Was this review helpful?  1

Trinity872

Jul 31, 2017

Facility: Opal Lourdes

The staff are generally very good, particularly at RN level, but there's been a high turnover at the GM level, so the care seems inconsistent. Clothes go missing, personal cupboards are untidy. Overall the food is good, with attempts made to have interesting and varied menus. A number of improvements have been made to the interior - bathrooms, floor coverings are new. I'm just not convinced that there is an emphasis on each individual resident, overlooked by the day to day running of the business.

Was this review helpful?  

Armando1616

May 10, 2017

My great-uncle has been here for sometime at Opal Florence Tower. Most staff are caring, however, I've been double checking on the meals and found that a lot of meals are being delivered to his room cold. Quality of meals is digusting to be honest. Twice in one week, he was given 1 party pie, 1 party sausage roll with a dallop of mashed potato. Sometimes he doesn't see a staff member from one meal to another. If he fell, no one would know for hours. Now staff are starting to fight in front of him over whether he has a shower or wash every day. I'm seriously considering of moving him to another facility.

Was this review helpful?  

CBourne

May 8, 2017

Facility: Opal Hillside

The care, compassion and dedication of Opal Hillside staff is outstanding. The reason I could not recommend Opal Aged Care is the lack of empathy and the money-oriented focus of the main office in Sydney. My 88 year old father is being charged $20 every day for beauty products, to have Egyptian cotton sheets on his bed, and to be offered the High Tea and canapés. That's $140 a week ( on top of other charges) for things he would NEVER want or USE!!! My 85 year old mother has repeatedly tried to get out of this extra daily charge but this has been very 'smugly' rejected by Opal's ivory tower in Sydney.

Was this review helpful?  5

Adaline6602

May 1, 2017

My grandparent is currently living here. Staff are overworked, with some only willing or wanting to do minimum care duties. Residents are left far too long in the bathroom - a lot of the times someone can be waiting for up to 20minutes. Over time, I have personally noticed a few cranky carers - my family and I have not been impressed.

Was this review helpful?  

KarenC

Nov 24, 2016

Mum has been in this home for over 7 years. Since Opal has taken over it has gone down hill.i do feel for the staff , as they need more staff, but the Management is the problem. My sister

Was this review helpful?  2

Altopiano

Nov 23, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

Hands on floor staff are excellent but way, way under the pump. No doubt budget driven.Yes, high turnover of staff, which is quite disappointing and very unnerving to the longer term residents. Activities co-ordination is second to none and the excellent staff which oversee that area are resourceful, empathetic and just complete angels and receive kudos from myself and family. Front of desk needs lessons in customer service, empathy and overall general friendliness and to lose the surly attitude. Food is less than average. My family often bring in food to supplement or replace what is on offer. Co-ordination with services outside the facility i.e. dental, physio etc just non -existant.

Was this review helpful?  2

Derek1950

Nov 22, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Lovely facility staff are great and very caring to residents. Would rather have mum at home but understand this is not possible or practical. This is the next best thing and I am confident mum is being well card for

Was this review helpful?  1