Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Southern Cross Care (QLD) Inc

16 businesses total

Southern Cross Care (QLD) Inc

(3.4)
  • 62 Sanders St Upper Mt Gravatt QLD 4122
  • Phone - 1800 899 300
  • 23 reviews
3.4 (23 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Schuyler6754

Feb 22, 2020

Our dear mother has been a resident in Illoura for over twelve months, she passed away 16/02/20. Every case is different, circumstances differ, opinions differ. but we cannot fault the care, the compassion, the devotion to duty and care that our mother received whilst a resident. The amenities are comfortable, home away from home. Staff are pushed to the limit with patient ratios, I spent a lot of time with my mother in the days prior to her death and cannot say enough about the wonderful people who attended her. You hear so many horror stories about aged care. We experienced a couple of not so perfect incidents but this did not reflect on the care our mum received. Ours was not a horror story, the contrary. I would personally like to thank all the staff at Illoura for their support and for the care and compassion they gave our mum as a resident.

Was this review helpful?  

Tyree4376

Nov 30, 2019

My Mum went into care very reluctantly and just wanted to die. She was 84 and had a life threatening heart condition. After three days she was joking with the staff and had fellow residents popping in and out of her room for chats. Towards the end of her life she actually thanked us for choosing such a lovely place with lovely people to spend her last few months. After she passed, the staff continued to support our family. So very grateful for all they did for our family.

Was this review helpful?  

Dayne9823

Aug 31, 2019

Was concerned for my mothers welfare when she was ill and needed oxygen. Antibiotics administered a few days later. Elderly people go fownhill very quickly so wasn't happy they waited so long. Also wasn't happy to be fobbed off on the phone as I don't live close and can't just pop in to check on her.

Was this review helpful?  

Erling2286

May 14, 2019

My Father-In-Law moved to the Retirement Village as it had High Care in Connolly Court as his needs progressed. Hi wife fell ill and he went in respite for a month elsewhere waiting to get into Connolly Court, so don't expect to get a priority place if you live in the Village. Once in, it took just over a week for the complete lack of care, respect and dignity, the poor facilities and shockingly arrogant management at Connolly Court, to see him self-admit to hospital and die. Our pleading for his needs to be met were ignored. He was treated like a fool because he had a hearing loss and an accent, and low mobility. He was high-functioning cognitively until the last moment. If he had not been in that place, he would be with us. Disgusting. Village life in the independent units has also nosedived under new management structures, so we are paying to get my Mother-in-law out.

Was this review helpful?  2

Robert1632

Apr 15, 2019

The staff at this facility try their best to provide the best quality care however are often forced to skip breaks in order to complete everything. Resident care is always first priority.

Was this review helpful?  1

Kale1424

Oct 10, 2018

Southern Cross Care are all concern and “I understand how you feel” but at the coal face of the nursing home are ineffective. They have so many layers of well paid “managers” in Head Office essentially achieving nothing.

Was this review helpful?  1

Zaria4989

Sep 26, 2018

Since my father became a resident at Duhig Village I have noticed an increase in his interest in life and his self esteem.

Was this review helpful?  

Anonymous8328

Sep 18, 2018

Mum has just been in care for 3 months. I am happy with iur choice of care.

Was this review helpful?  

goelsewhere

Nov 9, 2017

This facility is very well presented but as we found out has lots of hidden issues with care. We found care and hygiene was often lacking at times(we were constantly on to them). Outings were supposed to be happening but got fewer and fewer until they stopped completely due to different excuses. Staff were obviously prepped on what to say to relatives and seemed afraid of management. I witnessed a wheelchair bound resident state she needed to go to the toilet. She was told to go in her nappy and it would be cleaned up when the nurse had time. You have to insist on your parent going to the hospital if things get bad, or they will just let them die. Recommendations given from the hospital were disregarded. When questioned as to why, the manager explained the care would basically be her way and we were latter told quite abruptly, if we didn't like it, then we could leave. We were then shown the door. I'm not sure if there is a staff shortage or just bad management. Some of the staff are lovely and caring but appeared too scared to speak up. I don't know what goes on there maybe just a business, but they seem to use the excuse that your parent has dementia so you can't listen to what you are being told. Well they must have had dementia only in your care because once removed to another facility, they actually put on weight and the dementia symptoms disappeared.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maud8466

May 9, 2017

Have had both parents in this facility until I was able to relocate back to Chinchilla and care for them - they most likely would not be alive still if I had not made that decision to remove them. A friend's uncle passed away last week through lack of attention and care - had a fall and broken his ribs and was not able to feed himself - staff just left the plate next to his bed - obviously he died from malnutrition. Very understaffed - something like 1 x RN on a Saturday night to 70 patients. Facility should be closed down.

Was this review helpful?  6

Brennan4634

Apr 21, 2017

We found high care needs were often lacking at times and recommendations giving from hospital were disregarded or ignored. Management was quite rude to us and we were told if we didn't like it ,we could leave. I'm not sure if there is a staff shortage or just bad management. Some of the staff are lovely and caring but appeared to afraid too speak up. Outings were a lot rarer than told initially. Appears great until you look closer at the high care part.

Was this review helpful?  

Hattie1237

Nov 11, 2016

Been to many facilities but this one tops the cake in all needs and comforts.Said it once before and now again, dont need to repeat a third time.All round care 24-7 what more could one ask for.💗 in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?  1

harper

Aug 14, 2016

Management and Staff seem more focused on filling out paperwork than actually providing good care. Family have to repeatedly remind staff that the resident's clothing needs to be changed and washed. Fingernails not trimmed, resident frequently cutting his face shaving with cheap disposable razers rather than assistance being provided. Meals not very interesting, do not reflect the promotional material,high sugar desserts every day. Expensive hearing aid and several sets of dentures lost in the system, no effort made by staff to advise family or seek to replace. Mostly very pleasant staff, but poor delivery of care. Resident is happy, family is very disappointed with the standard of care. The organisation's head office admin department has totally failed to produce timely or accurate cost summaries and invoices,and has blamed "software issues" for their failing for nearly 12 months. Local and head office senior management do not understand the Aged Care System as it relates to residents and care recipients.

Was this review helpful?  1

Cynthia Harvey

Mar 16, 2016

We could not speak highly enough of the care provided and the sense of community felt by residents and family. We are very grateful for the time our father spent there.

Was this review helpful?  

Agustin1825

Jan 20, 2016

There is no communication between my sister (who has suffered a stroke) but who still of sound mind. They have her in a section where the residents are in my mind half dead. If she is not taken out to do any activities she is stuck in her room. Her room is too small. She used to be in another section where she had plenty of room and the bathroom was suitable. The bathroom in this room is inadequate.

Was this review helpful?  4

BRKeys

Dec 9, 2015

Poor quality of service. My mother in law tried twice to stay in the age care. Each time they failed to administer her medicine on time n she was in pain the whole day.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jacey6723

Sep 30, 2015

The building is showing its age, however there are plans to demolish existing building and rebuild. The regular staff are well trained, however Agency staff lack the same compassion. The food is nutritious and of ample quantity. RN who administers medication has been seen dropping tablets on the floor and administering same. They also put fingers in the medication cup instead of tipping onto a spoon. My mother does not wish to participate in activities and as my father visits every day she is very happy in her surroundings. Laundry is attended to promptly. Personal Care is conducted in a way which maintains my Mothers privacy and dignity.

Was this review helpful?  

Denise Gooderham

Jun 27, 2015

Facility: Tarcoola Hostel

Friendly caring staff and environment.

Was this review helpful?  

Cheryl

May 28, 2015

The staff have lied about incidents that have happened to my husband whilst in respite care and management sides with the staff, once they start with a lie management continues with the lie.

Was this review helpful?  

Mrs Moran

May 25, 2015

I discovered Southern Cross Care Stretton Gardens by chance as I was in urgent need of care for my bestfriend's Mum as my bestfriend has moved overseas and her Mum had declined in her health. I was very impressed with the management of this service and with the staff. It was to me the 5 star (like the Hilton) of aged care. I was thrilled my friend, although on a pension was able to get a high care placement there. This is such a lovely establishment with big airy rooms and wonderful diverse seating areas inside and out. It was the type of place the visitors felt comfortable to visit. It has a lovely library, hairdressing salon, gorgeous outdoor areas, spacious foyer and walkways. This is the most modern style of aged care I have ever seen. I would be happy to go there in my later years. Definitely worth checking out. With my work I have been to many aged care facilities and this is one of the very best. Well done to the management and staff as well as the designers of Southern Cross Care Stretton Gardens, Drewvale. You really looked after my bestfriend's Mum well and for that we are very grateful for.

Was this review helpful?  1