Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Catholic Healthcare Limited

34 businesses total

Catholic Healthcare Limited

(3.5)
  • Suite 1, Level 5, 15 Talavera Rd Macquarie Park NSW 2113
  • Phone - 02 8876 2100
  • 44 reviews
3.5 (44 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Brooklyn355

Jun 13, 2019

Poor food. Poor quality care from staff. They don't listen to their patients or family concern for the patient.

Was this review helpful?  

Stephanie5926

May 23, 2019

Facility: McQuoin Park

My mother is currently a resident of McQuoin Park Wahroonga. While the majority of carers do an exceptional job given their ridiculous workload for resident to staff ratios. The RN's and carers overall are kind and caring and do the best they can given the inadequate number of residents to carers. The continuous replacement of staffing at all levels, particularly management is very disconcerting for families and resident who need familiarity to ensure they feel safe and secure. The overall running of the facility could be improved dramatically in terms of organisation of interesting and varied activities for both females and males of differing capabilities. The other very major issue this facility has is what I would call poor meal options on offer, especially on the weekends. Too many frozen meals, heated up, bland in flavour and nutrition. With an elderly mother, a good balanced diet of vitamins and fibre are a must for a healthy comfortable bowel. I have photos of what I consider very poor meal options which I will gladly post on social media. Residents are woken at 7.am for showering, dressing and taken to the dining room for breakfast. For those like my mother, this early wake up is stressful and exhausting if her night has been filled with broken sleep. Given the variables in attention needed by some residents and those who suffer with anxiety and health issues takes time, however with staff pushed to caring for 3,4 and 5 residents at times for showering, dressing and getting to the dining room by 8.00am is an almighty effort. Other issues is poor communication between staff from families to management, constant checking if messages have gotten through is a drain. As Alanna mentioned in an earlier review, a beautiful building and furnishings does not always equate to equally high standards of care in a number of areas. I see regular posts on facebook from another care facility that I would happily move my mother to and for a lot less money fantastic activities and engagement of residents, if it weren't for the fact she is now comfortable and knows the regular carers and RN's she has. I strong suggest Catholic Healthcare review this facility and its management and stop stealing from the residents and lining the executives and fund members with profits from the very people they are meant to be caring. I won't recommend any Catholic Health Aged Care facilities to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful?  2

Pamela4558

May 14, 2019

Staff provided personalized care to my mother. Very warm and friendly facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Tyreek2919

May 2, 2019

My sister has a history of very servere depression, and the staff at the nursing home are not trained to cope with this type of illness.

Was this review helpful?  

Alanna5146

Apr 14, 2019

Facility: McQuoin Park

The ongoing culture of this facility does not comply with the Catholic Health Care Service Mission Statement or Values. This reflected by the continuous replacement of staffing at all levels, particularly management. The commitment and consistency of care varies from excellent to appalling. A beautiful building and expensive fees do not equate to high standards in other areas.

Was this review helpful?  1

Aletha9339

Mar 12, 2019

I have a close relative in St Francis and could not be more happy. The staff are warm and caring and the Manager is easy to access. The rooms are small and there are shared bathrooms but the place is clean and well kept. A home environment. Most staff and residents appear happy to be there. Well managed home

Was this review helpful?  1

Teagan4388

Jan 24, 2019

Management was appalling. Management needs improvement when it comes to treating new and older staff with respect and dignity i wouldn't recommend this service to a family member or friend due to poor service and poor treatment

Was this review helpful?  

Tammy Williams

Nov 1, 2018

Our Lady of Loretto aged care facility was fantastic

Was this review helpful?  

Dovie886

Oct 9, 2018

The staff at St Paul's Aged Care, Northbridge, from the manager to the cleaner, are caring and helpful. All staff members know each resident's name and habits which helps them assist each resident feel at home and that they matter. The food is sometimes less than appealing but budget constraints would impact on this as well as the physical requirements of each resident, e.g. some have dysphagia, some have personal likes and dislikes (as do we all). There does seem to be a heavy emphasis upon simple carbohydrates though considering many residents are diabetics.Overall, the facility is clean, well-run, staffed by people who genuinely care.

Was this review helpful?  

Hilma8707

Sep 27, 2018

My mother was in respite care with catholic care - lewisham. Being an old hospital, it was prison like. Bathrooms and toilets were cold and secluded. Most staff had English as a second language and it was difficult to communicate with them. Staff did not have the necessary skills to fit a leg brace, required after a knee reconstruction. Most times staff could be found in front of the TV. Limited access to telephonic communication and, only if nurses weren’t too busy to answer the phone. The food was awful and selection limited. My main concern was, that as a ex hospital with several floors, the only exit points were the lift or fire stairs. I asked one of the nurses how are residents evacuated in a fire and they could not answer me. This establishment is a death trap. It appeared most of the residents (on the floor my mother was on) were palliative care, non ambulant in the very least. Their beds were wheeled into the “activity rooms” and that’s where they stayed. All they were interested in was how and when fees would be paid.

Was this review helpful?  

Ezra7202

Sep 26, 2018

Due to the staff to patient ratio the care that my dad received before he passed was shocking. My elderly mother used to go the the Home from 9am till 4pm 7 days a week so he was at least looked after properly between those hours.

Was this review helpful?  

Kathleen5579

Sep 25, 2018

Every member of staff, whether they be admin, Carer or nurse, is caring, kind and compassionate. Could not ask for more. Being a small facility (about 42 residents), all the staff know each and every resident.

Was this review helpful?  

rocky15

Sep 25, 2018

Very poor on all accounts

Was this review helpful?  

Janelle4891

Mar 9, 2018

I worked for Catholic Aged Care in Orange NSW and it was the worse time of my life. The first two managers were great and the last and current one is a bully towards staff and residents she does not like. You can't say anything about anyone on incase they are related to the staff member you are having any issues with as the manager will always take her friends on staff word about what happened even if she knows they are wrong.For example the lady in the front office is the mother of a RN in charge and her other daughter is a nurse on the floor . So you can't put a complain about any of them because they will always stick together. The manager loves Residents with money and will always make sure they get what they want however she does noy do that for the residents without money. So I would not work or put any of my family in that facility..

Was this review helpful?  

heathjone

May 27, 2017

I cried when I found out my mum had to go into care - I had visited some elderly friends in nursing homes before and they were horrible, with patients just lieing in bed hour after hour without any activities or even human contact. Not Our Lady of Loreto Gardens - the staff are fantastic and they have now become my mum's second family. They have great programs to keep the residents connected with the world and I couldn't recommend them more!

Was this review helpful?  

Sally5372

May 9, 2017

The staff are very pleasant, helpful and kind. A registered nurse is on at all times. The activities' organiser is also kind, patient and thoughtful. The downsides are that the food is generally awful - poorly presented, poorly prepared and not offering a completely nutritious diet. Also the gardens are only reasonable and not easily accessed by the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Alanis7523

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Maranatha Lodge

Staff are excellent

Was this review helpful?  

Keven724

Apr 9, 2016

The driveway entrance is too steep for the elderly and there are no rails. The front gardens are neglected as is the rest of the building, No maintenance or upgrades are visible. Inside its one long hallway with internal unpainted brick walls No registered nurses after 4pm. Only suitable for the ambulant. Not a good experience

Was this review helpful?  2

Anonymous7714

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Percy Miles Villa

I feel very confident

Was this review helpful?  

Leonie3784

Mar 14, 2016

Left for periods on own. Delay in responding to care alarm of patient. Not showering patient regularly, not giving medication on time. Very small meals. Poor quality food . Rude staff.

Was this review helpful?  1