Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Helping Hand Aged Care Inc

14 businesses total

Helping Hand Aged Care Inc

(4.4)
  • 34 Molesworth Street North Adelaide SA 5006
  • Phone - 1300 653 600
  • 32 reviews
4.4 (32 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Catherine556

Apr 11, 2019

Whilst much effort was made in trying to ensure the comfort of my loved one dressing was too rushed, carers were sometimes impatient, and the boredom of the days was made worse by the lack of activities attuned to her tastes.

Was this review helpful?  

D'angelo8655

Oct 15, 2018

Nurses are very punctual with my Mum's scheduled pain medication delivery and the carers respond to bell promptly; unlike my mums previous nursing home. Staff are mostly very nice and professional. Fruit is always available and meals can be quite good. My mum chooses to have her meals in her room and the staff remove trays promptly. The nursing home cafe serves decent lunches but their cappucino and cake is not great. All resident rooms are fully carpeted which is impractical with continence problems. The Lifestyle Programme is very basic compared to my Mums previous nursing home, they have two events on per day, morning and afternoon -nail care, basic bingo, craft, live "amateur music", chair tai chi, old movie etc. Unlike some newer nursing homes there are no wine happy hours once a week, no outings at all, no mens shed, no cinema room. The nursing home does not own a bus so no excursions. There is no internet or nbn in rooms. However if your loved one is not worried about those luxuries it is a good nursing home.

Was this review helpful?  

tiger1212

Sep 26, 2018

Would like to see more external activities, and perhaps some gardening and cooking sessions in house. Also would like to be given more information about residents needs eg medication etc Would like to have feedback/ information sessions scheduled.

Was this review helpful?  

NSmith

Sep 26, 2018

My Father is in the memory support unit here (having been asked to leave another facility). I can not recommend them enough, they treat the residents as individuals, don’t over-medicate and are attentive to their needs. They ALWAYS treat him with dignity and respect

Was this review helpful?  

Herta7543

Sep 25, 2018

So far, happy how mum is being looked after.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jacinto4450

Sep 25, 2018

My grandma had respite at this facility. She's what you'd call a bit of a complainer, but in the time she was here, not one complaint! We all noticed how lovely and chatty the staff were too.

Was this review helpful?  

Gilberto9205

Sep 25, 2018

Staff mostly look after my father to the best of their ability. Not enough Registered Nurses. Sometimes he has to wait a long time when he rings the bell. Not good when he has soiled the bed or his catheter has leaked. He gets quite depressed as he is confined to bed and has no feeling below his waist. Food is generally good sometimes not that great!

Was this review helpful?  

Tom7197

Sep 25, 2018

I cannot findfault with theHelpingHand Nursing Home, Mawson Lakes SA The standards of nursing care are exemplary with all staff demonstrating a high degree of empathy and genuine care for my wife who is a resident Any small abnormality is reported to me immediately I know my wifeis receiving the best of care available and this puts my mind at rest Nothing like what has recently been shownonTV has happened here

Was this review helpful?  

Oren8008

Sep 25, 2018

Following all the media regarding the shocking non care of the elderly I am so glad that my mother resides in Helping Hand. The only reason I gave 4 stars to staff care is because they need more staff to continue to provide great service. The staff at Helping Hand Northgate are excellent and working very hard - they will burn out and turn over will occur - this is not good for Helping Hand, existing staff and most of all the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Casimer409

Jul 31, 2017

My auntie enjoy her last years there and become a member of the residents family.A great place to live and the careworkers are the best, caring in every way

Was this review helpful?  

Era4111

Nov 10, 2016

Has been a great place for my mum very caring people that work there and my mum is well looked after and happy

Was this review helpful?  

Madilyn9096

Nov 10, 2016

Very happy with staff and facility

Was this review helpful?  

Goldie

Apr 21, 2016

My "friend" on admission was made most welcome. I am allowed visitation each day if necessary. Concerts for residents are held weekly and the attention of carers to handicap residents at these functions are incredible. Assisting, taking them to and from their rooms. Person are changing these activities such as above and others to intention Bowls, Bingo etc wit written notices to all residents at dates and times posting in their rooms.

Was this review helpful?  

Lavina5359

Apr 19, 2016

Purpose built facility, happy residents.

Was this review helpful?  

George9285

Apr 18, 2016

The staff don't communicate with my loved one who needs their communication written on a board to understand 99 percent of what's being said . The only time their board is written on is when family visit so that's only 20 percent of her life in a week :( that is so sad because 80 percent of her time she's alone in her own world guessing people's words . The building is beautiful and staff friendly but that doesn't help my loved one stuck there in her own world without a basic need fulfilled their communication needs :(

Was this review helpful?  2

Eliane3434

Mar 17, 2016

The care was as good as the staff that were on, the issue was that staff get burnt out due to too much to do and not enough time to do it. Too many agency staff due to stress/burnout/injury from regular staff. My mother was well cared for because my father and I worked as a tandem team each day to make sure all her needs were met . I did her washing and took her out regularly. I also settled her into bed each evening. Dad fed her, made sure she had plenty of fluids, etc. My concern is for people who do not have someone to advocate for them or who are unable to speak out. On the whole the carers were hard working and caring and certainly don't get enough praise for the hard work that they do!

Was this review helpful?  1

Conrad1337

Mar 16, 2016

My mother has been at her aged care home for 4 yrs now . While I have had a few incidences that I was not happy about , in general it's not too bad . I do think the nursing staff are absolutely fantastic but the carers really need a lot more training and compassion to do a good job X

Was this review helpful?  

Maurice97

Mar 15, 2016

Yes a beautiful place to relax and retire peacefully, with excellent care around the clock.Good quality of food, lifestyle activities and an abundance of compassion between staff and most residents of the facility. Over all a very clean and well maintained place with a lot of empathy. Ive secretly been observing this place for the last two years.My rating 9/10.Well done.Highley recommendable.

Was this review helpful?  1

Serena2952

Mar 14, 2016

Recently facility has changed hands and standards have dropped pity really

Was this review helpful?  1

Missy7

Feb 19, 2016

My mother has dementia and is looked after wonderfully. She has her own room and has independence to have family visits. The staff are very caring and interact with mum very well. She can attend activities if she wishes but not pressured to do so.

Was this review helpful?