Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Vasey RSL Care

6 businesses total

Vasey RSL Care

(4.4)
  • 172 Burwood Rd Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 9810 5500
  • 61 reviews
4.4 (61 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Stevie4307

Aug 3, 2017

Lovely staff who always show respect. Visiting GPs are amazing. They take a personal interest in each patient and go out of their way to check on patients if they are not well. I feel that residents could be more involved in hands-on activities e.g. cooking, craft activities, excursions etc

Was this review helpful?  

Coral123

Jul 31, 2017

Activities could have been better. More variety

Was this review helpful?  

Litzy5262

Jul 31, 2017

Home away from home just love it

Was this review helpful?  

Elisabeth1840

Jul 31, 2017

Generally the standard of care and the interest shown in the welfare of the residents is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Joy Langham

Jul 29, 2017

The building is all on one level. The building has lots of big windows so it is light and airy. Winter sunshine pours in the windows. There is seating in lots of little nooks so residents can feel the sun on them while they read. The residence has big bedrooms and the bathroom is a great size. Staff are all top level and they genuinely care for the residents. If any one is feeling a little lonely or upset they get hugs and encouraging words from staff. The physiotherapy is wonderful - Mum has been here 2 years. It is so pleasant to see her so well looked after it has taken the weight out of my shoulders. Drs are rang immediately when a resident is unwell. Family are help apprised. I would highly recommend this facility - it is a little slice of heaven.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaspa3

Jul 29, 2017

There are some very attentive nurses, but on occasion they have failed dismally eg. ringing me to say Mym only had one bra and it was being washed, so she wasn't able to do anything til the next day. When I arrived I asked the person who was on duty putting clothes away. She suggested looking in her drawers which I did. On top of her lingerie drawer I found another crumpled in some clothing. Now what do you make of that? Laziness? Incompetence? Carelessness? Another thing is moving her to different rooms eg once to be closer to the nurses station, for quick response. However her vacated room became a lounge for a couple, using 2 rooms. They are no longer there. Lastly now in high care seems cleaning has decreased in quality.

Was this review helpful?  

Gene5275

Jun 30, 2017

My mother has been at Vasey Bundoora for about 2 years now as a result of her high care dementia. The Manager at the time was a God send with her compassion, understanding, and unwavering care which gave us great confidence in Mum,s future there. Thank you for the opportunity to take part in this survey and whilst I have found Vasey House to be extremely good, since the former manager's departure, I have some concerns about the following: 1. Several time on my arrival there were no staff visible in my mother's area. 2. There seems to be less 'official' staff on the floor. 3. Agency staff seem to outnumber Vasey staff. 4. Another family member witnessed a staff member being 'balled out' in front of residents which I find at best, inappropriate and at worst, unprofessional. 5. The residents are elderly Australians and there had been several occasions where the food provided has had too much 'Indian' influence with spices that are unpalatable to my mother and other elderly residents. While there has been an adjustment, it continues. Last Saturday, none of the residents could eat their lunch for this reason. 6. Over time I have got to know some of the other residents and on a couple of occasions, on talking to one of them before seeing Mum, I have recently smelt body odour on her that I haven't detected before. Is this due to staff shortages? My concern is: the level of care appears to have deteriorated since the former manager's departure. Is this a shift in Management 'style' to achieve cost saving measures? Considering the amount my family had to pay for Mums entry to Vasey and the near $2000.00 monthly fee, I am disappointed that the once excellent accommodation, atmosphere and care under former manager's management is slowly becoming average.

Was this review helpful?  

Quinten4440

Jun 30, 2017

My father has been at Sir William Hall Hostel for three years. Being a small facility the regular staff know the residents and this improves the quality of care. When approached directly, the current manager is very responsive to concerns (the previous manager was not). It is a good facility if the resident is mobile and able to go on the excursions. The excursions lack variety and often residents only go on them to get out of the facility. The excursions use a minibus which my father fell in when he tried to use it and he has not been on an excursion since. He is now in a wheelchair and only participates in activities once or twice a week (bingo, scrabble, films). He spends most of his time in his room as the activities on offer do not appeal to him. The administration of medications can be erratic (up to 3 hours difference in time) and incorrect.

Was this review helpful?  

Deangelo7926

Jun 8, 2017

I am extremely happy living at Vasey Brighton East - excellent facilities and lovely garden areas. My room is pleasant and I have furnished it with a number of treasures from my home. The facilities are kept in spotless condition. My age is 89 years and I have been here 2 years.

Was this review helpful?  

Tonkin

Jun 8, 2017

The wife and I are happy to be here.

Was this review helpful?  

Donna

Jun 8, 2017

It's a good facility over all it's about the people, their lifestyle co-ordinator is lazy, therefore the activities for men is poor. But then, some of the staff are excellent!

Was this review helpful?  1

Feore

Jun 8, 2017

I have gout so am restricted in my diet. Staff are very good but I don't have a great deal of choice so my family bring in food for me sometimes.

Was this review helpful?  

Megane8002

May 31, 2017

From the time of entering I knew this residence would be right for me. And after 12 months here I'm not wrong. I cannot find one complaint as everything is perfect. The staff are most helpful and well trained to help aged all that they can. I can say I am happier that I have been for years. I don't have enough time in a day to keep up with the activities which are excellent. I welcome all new residents and make them feel like home - would have no hesitation recommending the residence, in fact I have already done so. Our new manager is first class, hands on and very friendly. Very popular with the residents.

Was this review helpful?  1

Tianna2623

May 30, 2017

I have been in Aged Care for nearly 6 years. It's hard to leave your home and it takes a while to adapt, most people I speak to find breakfast time very hard to get used to. It's nice to sleep in, when your on your own. It's up to you to join or stay in your room. The gardens are nice to have a stroll and the medical care that we get is 1st class.

Was this review helpful?  

Bulldogs2016

May 30, 2017

Dad said he is happy being a resident here.

Was this review helpful?  

Wilky

May 30, 2017

I think that this is a wonderful place for the purpose which it was built. I find quality lacking in some foods such as toast, fish (tasteless), spaghetti, pizza, pastry and squid. Very pleased with soups, deserts.

Was this review helpful?  

Towser

May 30, 2017

Very comfortable - easy to make friends, always something going on, but allowed to rest if preferred.

Was this review helpful?  

Ellie Potter

May 29, 2017

My mother has been in the dementia ward for nearly 5 years and I am very happy with the care. The staff appear happy and seem to stay around for a long time which I think is the most important thing.

Was this review helpful?  

Nakita16

May 29, 2017

I am writing for my mother - she is very happy here and feels very safe. The staff are reliable and caring - really to have empathy. ANZAC House is very comfortable, warm in winter, and cool in summer. My mother would rather be at home, but she realises that's impossible and that this is a good alternative. As the daughter, I think ANZAC House is wonderful, my mother is fortunate to be here. I have recommended this facility to friends.

Was this review helpful?  

Mary123

May 29, 2017

Major design problem with some ensuites. Water does not drain - slip hazard. I was not warned of this. Facility is open, airy, and courtyards are well used. Well maintained. Activities do not always start on time, and if cancelled, notification not always given - annoying. Language problem with some staff. Food quality is variable with staff changes. Need more fresh fruit on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful?