Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

HammondCare

21 businesses total

HammondCare

(3.8)
  • Level 2, 447 Kent St Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 1300 426 666
  • 24 reviews
3.8 (24 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Berbs1

Oct 6, 2018

Very caring staff, peace of mind assurance

Was this review helpful?  

Orie434

Oct 2, 2018

The staff at my mum's residence are attentive, communicative and kind. They endeavour to cater to individual residents as best they can, keep me well informed as to my mother's welfare, and welcome any feedback. The grounds are lovely and the rooms very comfortable. Princess Juliana Lodge looks and feels very much like a residence not a hospital or hotel. Most importantly, my mother is happy and well looked after in her new home.

Was this review helpful?  

Alexandrine3359

Sep 28, 2018

I had my father-in-law in this nursing home in the high dementia care unit. They did not do almost any activities to entertain the people in there. He was so depressed. They have some policy of no activities apart from a chapel and a singing activity and a few outings a month. They lost his hearing aids 3 times, expensive ones and many times they were not charged. When asked why not they said it was the responsibility of his wife to charge them, not of the nursing home. But she could not even be there always due to sickness, so this is a lame excuse and shows they are in denial of their own responsibilities. Some of the workers were doing faces behind my mother-in-law's back if she raised any issues that there were hearing aids missing or close missing.

Was this review helpful?  

Issac7888

Sep 25, 2018

The staff work hard but more training and staff to patient ratio needs to be looked at to proved optimum standard of care. Food was ok but some meals not even I would eat it.

Was this review helpful?  

Sister8457

Sep 25, 2018

Best practice in dementia setting cottages with 15 occupants 3 carers per day shift food cooked in the kitchen lovely north facing outdoor area great pastoral care Food quality ordinary but carers are lovely

Was this review helpful?  

Abdullah2078

May 5, 2018

Awful place no different to the facilities that we see on the media. Management only care about profit not people. If you speak up about abuse there you will be sacked or pushed out by bullying of management. They may look good and caring on the surface but the place is filthy and the staff are not trained. Food is atrocious, and residents are not even allowed to have a store bought biscuit or cake most of them are hungry. Disgraceful place needs to be investigated.

Was this review helpful?  3

Reece8861

Aug 14, 2017

Very welcoming and supportive staff

Was this review helpful?  

fireferret

Aug 1, 2017

Hammondcare Horsley is a good facility that on the whole offers overall good quality care to its residents They provide clean rooms and facilities and good (but not great) basic food The staff tend to resident's personal needs and hygiene in a reasonably dignified manner, with daily showers, etc., but fall down on things like fingernail cleaning (which I've had to mention a couple of times) and ear ring hole cleanliness (had to permanently remove mother's ear rings because of how gross they had become (including smelly) - staff were completely unaware So they manage things at the macro level well, but need substantial work on the minutiae that an individual would provide themselves if able Probably a function of under-resourcing and under-staffing Can take a few days for a Dr to see resident if unwell, and getting to see a specialist is very difficult to organise

Was this review helpful?  1

Lauryn1074

May 17, 2017

Hammondcare Horsley is a very poorly run organisation. The office staff are known for bullying and harassment of care staff, although they seem to hide this very well when caught out. The residents are bored and life engagement does not exist except for the odd bus trip. The staff are overworked and under paid which accounts for the high turnover of staff.

Was this review helpful?  15

Gavin1761

Nov 10, 2016

Very caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Hazel9370

Apr 18, 2016

Poor RN staffing...Ne evenings or weekends...poor palliative care

Was this review helpful?  3

PamelaR

Mar 15, 2016

Our mother spent 3 years in residential care until she passed away in 2015 from dementia related illnesses. Now we have my mother-in-law in the same facility because we believe we have found the best care group, with the best model of operation. The home style accommodation and individual family style care is second to none and the staff members from management to carers are of the highest calibre.

Was this review helpful?  2

Clair7491

Mar 14, 2016

My mother in law needed extra care and was difficult but was treated well and with respect we could not have asked for better care

Was this review helpful?  

Kimberly7998

Dec 10, 2015

My Ex husband is in Hammondcare at Hammondville . and is happy and content Staff are very attentive and keep the family informed at all times Never have, I or the family had reason to complain about anything,He is always dressed and clean shaven and.well fed. I am 77 and when my time comes i would have no objection to reside there myself.

Was this review helpful?  

Miles456

Oct 14, 2015

I couldn't say enough about the staff and the facilities. They treated my mum and other residents with respect. The food was healthy and nourishing. The premises were always clean no matter what time you went in. If there ever was any problem they were on the phone to let you know. The gardens were well looked after and peaceful to sit in. I would give them 10/10.

Was this review helpful?  

Sofia3115

Jul 24, 2015

Our mother passed away yesterday aged 92 having resided in a dementia facility on the Central Coast of NSW for the past 3 years. She had received the most genuine and professional care we could ever have hoped to find for her. The business model whereby residents are housed in smaller cottages within a larger facility means they benefit from having their meals prepared in a homelike environment where they can smell cakes and roast dinners cooking and receive the best care in a tastefully decorated and well kept home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jeanette1203

Jul 4, 2015

My mother has resided at HammondCare for 2 years, firstly at their Woy Woy facility and now at Erina. HammondCare is always at the forefront of research into dementia which is evident in their model of care. Smaller cottages within each complex allows meals to be prepared in a homely atmosphere where residents senses are stimulated by the aromas of baked dinners or cakes. Each resident receives individual attention to make their day as suitable and comfortable to their stage of illness. The genuine care delivered by the staff is second to none. I wouldn't want my mother to be anywhere but with HammondCare.

Was this review helpful?  1

Darron2313

Jun 28, 2015

Our family agreed to our Mums request to move her to aged care as through illness and her age she became non ambulant, the facility we moved her to had a good reputation. She had a room to herself which was ok but no air conditioning luckily the temperatures were not extreme in her room, the response to the nurse call was up to a two hour wait, which I complained was excessive when one needs to go to the toilet. I made several complaints about the food but nothing changed, it was like the catering staff did not give a rats. Ok her requirements were different as she did not eat poultry and was fussy, but most days I checked the available menu it was some form of chicken. They asked for feedback and I gave it but they did not want to change. The doctor assigned to her did not listen to our input about her medical history, hence when she had a re-occurrence with a previous condition it was just passed of as ageing and her organs wearing out. She passed away in hospital even though the doctor did not want her taken out of the nursing home. The death certificate attributed her passing in part to malnutrition and dehydration.

Was this review helpful?  3

Alysha7363

Jun 27, 2015

My mother was a resident within the Dementia Specific Hostel. I found the staff caring. The Hostel was warm and welcoming to residents and their families. The special events held at Christmas time were wonderful for everyone. Hammondville are an integral part of Aged care and their knowledge of Dementia is up there with the best.

Was this review helpful?  

Marg Smith

Jun 18, 2015

Hammond Care Woy Woy and Erina NSW were exceptional. Staff at both facilities were sensational, level of care was everything you could possibly hope for. They have their own kitchen in each cottage where residents can help peel vegetables etc. Laundries in each cottage allows residents to hang out the washing outside on rotary clothes line in each cottages own back yard. Yes you get the picture it is just like home, with each resident having their ensuite large comfortable bedrooms. Just beautiful. They do everything so well, and we were so blessed they were there to care for our very precious Mum.

Was this review helpful?