Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Vasey RSL Care

6 businesses total

Vasey RSL Care

(4.4)
  • 172 Burwood Rd Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 9810 5500
  • 72 reviews
4.4 (72 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Queen7572

Apr 15, 2019

Wonderful care facility for my mum where dignity and care is the core focus. The staff are attentive and take time to find the right balance between support for the individual and getting a job done

Was this review helpful?  

Tiara7796

Apr 15, 2019

Aged Care Review - April, 2019 The Provision of Excellence in Safe, Quality, Aged Care at Vasey RSL Care: At a ‘The Celebration of Life’ following the death of a family friend, a resident at Vasey RSL Care, Brighton East, several family members spoke glowingly at length of the wonderful care their wife and mother had received at Vasey. and of the great support staff provided to the family at this sad time. It was very touching, under what must have been difficult circumstances. It was also pleasing to see Vasey staff in attendance. This is not our first experience with the fantastic service provision at a Vasey facility. My siblings and I were very pleased with the care our mother, Renee Dyson, (deceased May 2015, aged 94), received :at Vasey , Bundoora over a 7 year period, the last of these years suffering with dementia. We were delighted when we were able to have our aunt, Gertrude (Trudy) Nash, provided accommodation at Vasey Brighton East, initially in low care, then high care and now in the dementia ward.. We have been very happy with the service provision by staff at all levels - managers, nursing staff, lifestyle staff and personal carers. We have found staff members help to minimise our aunt Trudy’s losses. They give her choices. They wait, listen, re-explain when necessary. They are mindful of her hearing and visual deficits eg situating her close on music days. They optimise her abilities by involving her in various craft activities, encouraging her to walk, and to socialise through a large range of group activities, including bus outings that she loves, organised by the lifestyle staff. Staff are friendly and respectful, always addressing her by her name. They keep the family well-informed as needed, promptly communicating any issues, including medical, in an empathetic manner, and involving us in any decisions, which is important to Trude. They acknowledge and show interest in what Trude has done in her past, they understand her love of the garden/outdoors and take her outside as much as possible, In routines, meals (time and place) and a broad range of activities they provide a sense of security, safety and stimulation. We found a similar level of quality care and safety afforded our mother when she was at Vasey RSL Care, Bundoora. Our family would have no hesitation in recommending Vasey RSL Care to others looking for care for their elderly loved ones. Yours sincerely Fran Mansergh And endorsed by my sister, Judy Rutherford

Was this review helpful?  

Kamron5619

Apr 12, 2019

My sister aged 64 died recently after spending 18 months in the RSL Vasey East Brighton Nursing Home.Being so young it was extremely devastating for family to have to place her in care, but a better place could not have been chosen. The care compassion and empathy to my sister and all who visited her was amazing and in her last days we were treated with so much respect and comfort.

Was this review helpful?  

Lavinia1590

Apr 11, 2019

My 94 year old mother has only been in aged care about 6 weeks, transitioning from her retirement village as her needs required greater individual care. So far the move has been exceptionally positivr. She is much happier, less stressed and has found the friendliness and attention of staff to be amazing, as well as delighted in not having to worry about meals. She has enjoyed all meals so far. Round the clock nursing staff is a real winner. The social activities have been varied and stimulating. Even mum has said she should have moved earlier.

Was this review helpful?  

Hope6694

Sep 28, 2018

My sister is a resident at Vasey RSL Brighton East. She is only 63 and has dementia so it is heartbreaking for all her family. The care there is wonderful, supportive, understanding and the empathy shown to us all makes her and our journey much easier

Was this review helpful?  

Reese5082

Sep 28, 2018

My mother is in a dementia wing/ward and the administration and staff openly embraced a review and suggestions put forward by Dementia Australia ( I think that is their title!) As a result there have been some positive changes.

Was this review helpful?  

Eliane3834

Sep 27, 2018

As the facility is smaller than most (90 beds) I found it, the staff and the care to be more personal. However, at times, I feel the staffing level in the Dementia area could be increased particularly during meal times.

Was this review helpful?  

Deonte5931

Sep 27, 2018

Mum was 88 when she passed away last December 2017. She was in RSL Vasey in Ivanhoe. She went in and wasn't happy about it but in a short time made friends loved the outings and I couldn't begin to describe the staff. As she was dying they all came into her room popped a kiss on her head and talked to her. I stayed in the room for the last 4 days. I filled it with gardenias I had candles burning. I sang along with Elvis on her cd player. I gave her massages. She was unconscienious all this time but still the staff dropped in and talked to her. The place was a positive energy you could feel as you walked through the doors. Everyone was willing to talk to you and I never saw or heard a nasty word. It was all I could have wished for. I visited her at different times of the day and night and never felt that she was ever given anything but the best of care. I am forever grateful to the staff who would ring me if mum wasn't well and feeling lonely. They gave of themselves selflessly and cried with me in her final breath. If ever a person had a dignified gentle death it was my mum. I am so lucky to have had the experience and I know mum felt the same. RSL Vasey has my everlasting gratitude kindness love hugs. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Was this review helpful?  

Efren5568

Sep 25, 2018

Excellent staff

Was this review helpful?  

Viola9858

Sep 25, 2018

My mum moved into Vasey House in Bundoora, Victoria. My mum was in palliative care and was cared for by extremely caring and sensitive staff. Mums time at Vasey was 6 weeks. Our family was kept informed and we were listened to by staff. We are very grateful that mum spent her last weeks at Vasey.

Was this review helpful?  

Alisha3209

Sep 25, 2018

Vasey RSL care excellent staff and that’s what counts

Was this review helpful?  

Stevie4307

Aug 3, 2017

Lovely staff who always show respect. Visiting GPs are amazing. They take a personal interest in each patient and go out of their way to check on patients if they are not well. I feel that residents could be more involved in hands-on activities e.g. cooking, craft activities, excursions etc

Was this review helpful?  

Coral123

Jul 31, 2017

Activities could have been better. More variety

Was this review helpful?  

Litzy5262

Jul 31, 2017

Home away from home just love it

Was this review helpful?  

Elisabeth1840

Jul 31, 2017

Generally the standard of care and the interest shown in the welfare of the residents is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Joy Langham

Jul 29, 2017

The building is all on one level. The building has lots of big windows so it is light and airy. Winter sunshine pours in the windows. There is seating in lots of little nooks so residents can feel the sun on them while they read. The residence has big bedrooms and the bathroom is a great size. Staff are all top level and they genuinely care for the residents. If any one is feeling a little lonely or upset they get hugs and encouraging words from staff. The physiotherapy is wonderful - Mum has been here 2 years. It is so pleasant to see her so well looked after it has taken the weight out of my shoulders. Drs are rang immediately when a resident is unwell. Family are help apprised. I would highly recommend this facility - it is a little slice of heaven.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaspa3

Jul 29, 2017

There are some very attentive nurses, but on occasion they have failed dismally eg. ringing me to say Mym only had one bra and it was being washed, so she wasn't able to do anything til the next day. When I arrived I asked the person who was on duty putting clothes away. She suggested looking in her drawers which I did. On top of her lingerie drawer I found another crumpled in some clothing. Now what do you make of that? Laziness? Incompetence? Carelessness? Another thing is moving her to different rooms eg once to be closer to the nurses station, for quick response. However her vacated room became a lounge for a couple, using 2 rooms. They are no longer there. Lastly now in high care seems cleaning has decreased in quality.

Was this review helpful?  

Gene5275

Jun 30, 2017

My mother has been at Vasey Bundoora for about 2 years now as a result of her high care dementia. The Manager at the time was a God send with her compassion, understanding, and unwavering care which gave us great confidence in Mum,s future there. Thank you for the opportunity to take part in this survey and whilst I have found Vasey House to be extremely good, since the former manager's departure, I have some concerns about the following: 1. Several time on my arrival there were no staff visible in my mother's area. 2. There seems to be less 'official' staff on the floor. 3. Agency staff seem to outnumber Vasey staff. 4. Another family member witnessed a staff member being 'balled out' in front of residents which I find at best, inappropriate and at worst, unprofessional. 5. The residents are elderly Australians and there had been several occasions where the food provided has had too much 'Indian' influence with spices that are unpalatable to my mother and other elderly residents. While there has been an adjustment, it continues. Last Saturday, none of the residents could eat their lunch for this reason. 6. Over time I have got to know some of the other residents and on a couple of occasions, on talking to one of them before seeing Mum, I have recently smelt body odour on her that I haven't detected before. Is this due to staff shortages? My concern is: the level of care appears to have deteriorated since the former manager's departure. Is this a shift in Management 'style' to achieve cost saving measures? Considering the amount my family had to pay for Mums entry to Vasey and the near $2000.00 monthly fee, I am disappointed that the once excellent accommodation, atmosphere and care under former manager's management is slowly becoming average.

Was this review helpful?  1

Quinten4440

Jun 30, 2017

My father has been at Sir William Hall Hostel for three years. Being a small facility the regular staff know the residents and this improves the quality of care. When approached directly, the current manager is very responsive to concerns (the previous manager was not). It is a good facility if the resident is mobile and able to go on the excursions. The excursions lack variety and often residents only go on them to get out of the facility. The excursions use a minibus which my father fell in when he tried to use it and he has not been on an excursion since. He is now in a wheelchair and only participates in activities once or twice a week (bingo, scrabble, films). He spends most of his time in his room as the activities on offer do not appeal to him. The administration of medications can be erratic (up to 3 hours difference in time) and incorrect.

Was this review helpful?  

Deangelo7926

Jun 8, 2017

I am extremely happy living at Vasey Brighton East - excellent facilities and lovely garden areas. My room is pleasant and I have furnished it with a number of treasures from my home. The facilities are kept in spotless condition. My age is 89 years and I have been here 2 years.

Was this review helpful?