Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Villa Maria Catholic Homes

30 businesses total

Villa Maria Catholic Homes

(4.0)
  • Suite B, 2 Domville Ave Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 8862 9000
  • 35 reviews
4.0 (35 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Myrna4745

Apr 1, 2018

My mother was almost 102 when she entered this facility. She was left sitting in a wheelchair most of the day, simply because it was easier for them not to constantly lift her in and out for toileting. She was left so long on her 102nd Birthday that she fell out of the wheelchair. This was the beginning of the end and she passed away one week later. This was supposed to be a top-notch facility and there seemed to be a problem with continuity of staff and the care left a lot to be desired, also the cleanliness of her room was appalling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maida957

Aug 1, 2017

Whilst the building is new, the internal design does not afford staff the ability to monitor the residents needs and wants- too many corridors. Most of the care staff were kind, however the RN’s in charge were unable to plan and manage risks to resident health and well being. My mother needed the bathroom one night, fell and was not found for 4 hours even though she called out for help continually. She was in extreme pain, transferred to hospital X-ray result was a fractured pelvis, she was sent back to the facility the next day despite pain and suffering and found dead the following morning. Her experience was profoundly sad at 93 years of age, stats show 80% of residents die as a result of falling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lizeth201

Jul 31, 2017

Unfortunately there was a steady decline in some levels, particularly lifestyle which the elderly do so much depend upon. Very disappointing

Was this review helpful?  

Darby6492

Jul 31, 2017

My partner's parents went into Villa Maria aged care In Clayton for health reasons some months ago. Naturally after all the adverse publicity we were anxious to find the right 'fit' for them. We are relieved that they are very happy there. They enjoy going to the chapel and fitness classes. They have commented and we have also witnessed how caring and kind the staff are. They have many visitors who are encouraged to visit at any time. Indeed with some prior notice and a nominal fee, visitors can enjoy a meal with them in the dining room. The overall experience has been wonderful. Thank you Villa Maria, what a blessing to have found such a lovely place for my partner's parents, he can now rest easy.

Was this review helpful?  

Jill

Sep 28, 2016

Shanagolden (Catholic Homes) and staff in Pakenham Vic are the most welcoming, attentive, caring, supportive and helpful people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a division 2 nurse I have seen many an inside of nursing homes and I can only be honest in saying Shanagolden is THE best. My 93 year old grandmother moved into their care this year after suffering a major stroke. She was living independently in her own home until the stroke and the staff and facilities at Shanagolden have made this somewhat degrading transition pleasant for my grandmother. I cannot thank them enough for taking the pressure and stress off my elderly mum who first attempted to care for her mum in her own home. Although it would be nice to win a luxury cruise, this is not the reason for my review. I have written it as it needed to be said, these staff and the facility itself are deserved of the accolade.

Was this review helpful?  2

Samara2298

Apr 20, 2016

Most staff are caring and helpful and good communicators. Some need to be more aware of the need to respect the individual needs of the people they care for. They are not simply doing a job, they are interacting very personally with people who need their help. It is unfortunate there is inconsistency in the manner in which they perform their 'duties'. Overall, happy with Mum's care. Could be better.

Was this review helpful?  

Alberto9028

Mar 17, 2016

You need to have a personal point of contact ie regular rn or communication is impossible.

Was this review helpful?  

Reed3002

Mar 17, 2016

The care staff are very kind and pleasant to deal with. Communication between am and pm staff not always good.( morning vomit not known by pm staff )Services such as nail - cutting, and communication re residents health and needs, to family are not regular (Family is supposed to receive a phone call every second month. Had only 1 in 12 months. i

Was this review helpful?  1

Marcelino3332

Mar 16, 2016

Always bright and friendly.love the way the dining rooms are small.

Was this review helpful?  

Angel6666

Mar 14, 2016

The staff are very kind .Many requests though, are overlooked. Services such as podiatry seem ad hoc and not consistent.Communication at handover does not always seem evident.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lacy7033

Dec 23, 2015

Always there was care and attention for both my relatives who were in the same centre, at different times

Was this review helpful?  1

joseph2341

Dec 16, 2015

My dad was there for 12 years and passed away at 95, My Mum was there for 10 years and passed away at 94. They were so well looked after and loved by staff. During my visits I was catered for and looked after as well. I live 4 hours away.

Was this review helpful?  2

Maggie7481

Dec 9, 2015

My mother has settled into her final years of life amazingly well since being in an Aged Care Facility. Initially it was very hard because of her dementia. Now she is 94 and going strong. She is happy and content, and knows somehow it is the best place to be.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jaqueline9837

Dec 9, 2015

Although some days can be quiet sad seeing my loved one going through dementia

Was this review helpful?  

bplatt

Dec 8, 2015

Maryville Nursing Home in Geelong is a small 30 bed facility offering high care. The staff are caring, friendly and treat all residents and their families with the highest respect. When my mum first went there I didn't expect her to live another 6 months. That was 4 years ago. The nursing staff are very thorough and address medical issues immediately. My mum has thrived on eating 3 nutritious, carefully prepared meals and loves being involved in the wide variety of activities. Family members are regularly invited to luncheons for special occasions such as Christmas, Mothers Day etc and the staff organise the residents, food for all, decorations etc. As a family member I am always greeted with a friendly hello by staff and I consider them friends. Being a small facility I know all the staff and residents by name. The staff go above and beyond their duty and display a genuine passion for their work. I am so thrilled to see my mother so happy and healthy and enjoying the company of the staff and other residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Albin2902

Oct 7, 2015

I recommend you do not use their doctor- he is incompetent. You need to advocate for your loved one. Some staff are fantastic, others are average.

Was this review helpful?  

Emory972

Oct 6, 2015

Don't engage with the family. The resident Doctor is incompetent

Was this review helpful?  1

Princess3029

Oct 6, 2015

My mother passes away recently. Some staff were fantastic and some were not. Clearly we need to have a structured end of life plan amongst all nursing staff so they can all follow the same procedure

Was this review helpful?  

Pierre678

Sep 29, 2015

My mother has been resident at this facility for more than two years. The reception staff are warm and very welcoming. The nursing/aid staff are caring and compassionate people. The facility is modern but not state of art. It is cosy and clean. Cleaners are seen everyday, wiping, mopping, dusting and cleaning. The rooms are spacious and have private bathrooms. There are plenty of choices to take part in lifestyle activities. The pastoral care is high quality. Religious services and visits are available if wanted. The food is prepared in their own kitchen and is of high quality. The menu has been adjusted for my mothers needs in consultation with management many times. Management always make themselves available if you want to talk about anything. I have had no issue that wasn't resolved quickly and efficiently. I feel that I can discuss anything with them and they are always willing to take make changes if possible. My mother and my family are well cared for at this facility. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?  

Amya5989

Sep 26, 2015

Beautiful facility with wonderful staff.

Was this review helpful?