Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Doutta Galla Aged Services Limited

8 businesses total

Doutta Galla Aged Services Limited

(3.1)
  • 75 Moreland St Footscray VIC 3011
  • Phone - 03) 9689 0644
  • 25 reviews
3.1 (25 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Laverna9798

Sep 27, 2018

1/Constantly complaining about the same issues over and over which never get rectified. 2/Carers often have strong accents and are hard to understand. Cannot communicate at all to kitchen or cleaning staff, who often cannot speak english at all. Extemely hard for elderly residents with hearing issues to understand many of the Carers. 3/Despite mentioning issues to RN it is always the same outcome. No change. Lots of apologies and excuses but ultimately, no change to the issues.They do not like a change in their routine. Prior to admission, all sorts of promises were made, not many have come to fruition. 4/ Carers blame morning staff and morning staff blame evening staff. All staff blame staff shortages for anything that takes place. Not everything that happens is due to staff shortages. 5/Always have to get a clean glass and orange cordial for my mother's room. Have asked for this repeatedly but never happens. I go in nearly every day and do it myself. 6/Staff at mealtimes are not well managed. Many don't seem to be doing much. Others are flat out. 7/Staff have minimal understanding of hearing aides and often put them in the wrong ears ( which don't fit and ultimately don't work). Often the compartments are not shut properly, which prevents them from working and is actually worse than not wearing them at all. Once again, I check my mother's hearing aides daily and clean them and change batteries weekly. I have no faith that staff are willing or able to do this. 8/ Some items have been stolen from my mothers room such as jewellery and perfume. Staff know there is no cameras in rooms and potentially take advantage. Despite the loss of privacy, I would be willing to have cameras in my mothers room, to avoid potential abuse and theft. 9/ My mother often has an odour and when I ask how often she is showered, I am always told that she is showered regularly. I don't believe this to be the case. They also say often she is sponged, and when I ask what that entails, they advise a full body sponge all over. I suspect this is not the case, but can't prove it. 10/ Overall food is good. Too much pasta. Advised Facility 4 years ago that my mum did not eat pasta. She still repeatedly gets given pasta despite being told this time and time again. For many of the old aussie residents, pasta is not part of their typical diet. 11/Staff have limited knowledge of Dementia, despite the chronic presence of Dementia in the Facility. 13/Cannot contemplate justification for $2500 approx per month that my mother pays to this Facility. There is either huge profits, high management salaries or mass mismanagement.

Was this review helpful?  

Lexus5834

Sep 26, 2018

My husband first experience in living in an aged care facility was very overwhelming with increased anxiety that skyrocketed to such a level that it was cruel of me if I ignored his feelings. His stay lasted short of 3 months. Despite of me helping in his care every single day and most of the time I stayed till 10pm until I put him to bed, John's needs were not met especially in the night time. John also is on apomorphine infusion which I had to educate them and show them how to administer the infusion and how to operate the pump for his Parkinson's disease. I did this basically every day. The pump consultant educated them as well but only the ones who were rostered on the day.Further the permanent workers absence from work was filled with new staff from the agency and who were not familiar with the pump. There were several phone calls from John in the middle of the night, to tell me that he is wet, cold and scared of falling as the staff do not attend to him. He had a few falls during his stay. Then I call to let the duty worker that John needs help. John also attempted to call the ambulance for help. The very first time that he called 000 he gave them my home address, he was confused where he was. Lucky that I saw the flashing light through the window and went to the front door. The paremdics by this time already called the police to break in as they thoughtJohn was on his own and that he might be at risk. Also at the time he is in this state of high anxiety his speech is affected and is not clear. I explained to the paremadics the situation and said to them that I am very exhausted both physically and mentally and financially worse off. Instead of having respite I was more worse than where he was at home. This nursing home that he was in compared to others that I looked into passed my concerns. It was clean and spacious and nice however, the appealing transparency of the building, it certainly did not weigh up with the care of the fragile, helpless and who have no voice. The balance is flat ZERO. Amongst the odd ones there are dedicated staff but they cannot meet up with the needs of every resident, and I do believe that such staff feel bad when other residents were left out under their care due to the shift is over. It is of utter importance that the scale of staff and resident ratio be uplifted by far more than what it is now. These people are like babies they need a lot of attention and care. These are human beings, it's cruel and very very inhumane. The second concern is the food it is absolutely terrible. I conclude my concerns by saying that this needs fixing big time and treated as urgent. Once this is fixed it is done for everyone including you the receiving end and me. After all we do not know what's around the corner for us and we might end up in one of these shocking and frightening places if nothing is done. I for one certainly do not want to fall a victim of this daunting and crippled system. In addition to the above, I strenuously say that the non pensioners who are charged higher than the pensioners in the daily fee is absolutely roberry. For what service I may add? It's the same service as the pensioners except for the FILTHY RICH. Not that there should be at all any preference, we all fall under the same umbrella. Who is capitalising from this, is the owner of the organisation in addition to the poor running the facility with short of staff and tight budget of the running costs of the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Clotilde6358

Sep 25, 2018

Excellent lifestyle and wellbeing activities

Was this review helpful?  

Oma4329

Sep 25, 2018

my mother was treated like a child and was a very placid easy going lovely lady. I wanted to take her out of the nursing home because of the treatment but wasn't well myself so couldn't look after her. she got quite sick 8n the 3nd and I had to fight them to get her out of there and 8 to palliative care.

Was this review helpful?  

Nicklaus5633

Sep 20, 2018

Carers have poor english skills and often cannot be understood by the elderly who are often hearing impaired. More training on the function and installation of hearing aides and more exposure to dementia and associated behaviours. Cameras should be installed in bedrooms, provided permission granted, to minimize abuse and also theft.

Was this review helpful?  

Elissa7707

Sep 18, 2018

My father is in a facility in Avondale Heights, Victoria. He has been there just over 12 months. Family members visit once or twice a week at different times. We have been happy with the services there and the quality of care. The food is gvaried and good, activities are held everyday and staff is friendly and caring.

Was this review helpful?  

Cloyd3351

Aug 3, 2017

The same issues happen repeatedly. After complaining, the situation improves temporarily, but then reoccurs over and over again. My mum not being changed often enough and getting saturated with urine. Not being showered often enough. Daily showering not considered necessary. Once my mum's bed had been made with dried urine stained sheets. I was told the staff member concerned had not been trained properly. I don't think you need training to know not to make a bed with dirty smelly urine stained sheets. How sorry I feel for my mum. I feel I have let her down. I go to the nursing home every day, to make sure she is ok. Nothing like all the cheesy smiling ads on TV.

Was this review helpful?  2

Casey Barton

Oct 30, 2016

I am reviewing this based only on first impressions from taking a tour. I have not had anyone I know stay there. I visited about 8 aged care facilities when looking for a nursing home for my Dad and I found Lynch's Bridge to be the best. Footscray and Yarraville also made a good impression. These aren't the fanciest ones around, but the staff seem to be better than any other inner city places I visited. The residents and staff seemed happiest. Great location as well.

Was this review helpful?  3

Jann Voigt

Mar 15, 2016

I highly recommend this care home as my dad has been there for five years . The care he was given was amazing the last twelve months he developed cancer and I'm sure in my heart they kept him going nothing was any trouble but he has just lost his battle and they were so lovely the respect they had for dad many of them coming to the funeral even though dad's not there I hope if ever I have to go into care that would be the one I went to .

Was this review helpful?  2

Mathew2792

Dec 9, 2015

Disgusting

Was this review helpful?  5

sad1955

Oct 7, 2015

Not the best information provided but was the only one acailable...The Australian staff were uncarrying and no help at all but the other staff were so much kinder and understanding..the enivonment was not pleasant at all and the hygenine of the place let a lot to be desired...Overall quality poor..

Was this review helpful?  

Braeden844

Oct 2, 2015

I have visited this facility on many occasions with my husband and we have found it to be excellent. the lifestyle staff are currently trying to get enough money to but a home theatre system so that other facilities can come and share films with their residents. they have organised a night at the local bowling club with musical acts and raffles and even supper and are currently selling tickets. I think this is wonderful of the staff as they have enough to do each day.

Was this review helpful?  

liesel miller

Jun 12, 2015

This home is one of the best I have visited. The staff are caring ,friendly and love their residents. When I get old I would love to live there. They have midsummer market and a Christmas market and the residents love them and also they have a coffee shop which is open one morning a week for the residents to get together. It is a truly remarkable home run by truly remarkable people.

Was this review helpful?  

Mallie7581

Jun 11, 2015

Can't believe how quick the decline in my mother was once she entered this facility. I really feel for anyone in this facility who doesn't have family checking on them regularly. We needed to have quite a few "meetings" to bring their attention to so many things! and even then things weren't addressed properly.

Was this review helpful?  2

Oran8731

May 28, 2015

These residential facility , during summer time the facility is like an oven, and during winter its like an ice as well. the ventilation is not good and the quality of food is not good variety and most of the resident don't want to eat . Not enough staff most of the the work load are to heavy for the staff and quality of care is below average.

Was this review helpful?  

Mopsey

May 16, 2015

Very warm and welcoming facility. The Residents appear to be very happy and clean. I helped with the items for the yearly concert and found it a wonderful experience dealing with the residents and the staff. Would do it again if asked.

Was this review helpful?  1

Haskell2594

May 3, 2015

Well set out facility but felt it was a little too large for those with advanced health problems such as dementia as I felt they could easily be forgotten.

Was this review helpful?  

Deshell

Apr 28, 2015

Initially when my nana had to be placed due to worstening dementia, we thought we had found the best facility to suit her needs. How wrong we were! Over a year later, each week seems to bring new issues as well as old issues which are never addressed! Basic needs are not met. There is no flexibility or initiative from staff. Concerns are not passed on to other staff members, the same conversations frustratingly occur over and over again. The supervision is next to non existent. I often visit after work ( approx 4pm) to find my nana still in bed, wearing a dirty nighty and wearing a wet pad. I wonder if she has eaten all day, if anyone has bothered to convince her to get up, help her shower or eat. It's too easy for the carers to say she refused and move on. Those with dementia need encouragement and persuasion, not to be left to there own devises. The staff quite obviously have a poor understanding of dementia and the behavioural issues associated with it. Complaining sometimes results in mild improvements, with my nana up and in the dining area at the next visit. However sitting with those who do not speak English, eating European food she had never chosen to eat in 80 years and sitting without her hearing aids, as they have been lost yet again, causes frustration and anxiety. The hard choice to place a loved one in a facility is made easier knowing they will be cared for. Since being at Doutta Gala, my nana has fallen over numerous times and had more injuries then she ever had at home. Family now visit more, worried about who is actually caring for my nana. My mothers life is impacted more than ever as she is constantly concerned and worried that my nana is being cared for to an adequate standard. The issues are ongoing, and overal this facility is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

shanef

Apr 24, 2015

Facility is managed poorly with no focus on handover or follow up with staff. The same issues occur over and over again and are not resolved. There is little point in complaining as the management become very defensive and often do not respond to phone calls or emails sent. The staff are not trained to deal with dementia patients and appear to have little or no knowledge of typical alzheimers behaviours. I have to shower my mother at least twice a week to ensure she is clean. Whilst she is scheduled to be showered 3 times per week only, she often refuses and there is little effort made to encourage her to shower. When I mention this, I am constantly told that if she refuses that is it. I think it is quite a convenient way to avoid work to say " she said no". I am disgusted by this lack of cleanliness and so would my mother be, if she was able to think rationally. The evening meal is of poor quality compared to the lunch time food and menu options are geared towards European tastes. There is huge quantities of pasta and little variety. There is little effort made to ensure that my mother eats and drinks. She often forgets to eat or drink, and without my constant intervention, she would barely touch her evening meal. Her food is left on the tray for her to eat if she wants. My mother has little interaction with other residents because if I do leave her in community areas to interact, she is left there till 9pm as she cannot remember where her room is. When I have mentioned to staff to have her interact for just a few hours and then take her back to her room, they blame her for not being able to find her own room. One staff member complained to me that they have told her numerous times her room number but she does not remember. The reason she does not remember is because she has alzheimers, which is why she is in a nursing home in the first place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?  

Anthony3179

Apr 17, 2015

Can't believe how quickly my mother deteriorated once she moved into this facility. The lack of communication and understanding from the staff has really disappointed us. We go to visit and walk away in tears. Certainly not the way she would of wanted to be remembered.

Was this review helpful?