Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Allity

45 businesses total

Allity

(3.5)
  • 678 Victoria St Richmond VIC 3121
  • Phone - (03) 9291 1200
  • 151 reviews
3.5 (151 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

SteveT

Jul 16, 2019

Facility: Villa Serena

I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude for the extraordinary care that my mother received during the time that she was a resident at Villa Serena. The women and men at Villa Serena, and especially Villetta, don’t just make their residents’ life more comfortable, they change their worlds. Every day they shine love and compassion into the lives of the people in their care, many of whom who are frail, lonely, vulnerable and sometimes frightened. They lift them up into a happier world and by doing so often become their second family. On numerous occasions I observed staff spending their own time and money to improve the lives of residents. What an exceptional group of professional and caring people. Thank you so much for what you’ve done for Mum, me and our family.

Was this review helpful?  

Sbadert

Jun 23, 2019

Excellent home although very expensive and one STILL has to watch them closely and keep reminding them of care needed. One also has to watch the invoicing very closely as well - they are prone to 'overlook' adjustments (downwards)

Was this review helpful?  

Martin766

May 21, 2019

Facility: Holly Aged Care

2 Falls one not even recorded both the staffs fault and the other not reported incorrectly, the food is terrible and the staff are really slack and really dont care we are really disappointed in the care our loved one received and any issues you raised there was never any follow up we have now moved to a real aged care home and our loved one is happy and out and about doing everyday things not sitting in a room all day depressed would look around as we now know what a real age care home is like and its fantastic and dont believe all the promises they tell you to get you in just take your time and look at more places than Holly

Was this review helpful?  

Dusty386

Apr 29, 2019

The costs are astronomical, Communication is very poor. The residents having to share rooms

Was this review helpful?  

Soledad3060

Apr 22, 2019

Facility: Marten Aged Care

My parents have been residents for fives years.

Was this review helpful?  

Rickie4250

Apr 11, 2019

Staff are lovely and caring, lots of activities for residents to avail themselves of

Was this review helpful?  

Username222

Apr 11, 2019

Our mum was in a Nursing Home for 18 Months and sadly she did not the receive the care that was promised when we were checking out different Nursing Homes. Sadly mum passed away in April 2018. We put in a complaint about the Nursing Home to the Aged Care Commission so that our issues raised could be addressed but their decision was that the Nursing Home was up to standard. The issues we raised were: Issue 1: Lack of adequate staffing levels. Until there are laws stating required levels of staffing, per residents needs in Nursing Homes, this issue will continue to be a problem. Inadequate staffing means carers do not have enough time to provide adequate nursing care. Issue 2 – PAC When my mum became chair bound PAC was rarely attended to by staff, my dad attended to mum’s skin care himself. Occasionally an OT would rub mum’s feet or arms. We were advised by the Nurse Manager that because mum was on a soft foam mattress she did not need PAC, even though mum sat in a chair all day. When mum became chair bound she developed a pressure sore on her sacrum and left heel. Issue 3 – Toileting There appeared to be no Continence Care Plan, actioned, for mum. We were told by management that mum was on a 2 hourly toileting care plan but in the 18 months my mum was in care, we had constant problems with staff not responding to call bells in a timely manner or having enough staff on shift, or lifters available to take mum to the toilet. Dad, myself and even on one occasion, another resident’s family member, would assist with mum’s toileting. Mum would sometimes be sitting in urine soaked clothes, with continence underwear on and 2 hourly toileting this would not happen. Mum was on diuretics and had urine infections she would get the urge to go to the toilet often, many of her falls were because mum wanted to go to the toilet and she would try on her own. Mum would become very restless and agitated because of the discomfort of needing to go to the toilet. She didn’t like wetting or soiling herself, it would distress her. Mum had many falls while in the care of Allity Nursing Home, resulting in trips to Modbury casualty. Her last fall was on Wednesday 27/9/2017. Mum was found, by morning staff, on the floor in her room with an injury to her forehead. She was taken, by ambulance, to Modbury Casualty and had a CT scan to check for internal bleeding. The ?fall occurred overnight. Mum had a sensor mat and beam in place (because she would try and get out of bed by herself, staff were advised of this on admission to the nursing home), but apparently the beam was not activated, ?not turned on. It is not known how long mum was lying on the floor for as there are no records kept of the times when residents are checked overnight. The RN I spoke to said that mum was found on the floor by morning staff and there was a lot of blood. Mum sustained a 4 inch bruise and swelling to her forehead. In regards to issue 6 re quality of food served to residents. Allity responded that their food is prepared by Chef’s and of a high standard. On their website they quote: We’re stirring up the taste buds – a dining experience Our chefs are special people; they do far more than just prepare meals. Collectively they bring together years of experience working in restaurants and kitchens from around the world bringing our residents the flavours of their countries of origin. We have chefs and cooks from Switzerland, England, the Philippines, Greece, Sri Lanka, Italy, South Africa and Malaysia, to name but a few … and that’s not to forget our many home grown Aussie chefs as well. We put a lot of time and effort into designing menus that combine the best use of fresh produce for nutrition and well-being. To assist with this, we regularly come together to review menus, exchange ideas and experiences, refresh knowledge and skills and introduce taste innovations, many of which originate from resident food focus groups within individual homes. While we know our residents like ‘home cooked’ style meals and some of the more traditional menus, we are also aware that many cultures put a major emphasis on food. Our chefs are always up for the challenge of creating menus that help our residents connect to theirs and each other’s cultures. Drop by and join us for an Allity Dining Experience. The photo on Allity’s website depicts food, served to the residents in their nursing homes, looks like restaurant quality food, but residents at mum's nursing homes quite often receieved packet soup, tinned fruit and jelly, not fresh vegetable soups or fresh fruits. Issue 8 – Lack of skilled nursing care When Allity sacked their EN’s they lost skilled nurses trained in Aged Care. Aged care is specialised nursing, especially when it comes to caring for residents with Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia. Continuity of care and a full understanding of the nuances of this disease is required to adequately provide nursing care for residents in nursing homes. My mum was dearly loved by her family. Mum was a Registered Nurse and so was dad. Dad and mum had never been apart, until we had to make the very difficult choice of needing more help in caring for mum and the decision was made to admit mum into a nursing home. In the 18 months that mum was in care dad visited mum, every single day, between 12pm to 6pm (except for a couple of weeks when he was ill himself). Dad was mum’s advocate and voice, to the best of his ability he made sure mum was cared for. Each of us 5 children visited several days a week. Sadly, for some residents in nursing homes, they have no family, and no voice. I would like to see nursing homes checked more frequently, and randomly, by auditors. Audits should include Quality Indicators such as; pressure sores/skin breakdown, medication errors, weight loss (from admission, not adjusted), falls, injuries, ambulance call outs, infection rates (ie UTI’s, wounds, etc), admissions to hospitals, staffing levels for all shifts including ratios to residents who need 2 person lift/PAC on 2 or 3 hourly basis, staff training, incontinence pads usage (how often changed daily per resident), general well-being of residents. Australia needs to improve the quality of care for their Aged. We need to take a look at how countries overseas care for their Aged and improve greatly. We need standards set in place. If it was your loved one, or yourself, in a nursing home, what care would you like to see given?............or to receive.......

Was this review helpful?  2

Kyler9091

Apr 11, 2019

Family member 69yrs has Parkinsons and Dementia Been in care 9 months No regular lifestyle / social activities support provided for him No lifestyle program for evenings or weekends except Tv Medications regularly given later than neededFamily carer constantly reminding staff Difficult to find staff on a regular basis which means that residents who are in public areas are left alone and unsupervised Many are high falls risk and due to dementia possibly capable of doing damage to themselves, others and equipment Medication error a previous regular problem Medications given by Carers with minimal knowledge of medication name side effect etc Maintenance of room cleanliness related to food spills and urine spills ignored by staff Attended to when asked by family carer No system identified for regular professional cleaning of chairs in communal areas where residents sit , have cups of T etc Family members advised to report any cleaning concerns to staff !! No internal quiet space available for resident to go with visitor except their room Previous spaces now converted to rooms for residents Residents fluid intake especially for those with dementia not monitored or supervised on a regular daily basis Staff do not seem to recognise when a resident is unwell Relatives of other residents often only ones who notice and bring it to RN attention If don’t need to go to hospital then extra care and support providerd is limited Breakfast menu very limited and unappealing Porridge like glue Toast thin and dry or soggy No chopped seasonal fresh fruit offered as an alternative to ice cream type desserts ( watermelon, stone fruit, berries Only snacks available are of yoghurt or custard variety No savoury snacks Not enough staff to do a regular good job Many work very hard but the expectation of workload is too much given number of residents with high care needs

Was this review helpful?  

Madyson1547

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Glendale Aged Care

Glendale’s facilities are spacious, clean and very comfortable with suitable environments for visitors of all ages. My mum enjoyed the time she spent at Glendale aged care however tragically cut short. Facilities choice of pharmacy has a lot to be questioned, care co-ordinator was very argumentative and unapproachable.

Was this review helpful?  

Kristy3277

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Glendale Aged Care

Glendale Aged Care Heaths Road, Werribee Both of my parents were living at Glendale. The biggest problem was the food. The quality of the food is sub-standard, the taste is terrible. Mostly chicken, never beef or pork. My mother lost so much weight in the couple of years she was there she was basically a skeleton. With only around $6 per day per person being spent on food it is little wonder the food is so bad. My father would travel across the road to the Werribee Plaza to buy food as well as the family taking in food that was edible or taking them home for a meal. Most of the staff were caring, but there were a couple who did not treat my mother well. She was disabled with rheumatoid arthritis and couldn’t get out of bed without assistance. One nurse from night shift refused to take mum to the toilet in the morning and she was left for over an hour waiting for the toilet. Some did not care about the pain the inflicted when dealing with my mum who was unable to move properly because of the RA and her skin was so delicate they caused bruising and bleeding when rushing to dress her. The activities consisted of word games and not much else. The bus then was only a 7 seater which they only took out on a Friday to the Plaza across the road! There are around 200 residents there, which means they hardly get to go out. My mother described the activities as mind numbing. The manager was not pro-active – he merely would agree with whoever to keep them quiet and then not do anything to improve life there. They bought bbq’s but the residents never received a proper bbq meal. The only positive thing I can say is in regard to the location - if the resident is mobile, they can access the plaza across from the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Ivah6221

Apr 8, 2019

I'm new to this experience having only used respite once. Building undergoing upgrade. Staff lovely and helpful

Was this review helpful?  

Lexie4778

Mar 9, 2019

Very short staff,no friendly staff to meet us.Left on our own in room.Food terrible. No Compassion shown from Manager very abrupt . Would not leave my Husband there ,only saw one nurse dashing around. This was a very upsetting experience which was not handled with any care or again anyCompassion .

Was this review helpful?  

Ramon5042

Dec 11, 2018

Amazing very experienced team of carers ... Many permanent staff help with continuity. Excellent physio. Older building with smallish single rooms but smaller size overall supports friendly atmosphere. High ratio of people with high care needs can be a bit hectic. Food suitable for more frail clientele but really boring for more able residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Tremaine7487

Nov 5, 2018

excellent aged care center

Was this review helpful?  

It could be me

Nov 5, 2018

When my parents first went to this facility my mother said she felt safe. The care was great. The staff lovely. No complaints at all. A year later along comes a new manager. Staff unhappy and we are definitely unhappy. What a difference. Though I have to say the staff are still lovely to my dad.

Was this review helpful?  

Howard8407

Nov 5, 2018

Lovely building but for anyone concerned about their loved ones safety do not go here! Undertrained and uncaring staff. Management not interested in resolving or listening to concerns.

Was this review helpful?  

Krishna

Oct 11, 2018

My visiting to Keperra Sanctuary was extremely good. I find all the staff members friendly and was pleased by how they were performing the care towards the resident.

Was this review helpful?  

Finn6826

Oct 5, 2018

Building: Sharing a room is not ideal and sharing a unisex bathroom between 4 people is not satisfactory and affects the dignity of the residents. Lack of privacy and security for residents is an issue making it less than homely and more like a hospital. Quality of staff

Was this review helpful?  

Kenya7496

Oct 3, 2018

When family isn’t there the mice come out to play. The medical staff are not qualified the standards are not appropriate. The saying goes that you go in to die is very true. It’s so sad to see and wish changes were mad sooner.

Was this review helpful?  2

Tina1787

Oct 2, 2018

Response times to residents call button vary. Usually within 2 minutes but at times an unacceptable 30 minutes in which time anything could have happened to the resident.

Was this review helpful?