Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Villa Maria Catholic Homes

28 businesses total

Villa Maria Catholic Homes

(3.9)
  • Suite B, 2 Domville Ave Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 8862 9000
  • 46 reviews
3.9 (46 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Rodger4124

Sep 26, 2018

The facility was excellent for mother and I am now putting my fathers name on a wait list.

Was this review helpful?  

Keyshawn2334

Sep 26, 2018

very caring staff my mother is very happy there

Was this review helpful?  

Karine8150

Sep 26, 2018

The actual personal carers were mainly fine but the manager and clinical nurses were below average. The food was basic. My mother did not have a quality of well being or lifestyle and staff did not push hard enough for this. The staff or manager were not there for my mum at the end of her life. The room was also dirty and dusty.

Was this review helpful?  

Roy5249

Sep 26, 2018

We need better trained carers People that know the difference between all dementers

Was this review helpful?  

Lavonne1961

Sep 26, 2018

My mother likes the place and the food

Was this review helpful?  

Julie3357

Sep 25, 2018

We are extremely grateful and appreciative of the ongoing care and support given to our mother, and our late father. She is never 'alone' and is always well-cared for, all staff know her and regularly check-in on her. She receives gentle encouragement to participate in well- being activities but has never been forced to do anything she doesn't want to. She has regular walks

Was this review helpful?  

Andrew474

Sep 25, 2018

My father spent the last 4 years of his life in a nursing home....giving him 4 extra years to enjoy his family. Without Villa Maria Dad's life expectancy would have only been a few weeks according to his Dr. Dad being in a good nursing home gave us all precious time with him and his last years were spent with dignity ...so very important for a man who's body let him down. I realise that there will never be a cure for old age, Dad was 91 when he left us but during the time he spent at Villa Maria he was treated with compassion, understanding and respect. I have never once regretted Dad going into care when he did. I cannot thank the staff enough for their tolerance, care and love that they gave Dad. He was a very hard man to get along with and at times reduced the staff to tears, however that never affected the care that they gave him. A good aged care facility is worth it's weight in gold...for the residents and families alike. The media concentrates on the less than perfect facilities... I would love for them to interview those of us that are grateful and happy for the support and care given to our loved ones. Negativity and scandal makes news, unfortunately they don't want to report on the positive side of so many people that love their jobs and give their lives to care for the people that deserve it the most. There are always two sides to a story, why can't they report both sides?

Was this review helpful?  

Ubaldo8819

Sep 25, 2018

My mother was active lucid and mobile whilst in care facility with no known illnesses. One morning I was contacted to say she had been transferred to Monash Hospital Emergency following a fall overnight I arrived to find that her voice was rasping She said she went to the toilet after mid night and fell on the floor Despite calling out for 5 hours no care staff checked on her until breakfast . The Emergency Doctor explained that X-rays showed her pelvis was badly fractured. He said that as she was 93 she was too old to undergo surgery. I insisted she be moved to a ward and be given regular pain relief. I stayed with her that evening. Without my consent she was transferred back to the Nursing Home. When I went to visit her next day she was not at the hospital I went to the hospital to be told Mum was back at the Nursing Home. Walking into the front door of the Home I was met with Mum being wheeled out on a stretcher into an ambulance having passed away. I was very shocked not being with Mum when she died as I was her only daughter. I later received the Coroners Report which stated she died of Dementia! She never had any symptoms or was diagnosed with dementia

Was this review helpful?  1

Malika4439

Sep 25, 2018

This is a brand new facility and as such the building and amenities were spotless. The food, as advised by my mother who was there only on respite was repetitive and lacking in variety. The facility seemed understaffed in it's nursing capacity and as such it was at times difficult to get hold of the right staff member for an answer to a query. The staff did not seem to have read the initial assessment notes and therefore phoned me a number of times to answer a query about my mother's health - when this had been clearly detailed on admission by the admitting nurse. Overall a little disappointed in the overall quality of care.

Was this review helpful?  

Felicia3386

Sep 25, 2018

My father was in aged care in Sunshine, even though a hard decision to make, it was the best decision for him and for his family, he was well looked after and we had piece of mind. We got to know many other residents there and they also became our friends and we greeted and treated them as our own. The whole experience was comforting for us to know that he was treated with love and respect and this was wonderful.

Was this review helpful?  

Ambrose7575

Sep 25, 2018

Biggest issue is staff to resident ratio. Staff are not always ‘obvious’ or ‘observable’ as they are spread so thin throughout the facility. This impacts meal times, lifestyle and well-being. It is unfair to residents and staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Myrna4745

Apr 1, 2018

My mother was almost 102 when she entered this facility. She was left sitting in a wheelchair most of the day, simply because it was easier for them not to constantly lift her in and out for toileting. She was left so long on her 102nd Birthday that she fell out of the wheelchair. This was the beginning of the end and she passed away one week later. This was supposed to be a top-notch facility and there seemed to be a problem with continuity of staff and the care left a lot to be desired, also the cleanliness of her room was appalling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maida957

Aug 1, 2017

Whilst the building is new, the internal design does not afford staff the ability to monitor the residents needs and wants- too many corridors. Most of the care staff were kind, however the RN’s in charge were unable to plan and manage risks to resident health and well being. My mother needed the bathroom one night, fell and was not found for 4 hours even though she called out for help continually. She was in extreme pain, transferred to hospital X-ray result was a fractured pelvis, she was sent back to the facility the next day despite pain and suffering and found dead the following morning. Her experience was profoundly sad at 93 years of age, stats show 80% of residents die as a result of falling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lizeth201

Jul 31, 2017

Unfortunately there was a steady decline in some levels, particularly lifestyle which the elderly do so much depend upon. Very disappointing

Was this review helpful?  

Darby6492

Jul 31, 2017

My partner's parents went into Villa Maria aged care In Clayton for health reasons some months ago. Naturally after all the adverse publicity we were anxious to find the right 'fit' for them. We are relieved that they are very happy there. They enjoy going to the chapel and fitness classes. They have commented and we have also witnessed how caring and kind the staff are. They have many visitors who are encouraged to visit at any time. Indeed with some prior notice and a nominal fee, visitors can enjoy a meal with them in the dining room. The overall experience has been wonderful. Thank you Villa Maria, what a blessing to have found such a lovely place for my partner's parents, he can now rest easy.

Was this review helpful?  

Jill

Sep 28, 2016

Shanagolden (Catholic Homes) and staff in Pakenham Vic are the most welcoming, attentive, caring, supportive and helpful people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a division 2 nurse I have seen many an inside of nursing homes and I can only be honest in saying Shanagolden is THE best. My 93 year old grandmother moved into their care this year after suffering a major stroke. She was living independently in her own home until the stroke and the staff and facilities at Shanagolden have made this somewhat degrading transition pleasant for my grandmother. I cannot thank them enough for taking the pressure and stress off my elderly mum who first attempted to care for her mum in her own home. Although it would be nice to win a luxury cruise, this is not the reason for my review. I have written it as it needed to be said, these staff and the facility itself are deserved of the accolade.

Was this review helpful?  2

Samara2298

Apr 20, 2016

Most staff are caring and helpful and good communicators. Some need to be more aware of the need to respect the individual needs of the people they care for. They are not simply doing a job, they are interacting very personally with people who need their help. It is unfortunate there is inconsistency in the manner in which they perform their 'duties'. Overall, happy with Mum's care. Could be better.

Was this review helpful?  

Alberto9028

Mar 17, 2016

You need to have a personal point of contact ie regular rn or communication is impossible.

Was this review helpful?  

Reed3002

Mar 17, 2016

The care staff are very kind and pleasant to deal with. Communication between am and pm staff not always good.( morning vomit not known by pm staff )Services such as nail - cutting, and communication re residents health and needs, to family are not regular (Family is supposed to receive a phone call every second month. Had only 1 in 12 months. i

Was this review helpful?  1

Marcelino3332

Mar 16, 2016

Always bright and friendly.love the way the dining rooms are small.

Was this review helpful?