Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

The Salvation Army Aged Care Plus (NSW/ACT/QLD)

18 businesses total

The Salvation Army Aged Care Plus (NSW/ACT/QLD)

(2.9)
  • PO Box 1452, Macquarie Centre North Ryde NSW 2113
  • Phone - (02) 9779 9411
  • 34 reviews
2.9 (34 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Vaughn2414

Dec 14, 2019

Mum spent 3 weeks in hospital after a bad fall and was too weak to come home. The social worker said she would help organise respite care. Luckily there was a room free at Weeroona Bass Hill. Mum was well cared for and appreciated the lovely nurses, good food, hairdresser and was so happy that her GP did rounds there. She has decided to become permanent because she realises that she is much safer and enjoys the social activities. It’s such a relief for the family that she likes this place and is happy. She will soon be 93 and has lived there for nearly 3 months. She loves her room that overlooks the pretty courtyard.

Was this review helpful?  

Ismael4317

Dec 3, 2019

Our family found only handful of workers show compassion. Found our mothers bed linen set after staff had made bed. We had numerous meetings with RN because of attitude by staff and state of mums deteriorating health. Twice she was rushed into ER because they left it too long to get doctor. Disgusted with the state of our Aged Care.

Was this review helpful?  

Kamryn6052

Dec 3, 2019

My father was in aged care run by the Salvation Army. Whilst the building was lovely and clean the care was poor,food was disgusting mon to fri only better when visitors were around on the weekend medical care deprived my father lasted only a few weeks

Was this review helpful?  

Very disappointed

Sep 22, 2019

While the accommodation is good, this place is understaffed and poorly managed. My mother suffered sepsis and she died a month later due to the nurse in charge bandaging it and not monitoring it. Went to hospital, changed homes but too late. Mum went down too fast as a result. They also allowed her to sleep in a bed smeared with faeces as they deemed her capable (even with dementia) able to make her own bed. Don't start me about not cleaning her teeth for over a week. While some staff were really caring, some weren't and even after raising issues with manager, nothing changed. She left a month prior to death and was placed at a really lovely and caring place.

Was this review helpful?  

Margaret6980

Jul 2, 2019

Too much sugar in the diet.

Was this review helpful?  

Myrtis7023

Apr 11, 2019

Lovely facilities and very peaceful environment but the level of care was inconsistent. So many different staff who (even after 8 weeks) did not know Mum. Many carers have poor English and are unable to communicate effectively with residents. Quite a few items of clothing went missing in the laundry, even when fully labeled.

Was this review helpful?  

Alan8622

Apr 11, 2019

My mum has regular respites at MacQuarie Lodge. We are fond of The Salvos and find the place itself and the staff to be of good quality. Food is pretty ordinary and activities could be more sociable and stimulating.

Was this review helpful?  

wayneclements

Nov 4, 2018

Excellent facility and staff

Was this review helpful?  

Tia6250

Oct 24, 2018

Was a very bad centre for my grandma. Staff didn't clean properly, cups were left in same area for days, food was horrible. She passed away after only a few months being there.

Was this review helpful?  1

cujolator

Oct 24, 2018

My mum was forced to take the first available home available...we had no choice. In the 5 weeks she spent in hospital prior to the home she gained weight and was walking with aid. she was left in a wheelchair and forgotten in the home...i visited every day and witnessed her frailty grow and complained to deaf ears

Was this review helpful?  

LP Forestville

Oct 20, 2018

We looked at quite a few aged care facilities for our Mum, but this one stood out from the group. It is clean

Was this review helpful?  

Aliya2160

Sep 26, 2018

My Mother has regular respites and this is by far her preferred facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Aisha5754

Sep 25, 2018

Lovely staff,helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful?  

Kallie4676

Sep 25, 2018

Woodport aged care Erina is where my mother is. It was cheaper than a lot of places and we chose this place for her dur to lack of funds. My mother had had multiple falls even with a care person with her. She has had some horrible illnesses and bumps and bruises and the doctor is never called. I call meetings with the staff and they say they will attempt to improve things for her but don’t. They don’t change her pads and she has to sit in her own excrement all day. She has dementia so never complains but I see what they do to her and I am appalled. She has had clothes, money, jewellery and other items stolen from her. They even reimbursed me for some of the items stolen when I threatened to go to the ombudsman and the police. They insisted I sign an affidavid to say I wouldn’t talk. I don’t have enough space on here to include all the wrong doings she has experienced. I would love to move her but we don’t have the funds to pay a higher amount, Please do something about these horrible places.

Was this review helpful?  

Brooks3787

Jul 4, 2018

This facility is disgraceful. Staff are lazy and have no empathy or understanding and certainly no time management skills. Made the terrible mistake of placing my mother here and we lost her after 3 months. Mum spent 6 weeks of that time in acute care as Mum developed a pressure area and subsequently a major infection due to the lack of care she received. Quite simply Mum was neglected. My family took our concerns to the management several times and we were ignored.

Was this review helpful?  2

UllaCimadori

Aug 1, 2017

Dad was at Macquarie Lodge for 9 weeks respite in 2014. It was by far the best place he has stayed at. He was 93 then and has dementia. The staff were particularly caring, warm and friendly and they followed my instructions perfectly.

Was this review helpful?  

Waylon3487

Jul 26, 2017

EJP facility has got a very good lay out and has good facilities and resources. However, there is frequent outbreaks, unable to contact staff most of the time as no one answers the phone and the staff are not friendly.

Was this review helpful?  

Peggie3454

May 14, 2017

A great caring home for mum. The nursing staff know her so well. You can tell they truely love all the residents

Was this review helpful?  1

Josue6021

Nov 10, 2016

My Aunty is a resident here and I find the staff ar all loving and caring

Was this review helpful?  

Yolanda2119

Jul 5, 2016

We would never recommended this organisation to anyone. The staff are nice but overworked and totally underpaid. The management are atrocious and completely out of touch with the residents and staff. My mother was in this nursing home and I could not wait to get her out of there. The two managers - D and J, are the most rude, greedy people, and are totally 'not' management material. Does the Salvation Army head office realize how their nursing home is being run? You should be ashamed of yourselves. I will NEVER donate another cent to Salvation Army.

Was this review helpful?  3