Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Resthaven Inc

24 businesses total

Resthaven Inc

(4.2)
  • 6 Bartley Cres Wayville SA 5034
  • Phone - (08) 8373 0211
  • 31 reviews
4.2 (31 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

BronLew

Jun 7, 2019

I have had two experiences with Resthaven: firstly my father spent the last year of his life there. Compared to where my mother was at the time - they raised the bar to a different planet! Everyone from the kitchen hand to the CEO treated my Dad with compassion, care and respect. So much so, that when my cousin needed respite I bought him from NSW to Port Elliot to ensure he had the best possible care. I have told all my family that's where I am going when it's my time. I had many experiences to make the comparison; six lots of respite for my Mum in Victoria and two residential care placements (I moved her because I wasn't happy) and two respites in other facilities in SA for my Dad. My cousin is now in Resthaven "with his friends" after a two week respite! This says it better than I ever could!

Was this review helpful?  

Sophia9703

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Resthaven Leabrook

The staff were kind and seemed to have a genuine concern for mums wellbeing and happiness.

Was this review helpful?  1

Violet9810

Apr 11, 2019

The staff were kind and cared well for my mother, who had early dementia. They seemed to genuinely like her and were active in meeting her needs, being open to suggestions we had for her.

Was this review helpful?  

Bron Lewis

Oct 11, 2018

My father was very frail when he went into Resthaven and very adamant he didn't need care. Within a couple of weeks the staff had made sure he sat with like minded people and he was joining in all sorts of groups we could never imagine possible. Not only was he healthier he was happier than he'd been for years. Even the kitchen hand would help him with his laptop (told me to get him a better plan) and when I came to visit he wanted me to get take away (curries or fish and chips) to share with his friends.

Was this review helpful?  

Sep 29, 2018

Facility: Resthaven Leabrook

The staff were quite proactive in Mums care. She liked the food and was taken to many activities, which we appreciated as her early dementia meant she didn’t think to ask to go. She was given regular physio to help with her back pain. The difficulty I found was funding out what was being done for Mum. For example I didn’t know she was having regular physio until I happened to be there one day and saw the Physio. But that was more about me being aware of her care. She was really well looked after and felt loved. The move had not been by choice so we were all relieved that she settled so well.

Was this review helpful?  

Terrence1030

Sep 26, 2018

Rest haven is a wonderful facility, the staff are caring but alas night and weekend staffing is bordering on a real concern at times especially in the dementia section. I have witnessed first hand how difficult it can be when too much is happening at once. More outside entertainment is lacking.

Was this review helpful?  2

Wendy Hankinson

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Resthaven Marion

Mum has been there for 2 months and everything is great so far

Was this review helpful?  

Jovani7933

Nov 24, 2016

Facility: Resthaven Leabrook

Leabrook looks great, modern, bright but I have been very disappointed in the care. Instead of being a relief and an assistance to me, my concern and stress levels are the same. Food is not great, but the care is the main concern. I have to continually monitor my mother's condition because she is constantly getting dehydrated and weak and no one seems to notice or care. Both my parents are there with mum in the Dementia unit. They are separated and dad is very frail. Staff refuse to bring them together so they can spend time together so if I don't bring them together, they don't see each other. The lifestyle activities for the memory unit are limited and the amount of staff is very low. There are multiple times during the day that there are no staff to be found at all on the unit. Communication is very poor and whenever you mention this to management, it is denied. I would not recommend this facility to anyone but those who are independent.

Was this review helpful?  6

HelenW

Nov 9, 2016

Very happy with the level of care of my Father at Resthaven Port Elliot SA 5212

Was this review helpful?  1

Luna942

Nov 9, 2016

Originally mum didn't want to go into the nursing home. But within a short time she was happy there and made a best friend from one of the ladies. And became particularly fond of her main carer..

Was this review helpful?  

Arnoldo5567

Nov 9, 2016

Westbourne Pk SA facility fails in patient care, sufficient staff, food choices, variety

Was this review helpful?  3

Jarret7300

Oct 23, 2016

Facility: Resthaven Leabrook

Very little staff at night, not very caring and compassionate

Was this review helpful?  1

magill504

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Resthaven Paradise

My 94 year old father has been a high care resident at Resthaven Paradise since June 2015. I wish to highly praise the carers, nursing staff

Was this review helpful?  1

Caden3734

Apr 20, 2016

As a purpose built facility the buildings are good with reasonable size single rooms given that the building is now over 10 years old. Staff quite often look scruffy as don't wear a corporate uniform. Most do not have name badges or print is too small to read. In the area where my mum is housed, it is quite often hard to locate staff without going down to the main office which is within a secure area. Although we have had a few issues over the years, care is above average and mum seems to like the majority of staff. Mum enjoys most of her meals, stating there is a good variety. On the occasions I have eaten there I feel the food is good quality. The majority of group activities appear to occur in the secure areas and mum along with some other residents don't like going into these areas as it makes them feel uncomfortable. With management changes over the years and changes in staffing, I feel the quality of activities and lifestyle choices has diminished. On the whole mum is happy but as there is any organisation there is room for improvement.

Was this review helpful?  3

Vesta7115

Apr 20, 2016

Staff are wonderful. The residents are happy, enthusiastic, active and involved. resthaven is currently undergoing some building improvements, which can only add further benefits to the residents. My mum never wanted to be "put in a home". But health issues made it necessary, she is happier, healthier and much less lonely these days. Keep up the great work Resthaven.

Was this review helpful?  

Tristian5169

Apr 20, 2016

Dads only issues are access to a phone for communication with outside world. He has a mobilie but never carries it because the calls are infrequent. Would be better to have a phone dedicated to residences for family to call them on.

Was this review helpful?  

Avalon

Apr 14, 2016

Difficult to find staff after business hours

Was this review helpful?  1

Viva5627

Mar 17, 2016

Facility: Resthaven Marion

My parents are extremely well looked after at Resthaven Marion SA

Was this review helpful?  1

Myrtis143

Mar 14, 2016

The caring,compassionate nature of the carers for our loved one has been a great comfort to us. That care extends to us as family and is greatly appreciated during difficult times.

Was this review helpful?  

Lochfyne

Mar 11, 2016

Facility: Resthaven Marion

I have seen and worked in other aged care facilities and this one gives me support, relief and peace of mind to know my mother has all the care she needs

Was this review helpful?  2