Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Southern Cross Care (QLD) Inc

16 businesses total

Southern Cross Care (QLD) Inc

(3.4)
  • 62 Sanders St Upper Mt Gravatt QLD 4122
  • Phone - 1800 899 300
  • 15 reviews
3.4 (15 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

goelsewhere

Nov 9, 2017

This facility is very well presented but as we found out has lots of hidden issues with care. We found care and hygiene was often lacking at times(we were constantly on to them). Outings were supposed to be happening but got fewer and fewer until they stopped completely due to different excuses. Staff were obviously prepped on what to say to relatives and seemed afraid of management. I witnessed a wheelchair bound resident state she needed to go to the toilet. She was told to go in her nappy and it would be cleaned up when the nurse had time. You have to insist on your parent going to the hospital if things get bad, or they will just let them die. Recommendations given from the hospital were disregarded. When questioned as to why, the manager explained the care would basically be her way and we were latter told quite abruptly, if we didn't like it, then we could leave. We were then shown the door. I'm not sure if there is a staff shortage or just bad management. Some of the staff are lovely and caring but appeared too scared to speak up. I don't know what goes on there maybe just a business, but they seem to use the excuse that your parent has dementia so you can't listen to what you are being told. Well they must have had dementia only in your care because once removed to another facility, they actually put on weight and the dementia symptoms disappeared.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maud8466

May 9, 2017

Have had both parents in this facility until I was able to relocate back to Chinchilla and care for them - they most likely would not be alive still if I had not made that decision to remove them. A friend's uncle passed away last week through lack of attention and care - had a fall and broken his ribs and was not able to feed himself - staff just left the plate next to his bed - obviously he died from malnutrition. Very understaffed - something like 1 x RN on a Saturday night to 70 patients. Facility should be closed down.

Was this review helpful?  4

Brennan4634

Apr 21, 2017

We found high care needs were often lacking at times and recommendations giving from hospital were disregarded or ignored. Management was quite rude to us and we were told if we didn't like it ,we could leave. I'm not sure if there is a staff shortage or just bad management. Some of the staff are lovely and caring but appeared to afraid too speak up. Outings were a lot rarer than told initially. Appears great until you look closer at the high care part.

Was this review helpful?  

Hattie1237

Nov 11, 2016

Been to many facilities but this one tops the cake in all needs and comforts.Said it once before and now again, dont need to repeat a third time.All round care 24-7 what more could one ask for.💗 in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?  1

harper

Aug 14, 2016

Management and Staff seem more focused on filling out paperwork than actually providing good care. Family have to repeatedly remind staff that the resident's clothing needs to be changed and washed. Fingernails not trimmed, resident frequently cutting his face shaving with cheap disposable razers rather than assistance being provided. Meals not very interesting, do not reflect the promotional material,high sugar desserts every day. Expensive hearing aid and several sets of dentures lost in the system, no effort made by staff to advise family or seek to replace. Mostly very pleasant staff, but poor delivery of care. Resident is happy, family is very disappointed with the standard of care. The organisation's head office admin department has totally failed to produce timely or accurate cost summaries and invoices,and has blamed "software issues" for their failing for nearly 12 months. Local and head office senior management do not understand the Aged Care System as it relates to residents and care recipients.

Was this review helpful?  1

Cynthia Harvey

Mar 16, 2016

We could not speak highly enough of the care provided and the sense of community felt by residents and family. We are very grateful for the time our father spent there.

Was this review helpful?  

Agustin1825

Jan 20, 2016

There is no communication between my sister (who has suffered a stroke) but who still of sound mind. They have her in a section where the residents are in my mind half dead. If she is not taken out to do any activities she is stuck in her room. Her room is too small. She used to be in another section where she had plenty of room and the bathroom was suitable. The bathroom in this room is inadequate.

Was this review helpful?  3

BRKeys

Dec 9, 2015

Poor quality of service. My mother in law tried twice to stay in the age care. Each time they failed to administer her medicine on time n she was in pain the whole day.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jacey6723

Sep 30, 2015

The building is showing its age, however there are plans to demolish existing building and rebuild. The regular staff are well trained, however Agency staff lack the same compassion. The food is nutritious and of ample quantity. RN who administers medication has been seen dropping tablets on the floor and administering same. They also put fingers in the medication cup instead of tipping onto a spoon. My mother does not wish to participate in activities and as my father visits every day she is very happy in her surroundings. Laundry is attended to promptly. Personal Care is conducted in a way which maintains my Mothers privacy and dignity.

Was this review helpful?  

Denise Gooderham

Jun 27, 2015

Facility: Tarcoola Hostel

Friendly caring staff and environment.

Was this review helpful?  

Cheryl

May 28, 2015

The staff have lied about incidents that have happened to my husband whilst in respite care and management sides with the staff, once they start with a lie management continues with the lie.

Was this review helpful?  

Mrs Moran

May 25, 2015

I discovered Southern Cross Care Stretton Gardens by chance as I was in urgent need of care for my bestfriend's Mum as my bestfriend has moved overseas and her Mum had declined in her health. I was very impressed with the management of this service and with the staff. It was to me the 5 star (like the Hilton) of aged care. I was thrilled my friend, although on a pension was able to get a high care placement there. This is such a lovely establishment with big airy rooms and wonderful diverse seating areas inside and out. It was the type of place the visitors felt comfortable to visit. It has a lovely library, hairdressing salon, gorgeous outdoor areas, spacious foyer and walkways. This is the most modern style of aged care I have ever seen. I would be happy to go there in my later years. Definitely worth checking out. With my work I have been to many aged care facilities and this is one of the very best. Well done to the management and staff as well as the designers of Southern Cross Care Stretton Gardens, Drewvale. You really looked after my bestfriend's Mum well and for that we are very grateful for.

Was this review helpful?  1

joboe1

May 12, 2015

This facility is modern and well run. All residents have their own room with en-suite, and quality furniture. The physiotherapist is present four days per week and runs a pain clinic each day, which also provides social interaction. The activity therapists are present every week day and provide a wonderfully varied program to suit the needs of all residents. As with all similar facilities, the numbers of nurses/carers could be increased, so that residents don't wait so long when they press the call button, but this is not too bad really. There are some very caring and gifted registered nurses on staff. I would highly recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Christina6846

Apr 21, 2015

My mother is in a NH and although the building is old and could possibly benefit from renovations. I chose it because it looks homely, smelt nice, staff all looked happy. I saw staff working and laughing. I watched staff in the dining room, discretely assisting residents, observed staff walking residents and talking to them even though they have dementia. REN and management are always available to discuss any concerns. We are kept up to date via newsletter on activities etc. I would like to see more 'old' style food on the menu eg. bread and butter pudding, irish stews. Beautiful gardens which can be seen from every room.

Was this review helpful?  

Sue McCormack

Apr 1, 2015

We purposely selected a home that had a 'homely feel' which my Mums Nursing Home has. Yes I know the building needs renovations, however it is close to their home for my Father to visit and her care is second to none. The staff are friendly, my Father is not a resident but they all know him and look after him as well. The other residents also know him and often when I visit he is sitting talking to them. Their social life is 100% better than when my Mum lived at home. They are always striving to improve the menu and often ask for input from residents. Personally I would like to see more food that generation ate eg. stews, soups, curried sausages, bread and butter pudding and rice puddings and the like. As a nurse who has worked in aged care for 26 years, if my Mum is happy and well cared for then I am happy.

Was this review helpful?