Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Brightwater Care Group

14 businesses total

Brightwater Care Group

(4.3)
  • Level 3, 355 Scarborough Beach Rd Osborne Park WA 6017
  • Phone - (08) 9202 2800
  • 117 reviews
4.3 (117 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Raina850

May 4, 2019

My husband has Alzheimer's and sadly placed in aged care. The staff have been wonderful but the shortages a real concern. Most of the residents are high care and only 2 staff to shower and get them ready for the day; the same in the evenings; consequently residents can be left to their own devices for considerable length of time. My biggest concern is the total lack of activities; the residents just sit or lay all day with virtually no stimulation or interaction.

Was this review helpful?  

Kylee8120

May 2, 2019

This is for Brightwater TRANSITIONAL CARE in Kingsley WA. My mother was in there early 2017 after suffering a stroke. Within the first week of being there my mother was fed fish despite this facility being well informed that she was highly allergic to fish. She was very ill and taken to hospital for 24 hours. An already ill elderly lady was made even sicker by pure negligence. THEN a couple of weeks later my mum suffered a 2nd stroke there and they didn't even notice, as soon as l walked in l could see there was something wrong with her and they assured me she was just sleepy. I insisted a nurse be sent, much to the carers amusement as they clearly thought l was over reacting. An ambulance was called and scans showed that my mother had indeed suffered a major stroke. The careworkers didn't notice the classic signs of stroke and had l not turned up, how much longer would she have suffered for? More training is needed. I'm sure most of those careworkers didnt even have there Cert lll in individual Support. Some just wanted to stand around chatting rather than answering call bells. I was not impressed with this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Marieke

Apr 12, 2019

My mother lived for one month in Birrallee bright water nursing home in Innaloo Western Australia, before she passed away in January 2018. The room she was living in was bright and cheerful, surrounded by her personal furniture, photos and paintings. We were able to see her at all hours of the day by having a swipe card to enter the premises. She liked all staff by one, which is pretty good. As my mother wasn’t demented she was able to tell us how she was treated. The food unfortunately was not up to standard. It was all puréed and had no taste at all. The manager of the nursing home has been trying her best to get a kitchen on the premises where they can cook. The only sad thing was that my mother passed away alone during the night on the floor in the bathroom. I do believe that the ratio of staff at night in ALL nursing homes is far too low. Had there been more staff she probably didn’t have to go to the toilet by herself. But overall, my mother was happy and cared for in the last month of her life. We recommend Birrallee and their staff highly.

Was this review helpful?  

Aniyah668

Apr 11, 2019

Overall care is good. Staff shortages prevent better care and cuts to budget (ex limited incontinence pads is not acceptable) for those needing them more than the home’s budget allows. Also sixes of pads. Smaller are used, when larger is required, thevexcuse is always the cost, whatever the complaint.

Was this review helpful?  

Jenny - mum

Apr 11, 2019

My mother with advanced alzheimers lived in this facility for her last 3 years of her life. Our family was always welcomed in to the facility and treated with respect. They included my mother in all events and activities for as long as she was able. The manager Paula was fantastic as are all the staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaylin243

Apr 11, 2019

After fracturing her femur in a fall my mother was unable to remain living independently. I was thrilled when we found a placement for her at Birralee in Innaloo. The facilities and staff were fantastic. My mother had her own room with her own en-suite. Every day there were activities like cooking, games, exercise classes and visiting entertainers. They took her out on group outings in their bus. The meals were excellent and she could order something different if she did not want what was on the menu. The family was encouraged to participate in special events. After several years her heart deteriorated and she was allowed to return to Birralee for her final days. She was surrounded by loving staff and all her friends, it was like an extended family. I will always be grateful for the devotion and care given to my mother by everyone at Birralee. Thankyou

Was this review helpful?  1

C Metcalf

Nov 5, 2018

Very happy with the care given to my mother in law. Kind caring staff who went out of there way to handle any problems... thank you

Was this review helpful?  

Ross1771

Oct 9, 2018

Thankyou to all Staff and Carers who took care of my Dad during the end of his time. Polite and lovely Staff. They showed such compassion and consideration in Dads final stages of life. Thankyou from the bottom of my heart, for all you did with Dad to make his final weeks very comfortable. x

Was this review helpful?  

Lexi6083

Oct 1, 2018

Mum thrived in care with healthy food and plenty of drinks. She loved the companionship of residents and staff. She didn't get a urinary tract infection while in care as she had frequent fluids offered. At home she would be in hospital 2/year with UTIs.

Was this review helpful?  

Taryn993

Sep 28, 2018

This is one of the better facilities, but resident’s care has been compromised after the latest budget cuts. Less staff, cut backs on food and basic essential needs.

Was this review helpful?  1

Amy1979

Sep 28, 2018

Mum thrived due to good nutrition, regular fluids and companionship from residents and staff. She was offered regular drinks and did not have a urinary tract infection while she was in care.

Was this review helpful?  

Clinton6357

Sep 27, 2018

My husband has been in full time care for three years now. I have absolutely NO COMPLAINTS about his care or about the staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Trace7007

Sep 27, 2018

My elderly mother entered residential care after a major injury resulting from a fall

Was this review helpful?  

Karley6926

Sep 26, 2018

In keeping with the duty of care of our son ,Mark aged 54 yrs of age who is in care due to multiple problems including mental, and physical ailments. Particular medical attention is given with respect to monitoring his heart condition medication. The staff are generally well versed to his condition and are helpful and attentive. The premises are well maintained and clean Food is average

Was this review helpful?  

Sophia4960

Sep 25, 2018

Average facilities, a number of deficiencies noted to facility management. Staff meet most basic performance objectives but are not fully attentive to needs of the patient. Food of average quality, repetitive, sandwiches not considered reasonable catering item. Little evidence of facilitated physio or promotion of social interaction. Not meeting my expectations and thus overall poor rating.

Was this review helpful?  

Arely9039

Sep 25, 2018

Qualified staff like registered nurses on the floor have been more busy with dealing with staff issues at all time rather to concentrate and improve the quality of life of the residents at this facility. To them it felt like Kindergarten receiving multiple last minute sick calls on a daily basis and dealing with replacement after hour until, all of a sudden replacement stopt to be authorized from the management mean working totally understaffed. Clinical staff who showed signs of health issues like osteo arthritis in there gait being kicked out due to " a likeliness of workers compensation claim", there was no heart, not towards staff and/ or residents. Those organisations call themselves" non profit"; those are the worst of all!

Was this review helpful?  

Tyshawn4096

Sep 25, 2018

I only have praise for the care my mother received at Oxford Gardens in Joondalup (Brightwater). She had dementia, and could have been a bit aggressive at times, but the care she received, left me sleeping well at nights, knowing she was in good hands till she passed away. Mum had been in care with Brightwater for over 8 years, but only 16 months at Oxford Gardens due to Edgewater being taken over.

Was this review helpful?  

Antonette9533

Sep 25, 2018

I only have praise for the care my mother received at Oxford Gardens in Joondalup (Brightwater). She had dementia, and could have been a bit aggressive at times, but the care she received, left me sleeping well at nights, knowing she was in good hands till she passed away. Mum had been in care with Brightwater for over 8 years, but only 16 months at Oxford Gardens due to Edgewater being taken over.

Was this review helpful?  

Bette5332

Sep 25, 2018

The quality of the building was excellent. Most of the staff were terrific and thoughtful, but very busy. They needed a lot more staff at nighttime. 2carers and 1RN was not enough to toilet all residents. The food was terrible, but it came from outside. I was told they are trying to get approval to prepare food on the premises. The quality of lifestyle

Was this review helpful?  

Brycen2470

Sep 25, 2018

Brightwater Mandurah - Can't say enough for the excellent care my mother receives. Staff and surrounding are also of a high standard. They cater for her every need and do it so nicely. Would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of putting a loved one into care.

Was this review helpful?