Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Ballarat Health Services

10 businesses total

Ballarat Health Services

(3.1)
  • 1 Drummond St Ballarat VIC 3350
  • Phone - (03) 5320 4000
  • 9 reviews
3.1 (9 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Anonymous9977

Nov 5, 2018

Very pleased with the care given to my late mother.

Was this review helpful?  

Nestor8008

Apr 19, 2016

Ask questions. Don't be afraid to speak out for yr loved one.

Was this review helpful?  

Calcutta38

Jul 3, 2015

Facility: James Thomas Court

The Governments new aged care plan takes every cent you own and starves you while they do it. Complaints fall on deaf ears, meetings with staff and those responsible for food.. are big on excuses and very short on results. Slow to respond to medical matters. Heavy rain resulted in flooding of parts of the building and patients room so wet it took days to dry carpets, methods used were inefficient and could lead to mould growth.

Was this review helpful?  1

Rae5880

Jun 29, 2015

Mother aged 91 with weak heart, lung disease and sore swollen feet forced to walk a long distance to her room with a walker She has been in a wheel chair since before coming into the facility 6 months ago. Also made to wait for up to an hour at times before being taken to the toilet. She is not someone with dementia and this is very demeaning. We try not to complain as the nurses take it out on her worse if we do. She is paying a lot of money to be where she is.

Was this review helpful?  

Wendy Maguire

Jun 12, 2015

I wanted to transfer my mother from the Queen Elizabeth Home in Ballarat to the Freemasons Home opposite me in Punt Road, Windsor. They advised they would need a geriatric assessment, so I and a Psychiatrist friend travelled to Ballarat so he could assess her. The QEH advised me that I could not transfer my mother, and I suggested that they could not, and wheeled her to my car to transport back to Melbourne. In the meantime my friend discussed her care with the doctor who was "caring" for her. He was advised that he did not want her to leave, mainly because she had promised to leave her house to the home! My mother had vascular dementia. She fell out of bed twice. The first time she broke her hip and was transferred to hospital, and then back to the home where they failed to keep the cot sides up. Yes, she fell out again, but this time they just put her back without checking for injury. She was constantly on pain, and could hardly move and when I got her to Melbourne she was physically assessed and they found that the transplant had come out and was actually poking into her thigh bone. They asked me what I would like to do, (a) keep her on pain killers, (b) replace the hip replacement, or (c) just remove it which would take away the pain but she wouldn't be able to walk. I opted for (c) which after months of pain she was finally pain free, and not in the least upset that she was unable to walk. The home in Melbourne was fantastic. Mum used to be a charge sister in a hospital, and went back to that part of her life. The carers at the home, played along with her "orders", and she was very happy and contented. As for the Queen Elizabeth Home, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  7

barbaramorrison

Jun 10, 2015

My mother has been in an aged care facility for the past two years with dementia and has been well looked after by both the staff and the volunteers who have ensured that she has a quality of life that was unavailable to her previously. The staff and volunteers are always polite and caring and make our family feel most welcome when we visit.

Was this review helpful?  

SallyW

Jun 2, 2015

My experience is always pleasant when I visit my Grandma. The staff are always happy to see me and they care for my Grandma so well. Myself and my family are so happy with the care that she receives. They all love her and that makes us all happy. My Grandma just turned 94 and they had a birthday cake for her. It was just lovely.

Was this review helpful?  1

Karen Neil

May 25, 2015

I had to put my 90 year mother into care last year after she became immobile after several strokes and heart attacks. It was the most difficult thing I had ever done in my life. Although the care is quite good I continually find my mother needing to go to the toilet and the staff making her wait for long periods of time and also getting very cross with her. My mother has all her faculties and no dementia. My mother is also made to wear annoying headphones when she watches television in her bedroom in the evenings. I have been told it is policy even though her roommate is asleep and wouldn't hear mum's television. Mum is kept clean and doesn't eat a lot any more . The food is quite nutritious but mass produced and not what one would call very appetizing.The home do provide some quite stimulating activities for the residents but maybe more could be done.

Was this review helpful?  

karenpollard

May 23, 2015

Facility: James Thomas Court

Basically non-existent Lifestyle programs. Under staffed. Both dementia and assisted life style residents housed together. Regimented and regulated routine. Poor quality rooms in most wings.

Was this review helpful?